Working in Singapore V18, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

Blackdawn
post Dec 18 2015, 11:37 AM

268 posts

frankly speaking, fresh grad will be slightly harder to get job here as they always gives local more priority (at least in my field, 90% to local first).

I need help guys, anyone staying around tanjong pagar / tiong bahru and have access to real good prop agents for these location? tired of staying in Bishan and travelling down all the time, rather pay more for conveniences.

Blackdawn
post May 10 2016, 03:30 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ May 10 2016, 11:43 AM)
Most ppl by the time they get to that age will have greener pastures to go to. Besides, it seems to me most malaysians here think negatively of msia's future so retirement in malaysia is something people say but will never actually do. (My speculation and what i gather from my circle of friends). Also over time you wouldve become indoctrinated by singapores culture and mentality, so would not have faith in malaysias medical system to have the kind of peace of mind necessary for retirement.

So please do convert.

Taking singapore citizenship allows u all the benefits of this first world nation, and to thosr hoping to go further, a valuable stepping stone. And more medical support via medicare. And a government protected pension/redistribution scheme. Maybe ull get the silver age benefits too.
is this guy for real or i sense strong sarcasm here but no one cares?
rclxms.gif
Blackdawn
post May 11 2016, 03:23 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ May 10 2016, 04:07 PM)
That sounds pretty reasonable, why do you think he's being sarcastic?
because it may sounds reasonable, but actually not quite the truth.

Most ppl by the time they get to that age will have greener pastures to go to. Besides, it seems to me most malaysians here think negatively of msia's future so retirement in malaysia is something people say but will never actually do. (My speculation and what i gather from my circle of friends). Also over time you wouldve become indoctrinated by singapores culture and mentality, so would not have faith in malaysias medical system to have the kind of peace of mind necessary for retirement.

No one with sane mind would ever think a concrete jungle like Singapore is a good place for retirement, for what?
- You can't own a vintage car that you like and drive around happily because you will need to return the car after 10 years.
- You have very limited proper natural park that you can go walk to get real fresh air
- You can hardly own a landed house of your own because of the high price, losing out the privileges of having "space".

The cons i can think of retirement in Malaysia, is only the security.

Even Medical wasn't that bad in malaysia, there are professionals in government hospitals. It is the perception of "the government is bad, so naturally anything related to the government is bad too" that led people to think that medical services in Malaysia is bad.

Tell me, how many of the people here know that you can extract your wisdom tooth for RM1? That's the benefit you get if you are Malaysia Citizen, but not much people know because they would never go to a government clinic assuming it is bad already.

So please do convert.

The most I will do, is to get Singapore PR, The only cons of getting SG citizen and losing out malaysia citizen is for the medical. but why? next point.

Taking singapore citizenship allows u all the benefits of this first world nation, and to thosr hoping to go further, a valuable stepping stone. And more medical support via medicare. And a government protected pension/redistribution scheme. Maybe ull get the silver age benefits too.

Based on my experience with Singapore colleagues, I don't see the huge difference of benefits given to Citizen of Singapore, compared to other countries.
Medical - Yes you may be eligible for medical benefits as Singapore Citizen, but to call it BETTER? I beg to differ, the only difference i can see for medical benefits for SG vs MY is, you get better services in SG. Not better medical services BUT better wardroom services, better food better bed and better ward.

Government protected pension / redistribution scheme - I don't need to stress how much limitation this scheme has for Singaporeans, it may not be in the mainstream media because everything is filtered. But this scheme basically makes you work for the government, live for the government and die for the government, and still don't have anything left for your kids.

My opinion, can correct me if i am wrong.

Blackdawn
post May 12 2016, 03:28 PM

268 posts

True that, different people have different opinion about living life in Malaysia / SG.

But to suggest people to convert, would be way too much of a suggestion, afterall you are asking people to lose their Malaysia Citizenship, and irrecoverable.

I worked in Malaysia for 5 years before moving to SG, it's been almost 4 years now, and all the complaints were actually made by locals, not exactly from malaysian turned SGrian (they're pretty happy somehow).

yeah, keep renewing the car sounds like a good option, but feasible to pay that amount of car on top of the maintenance needed for old car? It's not trying harder, it just sounds like trying to build an igloo in Malaysia.

SG has more natural than KL / Penang? First, I don't how does that comparison equates because its comparing Country to States. Then again, if you compare the cleanliness and effort done to preserve the park, hands down to Singapore. But to defy my claims that Malaysia has so much more natural park than SG? That's absurd.

Last thing would be friends, because i go back to Malaysia pretty often, i find myself opening up my friend zone to both countries, rather than stuck to one only. Not sure about others.

Based on my observations, a lot of Malaysian who came to Singapore, loved Singapore so much that they even start to criticize life in Malaysia. True enough, Dollar is strong, giving lots of flexibility in life. But everything has a pros and cons. The biggest con i find in SG that affects me heavily, is the country turns people to be very impatient and unfriendly.

Blackdawn
post May 13 2016, 10:00 AM

268 posts

so back to topic what's the rental rate for a room / whole unit in tanjong pagar nowadays?

by any chance rental in SG dropped in current year?
Blackdawn
post May 13 2016, 01:25 PM

268 posts

Malaysian are easier to get EP, don't worry.

i don't mind HDB as long as it's not dodgy old flat (something like pinnacle @ duxton), and i don't mind a ghost town so long as there's groceries, been living in a place full of people that i find it difficult to even move around in malls.

Blackdawn
post May 13 2016, 02:42 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(bevios @ May 13 2016, 02:37 PM)
My cousin sis have 1 unit in Pinnacle...if not wrong is 3+1 ...if u interested i can ask when her current tenant contract expiring.
3 + 1 means
1 master 2 common + 1 living room?
or 1 master 1 common + 1 living room and 1 maid room..

u know its so confusing to find house in SG because they categorize living room as 1 room..
hahaha

Blackdawn
post May 16 2016, 12:54 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ May 16 2016, 12:21 PM)
no shower sound? so cannot shower?
means u gotta shower before midnight lol

I'm intending to rent Pinnacle @ Duxton, but not sure if the surrounding amenities is sufficient?

Anyone renting there can give some reviews?

Blackdawn
post May 18 2016, 10:42 AM

268 posts

QUOTE(LeslieKenny @ May 17 2016, 11:56 AM)
I will move in to Singapore in 1st July 2016. I had contacted with the agent thru whatsapp. The agent saw the message but no reply. I wonder will the agent entertain me if only I called them or the time I enter Singapore (I am still in M'sia now), OR because I mentioned I prefer no agent fees applied, any idea ?

P/S: My budget should be no problem, $500 for single room.
you engaged an agent and you said no agent fees applied. mana ada logic bro?
and normally they allow viewing 1 month before, so you should try in 1st June perhaps?

Blackdawn
post May 18 2016, 05:56 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(LeslieKenny @ May 18 2016, 02:58 PM)
Hey, guys. Usually how long needed to rent a room ? 1 week can settle ? How about your experience ?
If you first timer, minimum need 2 weeks, 1 week to settle all the documents and stuff and 1 week to move stuff from malaysia to SG, settle down, buy appliances etc.

if you are already staying in SG, depending on how many stuff you have lor, for me just 1 weekend everything done.
get a mover to help move everything, simple and fast.

This post has been edited by Blackdawn: May 18 2016, 05:57 PM

0.0663sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 12:50 AM