QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Apr 21 2016, 01:00 PM)
Yeaps, it is. But I am not setting such high expectations to join Temasek in singapore haah.Would you by any chance know any companies with opening now ?
Thanks!
Working in Singapore V18, All About Living in The Little Red Dot
Apr 21 2016, 02:07 PM
249 posts Joined: Jun 2011 From: Ampang Jaya |
Apr 21 2016, 02:30 PM
4,424 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Singapore |
QUOTE(kyone @ Apr 21 2016, 12:07 PM) If you have friend plan to stay with you can easily get 650-750/2pax in boon lay/jurong east areas. Too bad I can't get one. End up 500 single room. You want to find an agent that does not need an agent fee? But I found that rooms posted by malaysian (esp the sub-rent) are packed, can up to 6-8pax in the unit. I think agents are fine as long as you meet the right person (and remember mention you don't want to pay agent fee!). |
Apr 21 2016, 02:58 PM
245 posts Joined: Aug 2015 |
QUOTE(KilJim @ Apr 21 2016, 02:30 PM) Actually a lot of properties from agents posted on propertuguru got mention no agent fee applies. Simply because the landlords have paid them.it's against the law for them to ask for payments from both sides(landlord & tenant).I found mine through agent without paying them, only the $24 e-stamping fee for legalization of rental agreement. |
Apr 21 2016, 04:05 PM
946 posts Joined: May 2010 |
QUOTE(Blackberries @ Apr 21 2016, 02:07 PM) Yeaps, it is. But I am not setting such high expectations to join Temasek in singapore haah. unless you are fairly very experience in this field, if not it's kinda difficult to get a job in this sector for a foreigner.Would you by any chance know any companies with opening now ? Thanks! Singaporeans like this job field.. so competition will be higher..! |
Apr 21 2016, 04:25 PM
750 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Johor Bahru, Johor |
do I need save extra 15% salary each month which require to pay resident tax?
I have join Singapore company from last July. Does it mean I require to pay 15% x basic salary x total month working = pay tax btw, I am holding epass This post has been edited by danieltan: Apr 21 2016, 04:25 PM |
Apr 21 2016, 04:30 PM
384 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: JB |
QUOTE(danieltan @ Apr 21 2016, 04:25 PM) do I need save extra 15% salary each month which require to pay resident tax? Resident rate is much lower than 15%. You can refer to Iras website to calculate your tax. If you intent to work more than 6 months it's fineI have join Singapore company from last July. Does it mean I require to pay 15% x basic salary x total month working = pay tax btw, I am holding epass This post has been edited by orangbulu: Apr 21 2016, 04:30 PM |
Apr 21 2016, 04:34 PM
QUOTE(orangbulu @ Apr 21 2016, 04:30 PM) Resident rate is much lower than 15%. You can refer to Iras website to calculate your tax. If you intent to work more than 6 months it's fine Mind how to calculate? I have been worked since July 2015 till now. So far my employer didn't ask me to do filling income tax for Singapore. I did submit for Malaysia Income tax. |
Apr 21 2016, 04:50 PM
QUOTE(danieltan @ Apr 21 2016, 04:34 PM) Mind how to calculate? Take your total pay from July to Dec 2015 then compare it to the tax bracket on IRAS website. Also remember to apply for a singpass so that you can access your tax portal on IRASI have been worked since July 2015 till now. So far my employer didn't ask me to do filling income tax for Singapore. I did submit for Malaysia Income tax. |
Apr 21 2016, 05:13 PM
4,424 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Singapore |
QUOTE(kyone @ Apr 21 2016, 02:58 PM) Actually a lot of properties from agents posted on propertuguru got mention no agent fee applies. Simply because the landlords have paid them.it's against the law for them to ask for payments from both sides(landlord & tenant). Ah I see, makes senseI found mine through agent without paying them, only the $24 e-stamping fee for legalization of rental agreement. |
Apr 21 2016, 05:14 PM
QUOTE(orangbulu @ Apr 21 2016, 04:50 PM) Take your total pay from July to Dec 2015 then compare it to the tax bracket on IRAS website. Also remember to apply for a singpass so that you can access your tax portal on IRAS Do we need pay resident tax also? Since I live in Singapore. Or require to pay if leaving Singapore |
