Working in Singapore V18, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

JohnJon82
post Nov 27 2015, 10:37 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Nov 27 2015, 09:03 AM)
The other time I brought my used Kenwood blender across. Basket banglasia customs taxed me saying that it seems like a new set just because full set with box.  vmad.gif
How much tax they charged?
JohnJon82
post Dec 22 2015, 05:12 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(7up @ Dec 22 2015, 04:14 PM)
what is the cheapest method to call back Malaysia? IDD? Calling card>?
Skype.
JohnJon82
post Jan 3 2016, 12:32 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(MrJigoku666 @ Jan 3 2016, 10:27 AM)
Engineering field is big, even database admin is in engineering field for my place, i'm in civil engineering for oil n gas
Civil engineer in oil and gas good pay? What requirements they looking for?
JohnJon82
post Jan 3 2016, 05:26 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(MrJigoku666 @ Jan 3 2016, 01:46 PM)
It was decent pay for me, as i'm only in junior level.. requirements will based more on experience, and then the educations cert.. I'm still new for the job, just reaching 3 months
What civil people do in oil and gas? Maintain the plant? I in biilding and getting too comfortable. Looking for other field to jump to.
JohnJon82
post Jan 4 2016, 10:41 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(MrJigoku666 @ Jan 3 2016, 06:44 PM)
Currently we are expanding the plant in jurong island, i managing the piping and structure construction...
Ooo all those pipes like so chim, never do before. If got opening can post here we go join. I heard O&G whole floor gold one, have to walk carefully on site, gold chunk lying around later trip accidentally.
JohnJon82
post Jan 20 2016, 11:22 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(puppyee @ Jan 20 2016, 05:27 PM)
This you have to find out from your insurance company la. Great Eastern can claim but you have to pay upfront on your own first. I think most insurance company works the same. Worst case scenario if you got into accident, you die die take a cab over to jb hospital then you don't have to pay upfront lo..
My Great Eastern also covering only for oversea travel in short term, forgot how long the period, around 1 month or so. They consider my time in SG, although working, as oversea travel. But I still buy a SG medical insurance too.
JohnJon82
post Jan 21 2016, 03:31 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jan 21 2016, 12:21 PM)
Can request one but don't do it in a discriminating manner la just say feel more comfortable bla bla bla. Gave birth here recently all the doctors and nurses are local Chinese. Got TCM herbal soup some more. They don't serve balut only yet.
You go Gleneagles you don't talk lah. Have to walk so far. No more visiting next time.
JohnJon82
post Feb 17 2016, 10:55 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(felicious @ Feb 17 2016, 10:10 AM)
I'm leaving my job as medical sales executive to go back to Malaysia.

**PM me for the company name if any of you want to know the company name**

Couldn't stand the chinaman company, with boss and wife management.
Micromanagement and everyday scolding their stuffs.

My common room at Toa Payoh is available for rent from March onwards.
Do PM me if any of you / friends looking for common room at this area. smile.gif
Why chinaman company like to micromanage ah? I also left my job in a chinaman company, but set a company with friend, which I think will become a chinaman company in the future.
JohnJon82
post Feb 18 2016, 04:19 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Feb 18 2016, 03:12 PM)
Wanna hire me?
I no say one. The company is run by big boss wife small mama CFO Fiona Chin everyday also say cut cost cut budget. Got job for me in Malaysia or not?
JohnJon82
post Feb 22 2016, 04:42 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(deadravel @ Feb 22 2016, 03:00 PM)
my whatsapp did not migrate to sg number yet.
i asked my fren, they said did not see whatsapp notify i changed new number(SG)
they still see-ing my malaysia number in whatsapp.

