Lets talk salary v7

jitshiong
post Dec 22 2015, 10:52 PM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Dec 22 2015, 07:43 PM)
If no career path on current job, pick up all the skills that you can learn from the company, stay at least 1 year then can start look for jobs. Potential employer would look at how frequent you job hop. wink.gif
Can't totally agree on this. Would say that it does affect the impression on your prospective employer, but if you are good and the reason for your resignation is justified, i believe they will still hire you.
jitshiong
post Dec 23 2015, 09:55 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Dec 23 2015, 12:20 AM)
He is already there for 6 months, I don't see any harm for him to stay another six months. Plus, he needs time to find job, no?
Apologies, I'm not responding in respect to your advise to a particular person. Was just commenting on the statement that you provided. Surely it is better to stay on and find a job before resigning.

Staying another 6 months, if it brings you experience and money. If life is hell at that company and you don't learn anything at all, it's better to move on. Rather than spend 6 months achieving nothing at all.
jitshiong
post Jan 15 2016, 05:55 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(plain21 @ Jan 14 2016, 10:42 AM)
Hello there again sifus, I want to ask how to negotiate salary. Currently my tembak request is 4k, the company offer 3k (2.5k basic + 500 all).  However,the OT rate is high, 2.2x the hourly rate. Its Construction industry. My question is, is there any room for me to nego abit more? Im not sure if i will seem rude if try to nego as a fresh grad..
Fresh grad with 3k starting pay seems pretty decent in my opinion.
Is it in design, operations, supervision or what area of construction?
Plus you get 2.2x for OT which usually is quite a lot if you work at site. Late night casting/concreting is common.
Do you need to work saturdays? or is it considered OT? You might wanna check on that.
jitshiong
post Jan 17 2016, 08:55 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Jan 16 2016, 10:09 AM)
Nice, if got opening can intro here, kind of jobless here... ex site engineer.
u salary too high
plus...u r not jobless. don't lie
jitshiong
post Feb 11 2016, 09:12 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(Darkripper @ Feb 10 2016, 12:53 AM)
Guys, i'm having a dilemma and would like to ask all the sifu for some opinion.

I'm a civil engineering student (going to grad in one semester) and i'm under a scholarship bond from a local GLC (construction/developer)

I'm anticipated to serve my bond for 3 years ( according to the agreement), however, now they had developed a new program (graduate program), in which the program would last for 5 years and i will be bonded to an extra 3 year after the bond ( total 8 years).

The program would train me in order to become a PE/IR and will borne all the costs associated with it. However i am doubting the quality of the program as i had attended some of their program before and it was just bad and boring.

I'm still considering which option to take, 3 or 8. As i had some previous bad experience of the company culture during placement with them (2 times internship).

Any advice sifuss?
Hello? To be a PE/IR u just need somebody to mentor you, a PE with certain requirements. Company try to con you. Training you is for their own benefit, they should cut any expenditure on employees that wants to grow.
Cost to be a PE/IR is not that much, and surely not worth the 5 years bond.
I suggest u take the 3 year bond and get a PE to be your mentor.
jitshiong
post Feb 12 2016, 01:30 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Feb 12 2016, 12:43 PM)
To become PE you don't need much cost one. I "heard" friend say its about 10k max for the CPDs, on high side because he need to travel to attend the class, hotel and stuff. That's about it. Its 10k over the 3-4 years so its fairly manageable with your salary. No firm can guarantee you can get a license one even you do everything in their program, it all depend on your skill in the end in the interview and exams.

The only attraction should be the promotion advantage, if there is. With big firm you get to do big stuff too.

I doing C&S in a small firm, don't get to involve in any mega projects, but good enough to survive. Depend on what you want lo in the end.
I think it's lesser than that.

