Im smoker and i m at early 30s ..any plan can u suggest for me?
should i go 4 medic check up first?
INSURANCE TALK, ok let start
Jul 13 2011, 11:37 PM
134 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
Im smoker and i m at early 30s ..any plan can u suggest for me?
should i go 4 medic check up first? |
Jul 14 2011, 12:19 AM
3,968 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
non smoker, early 20s.. looking to get 1 savings, 1 medical (death, 36, accident). this is better than all-in-1 right?
Jul 14 2011, 09:28 AM
46 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
QUOTE(ah joixl @ Jul 13 2011, 11:37 PM) ah joixl, what are your concerns and needs at the moment? what benefit would you like to be covered?do you currently have any existing policy?Added on July 14, 2011, 9:47 am QUOTE(pisces88 @ Jul 14 2011, 12:19 AM) non smoker, early 20s.. looking to get 1 savings, 1 medical (death, 36, accident). this is better than all-in-1 right? pisces88, do you currently have any existing policy?This post has been edited by sillysu: Jul 14 2011, 09:47 AM |
Jul 14 2011, 01:49 PM
380 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
QUOTE(lowyat2011 @ Jul 13 2011, 11:20 PM) Hi all, Hi,Just wondering... am I paying too much or too low for my family's insurance coverage. Paying about RM1,250 per month for the whole family policies: 1) GEL life (bought 20 years ago), still paying... till end of my life 2) GEL life + some medical protection (bought 15 years ago), still paying... till end of my life 3) Prudential Investment link + med card + CI (bought 5 years ago), still paying... till end of my life 4) Prudential term (bought few months ago), still paying... till 10 years later 5) spouse's MAA life (bought 15 years ago), still paying... MAA says need to pay another 10 years... (my agent told me only need to pay 10 years, now need to pay up to 25 years 6) spouse's GEL life + some medical protection (bought 14 years ago), still paying... 7) spouse's Prudential Investment link + med card + CI (bought 5 years ago), still paying... 8) daughter's GEL life + some medical protection + saving (bought 8 years ago), still paying... till she turn 18 9) daughter's Prudential Investment link + med card + CI (bought 5 years ago), still paying... till she turn 25 10) another daughter's Prudential Investment link + med card + CI (bought 5 years ago), still paying... till she turn 25 Average of RM125 per policy per month... not too bad, but the coverage not really much lah. Feel free to advise and share your thoughts or mind to share how much are you paying... Thanks. My advice as follows: 1) GEL life (bought 20 years ago), still paying... till end of my life. Only life coverage around 50k. Keep it for them to give u interest. 2) GEL life + some medical protection (bought 15 years ago), still paying... till end of my life. Medical will be out of date, should be those on reimbursement basis medical pla. Advice: do a review on this 3) Prudential Investment link + med card + CI (bought 5 years ago), still paying... till end of my life. No issues with this 4) Prudential term (bought few months ago), still paying... till 10 years later. Life/Death benefit shall be higher since this is a term policy. No cash values attached. 5) spouse's MAA life (bought 15 years ago), still paying... MAA says need to pay another 10 years... (my agent told me only need to pay 10 years, now need to pay up to 25 years 6) spouse's GEL life + some medical protection (bought 14 years ago), still paying... Same like yours, do a review on this as this may be out dated. 7) spouse's Prudential Investment link + med card + CI (bought 5 years ago), still paying... Good and keep it, and may do some review to increase the medical coverage. 8) daughter's GEL life + some medical protection + saving (bought 8 years ago), still paying... till she turn 18. Keep it and review the medical part. Because normally child dont need much protection on death and illness 9) daughter's Prudential Investment link + med card + CI (bought 5 years ago), still paying... till she turn 25. Keep it and review the medical part. 10) another daughter's Prudential Investment link + med card + CI (bought 5 years ago), still paying... till she turn 25. As above advice Do let me know if u need my assistance. More willing to help out. Thanks Added on July 14, 2011, 1:58 pm QUOTE(ah joixl @ Jul 13 2011, 11:37 PM) No need med checkup if u r healthy.BTW check ur PM. This post has been edited by chew_ronnie: Jul 14 2011, 01:58 PM |
Jul 14 2011, 04:13 PM
48 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
Hi chew_ronnie,
