234 posts

i contacted playasia asking about the logitech adapter, they replied to me:

thank you for contacting Play-Asia.com.

We are sorry. We did not have this item at this moment. But dont worry. We
would forward your email to our Purchasing Department and this would be a
reference for them in next purchasing. We will update our website once the
in-stock completes. Please kindly visit our website regularly.

In case of any further question please do not hesitate to contact us
again.

Best regards,

Joe
Play-Asia.com

i'm not sure either this is only "sweet promise". but i hope they really will sell this adapter.
stalkie
post Jan 29 2007, 10:37 AM

Best thing of my life...
1,795 posts

hello... i'm kinda on tight budget and was thinking to get Edifier 5.1 blush.gif

so I'm wondering can this speaker work nicely on xbox360? anyone having this can comment? notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by stalkie: Jan 29 2007, 10:40 AM
babyakuma
post Jan 29 2007, 11:14 AM

198 posts

Hi im also using edifier 5.1,
For this speaker to work nicely on xbox360 you need to get
an amplifier that can input optical. I have checked out the market
and so far found good amps like Yamaha or Pioneer but they
cost a bomb like RM 950.

Im also on tight budget but will consider going to Pasar road to find out..
just have to make sure the amp can really support 5.1.
There are fake 5.1 amps out there which only input stereo channel...
that one is alot cheaper but will not give you true 5 channels.. only stereo
sound on all your speakers. (no point...)

Other alternatives that i know off is to get a External or Internal Soundcard
that has optical.

QUOTE(stalkie @ Jan 29 2007, 10:37 AM)
hello... i'm kinda on tight budget and was thinking to get Edifier 5.1 blush.gif

so I'm wondering can this speaker work nicely on xbox360? anyone having this can comment?  notworthy.gif
stalkie
post Jan 29 2007, 11:19 AM

Best thing of my life...
1,795 posts

amplifier for input optical? what's that? kinda noob in speaker.... i thought we can just buy and use it?

can I just use that edifier 5.1 on xbox360 and get the 5.1 surround sound?
babyakuma
post Jan 29 2007, 11:38 AM

198 posts

QUOTE(stalkie @ Jan 29 2007, 11:19 AM)
amplifier for input optical? what's that? kinda noob in speaker.... i thought we can just buy and use it?

can I just use that edifier 5.1 on xbox360 and get the 5.1 surround sound?
Cannot bro... you need the amplifier.. unless your edifier got optical lor..
you see your output wires.. for PC you use 3 wires.. for DVD players you use 6 wires where you want to plug those in? Thats why you need an amp...

stalkie
post Jan 29 2007, 11:54 AM

Best thing of my life...
1,795 posts

hmm.... what model you using for edifier?

those wires you talking about is plug to woofer or xbox360? kinda blur here....
Maniac
post Jan 29 2007, 12:20 PM

That Tech Guy Who Use Nikon For Video
5,938 posts

For xbox 360 to work/playback in 5.1 dolby digital mode, you need optical connection (called toslink), its basically 1 cable, from ur xbox vga/component cable root, connect all the way to a 'receiver', be it standalone AV receiver / amplifier, speakers.

None of the edifier accepts optical in yet as far as i know.

To make it work, u got many options

Cheapest one, should be, buying the Creative AC/3DTS decoder box for ur 5.1 speaker.

stalkie
post Jan 29 2007, 12:31 PM

Best thing of my life...
1,795 posts

hmm.... how much is Creative AC/3DTS decoder box cost now?

EDIT: in that case... is Creative 5.1 speaker no need to get decoder? just plug in and use.... trying to find way to minimise to get so many stuff rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by stalkie: Jan 29 2007, 12:36 PM
Maniac
post Jan 29 2007, 12:39 PM

5,938 posts

not all creative speakers has internal decoder.

that decoder, hard to find, if u can find one, i think is at the region of 500 - 600 ?
babyakuma
post Jan 30 2007, 01:04 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(stalkie @ Jan 29 2007, 12:31 PM)
hmm.... how much is Creative AC/3DTS decoder box cost now?

