Working in Singapore V18, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

kai91
post Feb 18 2016, 11:31 PM

33 posts

Hi all, been lurking on quite some time tongue.gif
Been working for close to 3 months now as a software engineer in a startup company (kind of).

For those who are interested in working in Singapore, my company is always hiring for software engineers (now not really hiring juniors anymore though) biggrin.gif

Anyway, I'm really curious about minimum salary requirement to apply for PR

This post has been edited by kai91: Feb 18 2016, 11:33 PM
kai91
post Feb 22 2016, 04:06 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(midget33 @ Feb 21 2016, 11:58 PM)
Hey guys. I'm flying to Sg for my new job this week. Would like to ask whether I can bring some of my stuffs from Msia to Sg for the sake of saving some money there and avoiding the trouble searching for necessities upon my arrival there, since the company gonna reimburses me for the excess baggage allowance. Stuffs like toiletries (say few toothpaste or shampoo?), iron, kettle, some 3-in-1 coffees, and some medications like flu medication or panadol.

Or i just declare myself at the custom red lane? Since I am going there alone but with few luggage, maybe the officer will doubt on me if I go through green lane..
(Sorry, rather ask than getting problem at the custom doh.gif )
I don't think there's any issue with the things that you are bringing. So I think you should just go through the green lane. And if the custom stop you to scan your stuffs, just let them be because I don't think you're doing anything wrong smile.gif As long as you're not bringing excessive amount that makes them think that you're planning to sell it here wink.gif

QUOTE(SolId SnaKe @ Feb 22 2016, 12:16 AM)
hi guys..jz a noob question... sgd3000 job monthly salary enough to survive in spore?
Depends on your lifestyle. I'd say 3k is enough for most people. But if you're bringing spouse/children, might not be enough. Also it depends on your lifestyle. Just don't spend too much on shopping/clubbing/rental. One thing to keep in mind is things are more affordable in Sg. $3 can get you a meal in Sg but RM 3 in Msia is almost nothing now.

kai91
post Mar 5 2016, 09:40 PM

33 posts

guys, this is my first time filing tax in singapore. I proceeded with singpass registration and i just noticed that they would be sending the details to my address =="

in short, i registered singpass before i updated my local address. any pro can advise what to to?
kai91
post Apr 3 2016, 12:17 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(malz89 @ Apr 3 2016, 11:28 AM)
SP n EP no diff i think .. But EP u may require to have more saving in ur acc .. Perhaps u need at least 1.5k per month in ur saving or else u will b charged SGD2 while SP only 1k and WP 500 .. Thats from POSB ..

Anyway anyone is playing badminton in SG looking for company ..
I want to play. Where are you looking to play? My company has a weekly session sponsored by company. When we don't have enough kaki, any of us can bring family or friends, can play for free biggrin.gif Other than that I'm also open for additional paid badminton session wink.gif
kai91
post Apr 3 2016, 12:43 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(malz89 @ Apr 3 2016, 12:19 PM)
Oh that's cool but I'm staying in bedok area .. Where r u staying? Perhaps we can work out on that
Nice, we normally play at OCBC arena biggrin.gif my company is at tanjong pagar, i live at chinatown so it's quite close also biggrin.gif pm me if you're interested and we can work out the details
kai91
post Apr 12 2016, 04:56 PM

33 posts

software engineering, took one month. better pay compared to malaysia too (even without converting currency)
kai91
post Apr 26 2016, 10:01 AM

33 posts

Since there are so many banking sifus here, I'm thinking of starting to invest in Sg. Any recommendation on where to start? I've been reading about index investing but in the end I realized MAS regulation (CAR) which requires us to have knowledge in investing before we can open an investing account. really facepalm.

any tips?

0.0508sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:42 AM