Work Life Balance : Ok la
Care to share the job function?
Territory Sales Management?
Win Win Inspiration
post Jun 9 2017, 10:33 AM

2,724 posts

QUOTE(McF7y @ Jun 9 2017, 08:15 AM)
You're right man, I mean, I try to stay positive about it and contribute as much as possible to the growth of the company and especially support the expats since they are our bosses.

Actually I'm not yet at management level either. Where I work I'm an Assistant Manager in the commercial department; more like Business Development actually.

But I've noticed this wage gap and not only that but also position gap where the expats move up the corporate ladder rather quickly. Granted, some of them have the experience and motivation. However they way it is done, is as though the locals are not given the opportunity to hold that position.

Once again, I guess we are back to square one where if it is a foreign owned company to begin with, they would rather have expats holding the management positions.
Hello mate, good morning. smile.gif
Completely concur with your points, the foreign MNC companies that I have joined as of the same scenario, you will see that the C-Suites and Director-level are all expats.
Nevertheless, we may choose to proactively contribute and be a good performer (like what you mentioned) to work our way up.

Let strive to climb the ladder together mate.
Wish us a great journey and see you at the top. smile.gif
Win Win Inspiration
post Jun 13 2017, 09:27 AM

2,724 posts

QUOTE(RoastedChicken @ Jun 12 2017, 04:47 PM)
Job Title : Management trainee
Job Desciption : Courier/Logistic
Years spent in company : 4 months
Company :
Industry : Courier/Logistic
Employment Level : Mgt Trainee doing sales
Experience before joining : 0
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Bachelor in business admin majoring in Mangement
Monthly Salary : RM2300
Annual bonus: dont know as I'm still new
Hours of work: 9 hours
  Do you think I'm underpaid? The work damn stresss plus my salary only rm2300 zzz
MNC Logistics Company or Local SME?
Is the name of the company starts with C?

This post has been edited by Win Win Inspiration: Jun 13 2017, 09:27 AM
Win Win Inspiration
post Jun 13 2017, 09:34 AM

2,724 posts

QUOTE(RoastedChicken @ Jun 13 2017, 09:28 AM)
Local . Company kept it private
Learn as much as you can, especially on the Operations side, logistics knowledge is highly transferable and universal, once you are equipped with experience and skills, you may carve your career path nicely. smile.gif
Good luck mate.
Win Win Inspiration
post Jun 13 2017, 11:23 AM

2,724 posts

QUOTE(danscsa @ Jun 13 2017, 10:05 AM)
Been years since I posted an update  and below is the collated summary of my career including the latest switch

2009 - 2011
Job Title : Management. Rep/QA Engineer
Job Desciption : Quality, engineering and management
Years spent in company : close to 3 years
Industry : O n G but more to manufacturing
Tenure : permanent
Employment Level : entry
Experience before joining : -
Salary : RM 3200
Benefits : company car hence free petrol, given condo with electrical, water bil and maintenance fully paid by company. May claim other expenses as long related to work, this year 1 month bonus
Education Level: B.Eng(Mechanical)
2013- 2016
Job Title : Plant Manager
Job Desciption : Manage the whole plant and all departments
Years spent in company : 4+
Edu Qualification: BE Hons Mechanical
Company : SME MNC
Industry : Local O & G
Employment Level : permanent
Experience before joining : nil, started fresh here
salary : RM 9.5K, company car provided and housing with utilities paid for.

2017 ( New Career )
Job Title : Senior Manager
Job Desciption : Operations
Years spent in company : 0
Edu Qualification: BE Hons Mechanical  and MBA
Company : MNC
Industry : Service , not even remotely related to O & G
Employment Level : permanent
Experience before joining : 7.5 years
salary : RM 14k
Benefits: Medical coverage , T & GO , petrol card and standard claims

Feel free to feedback, no more housing and company car benefits with this new job
You have a very inspiring career path for many to learn from. notworthy.gif
Win Win Inspiration
post Jun 13 2017, 01:58 PM

2,724 posts

QUOTE(danscsa @ Jun 13 2017, 01:54 PM)
Thanks man, but at 32 this year still got lots to achieve and goals to pursue.
Actually as a plant manager , the role is related to operations hence the technical aspects is not a challenge.

What made me successful in switching to the current MNC, which has a head count of 4000 plus staff was mainly my leadership skills and proving that I am a high achiever. I had to compete even with candidates that had a PHD with 20 years experience.

Be pragmatic and accurately represent your self I shall say, start mastering leadership skills and attributes as that will bringing you further up the ladder. The X factor of having a good personality and ability to engage with stakeholders/share holders across all vertical does come in handy.
Getting to such level at age-32 is very impressive mate, wish to learn more from you.
Together we strive for a great life mate.
Win Win Inspiration
post Jun 14 2017, 02:37 PM

2,724 posts

QUOTE(throwaway201706 @ Jun 14 2017, 02:32 PM)
Job Title : Engineer
Job Desciption : Construction Engineer
Years spent in company : 1 year
Company : Secret
Industry :Construction
Tenure : Permanent
Experience before joining : Nil
Highest paper qualification/ education background : B.Eng Mech (Hons)
salary : RM 4200 + 300 fixed allowance
Good and decent salary at such young age. rclxms.gif
Win Win Inspiration
post Jun 16 2017, 01:45 PM

