170 Pages « < 159 160 161 162 163 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V18, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

QiAnG
post May 25 2016, 12:05 PM

545 posts

Hey guys, need some suggestions in what route to take.

I have just graduated with a degree in Mechanical Engineering. Currently working for a Japanese MNC in malaysia as a field service engineer.

Just wondering if I were to plan to work in SG in the future. maybe around 2018 or so.. is service engineer a good route to take? Or should I try to gain experience as a project engineer instead?

Thanks in advance =)
James1234
post May 25 2016, 12:24 PM

QUOTE(QiAnG @ May 25 2016, 12:05 PM)

I have just graduated with a degree in Mechanical Engineering. Currently working for a Japanese MNC in malaysia as a field service engineer.

Just wondering if I were to plan to work in SG in the future. maybe around 2018 or so.. is service engineer a good route to take? Or should I try to gain experience as a project engineer instead?

Thanks in advance =)
James1234
post May 25 2016, 12:28 PM

What uni you graduated from? From what I know, sg employers sometimes give preference to local unis certs, or well known uni certs. It's good to get some exp as service engineer first. why u want to wait until 2018?
James1234
post May 25 2016, 12:46 PM

QUOTE(vickywoon @ May 21 2016, 07:06 PM)
Dear all,

If I am working in Ang Mo Kio Street 64 , anyone can recommend me which area of accommodation are easily accessible to here? or which areas nearby are likely to be more economic and can be reached less than around 15 mins

Thank you so much!
CODE
How about Ang Mo Kio Ave 5 around blocks 601 to 604? There is direct bus from the main road to your company.

QiAnG
post May 25 2016, 02:29 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(James1234 @ May 25 2016, 12:28 PM)
What uni you graduated from?  From what I know, sg employers sometimes give preference to local unis certs, or well known uni certs.  It's good to get some exp as service engineer first.  why u want to wait until 2018?
Um. Curtin University, an Australian private U. I believe there is one in Singapore as well. Yes from what I've seen from jobstreet, mostly prefer graduates from Singapore polytecnic.

Like what you suggested, I am planning to gain at least 18 months of work experience as a service engineer first. And in the mean time I'm committed in Japanese language course and maybe pick up a Masters next year or so after my financial is more stable. But I am just a bit worried as to which direction to go as I'm afraid that if I were to venture into the project route after some time doing servicing, I may have to start over from scratch.

SUShuaweie5830
post May 25 2016, 02:31 PM

967 posts

QUOTE(QiAnG @ May 25 2016, 02:29 PM)
Um. Curtin University, an Australian private U. I believe there is one in Singapore as well. Yes from what I've seen from jobstreet, mostly prefer graduates from Singapore polytecnic.

Like what you suggested, I am planning to gain at least 18 months of work experience as a service engineer first. And in the mean time I'm committed in Japanese language course and maybe pick up a Masters next year or so after my financial is more stable. But I am just a bit worried as to which direction to go as I'm afraid that if I were to venture into the project route after some time doing servicing, I may have to start over from scratch.
mind u some sg company dun take into consideration ur malaysia working experience

so better come here earlier than later
XiuKeong
post May 25 2016, 02:55 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,436 posts

Anyone heard of Pearl's Hill Terrace before? Heard it's ex-Police Force's Headquarters.
goldrush
post May 25 2016, 03:31 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(vickywoon @ May 21 2016, 07:06 PM)
Dear all,

If I am working in Ang Mo Kio Street 64 , anyone can recommend me which area of accommodation are easily accessible to here? or which areas nearby are likely to be more economic and can be reached less than around 15 mins

Thank you so much!
hello moto!
titarium
post May 25 2016, 04:20 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(QiAnG @ May 25 2016, 12:05 PM)

Thanks in advance =)
Which industry you are in the O&G , Heavy Machinery , Machinery or the Construction side ?

All routes avail in SG , depends where you are now and where you want to head next .
QiAnG
post May 25 2016, 05:35 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ May 25 2016, 02:31 PM)
mind u some sg company dun take into consideration ur malaysia working experience

so better come here earlier than later
I tried looking for a job there end of last year, but end up getting some... not so relevant jobs, mostly QAQC stuffs (I prefer learning something more relevant for my 1st job, thats why I accepted my current job, although pay is not so well, and living cost in PJ is very very high). I'll try job hunting in SG again after 1 year working in PJ, I'm originally from Sarawak.