Apr 21 2016, 05:25 PM
967 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
QUOTE(danieltan @ Apr 21 2016, 04:34 PM) Mind how to calculate? I have been worked since July 2015 till now. So far my employer didn't ask me to do filling income tax for Singapore. I did submit for Malaysia Income tax. however, malaysia tax is higher compare to sg ...... somemore after u convert to malaysia ringgit , ur salary bracket will be quite high in malaysia tax structure ..... which u need to pay even more......... just my 2 cent....... anyone pls correct me if i m wrong |
Apr 21 2016, 05:28 PM
QUOTE(danieltan @ Apr 21 2016, 05:14 PM) You need to pay income tax every year. You pay around quarter 2 each year for income on the previous year. This means you should be receiving your assessment soon for 2015 income. If you are leaving singapore your last salary will be withheld to pay whatever tax owed and the remainder released to you |
Apr 21 2016, 05:33 PM
QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Apr 21 2016, 05:25 PM) however, malaysia tax is higher compare to sg ...... somemore after u convert to malaysia ringgit , ur salary bracket will be quite high in malaysia tax structure ..... which u need to pay even more......... just my 2 cent....... anyone pls correct me if i m wrong |
Apr 21 2016, 05:47 PM
18 posts Joined: Dec 2015 |
Yes, what orangbulu said is correct.
As long you're working in Singapore you have to pay taxes (yearly) in Singapore be it at resident rate (if you're still working in Singapore) or if you resign you will be taxed at resident rate if previously have worked more than 6 months or 15% if you have worked for less than 6 months in Singapore. This income should NOT be filed under Malaysia income tax. Similarly to Malaysia, the date of filing for taxes is around March-April, with the dateline for individuals around April. Reference: https://www.iras.gov.sg/irashome/Individual...ed-to-File-Tax/ https://www.iras.gov.sg/irashome/web/pages/...darListing.aspx This post has been edited by dreambox: Apr 21 2016, 05:48 PM |
Apr 21 2016, 05:50 PM
but deadline for filling tax already over which is around mid of April.
Apr 21 2016, 06:06 PM
18 posts Joined: Dec 2015 |
QUOTE(danieltan @ Apr 21 2016, 05:50 PM) Correct.If you've not filed your income tax yet and you have not received any communication from IRAS, then maybe it would be good to call them up to check and inform them of the situation. Unless, your total income in 2015 is less than $22,000. If it is less than $22,000 then you will not be taxed. |
Apr 21 2016, 06:30 PM
68 posts Joined: Feb 2016 |
Hey, guys. Actually, should we take the initiative to refer to IRAS OR IRAS will automatically send a statement to us regarding tax payment ?
P.S: My employer participating in AIS. Thank you. This post has been edited by LeslieKenny: Apr 21 2016, 06:52 PM |
Apr 21 2016, 07:12 PM
90 posts Joined: Sep 2011 From: Prince of Indonesia |
danieltan LeslieKenny as long as your employer participate in the auto inclusion scheme, AND you receive an sms or letter that you are selected for No File Service, then you no need to do anything, IRAS will auto file for you based on your employer income (but obviously there won't be any deductions taken into account)
Apr 21 2016, 09:38 PM
21 posts Joined: Aug 2015 |
how difficult it is to get a job thru jobstreet. mainly in science or manufacturing. saw loads of lab technician jobs, tended towards microbio/chem especially.... but i do not have relevant background in those.. i do possess a Bsc anyway and few years non related experience.
i honestly prefer a stable steady routine clock in clock out job. i just wonder given the apparently reccessing economy and laid off in Sg, but isnt that towards the middle aged high earning execs.. cuz apparently, their salary and compensation are much higher and doesnt tally the amount of work they actually contribute. This post has been edited by burningprophet: Apr 21 2016, 09:41 PM |
Apr 22 2016, 10:13 AM
82 posts Joined: Jun 2013 |
guys do you clear your tax before leaving malaysia to work in singapore? my company says i have to have form cp21 which will be prepared by the company im leaving (malaysia) and settle my taxes before i can leave to work in another country.
can anyone confirm |
| Change to: | 0.0304sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:01 AM |