2,724 posts

QUOTE(Carl0803 @ Jun 16 2017, 01:17 PM)
Job Title : Engineer
Years spent in company : 3 years
Industry : Electronics manufacturing
Experience before joining : Fresh grad
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Masters
salary : RM 5,000
Higher than market rates for Penang job.
Congrats mate!
Win Win Inspiration
post Jul 24 2017, 09:45 AM

2,724 posts

QUOTE(honesty tan @ Jul 22 2017, 02:44 PM)
My company 3500 is for fresh grad.
Care to share the industry that your company is in? smile.gif
Win Win Inspiration
post Jul 24 2017, 10:01 AM

2,724 posts

QUOTE(honesty tan @ Jul 24 2017, 09:50 AM)
Hi Bro - me in Telco management how about u? =)
Hi bro, good morning! Nice to hear that, Telco industry salary and benefits are mostly above market-rates.
I am doing Supply Chain and Logistics. =)
Win Win Inspiration
post Jul 24 2017, 12:18 PM

2,724 posts

QUOTE(honesty tan @ Jul 24 2017, 10:25 AM)
That's equally cool as well, SCM and Lean / Ops Excellence are always high in demands esp for retail and manufacturing.  smile.gif
Thank you for your kind encouragement sir.
Shall keep working diligently at it to grow my career and exposure.
Win Win Inspiration
post Jul 25 2017, 07:43 PM

2,724 posts

QUOTE(ganumali @ Jul 24 2017, 05:02 PM)
anyone in Singtel MY? mind to PM me. tia.
Based where?
Win Win Inspiration
post Jul 27 2017, 01:48 PM

2,724 posts

QUOTE(tiewgine8039 @ Jul 27 2017, 01:40 PM)
Hi all sifus and members here, may i know which company having R&D departments? Wanna try to go in research direction. Thanks.
Would be great if you can be more specific, as in, which area/focus of the R&D, example: Electronics, Chemical, AI, etc, for the experts here to advise you.
Have a pleasant day ahead.
Win Win Inspiration
post Aug 15 2017, 10:53 AM

2,724 posts

QUOTE(theeastdevil @ Aug 15 2017, 10:14 AM)
I used to receive such amount back then from my first job, year 2007. Same job scope as you but with degree qualification. Fast forward 10 years after that, im getting 14k now.
Continue your professional education will take you further.
A great role model that demonstrated the Zero to Hero story! Wish to learn more from you.
Win Win Inspiration
post Aug 15 2017, 01:27 PM

2,724 posts

QUOTE(hustlerism @ Aug 15 2017, 01:19 PM)
im 26 and not even reach 5k  cry.gif
Your time will come mate.
Keep developing yourself, build networks, do good works, and surely you will go far and go high in career. smile.gif
Win Win Inspiration
post Aug 15 2017, 01:55 PM

2,724 posts

QUOTE(hustlerism @ Aug 15 2017, 01:37 PM)
His 4 years of experience (MYR 7000)  vs my 1 year of experience (MYR 4000)

How am i doing?
I reckon that you might have a greater starting point to begin with.
I might not be on point as I myself is not from the IT Industry.
Win Win Inspiration
post Sep 5 2017, 07:40 PM

2,724 posts

QUOTE(enkadirmainbola @ Sep 4 2017, 11:32 PM)
Job Desciption : Operations Supervisor
Years spent in current company : 2 years
Industry : Shipping
Employment Level : Managment
Experience before joining : 9th year working (always in same industry)
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Bachelor in Mech Engineering
salary : 17.5K / month

Am thinking of doing online MBA to try and jump to something else. Can't afford to do full time with an elderly parent to take care of. But then I think I'm a bit old to go back to school..what you guys think?
Your package is truly excellent in the shipping industry, role model to learn from.
Win Win Inspiration
post Nov 14 2017, 08:08 PM

2,724 posts

QUOTE(Amanda85 @ Nov 14 2017, 02:13 PM)
I'm not sure is the insurance company my husband working in is spoiling the market or not. But i was told they paid RM14k for someone with less than 6 yrs experience. And no, unfortunately my husband is not the actuary guy, he was the HR.
European Company?
Win Win Inspiration
post Jan 2 2018, 10:02 AM

2,724 posts

QUOTE(smallyfry @ Jan 1 2018, 12:17 AM)
Job Title : Senior exec
Job Desciption : Business Operations
Years spent in company : 4 years
Industry : Electronics
Employment Level : Mid-Senior
Experience before joining : 1 Yr
Highest paper qualification/ education background : M. Sc
salary : RM 7500 with RM1500 housing allowance

I am 30 year old, was an engineer before promoted to this position. Kinda feel bored, should I become an engineer back n earn lower salary?
This is a very good package.
Win Win Inspiration
post Jan 16 2018, 06:31 PM

2,724 posts

QUOTE(satria89 @ Jan 16 2018, 04:53 PM)
Job Title : Head of Sales
Job Desciption : Managing sales team
Education: Diploma
Years spent in company : nil
Company : Developers
Industry : Property
Employment Level : Managerial
Experience before joining : 5 Years
salary : RM12K per month
Another success story!
Trust that you have rewarding incentives on top of the RM12K/month?

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0956sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:05 AM