Working in Singapore V18, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

V-Zero
post Mar 5 2016, 01:40 AM

Another day, another $
1,213 posts

In dilemma of whether to pursue a potential life-changing career, or not.
27 this year, plan to stay at SG for another 3-4 years then go back Msia retire. laugh.gif

Not aiming to be very rich, I could live with rm10k passive income every month. devil.gif

Current job:
IT developer at a foreign bank. Good pay + stable job + upcoming international business travel (solid for CV)
A little in comfort zone already. tongue.gif

Being hunted for:
Somewhat similar but slightly more on operational support role in Facebook.
Hop increment would be anywhere around 10 - 20%. (yes not that much)

Perks of switching:
- Better reputation
- Better culture and environment (current one is pretty good)
- Permanent (currently on annual contract)
- Free food all day long! rclxm9.gif
- Slightly better $$

Concerns of switching:
- Not that keen on operational role. Prefer to be active in development.
- Slightly limited career progression choices (compared to current job) should I decide to go back to bolehland.
- Workload and stress would be way higher than now.

What you guys think? I hope at least one person suggests me to stay. laugh.gif
V-Zero
post Mar 5 2016, 11:21 AM

Another day, another $
1,213 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Mar 5 2016, 08:43 AM)
10% to 20% won't make me sacrifice my future career path.
Not exactly sacrifice.
It's still in the same domain/specialization.

Just that the focus of the role shifts slightly towards supportive works.
Hence the dilemma.

And it's Facebook. bangwall.gif
If same role from other companies I wouldn't even consider.

QUOTE(chickenessence @ Mar 5 2016, 10:36 AM)
Sounds like in your mind you already decide not to go.

Increment of 10 to 20% as in "x" MYR to "1.2 x" MYR or to "1.2 x" SGD.
If in SGD is actually a good deal.
Everything is in SGD.
Honestly I'm 40-60 in proceed-not proceed.
V-Zero
post Mar 28 2016, 06:40 PM

Another day, another $
1,213 posts

QUOTE(ahcab @ Mar 28 2016, 03:55 PM)
Hi..
Got offer to work with SG company as Software Engineer, but will be station in Johor.
They will offer me salary in SGD.
Got 1.5 years of experiences, they will add ~25% since no epf will be given.
how much should I demand in terms of salary?

And anything that I should be worry?

Sifuu please  icon_question.gif
1.5 years, if working in niche specialization I'll ask for $4k.
If common stuff maybe $3.5k.

But of course expect to get less than what you ask for. smile.gif
But then your spending will be in myr terms so even 3k you'll live like a king for people of your age. laugh.gif
V-Zero
post Apr 7 2016, 06:52 AM

Another day, another $
1,213 posts

Hey guys, quick one.

Is it advisable to tender resignation after accepting a job offer but before getting the EP approved?
V-Zero
post Apr 7 2016, 09:44 AM

Another day, another $
1,213 posts

QUOTE(Blues89 @ Apr 7 2016, 09:17 AM)
no ppl will say its advisable to say no after u agreed to smtg,but if something u decided just go for it,its ur decision anyway lol...
i tried changing job after 1 month and of cos it aint a good practice,but if its for the better,why not?biggrin.gif
I think you misunderstood.
Been working for 1y+ in current company and just gotten a new job offer.

Just wondering when to tender resignation, either now or wait for completion of new EP application. smile.gif

Anyway, decided to tender now. laugh.gif
V-Zero
post Apr 7 2016, 10:20 AM

Another day, another $
1,213 posts

QUOTE(aLertz @ Apr 7 2016, 09:49 AM)
It's always safer/recommended to wait for your new EP application to be approved before tendering...
bit in the end, it's up to u  rolleyes.gif
QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Apr 7 2016, 10:17 AM)
soey soey this round ep not approved then how blink.gif
Hmmmmmmmmm.
Touch wood. Let me think. laugh.gif
V-Zero
post Apr 7 2016, 11:05 AM

Another day, another $
1,213 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Apr 7 2016, 10:39 AM)
Not really hard, they just have to make up more stories  tongue.gif
Personally i think its not an effective move for MOM to implement that
QUOTE(css9028 @ Apr 7 2016, 10:50 AM)
haha..i checked on MOM website they do have this criteria...whatever la...this is their policy...manage to get a job consider lucky liao...
Fully understand you guys' concern.

There's no written proof but I suppose it's faster/easier for P1 EP to get approved.