QUOTE(chew_ronnie @ Jul 14 2011, 01:49 PM) Hi, My advice as follows: 1) GEL life (bought 20 years ago), still paying... till end of my life. Only life coverage around 50k. Keep it for them to give u interest. (You means keep it and collect interest from them, later the $ pass to my family) 2) GEL life + some medical protection (bought 15 years ago), still paying... till end of my life. Medical will be out of date, should be those on reimbursement basis medical pla. Advice: do a review on this (Yup, those are basic medical plan, I was thinking to 'drop the med coverage' and just remain the 'life policy') 3) Prudential Investment link + med card + CI (bought 5 years ago), still paying... till end of my life. No issues with this (just top-up the medi coverage recently) 4) Prudential term (bought few months ago), still paying... till 10 years later. Life/Death benefit shall be higher since this is a term policy. No cash values attached. (a bit 'kiasu' for coming 10 years time, need to have extra $ coverage for my family with the cheap term insurance) 5) spouse's MAA life (bought 15 years ago), still paying... MAA says need to pay another 10 years... (my agent told me only need to pay 10 years, now need to pay up to 25 years 6) spouse's GEL life + some medical protection (bought 14 years ago), still paying... Same like yours, do a review on this as this may be out dated. (Yup, those are basic medical plan, I was thinking to 'drop the med coverage' and just remain the 'life policy') 7) spouse's Prudential Investment link + med card + CI (bought 5 years ago), still paying... Good and keep it, and may do some review to increase the medical coverage. (just top-up the medi coverage recently) 8) daughter's GEL life + some medical protection + saving (bought 8 years ago), still paying... till she turn 18. Keep it and review the medical part. Because normally child dont need much protection on death and illness (actually, this is like the endowment plan, cash out at age 18) 9) daughter's Prudential Investment link + med card + CI (bought 5 years ago), still paying... till she turn 25. Keep it and review the medical part. (just top-up the medi coverage recently) 10) another daughter's Prudential Investment link + med card + CI (bought 5 years ago), still paying... till she turn 25. As above advice (just top-up the medi coverage recently) Thanks, really appreciate your input. This post has been edited by lowyat2011: Jul 14 2011, 04:15 PM |
Jul 14 2011, 04:25 PM
QUOTE(lowyat2011 @ Jul 14 2011, 04:13 PM) Hi no worries at all.I think u already have an answer for yourself, looking at the way u top up. And since u have top up your medical plan, the next best thing to look at is ur Death and critical illness benefit. As yourself this question, if yourself is diagnosed with critical illness, how much u think u need to survive say 3 to 5 yrs when u r not able to work. Has ur CI coverage up to that mark? Death benefit, if u pass on, how much ur spouse get? For living expenses and most importantly, ur children's education fund? This is just a rough guide. Hope it'll help out. Thanks |
Jul 15 2011, 04:42 PM
48 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
QUOTE(chew_ronnie @ Jul 14 2011, 04:25 PM) Hi no worries at all. Thanks again chew_ronnie.I think u already have an answer for yourself, looking at the way u top up. And since u have top up your medical plan, the next best thing to look at is ur Death and critical illness benefit. As yourself this question, if yourself is diagnosed with critical illness, how much u think u need to survive say 3 to 5 yrs when u r not able to work. Has ur CI coverage up to that mark? Death benefit, if u pass on, how much ur spouse get? For living expenses and most importantly, ur children's education fund? This is just a rough guide. Hope it'll help out. Thanks I notice that my CI and death benefit coverage not really much, thus, I bought a 10 years term inssurance early this year and hope this help to cover a bit more before i retired (10 years later). I think the coverage only can last 3-4 years of living expenses for my family, as the children's education fund, perhaps, only can ensure them to go for local college... Currently, I have commited to pay about RM1200+ per month, I think I need to double up the insurance premium (RM2400+), in order to have comfort coverage... but how can afford to pay more??? Life is short, enjoy every moment we have |
Jul 15 2011, 05:29 PM
43 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
Dear Abulele,
If that happens whereby you provide false information intentionally and when the insurance company finds out, you will almost be certain not to be able to receive any claim. Thanks. |
Jul 16 2011, 08:13 AM
QUOTE(lowyat2011 @ Jul 15 2011, 04:42 PM) Thanks again chew_ronnie. U may wanna do a review on ur current situation. I dare to say some might be out of date and u may be surprised that u may gain by doing so. Let me know if I can help.I notice that my CI and death benefit coverage not really much, thus, I bought a 10 years term inssurance early this year and hope this help to cover a bit more before i retired (10 years later). I think the coverage only can last 3-4 years of living expenses for my family, as the children's education fund, perhaps, only can ensure them to go for local college... Currently, I have commited to pay about RM1200+ per month, I think I need to double up the insurance premium (RM2400+), in order to have comfort coverage... but how can afford to pay more??? Life is short, enjoy every moment we have |
Jul 18 2011, 08:11 PM
11,954 posts Joined: May 2007 |
Other insurance company no provide this data?
