Choosing The Right PSU, Discussions about power supply units.
Racerx
Mar 31 2011, 05:59 PM
QUOTE(sk1llz @ Mar 31 2011, 04:35 PM) Nope, I'm planning on upgrading its PSU and adding Wireless PCI adapter only. No other upgrade or overhaul. cos that rig actually will be sold to my friend..  You can consider the Gigabyte Power Rock 390W which retails for RM85 at Czone and Jayacom.
Racerx
Apr 16 2011, 12:27 AM
QUOTE(gengstapo @ Apr 15 2011, 10:59 PM) Is Hexa good PSU? I mean, can be trust such Enermax, Silverstone etc? FSP is the OEM for several Silverstone PSUs.Quality wise they are ok,Seasonic's better though [OEM for several famous Corsair PSUs]
Racerx
May 10 2011, 06:30 PM
QUOTE(storm88 @ May 10 2011, 02:56 PM) this model has been in the market for the 4th year. And indeed it is a very old product at price of RM169, no doubt it is a clearance stock price Why it's so hard to get the Seasonic S12-II or the M12-II these days?I've been searching in Digital Mall,Lowyat Plaza and Garage Sales section for quite some time already,in the end had to buy the Corsair CX500
Racerx
May 10 2011, 08:09 PM
QUOTE(TristanX @ May 10 2011, 06:18 PM) QUOTE(crthompson @ May 10 2011, 06:35 PM) people wan 2 save money wan 2 buy 550w u ask me buy better 1 how can i find money..... unless u hav that higher han 550w n cheaper.... btw,thanks 4 duh answers That's the reason i'm searching for it in the first place,need to find another one.Even used units are hard to come by
Racerx
May 14 2011, 11:27 PM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ May 14 2011, 10:16 PM) yaya  any other recommendations? i heard ppl saying seasonic is a good brand.. but the s12-II no stock  Only got new silence pro series which dont have much review out there.. i guess i might need a better psu, in case i upgrade my rig later cos it is kinda on dying mood edi lolz. I saw ppl selling tagan 700w psu for rm199 in this forum, is it a good buy? The exact model? Anyway,for your budget i recommend these PSUs Corsair CX500 RM219~ Silverstone ST50F-ES RM209 CM GX450 RM230~ All of them have at least 400W on the 12V rail(s)
Racerx
May 21 2011, 08:57 PM
QUOTE(munak991 @ May 21 2011, 06:55 PM) Hi guys, according to psu calculator stated 480w Before that I use thermal take tough power750w But my pc kena lightning, then i got wareanty by belkin want to buy new psu. I saw cooler master, the cable management suck big time. Can suggest ne any good brand with good cable management. 750w, good cable management, budget below RM700 Seasonic X750 RM599,Seasonic X650 RM499
Racerx
May 25 2011, 12:10 PM
QUOTE(ketapang @ May 25 2011, 02:38 AM) halo. nid advice, cm epp 500w can hndle 9600gt or nt? i noe cm epp sucks but its all ive got rite nw. it in my almari rite nw so i dun wan waste money on buyinh another 2nd hnd psu.  It can even handle a GTS250 so a mere 9600GT is a piece of cake
Racerx
Jun 1 2011, 02:08 PM
QUOTE(DaEMoNteNTAcLe @ Jun 1 2011, 12:36 PM) hi all, can i know what's the minimum required for 6850? c2d, 2x2gb reaper at max volt, 4x sata 3.5", maybe about 10watts for fans. my concern is for the power to be rock stable, stock cpu and gfx speed, max ram performance. unstable power is gonna crash the system easily, abundance power is waste. currently using epsilon 420w, which i dont think have enough juice for the gfx upgrade. >_< pls help to give suggestion and price. thanks. Something with ~350W on the 12V rail(s) would be more than enough for your needs.How much are you willing to spend?
Racerx
Jun 1 2011, 03:33 PM
QUOTE(DaEMoNteNTAcLe @ Jun 1 2011, 02:19 PM) figures.. lol. thanks will look into that. at least i know i can still run it tamed down. how much is the hexa? dont really have a specific budget for that. my personal guideline will always be around the 200-250 price range. i dont mind goin up to 350 just for the sake of stability, or maybe can consider more, but prefer to do that only if i dont have choice. again the focus is rock solid stability of the power line under load. this one good? sounds cheap  Well,you can get the Seasonic X560 for RM350~,that's a rock solid PSU but imo it isn't worth the price.The Odin GT is a good PSU but it's rather hard to find these days at that price (RM169].With that said i recommend the Corsair CX500 that is usually sold RM220,it has 400W of power on the 12V rail and it's based on a proven platform.
Racerx
Jul 19 2011, 02:16 AM
QUOTE(mhyug @ Jul 18 2011, 10:02 PM) is it safe to run a gtx570 on 600w psu that has a 80 gold rating?? The efficiency rating doesn't affect the PSU's ability to supply power,even if it doesn't even have 80plus certification but it can supply enough power the PSU can be used.As efficiency goes higher,power wasted as heat goes lower,that's all. Anyway,if the PSU in question can supply 500W or more on the 12V rail(s) then it's going to be fine.
Racerx
Jul 19 2011, 02:46 PM
QUOTE(hahanep @ Jul 19 2011, 01:43 PM) guys need help here...my current psu already kaput..let say i have rm200+-, can u suggest me the best psu i can get around that amount?... Corsair CX500 RM219 Seasonic Silence Pro 500W RM199 Coolermaster GX450 RM209~
Racerx
Jul 19 2011, 05:26 PM
QUOTE(LaughingDog @ Jul 19 2011, 04:16 PM) What the most value for money psu for 600w range? Sifu, please recommend I'd say either one of these Corsair GS600 RM299 Silverstone Strider Essentials 600W RM279
Racerx
Jul 20 2011, 06:08 PM
Racerx
Aug 8 2011, 07:09 PM
QUOTE(mitodna @ Aug 8 2011, 05:04 PM) thanks, found one 200MYR range, it is 500W, is it the best for 200MYR? SEASONIC SILENCE PRO 80 - 500watts 80Plus = RM193 Had one Seasonic, so far so good, heard the distributor changed? Thanks. AFAIK the distributor already dropped distribution for Seasonic so no warranty.I recommend getting the Corsair CX500 V2 instead,it can be had for RM219 at Lowyat Plaza.[The V2's box is plain old cardboard compared to the fancier V1 board but the V2 is better than V1]
Racerx
Aug 8 2011, 08:34 PM
QUOTE(TechnoG @ Aug 8 2011, 06:28 PM) ^ CEX and ModernoPC took over the distributorship. existing users can claim warranty from them, but now 3 years now. Awesome,any source for that?