medical-medicine-overseas

feynman
post Dec 2 2006, 03:17 AM

4,781 posts

It is shocking to see people expressing their interest in medicine and at the same time know absolutely nothing about anything.

feynman
post Dec 2 2006, 10:49 AM

4,781 posts

JPA scholarships are only for new SPM holders.

Also, scholarships for medicine are extremely rare. The only ones who provide full medical scholarships are JPA and MARA. Other than that, almost none if not none at all.

Be realistic. Reading medicine overseas is not easy........you get my drift.

This post has been edited by feynman: Dec 2 2006, 10:50 AM
feynman
post Dec 2 2006, 10:59 AM

4,781 posts

The fact stays, it is almost impossible to obtain any form of aid from any parties besides government bodies. Don't expect private firms to invest at least RM500k on you when they will not get any returns at all.

Petronas used to sponsor medical students, not anymore, because it is not a sound investment.

Loans, don't even bother thinking about it. You'll be in a severe financial debt when you graduate.

feynman
post Dec 5 2006, 03:25 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(ryozoemiko @ Dec 5 2006, 03:15 PM)

There is scholarship such as PTPTN. After you were accepted into the course, you can apply through the University. If you are going oversea, there will be JPA loan of around 200,000 for you to borrow. You need to pay of course, or you choose to work with the goverment for 10 years after graduate.
I am currently studying pharmacy in IMU..haha. Don't say i am siding my choose,just telling the truth.
IIRC, PTPTN is not a scholarship but a loan.
feynman
post Dec 7 2006, 03:53 AM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(klifex @ Dec 6 2006, 11:08 PM)
my advice---> go study hard hard...then score a straight A's...then apply JPA...if not, go apply for private medical college for scholarship..(also need superb result)...
else, continue for STPM/ matrix..,score good result..apply for local Uni.

this is the solution for people who cannot afford for private medical Uni/ overseas...Like me~~hehehe
Dream on..........

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Dec 7 2006, 12:00 AM)
Lay off the kid... At least she's trying to get some info here... biggrin.gif

But I agree with you a lot of people don't really know much about medicine before venturing into it, and later regret their choice.

Info? Much of these stuff can be found on the net with a click of the button, one doesn't even need to ask. If someone does not have the initiative to do so, one should not even bother doing medicine no matter how interested one is.

QUOTE(wgy589 @ Dec 7 2006, 02:08 AM)
StarGhazzer,it's very nice to meet you here .Congratulations for successfully
completing IMU Phase 1 course .Actually,I
have just finished my STPM exams,and IMU twinning-Jefferson MC is my major
consideration now,partly b'cos of the high quality of US Medical education,
reduced cost and durations.

I would like to ask you the following Q's:

1)What're the chances of an IMU students twinned with Jefferson being able to
continue for specialist training and to secure a job in US?

2)Will it be easier for a Canadian PMS Graduates to apply for US internship
compared to graduates from other countries?

3)What's the percentage of failure in IMU USMLE 1 ?

Thanks for your future reply. Hope you'll be matched with the PMS
of your choice. thumbup.gif
Since when is medicine in the US cheap?

Scholarships for professional degrees are rare if any at all.

If you get into a Canadian PMS, you are likely to find a job in canada because you have the canadian experience.

feynman
post Dec 7 2006, 12:08 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Dec 7 2006, 11:18 AM)

Sounding harsh eh? Info about unis and courses can be found with google and mouseclicks, but personal experiences could only be found via talking to current students of graduates. I don't see any problem with fellow forum members asking for certain information, but as you put it, it's better to do some research before asking.

Scholarships for medicine are indeed rare, but scholarships for engineering courses are much more easier to find compared to medicine. sad.gif cry.gif
That's the case here, one is not asking for experiences or what are the pitfalls to be aware of, but one is asking how to do medicine? What to do? How to apply for scholarships and to foreign universities. It is basically asking people to tell one what exactly one must do to be a doctor, right down to what course to take, how to fill in the form, how to apply for scholarships and etc.

This is certainly not doctor material.
feynman
post Dec 8 2006, 01:00 AM

4,781 posts

If what JPA pays is not sufficient for accomodation, food and all. This is not a scholarship at all. Makan pun tak cukup, belajar untuk apa?
feynman
post Dec 8 2006, 01:58 PM

4,781 posts

It is a blardy scholarship, if it can't blardy pay to ensure you have enough to use, why the heck do you call it a scholarship?

0.0171sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:47 AM