INSURANCE TALK, ok let start

rednails
post Mar 11 2009, 09:49 PM

13 posts

I've read someone asking this before but can't find it now...anyway, just would like to ask, which is more important:- the agent OR the insurance company?

I'm asking this because I prefer GE as it has been around for more than 100 yrs. However, the agent was so so only coz he didn't really tell me wat the pros and cons of the plans that he proposed to me. I am the one who had to ask him after I found out from other agents. Example (This, I found out from an AIA agent):- for ILP, the amount that I pay now may not be enough when I'm old and I may have to fork out more if my savings is not enough to cover my premium. This GE agent just tell me that I have the choice to decide when I wanna stop paying. If I stop paying, then the money will be able to cover for my premium. Although wat he said is true, I just feel the info that he gave is not ample and have to wait for me to ask...I know that as a customer I have the right to ask but as I'm new in insurance, sometimes, I don't know wat to ask. unsure.gif

On the other hand, this AIA agent explained to me the pros and cons coz he don't want me to have the shock of my life when I reach the age of 55 and find out that I still have to go on paying for my insurance and maybe at a higher cost. He really tried to understand my needs and tried to match it as close as possible. The problem is that, I'm still abit worried about the AIA and AIG issue thingy altho I've been told by the agent that there's nothing to worry about as AIA is a separate company from AIG.

Anyone from a neutral party who can help me out? I need to make up my mind by this week from who I should buy the insurance from cool.gif

Thank you very much notworthy.gif
rednails
post Mar 11 2009, 10:36 PM

13 posts

Both products is around the same. Just that AIA's plan takes care of my needs now while GE's plan takes care of my needs in later life so they can't give me as much coverage as AIA for now. Eg:-

Hospitalization
GE - RM 720k lifetime limit (RM 90k limit annually)
AIA - RM 300k lifetime limit (RM 90k limit annually)

CI, Death & TPD
AIA - RM 100k
GE - CI - RM 100k, Death & TPD ard RM 50k-100k (sum assured to grow 5%/yr up to 20yrs)

Premium for both plans is RM 200/mth. And I feel the AIA plan suits me better NOW cz if in future I wanna increase my coverage, I can just top up. Of course, the catch is that I must be healthy.
rednails
post Mar 11 2009, 11:07 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(lcl832002 @ Mar 11 2009, 10:46 PM)
Can you tell me the name of the plan from AIA?

Please feel free to read my blog if you are still not confident with AIA. Just click here.
Erm...the AIA agent just told me that it's an ILP. The plan covers lady cancers as well. For disability, it will pay RM 10k/yr after 2nd year till age 65.
rednails
post Mar 11 2009, 11:42 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(bbjslee @ Mar 11 2009, 10:53 PM)
Ok. I'm GE agent.
Your GE agent has introduced to you our GE's newest plan.
Advantage Plus + Smart Medic (150 plan). I'll just add on to what you didn't describe, maybe the agent didn't tell you bout it.

For Hospitalization
your annual limit with increase 10% every 5 policy years, provided that you didn't make any claim in that 5 yrs.

For 3D coverage.
Death & TPD should be 100k, your CI cannot be more than Death & TPD.

What makes you think GE plan cannot top up as AIA? Furthermore with Advantage Plus, you don't even have to top up, your coverage have already increased 100% in 20 yrs time.

If you're looking at product point of view. GE is better here.
So now you'll have to consider the agent lor.
Why not approach another GE agent?
Hie~ Thanks for your info

Hosp - Yea, he din tell me about that bit.
CI - sorry, my mistake, it's RM 50k sweat.gif
In top up, I mean top up the amount that I have to pay monthly, not to top up the coverage.
rednails
post Mar 11 2009, 11:56 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(chew_ronnie @ Mar 11 2009, 11:33 PM)
Actually in Malaysia, AIA is not affected as all insurance companies in M'sia are regulated by Bank Negara Msia. So dun worry at all.

So now it comes back to what you want actually.In ILP plans, the cash values will be eaten up when you the agents attach a lot of riders in it and most importantly the market sentiment la.

So now the decision for you is - RM 100K for life/TPD/C.I - is this what u want or the agent propose to you? N how did the proposal was done - you giving them the budget or they sit down n find your needs?

The other very important issue in the medical card where it shall cover outpaitent cancer and kidney dialysis treatment in full (as charged). As far as i'm concern, AIA calims for the above outpatient cancer and kidney dialysis is very limited. GE plans are as charged! So in my personal point of view, given RM 200 for AIA and GE, I go for GE.
Thank you for the info. notworthy.gif

The AIA agent tried to match the details that I want (lady cancer, RM 200/mth budget, disability benefits, hospital daily cash etc. ect.) while the GE agent proposed me a plan based on my RM200/mth budget and lady cancer. If I have to choose, I'll say that the AIA agent takes time to understand my needs more.

I agree with you on the GE outpatient cancer & kidney dialysis as charged thing. Yes, the ones provided by AIA is quite low compared to GE. It's a plus point for GE frm me smile.gif

The AIA agent told me that there's a need to monitor the market so that switching of funds could be done and he'll follow up with me to give advise wether to switch the funds or not and also to revise back my plan in the future when needed. The GE agent told me nothing about this...
rednails
post Mar 12 2009, 12:30 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(lcl832002 @ Mar 11 2009, 11:41 PM)
I seldom sell ILP to my propects because I know its weaknesses. If you are only care about protection, you can buy a plan like mine. I bought it when I am 24 years old.

