Working in Singapore V18, All About Living in The Little Red Dot
Fiona Chin
Dec 29 2015, 10:59 AM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 29 2015, 12:09 AM) Suddenly I'm like losing hope, my last call (2nd call) was on Friday, 18th.  The HR who's the recruiter said he will let me know whether it's positive or negative. My Singaporean friend was saying it's holiday season, so asked me to be patient... Yes collect. Some MNC will shut down for 2 weeks for Xmas and New Year to clear leave, let the ang moh bosses go home to celebrate. Those 1 or 2 ppl left staying back in office are jaga just to make sure nothing surprising happen. Have to wait for the directors come back say yes or no to the hiring.
Fiona Chin
Dec 30 2015, 12:45 PM
QUOTE(evios @ Dec 30 2015, 12:03 PM) Hi All. Was offered with a job at SG. However I am still dealing with the HR on the pay band. Is that normal that we raised the expected salary according to our currency in RM, to SG$ irrespective of the currency rate? I was told by the HR it is a big jump. Hence I might need the taigors here for some input when comes to similar case, whats the justification when asked by HR why they need to consider your expected salary? Thanks! Tell HR SG condo cost 1.2k per sq feet and 200k for a car that last only 10 years.
Fiona Chin
Dec 31 2015, 11:28 AM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 31 2015, 02:01 AM) Still waiting for their decision. They need the position to be filled up soon but I can't and my expected salary is higher than what they can offer. So yeah, that's about it, I didn't put in much hope though. Let it flow naturally.  Your asking pay not very high also, somewhere at the normal range. Should be ok la. See fate lo.
Fiona Chin
Jan 2 2016, 11:55 PM
QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jan 2 2016, 02:46 PM) [attachmentid=5679054] There will be a up-coming BBQ session for all Malaysian's kulis currently working in Sg. It will be held on 16th Jan 2016 Saturday evening at Pasir Ris. Those who are interested, kindy PM Lester1987 or deodorant. Non-refundable s$25/pax will be collected upfront, on first-cum-first-serve basis, we can only accommodate another 5 ppl max as we already have 20+ confirmed regulars. Good chance to network with the moguls and tycoons with affordable price. Highly recommended for new comers  .
Fiona Chin
Jan 4 2016, 04:09 PM
QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jan 3 2016, 01:26 AM) Eh. Join us leh. It'll be fun. Making some friends. Make our community strong. Serving NS leh. In house for 1 year.
Fiona Chin
Jan 5 2016, 12:03 PM
QUOTE(ghodul @ Jan 5 2016, 11:37 AM) In MY, usualy if jump can get up to 30% (based on my exp). How about SG? Issit shomehow the same? Why need to jump to get increment? No jump increment better  .
Fiona Chin
Jan 5 2016, 03:35 PM
QUOTE(oe_kintaro @ Jan 5 2016, 03:25 PM) double every 10 years, at linear rate that an average 8% increment every annual review. He is expat. 8% so tall. My increment only 2% cover inflation.
Fiona Chin
Jan 6 2016, 10:56 AM
QUOTE(oe_kintaro @ Jan 5 2016, 04:01 PM) The more usual case I think is a staggered line, maybe lower annual increment but having a significant bump every few years due to upgrade / promotion / job change. Average out is 8% p.a. lah Here in Penang, I think the average median increment (at least in my MNC experience) is 5-8 % p.a. maybe due to higher inflation rate compared to Singapore. So if you adjust for an annual 3% inflation rate that's a net 2-5% p.a. If you see short term then see % jump. If see long term, got 5 years 10 years 15 20 25 30 35 40 45 55 long service awards. Some give cash give share, serve longer give car give house  . Then got sabbatical leave some more. Wah some even give paid sabbatical. 1 year paid leave doing nothing leh. Try asking sabbatical on the 7th month joining the company  , ask you go sing getai already.
Fiona Chin
Jan 8 2016, 12:13 PM
QUOTE(xiaovievie @ Jan 8 2016, 08:57 AM) Normally how many days do u guys take leave for CNY? except the 2 days holidays for monday and tuesday. 2 weeks SOP for Malaysian Chinese. Need go home cook leh clean house clean sai, ask your boss let you go 1 week earlier.
Fiona Chin
Jan 10 2016, 08:56 PM
QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jan 10 2016, 04:54 PM) For those getting their CPFs given back to them in cash, do note that the CPF limit is now SGD6000 per month, increased from SGD5000. So if you're making 6k or more, your CPF "allowance" should be 6000 * 17%. Do claim from your employers, especially those in the Big 4 audit firms  For the rest of the PRs, the deduction is an additional S$200 more now   !