QUOTE(titarium @ May 25 2016, 04:20 PM)
Which industry you are in the O&G , Heavy Machinery , Machinery or the Construction side ?

All routes avail in SG , depends where you are now and where you want to head next .
Hi, I'm from heavy machinery, my company is a supplier for Plastic Injection Moulding Machine, so I have to go to a lot of clients doing plastic stuffs.

My current plan to learn technical hands on stuff for some time, then either continue with current stuff if I enjoy the work, or go over for bigger scale project stuffs in the future, still thinking, quite stressful thinking about the future. biggrin.gif

titarium
post May 25 2016, 08:11 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(QiAnG @ May 25 2016, 05:35 PM)
I tried looking for a job there end of last year, but end up getting some... not so relevant jobs, mostly QAQC stuffs (I prefer learning something more relevant for my 1st job, thats why I accepted my current job, although pay is not so well, and living cost in PJ is very very high). I'll try job hunting in SG again after 1 year working in PJ, I'm originally from Sarawak.
Hi, I'm from heavy machinery, my company is a supplier for Plastic Injection Moulding Machine, so I have to go to a lot of clients doing plastic stuffs.

My current plan to learn technical hands on stuff for some time, then either continue with current stuff if I enjoy the work, or go over for bigger scale project stuffs in the future, still thinking, quite stressful thinking about the future.  biggrin.gif
Hrmm still consider Machinery , in SG probably you can broaden up your field : CNC Machine , Semicon Machine .. there are well known names here in SG probably you know some .

heavy are ones like Cranes , Lifter , Bull Dozers , Cargo Hoist ... etc
PTB
post May 25 2016, 08:29 PM

66 posts

Young graduates just working in Sgp, please don't always play Facebook game using hp. Company paid you to work not to play game. As a student, you pay fee to get knowledge. As an employee, you are paid to solve problems.

madmoz
post May 26 2016, 09:40 AM

4,250 posts

Nice
rookie93
post May 26 2016, 09:54 AM

Captain Slow
647 posts

QUOTE(QiAnG @ May 25 2016, 05:35 PM)

My current plan to learn technical hands on stuff for some time, then either continue with current stuff if I enjoy the work, or go over for bigger scale project stuffs in the future, still thinking, quite stressful thinking about the future.  biggrin.gif
Im on the same boat as you. Also just grad, tried my luck in Sg, none came unfortunately, but got a job in Msia so work for now. Dunno if during my current work i should continue applying for jobs there? Im under probation at my.current company for 6 months. Or should i just go up till 1 year then only give another try at Sg applications?
XiuKeong
post May 26 2016, 10:21 AM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,436 posts

QUOTE(rookie93 @ May 26 2016, 09:54 AM)
Im on the same boat as you. Also just grad, tried my luck in Sg, none came unfortunately, but got a job in Msia so work for now. Dunno if during my current work i should continue applying for jobs there? Im under probation at my.current company for 6 months. Or should i just go up till 1 year then only give another try at Sg applications?
Keep applying. It takes time to process everything
rookie93
post May 26 2016, 10:22 AM

Captain Slow
647 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ May 26 2016, 10:21 AM)
Keep applying. It takes time to process everything
Lets say the very hopeful scenario is, i get an offer in Sg but I'm still on probation at my current company. Is it ok to just leave during this probation period...?
XiuKeong
post May 26 2016, 10:29 AM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,436 posts

QUOTE(rookie93 @ May 26 2016, 10:22 AM)
Lets say the very hopeful scenario is, i get an offer in Sg but I'm still on probation at my current company. Is it ok to just leave during this probation period...?
Why not? Just serve the notice period of your probation.

Don't be surprised if you see any employee working in SG leave 3 days after work commencement laugh.gif
KilJim
post May 26 2016, 10:48 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(rookie93 @ May 26 2016, 10:22 AM)
It's more okay to leave during probation compared to after being confirmed

rookie93
post May 26 2016, 10:52 AM

Captain Slow
647 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ May 26 2016, 10:48 AM)
It's more okay to leave during probation compared to after being confirmed
Oh izit? So it doesn't leave like a sort of negative impression for the future employer?
rookie93
post May 26 2016, 10:53 AM

Captain Slow
647 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ May 26 2016, 10:29 AM)
Why not? Just serve the notice period of your probation.

Don't be surprised if you see any employee working in SG leave 3 days after work commencement laugh.gif
Wah 3 days haven't start anything much also ciao d? Lol

170 Pages « < 159 160 161 162 163 > » Top

0.0326sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:28 PM