Working in Singapore V18, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

Dendroid_King
post May 4 2016, 07:27 PM

75 posts

I have a personal banking problem whereby UOB bank will terminate my account. The only reason given is that they reviewed the business and banking relationship and claimed they can't keep my account.

I do not have any overdraft facility nor do I have any credit cards. So it's not possible for me to be owing to the bank. My balance is low at times below the required saving amount but that would be a weird reason to terminate my account.

Can anyone share what could be the case? I tried calling their customer service and the banks. But no reply yet. I am wondering what is going on.

Thanks for any help.

This post has been edited by Dendroid_King: May 4 2016, 07:29 PM
Dendroid_King
post May 5 2016, 04:40 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ May 5 2016, 01:08 PM)
Suspected money laundering looooo
Won't they freeze my account or do an investigation instead?

Besides my transaction is low.

Dendroid_King
post May 5 2016, 05:32 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ May 5 2016, 04:46 PM)
de-risking.
the bank most likely haven't started any investigations - their compliance flurs probably did a review on existing accounts and saw something that they didn't like.
hence they are terminating their relationship with you before MAS decides to make that an offence. Tipping off is already an offence iinm so the bank will not reveal their reasons to you.

i guess.  sweat.gif
Okay thanks. So does that mean I am in trouble?

As far as I am aware, I did nothing wrong. I only make transactions on behalf of my company.

Dendroid_King
post May 6 2016, 06:52 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(WallChecker @ May 5 2016, 10:00 PM)
That could be one of the reason as mentioned by madmoz. Your profile doesn't match your transaction (Since u mentioned that u performed transaction on behalf of your company). One other reason is that it could be that your balance is low most of the time(As mentioned by u earlier), which they think maintaining ur account cost more money to them, so they try to minimize their account holders. Anyway, all these are assumptions only.
Assuming that Madmoz is right (de-risking), would the bank's action impact my credit rating in the event I would like to take up a loan? Or would the bank's action trigger investigation from the authorities?

I ask because I feel like I am being unfairly treated by the bank by mere suspicion and they never even gave me a chance to defend myself. And though I know I did nothing wrong, nobody likes to be called for investigation.

Thanks for your help. I will try to confront the bank manager to get any answers or tips.

This post has been edited by Dendroid_King: May 6 2016, 06:56 AM
Dendroid_King
post May 6 2016, 01:26 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ May 6 2016, 11:16 AM)
so when u are confronting the bank and you will tell them u are doing transactions on behalf of your company on your personal account?
why did your company not use their own bank accounts for those transactions but instead used your own personal account?"
that alone sounds like money laundering
That is the problem I never think off when my boss transferred the money to me.

My boss went back overseas and put me in charge of all payment settlement as I am his accounting staff. So he just use his internet banking and transferred the money into my account. So while he is in overseas, I have to make all the payment on behalf including worker wages from my savings account.

As he is in overseas for a long time, he would not be able to sign any cheque and pass it to me. Hence the burden fall to me as he prefer to be in overseas.

I did tabulate the spreadsheet to monitor the movement of the cash flow in case there is any doubts as money is a pretty sensitive thing.

But sigh.....I doubt the bank will agree to give me a chance to explain. And I am not sure whether I am going to be blacklisted.

Thanks anyway.

This post has been edited by Dendroid_King: May 6 2016, 01:30 PM
Dendroid_King
post May 6 2016, 02:35 PM

75 posts

They implied to me it is indeed a big problem with my bank account. I heard the words alert list and legal department. But they did not confirm it as expected.

Personally I know I did nothing wrong. What should I do? Is it serious?

Please kindly advise. I want to clear my name if possible.

Dendroid_King
post May 6 2016, 04:42 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ May 6 2016, 04:39 PM)
Yes, it does appear that you were flagged as a possible money launderer.
There's some good news though - not likely that you're on any widely available sanction list, most likely just in that particular bank's only.

If the bank filed an STR (suspicious transaction report) to MAS, you might (very remote though i believe) that MAS might come and ask you to minum kopi. But don't sweat it lah. I think.

SG has a thriving financial industry, so they memang a tad anal when it comes to these sort of thing - they gotta show that they are serious about regulations yada yada, competitive advantage mah. Scared HK will overtake them.
Thanks. I was very worried.

Now I don't feel so bad.

0.0622sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:24 PM