207 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Bottom

Choosing The Right PSU, Discussions about power supply units.

Kataro
post Feb 1 2008, 12:08 AM

Super Saiya Jin 4
775 posts

QUOTE(camel90 @ Jan 31 2008, 09:36 PM)
basically my budget is very low. so, with the computer gona be use by kid to play. i think cheap2 psu is good though , no? coz u see, i will not add on graphic card later , i will not do any overclocking , i will not even turn it on for 24/7.

hurmmm
hmm.gif cheap cheap one is ok to use, but for long term is not recommended as it might spoilt your hardware...and the efficiency is very low...for example, if that cheap psu can give 65% efficiency (if it can give that high), then mean it will draw more than 150W from TNB to give 100W to your rig, which also mean you pay more for your electricity bill...of course you not using for 24/7 you will not notice that little money...at least get something better for efficiency around 70%+ will be better...those RM20-50 PSU just ignore it... icon_rolleyes.gif
QUOTE(shahmetal @ Jan 31 2008, 09:49 PM)
erm.. still i dont hear any opinions about the odin series oF PSU.. somE heLPs?
I do not know about this PSU so I can't help you...maybe other forumer who use before can tell you that...or you can try search around this forum, I remember someone mention before...or try googling around.. icon_rolleyes.gif
stanley85
post Feb 1 2008, 09:14 AM

704 posts

QUOTE(Kataro @ Jan 31 2008, 09:06 PM)
icute, powerlogic, enlight are chapalang PSU...how much is your budget? Will you upgrade or add ram, hdd? I think 350W PSU should be enuf for you, Enermax FMA II 350W can get at RM159 at All IT...other shop seem do not have 350W edy... icon_rolleyes.gif
chap ayam psu won't cost more than RM 100 lah dude. those more than RM100 we don't call them "chap ayam" vmad.gif
QUOTE(camel90 @ Jan 31 2008, 08:30 PM)
how about icute 450W ?
i hope its good though. isit better, no?
Acbel should be way better.. acbel e2 510
QUOTE(camel90 @ Jan 31 2008, 09:36 PM)
basically my budget is very low. so, with the computer gona be use by kid to play. i think cheap2 psu is good though , no? coz u see, i will not add on graphic card later , i will not do any overclocking , i will not even turn it on for 24/7.
budget.. how much? as kataro said, Enermax FMA II 350W can get at RM159..just dunno reliable or not tongue.gif if your pc doesn't need high power, just get a chapayam psu will safe you lots of money lol.. just use the link given and find out how much amp(A) you need.

the down side of buying chap ayam psu is that.. it may not even power up due to the lauzy cap or old cap.. and anytime can go for cny tongue.gif

oh ya..why not consider -
Gigabyte SuperB 460W RM 160
ST400G 400Watts RM 180

Added on February 1, 2008, 9:29 amthrough the review here.. silverstone st400 seem a very nice psu.

http://enthusiast.hardocp.com/article.html...W50aHVzaWFzdA==

This post has been edited by stanley85: Feb 1 2008, 09:29 AM
camel90
post Feb 1 2008, 10:17 AM

Go-Kart racer, Amature Race Driver
1,314 posts

thanx for all ur concern guys. but seems like the computer that my aunt asked me to build for her kid is very low budget. so, i end up use icute casing with psu that came together with it. hope it can survive though.
E-J@1
post Feb 1 2008, 04:24 PM

Capital Eâ„¢
2,603 posts

PROC: AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ (2.5GHz)

MOBO: Biostar TA690G AM2

RAM: 2 × PC5400 DDR2 667MHz (1GB Stick)

HDD: 2 × SATA HDD

ODD: 1 × DVD Burner

FANS: 3 × 80mm

VGA: ATI Radeon HD 3870

---------------------------------------------------------------------

no OverClocking will be done, everything will be running on stock speed

already calculate the total power using the Extreme PSU Calculator --> 297W

would it be sufficient if were to use SilverStone Strider ST400?
wen9x88
post Feb 3 2008, 01:37 PM

2,933 posts

can i use this COOLER MASTER EXTREME 500W RM194 only for this gaming rig and i m not sure go for overclocking anot,but i think i don't go for overclocking.

