INSURANCE TALK, ok let start

nujikabane
post Aug 8 2013, 12:49 AM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

Hi guys.
Am planning to get myself an insurance package.

But the thing is, I am a bit short of money, i.e can't commit that much per month for insurance contribution.

Thus, as wondering, is there any packages with minimal payment?
if so, what is the minimum?

I understand that less money paid for insurancce = less attractive package, but am willing to live with that at the moment, until I am better financially.
nujikabane
post Aug 8 2013, 12:02 PM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

What does rider mean ?
nujikabane
post Aug 15 2013, 10:48 PM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

Am wondering,

Is there any insurance packages that covers for loss of employment too ?
nujikabane
post Aug 25 2013, 10:01 AM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

Am wondering,

Is there any insurance packages that covers for loss of employment too ?
nujikabane
post Oct 20 2013, 01:22 AM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

Is it okay to have multiple insurance from different insurance company?

e.g life insurance from, say, Great Eastern & Prudential.

Ok, or downright ridiculous?
nujikabane
post Oct 20 2013, 02:03 AM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Oct 20 2013, 01:22 AM)
Is it okay to have multiple insurance from different insurance company?

e.g life insurance from, say, Great Eastern & Prudential.

Ok, or downright ridiculous?
QUOTE(mcfeemo @ Oct 20 2013, 01:31 AM)
well, nothing is wrong with that... just make sure that you are not over insured..  laugh.gif
LOL but how does this arrangement works?
I mean, the tenet of insurance is that, you can't make money from being sick.

So, say, I were to be hospitalized (touch wood), then I can only claim it from 1 of the insurance company.
So it begs the question, why bother having more than 1 insurance coverage?

What's even funnier is the death benefit.
Hmmm we can only die once, right? So, where's the benefit of having two insurance coverage,
when my spouse can only claim the death benefit from 1 of the insurance companies?
nujikabane
post Oct 20 2013, 06:23 PM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

Hi all,

Alright, after scouring the vast Internet and its myriad of information, I have now more or less made up my mind.

Please suggest me an insurance plan,
which have the followings (or at least most of it) :

[1] Low premium (haha, if only. Possibly as low as RM50, max is RM100)
[2] High TPD coverage
[3] Inclusive of CIs (36, or is it 42 now?)
* NOTE: I am not overly concern if the death benefit is low, as if I am dead, am not using the money after all. And my God can't be bribed)

[4] If it is an investment-linked, it has to be Shariah-compliant
[5] Allows me flexibility to change riders/coverage amount/allocation between protection and investment, as and when deemed fit
[6] Would be great if it is internationally accepted (e.g kena hospitalize in US of A, the insurance can cover. You see, I do not have ObamaCare) Jokes asides, this is not critical, but would be good to have.

Do rain my PM with your proposals, and may the best man (or lady, for the matter), wins smile.gif
nujikabane
post Nov 3 2013, 07:35 PM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

Hi guys,

Perhaps anyone can enlighten me of the difference between:

Takaful, and
Insurance.

Thanks!
nujikabane
post Nov 4 2013, 12:08 AM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

Anyone here an MAA insurance agent?
nujikabane
post Nov 17 2013, 04:45 PM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Nov 17 2013, 09:42 AM)
how about co-insurance?

let say i kene co-insurance rm1000 from prudential.

can I claim it from allianz the rm1000?
QUOTE(conqu3ror @ Nov 17 2013, 12:53 PM)
Great Question...

Why not just get a non-co-insurance policy? Save the trouble of claiming the balance from other company?

For Allianz medical card, no overall annual limit as well.
LOL perhaps you are missing the question there.
The question is, can the co-insurance incurred from 1 insurance policy, be claimed using another policy?
nujikabane
post Nov 17 2013, 06:35 PM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Nov 17 2013, 04:45 PM)
LOL perhaps you are missing the question there.
The question is, can the co-insurance incurred from 1 insurance policy, be claimed using another policy?
QUOTE(WealthPlanner @ Nov 17 2013, 06:23 PM)
The answer is yes.
Uiks, am anticipating the answer to be no.

