Teaching Music, Share your teaching experiences

TSchanghao
post Dec 2 2006, 02:38 AM, updated 20y ago

142 posts

Anyone ever taught music before? Just thought of starting this thread to pick up pointers on how best to initiate a newcomer to music.

Well to start off, I remembered my first experience was with a student who had no concept of music whatsoever. Try as I might to get him to get into note reading, understanding the concept of keeping to a constant beat before moving onto handling the instrument (in this case, a classical guitar), my efforts just didn't work.

When handling newcomers, what is your usual approach? How do you explain key concepts etc and any exercises to recommend which can hold their interest while at the same time add to their learning experience?
TSchanghao
post Dec 2 2006, 10:57 PM

142 posts

How much is enough, i.e. how much to teach in each lesson and where to start off? I usually start off by going into theory i.e. timing, time signature & note reading. Not easy to maintain their interest though cos' it's so damn boring and they expect me to teach them timeless classics on the get-go! doh.gif

There were times I've been so tempted to rap their knuckles with a ruler, just like my music teacher in primary school did.

Of course, that'll only make them hate you and music... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by changhao: Dec 2 2006, 11:00 PM
TSchanghao
post Dec 5 2006, 02:06 AM

142 posts

I fully agree, and as crazy a teacher as I was, I didn't do all that in a single class! biggrin.gif Would probably kill myself in the process together with the student! Sad part was, my classes were limited to 30-45mins for each session and only once per week (as per arrangements made by the music school)! By the time the lesson was over and another week passes, most of them just plain forgot all that I taught. Needless to say, the lil' buggers never bothered to practice what I taught back home or read the notes I gave.

As much as I should be happy with the knowledge that I can continue collecting my paycheck at the end of every month regardless of how badly they're soaking it up, I can't help but feel a tad bit incompetent that my students aren't soaking up all that I've dished up. doh.gif Then of course, there's the fear that their parents will smash my head in with their kid's guitar if they don't see any progress...

Thankfully, most parents these days will only buy a kapok guitar for their kids as a starting instrument! Softer on the head... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by changhao: Dec 5 2006, 02:08 AM
TSchanghao
post Dec 6 2006, 01:44 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Dec 5 2006, 02:27 PM)
by the way, know any place that would take in ppl like me (without paper qualification) to teach guitar?
Good question, how to get students?

My guess is that if you're doing private classes, word-of-mouth recommendations are the best. Either that or you'll have to shamelessly post bills & adverts into people's mailboxes to solicit their services. I tried posting a few adverts on a news bulletin board once, but pranksters tore them down and response was pathetic.

As for teaching in music shops, what I did last time was to scout out the shop. I found this shop in my hometown the last time that was trying to get its music classes going, so I just strolled into the shop, asked to "test" one of their guitars, let rip a few nice tunes and voila! Someone asked me if I wanted to teach!

The advantage of teaching in a music shop is that you get a larger number of students as compared to private tuitioning. However, the 50% commissions sometimes really do not justify the effort put in. What you can do is, start off by teaching in a music school, establish your reputation & rapport with the students, then go into private tuitioning, taking the students with you. Besides, if you're producing good results, most parents will want you to continue to teach their kids. Also, if you're giving private tuitions and are willing to travel to their homes, you can charge an extra RM30-RM50.
TSchanghao
post Dec 8 2006, 01:01 PM

142 posts

Hurhurhur~

Just love the smell of cold-hard cash at the end of the month!
TSchanghao
post Dec 9 2006, 01:16 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(guitarnoobster2 @ Dec 9 2006, 12:12 AM)
yeah man i feel you..once in a while..i get some MAPLE STORY or DOTA freak students..who knows nothing about music...

well..try this..

get a piece of paper ..tell them to write about how they feel towards something..:a girl , an enemy ..

use it as a lyrics ..throw in chords..goreng some vocal melody..

WHOA..your student got his original song  flex.gif

and ..you will be surprise .some 8 years old kid have all the foul languages in the song  laugh.gif
No kidding?! How foul can an 8 year old get lah?
TSchanghao
post Dec 9 2006, 04:00 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(Bassix @ Dec 9 2006, 09:25 AM)
are you kidding me? I have 6-7 year olds scolding my ass off with sentences that i myself couldn't even possibly have thought off!!! And we wonder how society is developing.... laugh.gif

My gosh... shocking.gif I remember as a kid, the SLIGHTEST sign of disrespect will earn you a slap across the cheek or a mouthful of soap!

But are moderate forms of punishments still allowed these days while teaching i.e. rapping the knuckles with a wooden ruler or copy the F# maj scale 100 times?

TSchanghao
post Dec 14 2006, 02:28 AM

142 posts

In such cases, I'd be very much inclined to not progress any further until he/she absorbs the lesson. However, yah the student may accuse you of being boring, not giving him/her more stuff and quit...

Kids these days...
TSchanghao
post Dec 16 2006, 02:28 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(crazychris @ Dec 15 2006, 05:04 PM)
haha i tink the best threat to a teacher is to hav students WILLING to learn
if not den very sakit hati 1....haih...

oya...
ee...how much u guys charge for lessons? whistling.gif
"I don't get out of bed for less than USD24,000 a day." - Linda Evangelista

I wish I was in a position to say that! sad.gif

Standard price is RM90, but if you're travelling to their house, can charge extra RM30. That's for grade 1 practical. If include theory, I round the package to RM190.

Grade 2 practical: RM110, theory: RM90.

Grade 3 practical, RM130, theory: RM110.

So on & so forth. But of course, the above doesn't include teaching materials, books & exams fees.
TSchanghao
post Dec 17 2006, 03:15 PM

142 posts

But as was said before, you get more students teaching at a centre.

The most I ever had was 3 students. And they all stayed so far apart travelling was a real b****.

0.0199sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:31 AM