Processor:AMD AthlonX2 6000+ 3.0Ghz =Rm535
Mobo:Asus M2N-E =RM315
Ram:Kingston 1G 667Mhz ddr2 x2 =Rm130 (Each65) <----can upgrade it when i get money
HDD:WD 160G sata 16mb =Rm169 <-----can buy one more when i get money
GC:XFX 8800GT 512MB xxx RM990
Rom:Pioneer 18X DVD-RW sata =RM120
LCD:22'' Wide 226BW = RM1080
PSU&Casing:CM Elite casing with CM 450WRealPower PSU =RM380
Casing Fans:Add on some casing fans:RM50 <----need to add this anot?
Keyboard&Mouse:A4Tech set=Rm80

This post has been edited by wen9x88: Feb 3 2008, 01:38 PM
Kataro
post Feb 6 2008, 12:05 AM

Super Saiya Jin 4
775 posts

QUOTE(wen9x88 @ Feb 3 2008, 01:37 PM)
can i use this COOLER MASTER EXTREME 500W RM194 only for  this gaming rig and i m not sure go for overclocking anot,but i think i don't go for overclocking.
Processor:AMD AthlonX2 6000+ 3.0Ghz =Rm535
Mobo:Asus M2N-E =RM315
Ram:Kingston 1G 667Mhz ddr2 x2 =Rm130 (Each65) <----can upgrade it when i get money
HDD:WD 160G sata 16mb =Rm169 <-----can buy one more when i get money
GC:XFX 8800GT 512MB xxx RM990
Rom:Pioneer 18X DVD-RW sata =RM120
LCD:22'' Wide 226BW = RM1080
PSU&Casing:CM Elite casing with CM 450WRealPower PSU =RM380
Casing Fans:Add on some casing fans:RM50 <----need to add this anot?
Keyboard&Mouse:A4Tech set=Rm80
As I mention in a post in several page back and been mentioned by other forumer as well in this thread, CM extreme series is not true power PSU... and from what you listed, seem like you will upgrade some of the hardware when have money, so, I will advise you to get true power PSU...how to determine which is true power? I think the first few post by yehlai already mention about it and the whole thread has been discussing so many brand and model of it...read it back should give you some idea...

As for whether it is a need or not to add casing fan...it is up to you...but recommended to add some exhaust fan and intake fan...normally people is make it exhaust at rear and intake at front...exhaust fan normally we use higher CFM fan...for more information about casing fan, you can find it at a thread in the cooling and hard modding sub forum...call casing fans if not mistake...and remember that, getting what kind of casing fan will also affect how much is the wattage needed for you PC...make some calculation accordingly... laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif wink.gif
afosz
post Feb 9 2008, 05:43 PM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

Choosing the right PSU, is Mushkin HP-550 High Performance 550W Modular is a good PSU ? I mean in terms of OCability and stability and so on ?
camel90
post Feb 9 2008, 05:47 PM

1,314 posts

what is the cheap 500W PSU that should be enough to run a rig that has HD3850 on it. budget as low as possible. (not sooo low like RM30 that only tahan for one day la). and has warranty also. anyone? cooler master good?
afosz
post Feb 9 2008, 06:20 PM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

QUOTE(camel90 @ Feb 9 2008, 05:47 PM)
what is the cheap 500W PSU that should be enough to run a rig that has HD3850 on it. budget as low as possible. (not sooo low like RM30 that only tahan for one day la). and has warranty also. anyone? cooler master good?
Silverstone ST50F brows.gif RM259 @ lehteck but too bad he's out station
camel90
post Feb 9 2008, 07:23 PM

1,314 posts

ic. thanx.

if i want to continue use the PSU for my future rig (dunno the spec yet but u can expect lah how will it be as im a sim racer gamer) and as well use it for my current rig with pentium D and HD3850. what is the watt suggested?
wen9x88
post Feb 9 2008, 08:17 PM

