Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

Keyboard classes, Losing interest

views

TSsilverwave
post Nov 2 2015, 04:30 PM, updated 9y ago

Look at all my stars!!
4,050 posts

Hi all, i've been learning keyboard for about 2 years plus now and i've been contemplating whether i should stop my classes. I can play the basic music notes but my greatest weakness is playing according to the beat (metronome).

Reasons to stop:
1) Struggling to balance between work, studies and other activities (including keyboard classes)
2) Previous teacher was ok but there were many class cancellations and MCs. I'm not really used to the new teacher but sometimes i feel that the teacher is not teaching willingly (looks like forced to teach/replace the classes of the other teacher). I'm also seeing very slow improvement in myself.
3) I hardly have time to practice, losing interest and no motivation but i do not want the interest to end there.

What are the other options that i have to continue my keyboard journey?

Thanks. smile.gif
JoGaki
post Nov 3 2015, 07:15 PM

Getting Started
144 posts

If you dont have time to practise, that's the end....

Attitude is more important than day dreaming to become like Jordan Rudess

so, find time to practise.. then only you can move on..

IMO, playing music reduces stress.. my own experience
LeaSe*lineR
post Nov 3 2015, 09:34 PM

On my way
622 posts

Make your practice environment 100 time more interesting, at least install some software like GuitarPro, so u can play along with drum, bass and rhythm instead of using those boring metronome.

Challenge yr self, pick any song u like that nobody ever tab/chord on google yet. Use yr creativity, current knowledge and improvisation to cover yr own version of the song. Record it and later listen back after few day/week/month...u might say "OMFG how did i do that" or "OMG i'm so noob last month, i need to make new version of this" that's how 1 of learning progress goes...