Then how does 1 claim for this?

Provide the hospital bill to 1 ins co, and then the receipt for bill paid to another ins co to claim for the 10%?
nujikabane
post Nov 23 2013, 02:43 AM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

Does the insurance company do a check for the policy, with regards to medical declaration?

Or do they wait for the claim from policyholder, then only then they do a check?

If by the time to claim only check, then refuse to pay on the basis of not declaring, then pity the policyholder la.

Don't you think so?
nujikabane
post Nov 24 2013, 04:07 PM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

Anyone heard about i-insure, which is a PA insurance coverage,
provided by Multi-Purpose Insurance Bhd?

The premium is only @ RM50/annum!
Coverage is for death, and permanent disabilities.
Sum covered is RM50k.

Link to the site: http://i-insure.com.my/i-insure/index.php

What are your take on this?
Is it good, not bad, or lowya insurance?
nujikabane
post Nov 24 2013, 05:06 PM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

QUOTE(conqu3ror @ Nov 24 2013, 04:36 PM)
This is Personal Accident Insurance. Nothing fancy and new.

Cheap but only claimable upon death and permanent disabilities cause by accident.
QUOTE(ExpZero @ Nov 24 2013, 04:43 PM)
There is no lowya insurance, there is just different insurance serve for difference purpose.

The coverage is not for death and permanent disabilities, the coverage is for accidental death and permanent disability.

A reasonable price for PA. However, not a very good deal in view of no partial disability, accidental medical reimbursement, cash allowance etc...

IMO, Tokyo Marine provide better and more comprehensive deal.
Thanks all for the feedbacks smile.gif

From what I can deduce;

1) No cash value i.e money paid is non-refundable
2) PA only. In case of death, and permanent disabilities. Nothing else

However, am not sure what this meant :
"The coverage is not for death and permanent disabilities, the coverage is for accidental death and permanent disability." Ain't it the same?

And I believe this is better than nothing. But definitely not sufficient to be relying on this PA only. Is it aptly said?
nujikabane
post Nov 25 2013, 02:37 PM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

Aha, didn't know that 'accidental' would mean a huge difference!
So one has to be very clear, as to whether the insurance policy they are holding
is for death, or accidental death.

Alright, so let say for this I-Insure thingy:

Scenario 1:
1 fella would want to undergo Lasik treatment, to repair his eye.
So he bought this insurance, to cover him from permanent disability.

As luck would have it, the surgery were Not successful.
He suffered from loss of 1 eye.

Does this considered as accidental, or not?
nujikabane
post Nov 27 2013, 01:34 PM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

I gave them an e-mail, and they responded:

It's actually good to take up policy prior to the surgery, as there may be chances that the surgery may cause accidental TPD.

I agreed with that.

And when I mention whether it is required to declare about the upcoming surgery, they mention no need.

On the downside, it only covers loss of sight to both eyes, which is claimable at 100%. Loss of sight for only an eye, then can't claim at all.

Sigh..
nujikabane
post Nov 27 2013, 04:46 PM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

QUOTE(ExpZero @ Nov 27 2013, 02:40 PM)
claimable when losing sight of both eyes is the definition of TPD aka blindness, the policy didn't cover for partial disability.
Indeed you are right on that account smile.gif
nujikabane
post Nov 30 2013, 01:27 PM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

I understand that Insurance is generally associated to long-term commitment.

However, am wondering; is there any TPD insurance plan that caters for specific situations?

Coz here's the thing; my father-in-law will be undergoing Lasik surgery, and even though the Doc mention that there are no known cases of people going blind due to the procedures, I would want to be proactive.

As such, I plan to take TPD insurance plan for him, for this specific matter only. i.e once after the procedure is done, am not continuing with the plan.

Is it possible?

0.0559sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:21 PM