My current EP (P2) took 2-3 days from application to approval.
V-Zero
post Apr 11 2016, 04:41 PM

Another day, another $
1,213 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Apr 11 2016, 03:19 PM)
I can assure you on this as my EP for my new employer just approved.
Curious how long it took for you?
Am applying for mine too.
V-Zero
post Apr 11 2016, 04:55 PM

Another day, another $
1,213 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Apr 11 2016, 04:48 PM)
Based on my e-mail trails, 7 days.
Cool exactly as mentioned on MoM website, 7 work days.
Thanks and congratulations. smile.gif
V-Zero
post Apr 20 2016, 09:48 AM

Another day, another $
1,213 posts

External contractor in European bank - 18 days.
V-Zero
post May 13 2016, 09:22 PM

Another day, another $
1,213 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ May 13 2016, 10:32 AM)
Tnjung pagar is my new favourite place. Love all the Jap food there.
Eh kasi intro next time. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(jules6002 @ May 13 2016, 11:59 AM)
Hi sifu sifu out there, just wanna ask something regarding employment pass.
I recently got offered a job in the banking industry and they help me apply for E-Pass. I was wondering how long will it take for the #-pass to be approve since i can't work in SG without it.
Just got mine approved couple weeks back, took about 9-10 business days.
Here no few banking taikors.
V-Zero
post May 17 2016, 09:48 PM

Another day, another $
1,213 posts

QUOTE(vassilius @ May 17 2016, 06:47 PM)
Hi all, recently I been looking at working in Singapore...

May I ask, is SGD6000 considered a lot? To me seems quite few for a senior technical lead role. I'm fetching close to RM9k now. Should I compare dollar to dollar?

Any opinions are welcomed. Thanks! notworthy.gif
That's too low.
For technical roles especially in IT you should get no less than 1:1.

What more a sr. tech lead.
V-Zero
post May 18 2016, 03:02 PM

Another day, another $
1,213 posts

QUOTE(vassilius @ May 18 2016, 12:08 PM)

i'm actually on Business Intelligence and Analytic field... Have been on vendor project companies with total 8 years experience. Currently team lead on technical design and implementation. I do pre-sales as well and provide consultation on tools that i specialized in.
I was drawing $5.5k with 3-4 years experience as a BI developer in a foreign bank, never OT everyday yumcha 3 times.

You really should just look for other companies, 6k for BI lead is waaaaay too low.
V-Zero
post May 18 2016, 03:22 PM

Another day, another $
1,213 posts

QUOTE(bevios @ May 18 2016, 03:12 PM)
:thumbsup:  :thumbsup:  yumcha 3 times, who say work in SG is stressful brows.gif
YMMV. brows.gif
Yumcha 3x doesn't mean no stress. tongue.gif

QUOTE(bevios @ May 18 2016, 03:13 PM)
laugh.gif  laugh.gif  India firm....dealing with those fella from India can make u mega_shok.gif
Exactly. laugh.gif

On contrary the Filipinos are much better to work with.
My ex company is shifting their recruitment source there.

This post has been edited by V-Zero: May 18 2016, 03:22 PM
V-Zero
post May 19 2016, 10:58 AM

Another day, another $
1,213 posts

QUOTE(The Net Surfer @ May 19 2016, 09:10 AM)
Do you have to standby like 24 x 7?
No need to.
5 days 9-6 job basically. tongue.gif
V-Zero
post May 22 2016, 07:52 PM

Another day, another $
1,213 posts

QUOTE(vOlkSwaGen @ May 21 2016, 05:01 PM)
Is Mountbatten a good place to stay? Is it true that 2k salary can get EP?
I stay there.

You have a big ass food court, jogging tracks, public swimming pool, national stadium with gym nearby.

Good place as long as its not too far from your workplace.
V-Zero
post May 31 2016, 10:45 PM

Another day, another $
1,213 posts

Guys, anyone doing BI/data warehousing keen to join Facebook? We're hiring. smile.gif
V-Zero
post Jun 1 2016, 08:03 PM

Another day, another $
1,213 posts

QUOTE(bevios @ Jun 1 2016, 09:01 AM)
drool.gif  wah fb, got other openings ? tongue.gif
QUOTE(Dilemmaz @ Jun 1 2016, 01:30 PM)
any other openings?
QUOTE(LovelyPotato @ Jun 1 2016, 02:01 PM)
Is there any Business Development related opening?
https://www.facebook.com/careers/search/?q=...ation=singapore

tongue.gif

0.0791sec    0.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:01 AM