GE claim Jan - March 2011 ![]() |
Jul 18 2011, 08:31 PM
1,039 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Malaka |
i'm 21 this year and non-smoker, can anyone recommend me which insurance shud i take? prefer rm50 permonth
Jul 19 2011, 02:29 AM
421 posts Joined: Jul 2010 From: ~Klang Valley~ |
Jul 19 2011, 07:19 AM
12,268 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
General Insurance matters
On the radio msig has been giving explanations on gen insurance. One of this is house insurance it mentions that if a house is under insured aganist its market value, anything happens, the insurance will be paid pro rated agnainst the insured value. i have a question. i always think that insured damage to a house is always 'replacement value'. Therefore the 'value' of a house cannoit be used for insurance calculations as it includes the land value and foundations of the house which may not be affected by the risks of fire, say. So how can the gen insurer use Market value when this includes land value? What say you? |
Jul 19 2011, 11:17 AM
670 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
Jul 19 2011, 09:47 PM
369 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
Jul 25 2011, 11:23 AM
5 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
Hi, i need your advise..i currently 25 years old and plan to buy a investment, medical card & 36 illness coverage. can anyone suggest me any insurance to buy and how much per month for the coverage?
Jul 25 2011, 11:42 AM
2,027 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJ |
ResQ,
at your budget you *should* decide whats most important and buy a decent cover from a standalone. 50 bucks per months buys you zilch with an ILP. might as well not bother to have any cover then. 600 RM p.a. however can buy you a decent medical cover and if you're not fussy about the annual limit you'll enough to add a basic PA too. |
Jul 25 2011, 03:19 PM
373 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
i must say that i am noob when it comes to insurance.
i do have my own insurance, but when my sister-in-law ask me about insurance for her baby, i could not think about any good insurance. basically, what is a good insurance for a 8 month old baby? my sister in law are actually looking for education insurance, which would be beneficial for her baby when she starts her tertiary education. |
Jul 25 2011, 03:51 PM
570 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: /k/ isle |
hey guys any insurance coverage for working overseas especially in singapore. Won't be long in malaysia, still thinking whether to get one. I already have life insurance
This post has been edited by Avex: Jul 25 2011, 03:52 PM |
Jul 25 2011, 03:57 PM
670 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
QUOTE(leechers @ Jul 25 2011, 03:19 PM) i must say that i am noob when it comes to insurance. Well for kids/baby we should get them a decent medical insurance because they are young & fragile i do have my own insurance, but when my sister-in-law ask me about insurance for her baby, i could not think about any good insurance. basically, what is a good insurance for a 8 month old baby? my sister in law are actually looking for education insurance, which would be beneficial for her baby when she starts her tertiary education. to illnesses/accident . . . life insurance are not that important at the moment The balance of premium/money could go to investment or savings for the child education purpose depending to the budget of your sis-in-law as well QUOTE(Avex @ Jul 25 2011, 03:51 PM) hey guys any insurance coverage for working overseas especially in singapore. Won't be long in malaysia, still thinking whether to get one. I already have life insurance you might consider getting a 36crictical Illnesses plan . . . It covors even when you are working in SG. In case anything happens as least the money could covor your medical expenses & also maintaining your current lifestyle. A sum of between RM100k - RM200k should be good for a start. This post has been edited by Colaboy: Jul 25 2011, 04:00 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0298sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:29 AM |