EDIT: in that case... is Creative 5.1 speaker no need to get decoder? just plug in and use.... trying to find way to minimise to get so many stuff  rclxub.gif
Decoder very hard to find unless you can find it at below RM 300 then worth it lor.. i heard its about 550 - 650++ for it...
So go Pasar Road look for a cheap amp that has Optical.. dunno if got annot.. i need to go there and look also later..

Creative speaker i notice the one with optical one have to spend about RM 900++
thats pricey lor.. might as well buy a Yamaha or Pioneer amp already for that kinda price..

Model of edifier im using is the R501 lor.. still good piece of equipment.. hehehe
aegis`-
post Jan 30 2007, 11:24 PM

1,480 posts

imm planning to get a good 5.1 speakers for my xbox
imm looking at the z5500 is it good to get it? it has optical thou
Maniac
post Jan 31 2007, 10:09 AM

5,938 posts

z5500 can do the AC3 decoding with X360 no problem.

I remember sawing someone in forum selling denon AV receiver @ RM 6xx i think
hikaru_x
post Jan 31 2007, 11:01 AM

161 posts

i havent tried this... if your PC motherboard has onboard optical in (esp nforce based motherboards), u can let the PC decode for you (i remember seeing some option like that in my SoundStorm control panel, forgot adee, now using audigy), then connect ur 5.1 speakers to the pc as usual...

been wanting to try but i got no 5.1 for the PC tongue.gif

This post has been edited by hikaru_x: Jan 31 2007, 11:02 AM
stalkie
post Jan 31 2007, 11:07 AM

Best thing of my life...
1,795 posts

okok... let's see if I get it right...

1. Edifier R501 (the 5.1 model) can be used on xbox360
2. If I want 5.1 surround then I need optical input such as decoder or amplifier...
3. If use normal red and white, I will not get 5.1 experience, just normal speaker...

so far, am I on the right track? unsure.gif
babyakuma
post Jan 31 2007, 12:55 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(stalkie @ Jan 31 2007, 11:07 AM)
okok... let's see if I get it right...

1. Edifier R501 (the 5.1 model) can be used on xbox360
2. If I want 5.1 surround then I need optical input such as decoder or amplifier...
3. If use normal red and white, I will not get 5.1 experience, just normal speaker...

so far, am I on the right track? unsure.gif
1. and 2. is linked.. right on both
3. yeah correct you will get Stereo sound only and will put our edifier speakers to shame.. lol..

stalkie
post Jan 31 2007, 02:03 PM

Best thing of my life...
1,795 posts

hmm.... in that case I definitely need an amplifier but it will cost another sum of money... if add up might be able to get logitech z5500 which will be easier coz i can straight plug it in, right?

babyakuma, you will be going to pasar pudu? can let me know your findings once you survey?
verced
post Jan 31 2007, 02:20 PM

168 posts

Speaking of 5.1, do you guys know where to get cheap simple looking speaker stands?
babyakuma
post Jan 31 2007, 03:36 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(stalkie @ Jan 31 2007, 02:03 PM)
hmm.... in that case I definitely need an amplifier but it will cost another sum of money... if add up might be able to get logitech z5500 which will be easier coz i can straight plug it in, right?

babyakuma, you will be going to pasar pudu? can let me know your findings once you survey?
yeah sure but dunno when i will go hehehe
im not really in a rush to get it.. cause i got other priorities like
an lcd monitor first.. tongue.gif
yoroi
post Jan 31 2007, 04:39 PM

The LOWEST ranked Halo 3 player in the WORLD!!!
1,545 posts

this might be a little off topic but you can get the sony ht-ddw 780 (5.1 speakers and amp) for under rm 900... thats what i'm using...
terencey
post Jan 31 2007, 04:52 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(verced @ Jan 31 2007, 02:20 PM)
Speaking of 5.1, do you guys know where to get cheap simple looking speaker stands?
Try ikea. I got mine frm there. Forgot how much. tongue.gif

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0174sec    0.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:41 PM