4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Working in Singapore V18, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

titarium
post Mar 1 2016, 11:52 AM

683 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Mar 1 2016, 10:24 AM)
Husband and wife, each earning RM18K and RM15K a month. May I know should we consider relocating to Spore ? Thanks for opinions.
Husband and Wife , (min) 10 k SGD salary each for you to consider to move to SG.

your current lifestyle in MY should be quite good , personally would not consider if it is not for children's sake of education or relocation by Company ( sure better package than in MY ) .

In your shoe for relocating I would recommend to rent 1 - 6 months ( max 12 months ) , then target to own a unit in SG cash up front min 150k SGD .
Car Lease for a while COE drop to reasonable level ( 20 - 30k ) can get 1 d .

The biggest pinch is when converting savings to fund deposits , imagine wanted to buy a car immediately 60k-70k SGD ( Class - D Vehicle ) , 180k - 210k MYR Cash ! I believe in your case many offers may not match 1 to 1 but chance of car provided is quite high .

*assuming professional white collar

if commodity sales like insurance , property , direct sales etc -> is quite a saturated market in SG and too much competition for foreign new comers.

Running own business ?! Good as well Singapore is a very good spring board to World wide audience - no matter what ever sector !
titarium
post Mar 1 2016, 02:29 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Mar 1 2016, 01:44 PM)
Buy a condo in SG with 15% ABSD + 20% deposit for 150k SGD???
u high?
Sorry forgotten to add - become PR first

Their profile 6 months drawing salary I believe can apply d .

HDB for PR as of now have to wait 2 years ... well to some is worth while the wait .

This post has been edited by titarium: Mar 1 2016, 02:32 PM
titarium
post Mar 1 2016, 06:30 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Mar 1 2016, 03:56 PM)
I think the prblm is money

Cheapest condo in sg i think oso at least 600k+ which is located inside geylang redlight distrct of a leasthold studio unit

600k+ , i think foreigner need to prepare 30% cash, which is ard 200k sgd

thumbup.gif

For a studio

doh.gif
Close to that amount , is always advisable to become PR first before getting a house , chances of settling down in SG is quite high for many professionals especially when Gov in Malaysia is so screw up and opportunity isn't as promising.

Citizen for BTO I think the planning goes a long way : total 7 years

600k - can aim 2 room condo - 99 years @ Yishun , Bukit Batok , Chua Chu Kang, Geylang -currently there's new development going at this price

But Geylang not so suitable for family stay unless those facing Old airport road and Lrg 26 onwards.
titarium
post Mar 1 2016, 08:58 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Mar 1 2016, 07:18 PM)
sweat.gif pls recommend me some condo at 600k at yishun bukit batok chua chu kang
Property Guru - 600k 2 Bed Search

Following should be private projects (non-EC) , unless I missed out something :
Wisteria - Yishun
One Suites - Geylang
High Park Resident - Seletar

Could get more listed if use 1 bed room criteria , especially Geyalng area , Some maybe EC so have to pandai pandai la .

This post has been edited by titarium: Mar 1 2016, 09:01 PM
titarium
post Mar 1 2016, 10:16 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(saddient @ Mar 1 2016, 09:46 PM)
is it advisable staying in JB and travel to SG everyday?

btw im working in retail line... 10am till 7pm, 12pm till 10pm

understand would be very tired..... plan to drive and park at CIQ then travel by bus to queenstreet,.... then mrt..... anyone doing like how i plan ?
Your timing skipped the peak hours , you could try to drive all the way in to SG towards the nearest HDB estate with connecting MRT .

Assuming you are working in Orchard or CBD area , woodlands MRT to Orchard / CBD area around 2 SGD / trip , 4 SGD for return : 80 - 100 SGD spend and time is about 1-2 hour ++ from CIQ via

By car if non peak can reach <<1 hour but prepare to pay parking up to 300 SGD per month , else need to find yourself a good parking spot < 100 SGD , typically URA carparks or you have friends working in certain buildings usually office can register season parking still have chance to get < 100 SGD parking , then take a public transport will do better still if it is just next block , just prepare to register an IU will do .
titarium
post Mar 3 2016, 01:01 AM

683 posts

QUOTE(Talude @ Mar 3 2016, 12:39 AM)
Hi guys,

Just got a job offer as a fresh graduate in SG audit at 2.2k SGD. Honestly is it even possible to survive independently?

