Lets talk salary v7

JohnJon82
post Jan 15 2016, 09:56 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(plain21 @ Jan 15 2016, 09:25 PM)
the post is Site engineer, so yeah lots of OT waiting for me haha. I've decided to accept the offer without nego. i'll let my performance speak later. thanks for your feedback!
Contractor site engineer no OT pay one, only big bonus later. Consultant engineer can claim OT for late night casting but depend also on contractor.
JohnJon82
post Jan 16 2016, 10:09 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(plain21 @ Jan 15 2016, 11:24 PM)
Nah, i already confirm during my internship with them. Will get OT AND big bonus xD
Nice, if got opening can intro here, kind of jobless here... ex site engineer.
JohnJon82
post Jan 18 2016, 10:19 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Jan 17 2016, 08:55 PM)
u salary too high
plus...u r not jobless. don't lie
Looking for opportunity ma. If got then will be jobless straight and applying already. If got opening at Sabah remember intro here leh notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif .
JohnJon82
post Feb 12 2016, 12:43 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(Darkripper @ Feb 12 2016, 12:57 AM)
The calculation is like this, (if i take the 8 year pathway)

Leave 1st year - Kena penalty for both scholarship and the graduate program cost

3rd year - Kena only graduate program cost

The ratio of penalty for scholarship is 1.2 while for graduate program should be the same, they just revised. Literally pay back whatever they had spent on you.
To become PE you don't need much cost one. I "heard" friend say its about 10k max for the CPDs, on high side because he need to travel to attend the class, hotel and stuff. That's about it. Its 10k over the 3-4 years so its fairly manageable with your salary. No firm can guarantee you can get a license one even you do everything in their program, it all depend on your skill in the end in the interview and exams.

The only attraction should be the promotion advantage, if there is. With big firm you get to do big stuff too.

I doing C&S in a small firm, don't get to involve in any mega projects, but good enough to survive. Depend on what you want lo in the end.
JohnJon82
post Feb 12 2016, 04:29 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Feb 12 2016, 01:30 PM)
Professional Competency Exam = I don't know how much this will cost (post July 2015) ~ RM500?
Why so long no news about the PCE ah?
JohnJon82
post Jul 3 2016, 07:13 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Jul 1 2016, 12:30 PM)
Get PE then get earn more? I think it only works in consultancy....
Else it's not really relevant if u r a PE or not. Of course if you are seeking a job, submitting your CV with an Ir looks way better than a normal engineer.
Don't work in consultancy also. Easier to get the job compared with other applicants, yes. More money... not always biggrin.gif .
JohnJon82
post Jul 31 2016, 08:56 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(iamihaveto @ Jul 30 2016, 05:56 PM)
Hi guys, i would like to ask opinions from all the sifus here. I am currently dilemma on choosing my next job.

Option 1: 3.7k SGD per month (Yes, have to reside at Singapore)
Option 2: 7k MYR per month (My hometown, Selangor)

I am 28 years old in IT industry. Currently reside in PJ, stayed at Singapore for 3 months last year and i dont feel happy working and staying there.

But MYR is unstable due to recent economic situation. Which 1 do you think i should take? Thank you.
Option 2 for my case. Came back to Malaysia for few months already. Pay wise, MY pay is less than SG pay, number to number wise, but expenditure also smaller in Malaysia so its ok. Lifestyle wise MY side is more comfortable. SG for my case is work work work on weekdays, then spend spend spend on weekends. Only felt the small value of the MY pay when spending overseas, or buying imported items. Otherwise its still better choosing option 2.

Career switch coming back to MY, quite a bit of drop in the career ladder because of my practising license is not recognised in MY. But with support from friends and family, manage to find a job doing the same stuff and similar role. Something you have to consider too if you plan to go SG for some years, but in the end still come back to Malaysia to work in the later stage. Finding a job won't be so much a problem, but may not the same role you holding in SG.
JohnJon82
post Aug 3 2016, 09:17 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Jul 31 2016, 09:59 PM)
Don't worry, I heard PCE will start in Nov. thumbsup.gif
Sit exam stress. Malaysia life better.
JohnJon82
post Oct 18 2016, 11:02 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(faizulamin @ Oct 18 2016, 08:24 AM)
Hi buddy.

I am not sure whether your question answered thoroughly.

But as an ex-public officer, in engineering field, let me answer yours. I assumed you are fresh B.Eng grad or someone who wanted to shift your career and joining public services.

You will join as engineer at grade 41; J41.
Basic salary : RM2360 (architect will get higher basic salary, though it is in the same grade)
Housing allowance : RM250
Public service allowance : RM300
Cost of living allowance : RM200 - RM300 (it depends on your location)
Plus, critical service allowance, 5% from basic : RM118

Mind you, they are all subjected to EPF and sOCSO until your confirmation of employment. Upon confirmation, and should you opt for pension scheme, you will get full amount without any statutory deduction. On top of it, all EPF deduction made will be refunded accordingly. (And it is big money my friend).

