guys, may i know is investment-linked insurance products, such as those savings plans, can those products help us to save our money and gain higher interest as compared to commercial banks?
INSURANCE TALK, ok let start
Aug 18 2013, 10:24 PM
1,637 posts Joined: Mar 2010 From: Bolehland |
guys, may i know is investment-linked insurance products, such as those savings plans, can those products help us to save our money and gain higher interest as compared to commercial banks?
Aug 20 2013, 12:23 AM
1,637 posts Joined: Mar 2010 From: Bolehland |
QUOTE(SithBuster @ Aug 18 2013, 11:34 PM) Yes, no need to pay after 20 years and you will get the full maturity amount on the 25th year. Savings (or endowment) plan only covers death and disability (no medical) during the 25 years. If 21st year claim for the 2D's, your nominee will get the cash savings accumulated at that year, plus any bonuses and also the basic sum assured (which is much less than medical, ILP and traditional plans). Usually the full amount insured will be around or less than RM50k. As what I've read, you mentioned that insurance savings plan can achieve higher return as compared to FD but according to roystevenung, insurance is not meant for savings nor investment. May I know why?Savings or endowment plan as we call it is completely different from investment linked (or ILP) products and for a different purpose. One is for long term savings while the other is for risk management in terms of death, disability, disease and medical. What you are looking for is a savings plan that can help you achieve higher returns than FD (6-7% or higher annual returns) and commercial bank returns but with a much longer and fixed term which more or less means that you are able to really save rather just to save it and take out for use after a short period of time which defeats the purpose of long term savings. If you start saving in your 20s and 30s, this savings plan can be called your second retirement plan to complement the EPF which is compulsory long term savings mandated by the Govt QUOTE(roystevenung @ Aug 19 2013, 01:16 AM) Short answer, NO, insurance is not for savings, nor it is for investment. I've read your blog before and I am also aware that insurance charges will increase as we grow older but the question is the savings plan is not really meant for savings? It's only purely for protection? Are you saying that when we purchase an insurance product, we are expecting something bad will happen to us, e.g. critical illnesses and TPD, so that we dont have to pay the monthly installment anymore?Long answer, click on below link. ( Insurance 101 ) |
| Change to: | 0.0573sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:45 PM |