Might be staying at aunt's place to save on accommodation.

Not sure if it is a right stepping stone as compared to starting in KL.  unsure.gif
Take offer , wait for adjustment or promotion .

You need to prove yourself , not much bargain power if your cert not officially recognize in Singapore .

as a fresh grad no problem , unless you have high lifestyle demand .

Stay with Aunty is a good choice , you'll get yourself quite independent within 2-3 years .

titarium
post Mar 3 2016, 11:22 AM

683 posts

QUOTE(Talude @ Mar 3 2016, 11:09 AM)
titarium That was what the employer said, because I am a fresh graduate with no experience at all. Then again, the company is small/medium. Is it alright for a fresh start? Staying long term at relatives' place also might feel paiseh right? Hahaha

deodorant Doesn't that put me at a very low starting pay then? Lol. The accommodation would be the killer and make a bulk of the $1k.
JohnJon82 Where did you rent the 600 for single room? Thought most rooms were around 700~800 excluding bills :/
Relative you can discuss one , depends how close lor .... came across free ( then you must pandai pandai la - buy your relative dinner , groceries every now and then , pay for bills etc ), some 300 , some 500 exceed 500 can consider stay out . Yet again depend on your relationship with relative .

Just to share some experience relative to insist you to stay with them until you can buy a unit on your own , usually these relatives loves their niece and nephew like their own, especially those without children , just need a companion and a youngster helping hand at home.

Have your experience then later you can demand either within firm if working condition suits you , or any accounting firm out there when you have the right experience .
titarium
post Mar 8 2016, 10:08 AM

683 posts

QUOTE(LovelyPotato @ Mar 7 2016, 07:23 PM)
I'm trying to schedule up another interview on the same day if possible. Will proceed with the interview if there's another one so that I can save on another trip, otherwise I'm probably going to reject this one.

I have checked on AirAsia and found a return flight of RM200+ on the same day, considering from TBS via KLIA transit will be roughly RM280+-. Taking bus will be around RM100-RM130 only but it will take 5+5 hours so it seemed to be quite tiring for a day trip, and also excluding the immigration side might take another hour or so.

I have also checked on Agoda and it almost cost RM200 a night for accommodation, seemed too expensive from my budget hmm... Anyway thanks for your recommendation!

BTW wondering if anyone working with a Japanese MNC in Singapore please give some info about it (Lifestyle, culture, etc), I'm trying not to group the entire "Japanese Culture" a bad tray of eggs just because one of the bad egg I have tried. But so far from a few of the review I read from glassdoor for the company I'm scheduled with seemed to have the same kind of problem I faced before.  doh.gif
Check out your friends , some may be able to spare you a place to stay for a night .
titarium
post Mar 21 2016, 01:25 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Mar 20 2016, 09:44 PM)
Been here for almost one and a half months. Life is good indeed and things are cheap, except for my studio apartment rental and possibly the utilities. Bills for that haven't arrived yet.

Got paid half a month's salary last time round and it isn't even half finished after paying rent! Managed to get an UHD TV and a PS4 to keep me entertained at nights lol.

Missing the family a bit, but I suppose one cannot have everything. Payday is next week hehe. At this rate sending $$ home is gonna be easy.  bruce.gif

Flying home is a pain though, leave opis at 5 on Friday, and when sampai rumah also close to 11 no thanks to KLIA being super far from KL and my place not being anywhere near train stations. I suspect taking a bus might be cheaper and take just about as long. Mana and how to take a bus back to KL ar, sifus here?

How much does it cost to own a car? Or can I transfer my Malaysia car into SG ar? I've got a parking spot so if it isn't too expensive having a car to drive back up and down again on the weekends might be viable.  hmm.gif 
PS. Work is sadly, rather heavier than in KL. I miss my old team. really.
You can transfer a car if the age of the car is less than 3 years old , but then there's alot of additoonal tax , COE , inspection and etc to pay : in the end not worth it .