Prior to GST (2015 price) biggrin.gif
BEM Mandatory courses (3 x 350) = RM 1050
24 CPD for related discipline course = RM 1500 (More or less)
Professional Competency Exam = I don't know how much this will cost (post July 2015) ~ RM500?
Professional Interview = RM 150 (If you are IEM member)/RM 200 (if you are not)
Professional Registration with BEM (if you pass) = RM 350

For July 2015 onwards, these are the only money you have to pay.
Is it worth the 5 years bond?

jitshiong
post Feb 12 2016, 04:33 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Feb 12 2016, 04:29 PM)
Why so long no news about the PCE ah?
Go ask BEM. I don't wanna ask, since I need not sit for it.
Later kena question banyak-banyak
jitshiong
post Feb 22 2016, 01:37 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(ju146 @ Feb 22 2016, 01:33 PM)
7 and above
At 25, i'm earning RM2.2k. How times has changed....
jitshiong
post Mar 31 2016, 12:11 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(shinchan99 @ Mar 31 2016, 09:28 AM)
Latest update from me :

Called this morning to the "BIG" japanese company and told me my offer got rejected due to lack of MIA membership for that kind of salary.. Should had smell something rotten since they are not picking up my call..

Not that I feel sad or what because i didnt get the offer just didnt like the way they handle things unprofessionally..

So lesson learnt.. Never ever decide anything until something concrete is up.. Verbal is just words that dissappear in thin air sad.gif
A lot of companies make verbal promises. Always get an offer letter b4 making any move. Else you are the one on losing end. Even with an offer letter, i've heard cases where the company retracted the offer after that. At least with that letter, you can sue them. Now, sorry to say it's your loss.

Pray hard u get a better offer during ur 3 months notice period.

2nd note, u need not tell ur company on what's going on. They may counter offer you if they really need you. Could be a blessing in disguise.
jitshiong
post May 7 2016, 09:47 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(felicitas @ May 7 2016, 10:57 AM)
Normal to receive increment after probation? Never experienced that before.

Job Title : Manager
Job Desciption : Mgmt Consulting
Years spent in company : 5
Experience before joining : 3
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Bachelors Degree
salary : RM 10,000 base and fixed allowance + variable allowances around RM4,000- RM7,000
Location: Varies, depending on project, often local (away from KL) and overseas

Wanted to switch jobs but the offer I got (from large listed Malaysian co) only took an increment based on my basic salary. The variable allowances they did not consider because it was mostly from travel + meals. I rejected the offer because i would earn less than what I currently earning, even though the new job would not need me to travel. I wonder, is this what I will always face when I look for jobs that they only consider increment on base salary.
Of course, that's reimbursement for your expenses spent for the company.
If u no longer need to travel, then surely u won't get it anymore.
All companies the same. Unless unr talking about fixed car allowance, fixed hand phone allowance, bonus, these things will be considered in your increment.
jitshiong
post May 8 2016, 07:11 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(felicitas @ May 8 2016, 12:01 AM)
Actually the travel allowances more than cover for meal expenses. i have to spent on meals anyway in KL. the allowance is also to compensate for the hardship of travel. It's one of the benefits of the job, that i save much of the money from travel allowance. So why would I leave for something I get paid less for monthly without the allowance. Does not make sense.
Hardship, that's the word u use. So when u need to be facing anymore hardship, then surely the companies won't pay for it.
Anyway, remuneration is a negotiation skill. It depends on how u bargain, n finally ur decision to evaluate n decide if u wanna take it or not.
If i't below ur expection, let the job go.
jitshiong
post May 23 2016, 11:27 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(kingdomdemon @ May 23 2016, 11:12 PM)
500k project is because i am the process engineer aka owner of the machine. So automatically they choose me as project leader since i am not under performing. They said it is a chance to discover how far and how good i am. So here I am today.
Then u should hold their balls and ask for more since u lead the team for USD500k
jitshiong
post May 24 2016, 09:40 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(kingdomdemon @ May 24 2016, 07:00 AM)
I tried but they just tell me what they can offer is based on company salary guideline or something close to that. For fresh graduaye you cannot get too much as there is a salary range stated in that guideline. Lol
Then say bye-bye and move on bye.gif
jitshiong
post May 31 2016, 09:26 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(aaron1717 @ May 31 2016, 09:07 AM)
hmm... three years get a clean 7k... yeah... i agreed wont get that much... maybe 4 years... my fren 4 years since graduated... now already manager with that clean amount.... and with professional cert... he can go even further before 30 years old....
I started at RM2.2k, 4 years later still about RM4.7k
so hopeless....lol!