Fiona Chin
Jan 11 2016, 11:22 AM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Jan 10 2016, 08:59 PM) Fiona Jie why act so shocked? Less 0.1% cash in your acct every month you also won't notice the difference ba. 200 I can buy 2 tin formula already, no milk drink how? CPF got baby feeding program or not?
Fiona Chin
Jan 11 2016, 02:35 PM
QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Jan 11 2016, 02:25 PM)  come gv me ur fb we can knw each other more if u r not dupe  Look like the banned bunny.
Fiona Chin
Jan 11 2016, 04:19 PM
QUOTE(FattyShorty @ Jan 11 2016, 03:12 PM) OMG..Broke her leg? Who? Fiona? Are she okays? Fiona lets play badminton when you recovered I'm so free in Singapore... Btw... should not you guys are working now? I serving NS now 1 year on leave stand by. Later my general wake up I need go make milk for him.
Fiona Chin
Jan 11 2016, 05:48 PM
QUOTE(Blues89 @ Jan 11 2016, 04:28 PM) @_@ need NS? u singaporean? 2nd generation PR  .
Fiona Chin
Jan 12 2016, 05:01 PM
QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Jan 12 2016, 10:35 AM)  i thought government sector gv high salary to prevent corruption Government pay is usually lower than the private one. Compare the PM to some CEO managing 5 mil of people and networth equal to SG's, the PM pay is nothing worth mentioning.
Fiona Chin
Jan 13 2016, 04:09 PM
QUOTE(knwong @ Jan 12 2016, 03:57 PM) Regardless whether you are directly employ under SG gov or outsource company working on gov project, salary actually follow market rate just like the private sectors. However if you are scholars (which is a BIG thing in SG) or elected MPs, these group of people can command higher than average salaries compared to us 'peasants'. Have to give recognition to those scholars who spent their childhood and teenage mugging away for the country's future while others are enjoying themselves right. SG scholars are cream of their time not anyhow one ok. They make it in the working life or not is another thing, but if I have an opportunity, scholars will be my main choice instead of giving it away to ah cat ah dog knocking on my door. My baby are learning economics now even though he can't even roll himself over. Next time not some big shot of Temasek also big shot of GIC already.
Fiona Chin
Jan 14 2016, 12:46 PM
QUOTE(knwong @ Jan 13 2016, 09:18 PM) Myself never perceive them as superior or anything. I personally met, worked together and befriended a few scholars and PhDs. I find them to be smart and efficient to work with - albeit only a handful are strongly opinionated and proud of themselves (which I can tolerate as myself sometime can be the same) However, what I find it to be bewildered and amused is that why the general SG population look too highly upon this group of people - as if they are alien or very ATAS people? To me they are just NORMAL people like us. Normal people who can make honest mistakes, who need a lending hand when you are feeling down or help, etc... Haven't meet good one? Those committed to the country one, high up in ministries. Some jobs cannot have honest mistakes. That's why need the scholars who had spent their life being the best at what they are tasked for, and hopefully they will continue to sacrifice more of their their life the same way they did in the job assigned to them. Some who have enough decide to convert back to the normal peasant lifestyle hence you see the slack in them.
Fiona Chin
Jan 15 2016, 11:03 AM
QUOTE(Fat & Fluffy @ Jan 14 2016, 05:40 PM) Heightened VigilanceThe SAF has implemented heightened security measures in view of the multiple attacks in Jakarta. Our soldiers on duty will conduct additional checks for any irregularities and respond to any suspicious activities in accordance with the existing procedures. Prepared and Vigilant!  GG causeway and 2nd link... maybe even changi... SG got total defense.
Fiona Chin
Jan 16 2016, 02:55 PM
QUOTE(lola90 @ Jan 16 2016, 12:46 AM) hi guys!got my pr last year. am 26 this year but looking to change job soon. sometimes i do wanna go back to KL but as u know, its not really a wise decision to make  Go back Malaysia not bad what, I got classmates went back already doing so good there make my life in SG bad. QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jan 16 2016, 02:50 PM) Ah u are right! But srsly singapore sgd > aud now. Somemore tax in aud so high. And singapore educationand pisa score > aussie. So why u want ur kids study in a lousier environment? Singapore where kids become geniuses and world financiers/bankers/investors! From small already train to be better than anyone else. Oz 400k aud can buy a landed house with BBQ space and pool lo. Here no 4 million sgd don't even ask.
Fiona Chin
Jan 18 2016, 10:14 AM
QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Jan 18 2016, 09:58 AM) Anyone work in shipyard ? Tis year got gv bonus ah ? Last time booming always 6 to 8 months, now crude oil price all drop dun knw how eh Bonus is the performance of the previous year leh, not what will happen next year. Last year oil still good. And shipyard build ship lo, ship take people take goods, not necessary only for oil leh.