If work in CBD area - Beach road is your best bet .

If work around West side there's Aeroline @ Vivo , First Coach @ Buona Vista ( these companies have other stops as well )

If around south side KKKL travels from Katong V & Tg Katong Complex - near Paya Lebar MRT

Maintaining a car in SG is similar to KL , if you think 1k + is affordable then can just get a car , but the killer is the Down payment 40 - 50% depending car type. if BMW or Merc double the amount nia , the only cheap conti just like Malaysia is VW.

Drive car vs Flight vs Bus
Car - Own time own target , weekend custom clearance time 1-2 hours , you are in better luck if working in Northern area. ( Fastest 3++ hours can reach home , typically 4-6 hours )
Flight - As long don't kena flight delay ( Typically 4-5 hours taxi/mrt - check-in - wait - flight - taxi/bus/car )
Bus - Very luck dependent ( as long no other passenger having clearance issue should reach KL in 5-6 hours time inclusive 1-2 stops )

Super Peak Period - Take Flight ! You pay a premium but you don't get stuck up to 5 hours .

This post has been edited by titarium: Mar 21 2016, 01:26 PM
titarium
post Mar 22 2016, 12:59 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(Blues89 @ Mar 22 2016, 11:58 AM)
im getting a credit card from ocbc...any cc to recommend? @@" 365?ntuc plus?XD
If you spend more than 500 a month get UOB One card
titarium
post Mar 23 2016, 09:28 AM

683 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Mar 23 2016, 09:25 AM)
If I were you I'd rather stay closer to my work place instead
You travel to work 5x a week and only travel to airport 1x a week at most

Plus the human traffic during work days is going to be way worse compared to friday night
If you're in a hurry you can always take a taxi to the airport, but even MRT will take you less than an hour
agree
titarium
post Mar 23 2016, 02:18 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(CreamMilk @ Mar 23 2016, 01:37 PM)
Thanks for all the advise~~ Agree that I should stay nearer to office, as travel back to KL won't be long term, just temporary until my wife move over to sg too.
Just that somewhere further from central could get nicer master room or even whole unit with less than 2k rental  biggrin.gif
I think i should travel down to SG and feel it myself before I decide.
Must be getting quite a good offer , since you are targeting 2k room rental .

Congrats of breaking the 4.5k barrier .

Stay near office will do you more good .

FYI - First coach have Bus from buono Vista , I have friends taking from there , certain Friday take time off ( but these bunch are old bird in company d la ) .

Take bus during non-peak , travel time less than airport and reaches faster to heart of KL .

This post has been edited by titarium: Mar 23 2016, 02:20 PM
titarium
post Mar 24 2016, 11:10 AM

683 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 23 2016, 07:01 PM)
I dunno, maybe it's a milestone of some sort? Average income, maybe? I always get confused between all the median, mean, individual vs household income numbers flying about lol.
No la because forumer reluctant to come here as all previous offers were < 4.5k and he is earning > 7k in MY .

For me also hard to accept unless LL no choice , if you have choice will still continue to scout .
titarium
post Apr 13 2016, 04:57 PM

683 posts

For Malaysia graduates, PE Board Singapore officially only recognize BEM & Graduate from UM.

PE Board Approval - 2010

Means :
Route 1 : UM - can start to register with PE Board directly

Route 2 : Obtain your PE/Ir from BEM , and it will be recognize by IES & PE board in SG can be transfer over.

Route 3 : Completed Twinning program from list of Oversea University listed : eg - University of Adelaide - B. Eng (also subject to approval cause they have a pre-approve list and also to validate the credit hours tie with the Oversea University )

Route 4 : Submit and Request for Appeal , it seems like there's a grey list where they will still recognize , last heard MMU B.Eng graduate 2008 on wards are able to be recognize ( This also subject case to case basis )

Route 5 : Take another B.Eng or Master in SG ( NTU or NUS )

titarium
post Apr 13 2016, 04:59 PM

683 posts

Also regarding EP .

3.3k is the official minimum .