2,933 posts

RaidMax Ninja 918 ATX Gaming Case

Specifications and Features (taken from the RaidMax website):

. ATX Form Factor 12" x 10.5" or smaller
. Standard ATX 7 expansion slots
. constructed with 0.7mm Japenness SECC
. 450watts PS2 ATX12V PowerSupply(US SPEC)this psu good anot?
. HDD Responsive Blue LED lights
. Custom side panel window with LED fan
. 2 Front USB 2.0 access ports
. Front Audio jacks
. Super Slience 120mm case fan
. Temperture responsive cooling fans
. Meets Intel CAG Regulations
. Intel Prescott Ready

This post has been edited by wen9x88: Feb 9 2008, 08:23 PM
afosz
post Feb 9 2008, 08:18 PM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

QUOTE(camel90 @ Feb 9 2008, 07:23 PM)
ic. thanx.

if i want to continue use the PSU for my future rig (dunno the spec yet but u can expect lah how will it be as im a sim racer gamer) and as well use it for my current rig with pentium D and HD3850. what is the watt suggested?
If you're in tight budget, ST50F is good enough. Or maybe you can get ST56F. If you have more budget, there are plenty of good PSUs around

Added on February 9, 2008, 8:19 pm
QUOTE(wen9x88 @ Feb 9 2008, 08:17 PM)

Wrong thread / section I guess to ask anything regarding casing

This post has been edited by afosz: Feb 9 2008, 08:19 PM
wen9x88
post Feb 9 2008, 08:57 PM

2,933 posts

just now i m not sure this casing come out with psu anot.
but now i know it come out with psu.
but i don't know this psu can handle my gaming rig anot
450watts PS2 ATX12V Power Supply(US SPEC)
here

This post has been edited by wen9x88: Feb 9 2008, 08:58 PM
hafiez
post Feb 9 2008, 09:45 PM

2,980 posts

@wen9x88
well, if i were u, i will change the PSU to high performance PSU like silverstone. buy the model that afosz mentioned. ^
wen9x88
post Feb 9 2008, 09:54 PM

2,933 posts

@hafiez u mean buy ST50F or ST56F for RaidMax Ninja 918 ATX Gaming Case.
hafiez
post Feb 9 2008, 10:44 PM

2,980 posts

either one also can. its up to ur budget. better get higher wattage, which is ST56F. this PSU give u 560W.
tech_frix
post Feb 11 2008, 09:59 PM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

got one super noob Question....

ST56F vs. Gigabyte Odin Pro 550w...

can tell me r y u pick d psu...
thanx in advance... notworthy.gif
afosz
post Feb 12 2008, 11:05 AM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

QUOTE(tech_frix @ Feb 11 2008, 09:59 PM)
got one super noob Question....

ST56F vs. Gigabyte Odin Pro 550w...

can tell me r y u pick d psu...
thanx in advance... notworthy.gif
ST56F -> http://www.silverstonetek.com/products/p_s...=st56f&area=usa
Gigabyte Odin Pro 550W -> http://www.giga-byte.com/Products/Motherbo...IN%20Pro%20550W

What is the price for that Odin ? The way I see it, I like ST56F better biggrin.gif
tech_frix
post Feb 12 2008, 06:10 PM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

QUOTE(afosz @ Feb 12 2008, 11:05 AM)
ST56F -> http://www.silverstonetek.com/products/p_s...=st56f&area=usa
Gigabyte Odin Pro 550W -> http://www.giga-byte.com/Products/Motherbo...IN%20Pro%20550W

What is the price for that Odin ? The way I see it, I like ST56F better biggrin.gif
d cheapest i can get is RM370 for odin pro n RM320 for ST56F...
can u elaborate y u will go with ST56F? notworthy.gif
goldfries
post Feb 12 2008, 06:11 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

just bought an Odin GT 550W. brows.gif

207 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top