Hope this helps and let me know if you need more info.
How about Master with Ir. and 10 years of working experience?
JohnJon82
post Oct 18 2016, 02:01 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Oct 18 2016, 01:41 PM)
rclxms.gif
drool.gif
JohnJon82
post Oct 20 2016, 07:15 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(faizulamin @ Oct 18 2016, 08:56 PM)
To answer both questions on higher level of education

Well.. In general, new joiners with master or PhD for Administrative & Diplomatic Officers (M scheme), Lecturers (Dx scheme) and Researchers (Q scheme) will have the chance to have higher basic salary or even higher grade. Nevertheless, should u have some kind of professional accreditation and joining public service, let say in Financial Services (W scheme), u will be paid handsomely though the standard basic salary of W41 which is around RM1900 only.

Having said that, person with Ir. or relevant working experience may ask for higher basic salary to compensate your experience accordingly.

Being a financial planning practitioner itself and wearing a consumer hat, it is hard to determined which is better between pension scheme or EPF scheme. Of course it is very much depending from the angle on how you look into it and how they can help to achieve your financial goal. The view is possibly different should you look into it from policy maker point of view. Again, both have their own strength and you might as well need to reaffirm your future planning.

Letting the public know, public service force is also interesting career path with the benefit and increment and all. But there is a caveat, u can't reach the super-top hierarchy in Government of Malaysia's public service until u join as Pegawai Tadbir & Diplomatik. I heard, there is an opening for it, now, and it is not easy anyway smile.gif

Oh ya tiewgine8039, i am no longer a public service officer. I left service around 4-5 years ago. Currently, I am on my own path in doing business. Nonetheless, i am now landed in government building doing some management consulting job after i completed  my MBA. Hohoh!
Thanks for the info!
JohnJon82
post Nov 12 2016, 10:29 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(zephyrus9999 @ Nov 10 2016, 03:56 PM)
and when was that?

3 years ago it was 2.5+ to 1.0. Now it is 3 to 1.

Secondly, inflation picked up too rapidly in Msia with shitty economic climate blundering in compared to SG. I dont remember a bloody milo ice costed me Rm2.5 and it pisses me off to see things rised up so fast in bolehland.

If 10 years ago, its acceptable to say RM9k > 5k SGD. Now, its more less comparable. The only trouble is if he accepts 5ksgd and work for some time, when go back msia need strong bargaining power to jump well well above 9k RM
Depend on how one's view of quality of life. Came back this year, SG pay is higher than MY pay without conversion. Life is better in Malaysia. When coming back to Malaysia, the bargaining power is higher coz of the SG branding.
JohnJon82
post Dec 22 2016, 10:53 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(jaskknd @ Dec 19 2016, 02:31 PM)
not sure, that's why checking it out here... cuz at least for past 2 pages in this thread, it seems like the salary range is quite high for people with 2-3y experience. (not the same industry mostly)

i'm just wondering is that normal for C&S consultants for fresh grad, and how the average increment is like for my industry.
Different industry different salary range. Civil engineering quite low compared to other professional.
JohnJon82
post Dec 22 2016, 03:04 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Dec 22 2016, 11:09 AM)
End of the year update

1st job - 24yrs old, 2.4k - 1year, M&E consultant

2nd job - 2.8k - 2.5 yrs, leaving at 3.2k, M&E consultant

3rd job - 4k - 2 yrs , leaving at 4.3k, M&E consultant

Now coming to 30y.o, 4th job - 5.5k - 0.5 Yr on going, PM for main contractor , contracted AWS , and $100 phone bill , no other special benefits

Hope to get 6k soon or jump to government sector
Main con PM so low? I thought got 10k range.
JohnJon82
post Dec 22 2016, 07:02 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Dec 22 2016, 03:55 PM)
Yeah I Hope so, hopewfully 10+ yrs experience can get 10k I Cukur, but now I oni 6 yrs
Good luck good luck.
JohnJon82
post Apr 17 2017, 04:44 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(goodiemangold @ Apr 16 2017, 08:37 AM)
Job Post: Civil Engineer
Job Desciption : Consultancy
Years spent in company : 10 years
Company : local SME
Industry : Construction
Employment Level : Associate
Experience before joining : none
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree
Monthly Salary : 10k
Bonus/Profit Sharing: 75k-130k p.a.
How to get to associate? 20k per month very nice.
JohnJon82
post Jun 4 2017, 07:52 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jun 2 2017, 04:28 PM)
Seems as if most people here are still thinking very small biggrin.gif Think big, think value not just RM. The race to the bottom for salaries is not good for you as employees whether you're at the low level or high level. If you buy a BMW be prepared to pay RM2,500 or more for tires (1% of the purchase price), don't think you can put cheap tires on it.

At a higher level a company should have the budget to hire at that level as well. If they can't afford then they shouldn't be looking at that level. My network analyst is getting roughly RM20k per month, I think we probably up his salary by 30-40% from his previous job? But the value of having a good person onboard is worth more than his annual salary because I can get my projects worth well in the 7-figures completed on time.
I asked for a 100% increment in one of the interview I attended, with some other perks that are not norm. They are lacking people to fill the role. The department head and his director both are fine with it, the HR made some noise saying its not the company policy to raise so much from the previous salary. End up many ding dong HR offered a 80% raise but other company offered me a job with better prospect so I turned it down.

From what I see is the value one could bring into the company, not what his previous salary was. Never know what's the reason behind the HR's approach.
JohnJon82
post Jun 5 2017, 10:18 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Jun 4 2017, 08:23 PM)
Mind to share what field and your expertise?
Construction. Previous job was underpaid. Hence the increment % is quite high.

0.0286sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:17 PM