I have seen < 3.3k even a 2.8k holding a EP , because certain industry the salary tier is lower thus EP qualification is lower ( subject to approval by MOM )
titarium
post Apr 13 2016, 05:06 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Apr 13 2016, 05:00 PM)
So  rolleyes.gif u think other graduate recognize by BEM can become a sg PE anot ?
Yester years only route 2 & 5

either your get your Ir in Malaysia first , or you take another degree in SG

- Degree recognize by BEM is not automatically recognize by PE Board or IES ( in this case only UM )
- Ir register with BEM is recognize by PE Board , can carry the title over

Route 4 : You may get clarification on your degree from PE board they can tell you immediately or after an interview , whether they can accept your degree for registration.

If you r a Malaysian grad not from UM and got registered , would like to hear your story ( PM better )

This post has been edited by titarium: Apr 13 2016, 05:16 PM
titarium
post Apr 13 2016, 06:14 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Apr 13 2016, 05:39 PM)
dun knw u all got any fren who really in the process of applying for PE or not ? i mean got experience, not just research on net,

1) no matter u r UM or not, as long as u r graduate with BEM recognize u can become a PE
2) paper 1 is a must ,no mater u r UM or other graduate https://www.peb.gov.sg/downloads/fee2015.pdf
3) after paper 1 passed , u go paper 2
3) log book and board interview

* i work in big consultancy, lots of my fren went to the exam, no matter UM or not, u can't skip it

regarding the PE direct change to Sg PE is wrong info too...our company here oso got many malaysia PE, but cant do PE work.....haize.... i lazy to explain....
I have PM you separate with more detail .. . .. so can discuss see what is missing .

ok base on the PDF which is official :
2 ELIGIBILITY TO SIT FOR EXAMINATION
The Fundamentals of Engineering Examination tests an applicant’s knowledge of fundamental engineering subjects in civil, electrical or mechanical engineering. A person may apply to sit for the Fundamentals of Engineering Examination after he has obtained an approved degree or qualification listed in the Professional Engineers (Approved Qualifications) [I]Notification or has proper and recognised academic qualifications in engineering accepted by the Board.

approved degree or qualification listed in the Professional Engineers (Approved Qualifications) , only list UM from Malaysia

Also means degree have to be recognize before you are able to sit for exam.

So your friends who have graduated from Malaysian U , and not from UM , I highly suspect is using Route 4 - as there's a list of Uni they start to recognize base on year of accreditation , I quoted MMU 2008 was because I knew someone graduate after 2008 was recognize while his senior wasn't .

On BEM transfer to PE Board - I am quoting from my Fren's Boss who is a PE , reason is SG PE board recognize the fundamentals and experience accumulated ( that's the reason why BEM is listed as accredited org ), they may scrutinize the years of practice so if insufficient have to log up the project in SG, an interview would be require to finalized it .
* In short those exams can be skip , experience evaluated if recognize then proceed if not have to accumulate with projects in SG , then interview.

titarium
post Apr 27 2016, 05:32 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(jacqueslim @ Apr 27 2016, 03:26 PM)
Intention to break...but ended up didn't....
Just share your story .. sound interesting
titarium
post May 16 2016, 09:55 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(Blackdawn @ May 16 2016, 12:54 PM)
means u gotta shower before midnight lol

I'm intending to rent Pinnacle @ Duxton, but not sure if the surrounding amenities is sufficient?

Anyone renting there can give some reviews?
Tg pagar , Everton park .. Drinking places , Korean food , public transport ... all are within walking distance .

titarium
post May 25 2016, 04:20 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(QiAnG @ May 25 2016, 12:05 PM)
Hey guys, need some suggestions in what route to take.

I have just graduated with a degree in Mechanical Engineering. Currently working for a Japanese MNC in malaysia as a field service engineer.

Just wondering if I were to plan to work in SG in the future. maybe around 2018 or so.. is service engineer a good route to take? Or should I try to gain experience as a project engineer instead?

Thanks in advance =)
Which industry you are in the O&G , Heavy Machinery , Machinery or the Construction side ?

All routes avail in SG , depends where you are now and where you want to head next .

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0685sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:07 AM