Working in Singapore V18, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

dreambox
post Feb 15 2016, 12:05 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Feb 13 2016, 11:36 PM)
Shengshiong? Apa tu?
I'm staying in Geylang  tongue.gif

TQ guys, will see where the nearest Daiso is.
Probably scoot off to Ikea tomorrow morning to get some stuff as well.
Daiso near stadium, japan home at paya lebar square, shengshiong near lor 15 geylang, ITEC around lor 21, fairprice at lor38.
dreambox
post Feb 15 2016, 11:50 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(nunun9000 @ Feb 15 2016, 11:14 AM)
Hi everyone. I got my EP approved and will be moving to Singapore next week. Do I first enter Singapore under normal visiting visa and after collecting my EP do I have to go somewhere to change my status with the working visa?
Is there anything important that I have to take care of during this transition?
Usually when we want to rent a bedroom/studio/anything, how much is the deposit for the place? Is it usually twice the rental fee?
Also, I would appreciate any advice for this new comer. Thanks.
Just enter as per normal visitors visa (white card). Your employer will then make an appointment with MOM for you to put in your fingerprint and have your photo taken. Once that is done, they'll take the white card from you and you'll get a piece of paper that allows you to work in Singapore.

It takes about a week after the appointment to get the actual EP card which will be sent to your employer.

Not sure about renting bedroom but singapore whole unit rental is usually 1 month deposit for 1 year contract. Renting rooms on the other hand, I've known of people who did not need to pay any deposit at all but I guess this depends on the owner/main tenant.

dreambox
post Feb 15 2016, 12:50 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Feb 15 2016, 11:52 AM)

company asking which mobile line i want to use. Which one would be ideal for a Malaysian?
All personal preference I believe. I use Singtel since my residential line and internet are all with Singtel.

I heard however that Starhub apparently has this functionality that allows you to use your Singapore data plan in Malaysia (roaming data plan with no extra charges). So this is definitely a plus. http://www.starhub.com/personal/mobile/pre...happy-roam.html
dreambox
post Apr 21 2016, 05:47 PM

18 posts

Yes, what orangbulu said is correct.

As long you're working in Singapore you have to pay taxes (yearly) in Singapore be it at resident rate (if you're still working in Singapore) or if you resign you will be taxed at resident rate if previously have worked more than 6 months or 15% if you have worked for less than 6 months in Singapore. This income should NOT be filed under Malaysia income tax.

Similarly to Malaysia, the date of filing for taxes is around March-April, with the dateline for individuals around April.

Reference:
https://www.iras.gov.sg/irashome/Individual...ed-to-File-Tax/
https://www.iras.gov.sg/irashome/web/pages/...darListing.aspx

This post has been edited by dreambox: Apr 21 2016, 05:48 PM
dreambox
post Apr 21 2016, 06:06 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(danieltan @ Apr 21 2016, 05:50 PM)
but deadline for filling tax already over which is around mid of April.
Correct.

If you've not filed your income tax yet and you have not received any communication from IRAS, then maybe it would be good to call them up to check and inform them of the situation. Unless, your total income in 2015 is less than $22,000. If it is less than $22,000 then you will not be taxed.

0.0473sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:06 AM