if i use dual sim phone, can i use 2 number in 1 whatsapp? haha. how do u guys manage it
since MY number have all the important groups chat.
Bring 2 phone with you. 1 SG 1 MY. 1 phone only can have 1 whatsapp app running 1 number afaik.
JohnJon82
post Mar 3 2016, 09:58 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(Blues89 @ Mar 3 2016, 09:45 AM)
i think 1k is a bit too little lol...
maybe just roughly manage if share room and stuffs
with 2k should be more than enough and have some savings as well.
Can leh, last year before I left SG.
600 single room, 300 food, 50 hp, then 150 for tickets to go back home monthly. Stay near office walk to work. Youtube for entertainment. Jog on the park connector for health. Sg living cost not expensive at all.
JohnJon82
post Mar 4 2016, 12:32 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(Talude @ Mar 3 2016, 11:09 AM)
titarium That was what the employer said, because I am a fresh graduate with no experience at all. Then again, the company is small/medium. Is it alright for a fresh start? Staying long term at relatives' place also might feel paiseh right? Hahaha

deodorant Doesn't that put me at a very low starting pay then? Lol. The accommodation would be the killer and make a bulk of the $1k.
JohnJon82 Where did you rent the 600 for single room? Thought most rooms were around 700~800 excluding bills :/
Try to negotiate with the landlord especially now when the property market is not doing too good.
JohnJon82
post Apr 1 2016, 10:48 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Apr 1 2016, 10:16 AM)

Anyone got job cam introduce ??

PR, 6 years experience in construction field.

Thx in advance
Me too looking for job in construction field, 8 years experience.
JohnJon82
post Apr 1 2016, 11:51 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Apr 1 2016, 11:26 AM)
cry.gif so many competitor
Always got undercut cry.gif .
JohnJon82
post Apr 14 2016, 11:10 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Apr 14 2016, 12:25 AM)
The approved qualification should based on BEM's call as washington accord is there, as long BEM say ok, no way SG do not recognize, is like slapping BEM.

i do heard one way malaysia PE can recognize in SG - project based. means he or the M&E firm in malaysia is the appointed PE by a SG project. So, his PE is recognized by here, but only for that specific project..... but after the project finished, basically he cant practise his PE here anymore. Meanwhile, the example u given, i nvr really heard of it before..... but a bit weird, if it is easy for Malaysia PE to be recognize here, SG local PE sure die, malaysia PE sure charge little fees, while convert back to Ringgit still can earn a lot, meanwhile local PE sure cannot win this price war  brows.gif
No, cannot. To endorse drawings submission in SG you must go through the only route, FEE, PPE and Interview. SG has no mutual recognition with any other countries or societies currently to direct register foreign PE. There are Asean PE here but they cannot endorse drawings, need to cooperate, but drawings and submission must be done by the PE registered with PEB.
JohnJon82
post Apr 14 2016, 11:22 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(chickenessence @ Apr 13 2016, 09:01 PM)
Sounds like many engineers here. Are you guys working in consultancy?

Speaking of Fundamental Engineering Exam, who is going to sit for it this year?
https://www.peb.gov.sg/Downloads/FEE2016.pdf
I think they just release the tentative date for the exam.
Good luck hahahaha its a fun exam. Anyway, can PM me if you want to know more for civil exams and route.
JohnJon82
post Apr 14 2016, 11:34 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(titarium @ Apr 13 2016, 06:14 PM)
On BEM transfer to PE Board - I am quoting from my Fren's Boss who is a PE , reason is SG PE board recognize the fundamentals and experience accumulated ( that's the reason why BEM is listed as accredited org ), they may scrutinize the years of practice so if insufficient have to log up the project in SG, an interview would be require to finalized it .
* In short those exams can be skip , experience evaluated if recognize then proceed if not have to accumulate with projects in SG , then interview.
The exams are implemented around 2005. The previous generation need to go for interview only. PEB do recognise oversea experiences. But the exams is a must now. Even IStructE has difficulties getting their members to be recognized by PEB to skip the exams. If your friend's boss got it before the new system, then he may not have to sit for the written exams. BEM also implementing a new exam system recently cry.gif .
JohnJon82
post Apr 14 2016, 11:01 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(chickenessence @ Apr 14 2016, 09:33 PM)
Thanks for offering to help.
But i am a Mechanical Engineer.

So are you working in C&S consulting firm?
Mechanical can call Ir. jitshiong for advise.

Ya I working in C&S consulting firm. You? Tough life huh as engineer in SG biggrin.gif .
JohnJon82
post Jun 7 2016, 09:50 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Jun 7 2016, 09:30 PM)
guys want to ask , taking airasia from sg to kl, after web check in, do we need to print out the web check in tix, or can i do it at the counter ? i no printer to print, but scare they charge at counter ........
Can do it at the counter or at the kiosk. No charge.

1.2106sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:56 AM