140 Pages « < 77 78 79 80 81 > » Bottom

Credit Cards Maybank Islamic MasterCard Ikhwan Platinum/Gold V2, Another Fantastic 5% Cash Back Card

ahchat
post May 1 2016, 10:00 AM

WISE KUCENG
885 posts

QUOTE(choonyink @ May 1 2016, 12:00 AM)
I think the instalment period range from 6 months to 36 months iinm depending on the arrangement. Most shops will charge a pretty heavy one off upfront charges. So you need to calculate properly whether worth it or not for your own situation. I just bought a phone with this card using instalment. My case the upfront charges is totally waived so I went for it. I can reserve the cash flow to do some other investment or emergency use. But don't abuse the convenience and went into heavy debt black hole. Just my 2 cents.
Upfront charges as in, duit muka?
Eg, i pay 3k upfront for a 6k worth of item, than the rest of 3k is paid by installment?

Sorry for asking such newbie question though
CP88
post May 1 2016, 11:07 AM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Apr 29 2016, 05:19 PM)
Haha tu la. MBB is so stringent with me. Credit limit with m2c only 1.2 times salary. I think the possible reason might be because I have too many cc. Cards from 4 banks, combined limit about 90k. I paid on time for all of them. So not because of unpaid debts.  I had started to reduce most of the limits to 1k only. Wait for a few months, then reapply.
Which bank allows you to reduce to 1k? unsure.gif
fruitie
post May 1 2016, 11:13 AM

Rise and Shine
67,994 posts

QUOTE(ahchat @ May 1 2016, 10:00 AM)
Eg, i pay 3k upfront for a 6k worth of item, than the rest of 3k is paid by installment?

Upfront charges. Some shops charge you 3-5% of total payment for using installment scheme.
choonyink
post May 1 2016, 12:37 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(ahchat @ May 1 2016, 10:00 AM)

Fruitie had explained to u. This charge is an extra cost for using credit card to buy things with instalment.
choonyink
post May 1 2016, 12:39 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ May 1 2016, 11:13 AM)
Upfront charges. Some shops charge you 3-5% of total payment for using installment scheme.
I have come across 6% charges. Very expensive lol.
Mr Gray
post May 1 2016, 01:42 PM

870 posts

QUOTE(CP88 @ May 1 2016, 11:07 AM)
Which bank allows you to reduce to 1k?  unsure.gif
Oh wait. I asked to reduce to 1k. Cimb allows 2k minimum, citibank allows 3k minimum.
Tinkai
post May 2 2016, 05:26 PM

\(o_O)/
586 posts

Applied for the gold card and submitted all documents by 5.14pm.

Got rejected by 5.16pm laugh.gif
Human Nature
post May 2 2016, 05:41 PM

- student of human nature -
25,132 posts

QUOTE(Tinkai @ May 2 2016, 05:26 PM)
Applied for the gold card and submitted all documents by 5.14pm.

Got rejected by 5.16pm  laugh.gif
Lol rejection through email?
Tinkai
post May 2 2016, 07:34 PM

\(o_O)/
586 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 2 2016, 05:41 PM)
Lol rejection through email?
yup, very efficient! biggrin.gif
chiahau
post May 3 2016, 08:19 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,074 posts

QUOTE(raul88 @ Apr 30 2016, 04:58 PM)
Hi all
Just wanna ask regarding maybank tgv rm10 before 6pm
Anyone tried all tgv?and during weekend? Cos i heard some ppl said they not honouring it
In fact last year i went to tgv sunway. The rempit confectionery counter guy said maybank 10-20% discount doesnt exist although clearly stated in the website
Can anyone confirm this

Many thanks
Well, you can show them the T&C

If they refuse, call the manager come and politely explain.

Some staffs are part timers and have no info about such promotion.

If all else fails, just contact TGV directly and rant.

Pretty sure they will reimburse you somehow.

QUOTE(choonyink @ May 1 2016, 12:39 PM)
I have come across 6% charges. Very expensive lol.
I have written previously on Lowyat have to get your 6% upfront/surcharge waived and the merchant fined by Merchant Provider / actions taken by BNM if you search up my post.

Additional charges to installments are not legal and there's rules to govern such behaviors. It's up to us users to combat such surcharges and make sure those people are punished.

Side note : I have never seen any form of surcharge/upfront payment when I was overseas travelling. Paying a lump sum or installment yield the same nett effect. Either you cough up now or 6 months later.