My plan is as follows:
i) Whole life insurance RM 300,000. When I am 57 years old, I can surrender it at RM 120,512 (guaranteed). Or stop paying premium and still get the protection of RM 233,100, instead of RM 300,000, until I reach 100 years old.
ii) Medical card - annual limit RM 60,000, lifetime limit RM 200,000.
iii) Personal accident - RM 200,000 (death benefit) to RM 300,000 (serious disability benefit), RM 2,000 annually for each accident (medical reimbursement).
iv) Critical illness - RM 50,000.

My monthly premium is RM 306 only.

What do you think of my insurance plan? Just for sharing. I don't buy ILP because I can use the money to invest in gold, shares and others. So, my insurance plan is purely for protection only.
May I know what's the name of your plan? My budget is RM 200 only. Can't afford to spend more..

I also want a protection ONLY plan. However, I'm given the choice of the ILP or the traditional plan ONLY from AIA. The traditional plan does not include hospitalization. If I want hospitalization, I have to buy it separately and it's burned every year. So, I thought why not put it in ILP since I'll get to claim more when I'm alive. Other + points are such as CI is extended to 100 years, compared to 88 years in traditional plan and I'll get straight RM 100k for diagnosis of CI instead of RM 30k for traditional plan. The agents from GE and Prudential straight proposed me ILP.

QUOTE(bbjslee @ Mar 11 2009, 11:47 PM)
Does your Insurance agent attach Waiver as well? Make sure you attach it.
Yes, there's waiver smile.gif

I'll just put both plan that I've been proposed here

Both are ILP plans & premium is RM200/mth:-

AIA
CI (100 yrs) (*Waiver till 100 yrs, free hosp till 100 yrs, remaining coverage continues) - RM 100k + inv return
Upon disability (65 yrs) (*) - RM 100k + inv return, after 2nd yr till 65 yrs - RM 10k/yr (only limited by age)
Female cancer (60 yrs) (*) - additional RM 50k
Hosp (100 yrs) RM 300k lifetime, RM90k annual limit, RM 150 room, outpatient kidney dialysis-RM40k, Outpatient cancer treatment-RM12.5k, 10% co-insurance, max RM3k, RM 50 daily cash
Death-RM100k + inv return

GE
CI (99 yrs) (Waiver of premium till age 70 yrs) - RM 50k
Disability (65 yrs) (Waiver of premium till age 70 yrs) - RM 5k/yr, max 10 years
Female cancer (75 yrs) - I'll just summarize it cz there's alot of branches such as skin grafting, lumpectomy and breast reconstructive surgery on top of the normal femal cancers, max claim RM 32,500; there's a limit on the claim for each branch starting from as low as a maximum of RM2.5k for breast lumpectomy-unilateral
Hosp (80 yrs)-RM 720k lifetime. RM90k annual limit, RM150 room, outpatient cancer treatment & kidney dialysis-as charged up to RM 90k/yr, 10% co-insurance, max RM 500, RM 50 daily cash
Death (99 yrs) - RM 50k - 100k (sum assured to grow 5% every yr up to 20yrs)

Btw, I'm more comfortable with the AIA agent as he takes the time to understand my needs and really justify the plan that he proposed to me very well.

This post has been edited by rednails: Mar 12 2009, 12:41 AM
rednails
post Mar 12 2009, 12:46 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(bbjslee @ Mar 12 2009, 12:41 AM)
You're attaching too many riders to your ILP for 200/month
How old are you? Married? Plan to marry soon?
24, non-smoker, plan to get a car soon
rednails
post Mar 13 2009, 11:54 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(lcl832002 @ Mar 12 2009, 01:36 AM)
We call it as Wholelife Plus Non Par (WLNPP).

If you are 24 years old, non-smoker, male and working in office (insurance budget, RM 200 per month):

your plan can be as follows:
i) Whole life insurance RM 100,000.
ii) Medical card - annual limit RM 90,000, lifetime limit RM 300,000.
iii) Personal accident - RM 200,000 (death benefit) or RM 300,000 (serious disability benefit), RM 2,000 annually for each accident (medical reimbursement). This plan is an offer. So, you may not be able to buy it in the future.
iv) Critical illness - RM 50,000.

Your monthly premium is RM 164 only. It is adjustable to suit your insurance needs and monthly budget.

If the coverage for critical illness is changed to RM 100,000, instead of RM 50,000 which you think is not enough, the monthly premium is RM 193.
Is this a traditional plan? I've asked my agent and he said there's only two types of plan in the market:- traditional and ILP. He insisted that no matter what name they give the plan, in the end, it'll be a traditional or ILP plan hmm.gif
rednails
post Mar 14 2009, 12:24 AM

13 posts

Thanks smile.gif
May I know till what age that plan cover?
Being a traditional plan, does it mean that it's protected from market changes? I mean, do I get more return/more protected from inflation?
rednails
post Mar 15 2009, 10:21 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(lcl832002 @ Mar 14 2009, 01:23 PM)
The plan covers us until 100 years old. That's why it is called as whole life insurance. It depends. For whole life insurance, everything is guaranteed including its surrender value. However, you can't expect to get a lot of return. For endowment plans, if the insurance company earns a lot of profit, then you will get a dividend from 4 % to 7 %. For ILP, part of your premium will be allocated to buy certain funds you want. In this case, its investment value will be heavily influenced by market changes. Can you see the difference?
Thanks again for the info. Yes, I can see some differences thr. For whole life insurance, I suppose hospitalization is not included?
One more thing, what's an endownment plan? What are the cons of an endownment plan?

0.0573sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:44 PM