Lucky for me things has changed
jitshiong
post May 31 2016, 01:23 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(aaron1717 @ May 31 2016, 09:33 AM)
yeah.... believe in changes... i used to be earning lesser than u with the same period... and things changed immediately after i decided to change.... there can be miracle when you believe...  thumbsup.gif  thumbsup.gif  thumbsup.gif
Not believe in changes, be the change you need.
the future is in your hands, take charge and change if you think something is not right
jitshiong
post Jul 1 2016, 12:30 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(commtrader @ Jul 1 2016, 08:43 AM)
Pls get your professional engineer status Ir if you want to earn more and more specialized
Get PE then get earn more? I think it only works in consultancy....
Else it's not really relevant if u r a PE or not. Of course if you are seeking a job, submitting your CV with an Ir looks way better than a normal engineer.
jitshiong
post Jul 20 2016, 07:07 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(Stras87 @ Jul 20 2016, 02:58 PM)
Tried. Received 1st warning letter.
Seriously? Then u should think about greener pastures.
jitshiong
post Jul 31 2016, 09:49 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(iamihaveto @ Jul 30 2016, 05:56 PM)
Hi guys, i would like to ask opinions from all the sifus here. I am currently dilemma on choosing my next job.

Option 1: 3.7k SGD per month (Yes, have to reside at Singapore)
Option 2: 7k MYR per month (My hometown, Selangor)

I am 28 years old in IT industry. Currently reside in PJ, stayed at Singapore for 3 months last year and i dont feel happy working and staying there.

But MYR is unstable due to recent economic situation. Which 1 do you think i should take? Thank you.
3.7k SGD is definitely underpaying you if you can actually command a RM7k salary here. I suggest u take RM7k.

I was in Singapore, but i came back due to family (young family, kids just came out). Money is good there, and you can progress well if you perform. FYI, I'm in construction industry, so the hike is minimal, about 3-5% annual increment. When I got my job offer in Singapore, it was an increment of my current pay in Malaysia (without conversion, meaning RM3k here, offer is more than SGD3k).

If you can get SGD7k, I would l]highly recommend you to take it. But for SGD3.7k, surely they are paying for cheap labour.

Also, think about career progression. How's the job scope in Singapore vs Malaysia. Think hard and prepare for the long run.
jitshiong
post Jul 31 2016, 09:59 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Jul 31 2016, 08:56 PM)
Option 2 for my case. Came back to Malaysia for few months already. Pay wise, MY pay is less than SG pay, number to number wise, but expenditure also smaller in Malaysia so its ok. Lifestyle wise MY side is more comfortable. SG for my case is work work work on weekdays, then spend spend spend on weekends. Only felt the small value of the MY pay when spending overseas, or buying imported items. Otherwise its still better choosing option 2.

Career switch coming back to MY, quite a bit of drop in the career ladder because of my practising license is not recognised in MY. But with support from friends and family, manage to find a job doing the same stuff and similar role. Something you have to consider too if you plan to go SG for some years, but in the end still come back to Malaysia to work in the later stage. Finding a job won't be so much a problem, but may not the same role you holding in SG.
Don't worry, I heard PCE will start in Nov. thumbsup.gif
jitshiong
post Aug 28 2016, 11:38 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(Ohiyesa @ Aug 27 2016, 05:06 PM)
Hi um sorry for not using the format as my intention is to ask a question.

My question is how much can a diploma level welder make in a month as a freshgrad?
Im currently studying Engineering Technology in Welding and im planning on working for a year after i graduate to get some experience before continuing my degree.

Thanks for the answers in advance.  biggrin.gif
EDIT : By any chance any seasoned welding engineers/inspectors stumble upon my reply, recommendations for what welding certificates to go for is highly appreciated.
I've heard of undersea welders getting 60k/month. Specialist welders r sought after

0.1111sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:38 AM