Side note 2 : If the seller are GST registered, charging you additional 6% may cause their system to haywire, thus under / over capturing the GST amount. If you have enough free time, go ahead and complaint to Customs. They will definitely investigate since it's a chance to fine people 10~whatever amount they want due to violation.

Again, I have to shamefully admit that I did such things before and Customs did take actions to investigate laugh.gif

This post has been edited by chiahau: May 3 2016, 08:21 AM
victorywp
post May 3 2016, 08:31 AM

V.I.P
11,677 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ May 3 2016, 08:19 AM)
Side note 2 : If the seller are GST registered, charging you additional 6% may cause their system to haywire, thus under / over capturing the GST amount.
many gst registered merchant did this. the additional charges will not show in the receipt. so no system haywire. but by doing this actually you will see the charges obviously between the receipt of your bill and the receipt of your cc. so you may report if you want. lol...
chiahau
post May 3 2016, 08:45 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,074 posts

QUOTE(victorywp @ May 3 2016, 08:31 AM)
many gst registered merchant did this. the additional charges will not show in the receipt. so no system haywire. but by doing this actually you will see the charges obviously between the receipt of your bill and the receipt of your cc. so you may report if you want. lol...
You can complaint to Customs as well.

Say they try to avoid GST ( Even bigger sin according to Customs officer )

Confirm within 1 week will kena audit.
victorywp
post May 3 2016, 09:53 AM

V.I.P
11,677 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ May 3 2016, 08:45 AM)
You can complaint to Customs as well.

Say they try to avoid GST ( Even bigger sin according to Customs officer )

Confirm within 1 week will kena audit.
no la, all the gst clearly stated in the receipt. but they add some charges for cc swipe. so i believe they will use cash to settle it later. the cc swipe just masuk their account only.
chiahau
post May 3 2016, 10:13 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,074 posts

QUOTE(victorywp @ May 3 2016, 09:53 AM)
no la, all the gst clearly stated in the receipt. but they add some charges for cc swipe. so i believe they will use cash to settle it later. the cc swipe just masuk their account only.
Assuming :

Product A - RM 10,000 after GST

Upfront / Surcharge - 6% on the full amount after GST - RM 10,600 ( RM 600 = 6% surcharge )

On Tax Invoice - RM 10,000

On CC slip - RM 10,600

Gst Paid on based tax invoice - RM 600 ( 6% from RM 10,000 )

Gst paid on calculated from CC slip - RM 636.00 ( 6% from RM 10,600 )

Technically, they underpaid RM 36 for GST if they were to swipe 10,600 instead of 10,000.. You can always argue + CC slip =/= Tax invoice - Disputable.

Consumer will win if they know what to highlight to banks / BNM brows.gif

victorywp
post May 3 2016, 01:11 PM

V.I.P
11,677 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ May 3 2016, 10:13 AM)
Assuming :

Product A - RM 10,000 after GST

Upfront / Surcharge - 6% on the full amount after GST - RM 10,600 ( RM 600 = 6% surcharge )

On Tax Invoice - RM 10,000

On CC slip - RM 10,600

Gst Paid on based tax invoice - RM 600 ( 6% from RM 10,000 )

Gst paid on calculated from CC slip - RM 636.00 ( 6% from RM 10,600 )

Technically, they underpaid RM 36 for GST if they were to swipe 10,600 instead of 10,000.. You can always argue + CC slip =/= Tax invoice - Disputable.

Consumer will win if they know what to highlight to banks / BNM  brows.gif
as i mentioned above, they will use cash to settle it later. no gst involved.
A273292
post May 4 2016, 01:50 PM

20 posts

I just got my Islamic mastercard. Will this card have the same statement date as the Maybank2card?
cybpsych
post May 4 2016, 01:52 PM

---------------------
62,908 posts

QUOTE(A273292 @ May 4 2016, 01:50 PM)
I just got my Islamic mastercard. Will this card have the same statement date as the Maybank2card?
not necessary, but mine is the same.

call CS to verify. sometimes if the card is too new, they cant check until 1st statement is generated.
fruitie
post May 4 2016, 02:04 PM

Rise and Shine
67,994 posts

Nope. Mine is different, so I called to change my statement date and it was effected in my second statement.
kelvinlzy
post May 4 2016, 02:12 PM

2,493 posts

Mine is different.
[Ancient]-XinG-
post May 4 2016, 02:57 PM

20k VIP club
5,725 posts

Got the card after conversions. But don't have the wave sign still same old card. Dint sign at the back and some cashier rejected it. Lol

140 Pages « < 77 78 79 80 81 > » Top

0.0335sec    1.00    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 03:15 PM