207 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

Choosing The Right PSU, Discussions about power supply units.

sasaug
post Apr 27 2007, 06:46 PM

Small Fud
1,936 posts

I want to add Galaxy OC 7300Gt or maybe ASUS 7300GT TOP,is it ok for my pc?Or should i buy CM Real power one?Mine is DELL 305W True power...
Tereno
post Apr 27 2007, 08:31 PM

Tenacious Midfielder
1,619 posts

Here's an article that might be of interest:

105 PSUs reviewed
smokey
post Apr 28 2007, 10:28 AM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Apr 27 2007, 06:27 PM)
but u can always increase rm50 to get a real power 450 from CM,it's not bad.
CM extreme power is not pure power.

btw,rm200 is used price,i got friend selling,i can help u.
i dunno whether i want to buy a psu yet...hehe...
kidmad
post Apr 29 2007, 03:56 AM

4,482 posts

hey, anyone used before da i-cute modular psu? izzit pure power? looks cheap but dun knw reliable or not.
akachester
post Apr 29 2007, 12:35 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Apr 29 2007, 03:56 AM)
hey, anyone used before da i-cute modular psu? izzit pure power? looks cheap but dun knw reliable or not.
Many people would not recommend getting ICute PSU if possible.TOo many reliability issue..
kidmad
post Apr 29 2007, 01:20 PM

4,482 posts

thatz for the normal psu of theirs. this 1 cost 2xx. modular. so wanna know whoz using it.
AceCombat
post Apr 29 2007, 01:44 PM

5,434 posts

well,powerlogic and aku comel is a branded chapalang psu.....
Suk
post Apr 30 2007, 02:38 AM

2,330 posts

IS THIS NORMAL ?

I KNOW ICUTE PSU IS WORSE.
btw, i am using ICUTE AP-600S

should i change my PSU for gettting performance in the coming rig below ?

k!nex
post May 3 2007, 10:32 PM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

i've questions on some PSU.dis afternoon i went to allIT at ss14.i quite interested in a 600Watt Cooler Master Extreme which cost around 260-280+ if i'm not mistaken.den i saw Acbel 450 Watt also same price like dat.den i quite confused wif the label.

in acbel 450Watt its stated efficiency 80%+-
in cooler master Extreme 600Watt is stated efficiency 70%
in cooler master Real Power 450 watt is stated efficiency 75%+-

wat the sense tht efficiency means?
example: Acbel 450Watt minimum power output is 80% X 450W =360Watt ????
or Cooler Master Extreme 600Watt minimum power output is 70% X 600W=420Watt???

guys, so tell me wats the meaning of it and which one u all recommend based on the price.i dun wanna get smtg above 300 bucks which enermax is charging.

gozila84
post May 4 2007, 01:54 AM

197 posts

normaly, PSU got how many year warranty?? like CM, Acbel, etc
SSJBen
post May 4 2007, 02:42 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ May 3 2007, 10:32 PM)
i've questions on some PSU.dis afternoon i went to allIT at ss14.i quite interested in a 600Watt Cooler Master Extreme which cost around 260-280+ if i'm not mistaken.den i saw Acbel 450 Watt also same price like dat.den i quite confused wif the label.

in acbel 450Watt its stated efficiency 80%+-
in cooler master Extreme 600Watt is stated efficiency 70%
in cooler master Real Power 450 watt is stated efficiency 75%+-

wat the sense tht efficiency means?
example: Acbel 450Watt minimum power output is 80% X 450W =360Watt  ????
or Cooler Master Extreme 600Watt minimum power output is 70% X 600W=420Watt???

guys, so tell me wats the meaning of it and which one  u all recommend based on the price.i dun wanna get smtg above 300 bucks which enermax is charging.
Efficiency of a PSU means how efficient a PSU runs when it is at peak load. Basically, the higher wattage a PSU has... the lower efficiency it has compared with lower powered PSUs. By right, 70% is actually pretty decent on a 600w PSU.

mashimarow
post May 4 2007, 06:58 AM

1,742 posts

QUOTE(gozila84 @ May 4 2007, 01:54 AM)
normaly, PSU got how many year warranty?? like CM, Acbel, etc
What I heard is Acbel giving lifetime warranty and CM giving 3 years.

what I don't get is, why giving lifetime as PSU is excepted to die off around 4-5 years?

I just ordered Acbel I-power 450W for my second rig, very satisfy with the first one, stick to it still even it is a bit expensive laugh.gif
afosz
post May 4 2007, 08:50 PM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

QUOTE(mashimarow @ May 4 2007, 06:58 AM)
What I heard is Acbel giving lifetime warranty and CM giving 3 years.

what I don't get is, why giving lifetime as PSU is excepted to die off around 4-5 years?

I just ordered Acbel I-power 450W for my second rig, very satisfy with the first one, stick to it still even it is a bit expensive laugh.gif
Really? Didn't know about that sweat.gif

Just drop by and wanna ask about CM iGreen 500W. Is it reliable and worth buying? For small OC maybe blush.gif
Polaris
post May 5 2007, 10:10 AM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

What's the best psu for rm600?
Are_keem
post May 5 2007, 10:39 AM

I'm riders, not rempit
2,123 posts

QUOTE(Polaris @ May 5 2007, 10:10 AM)
What's the best psu for rm600?
silverstone olympia 650watt - only around <RM600 in bulk orders..
or if you like modular style, strider 600watt maybe suit ur needs..

-adios-
e-jump
post May 5 2007, 07:10 PM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

Lifetime warranty only applicable during the product lifetime
so basically, when the product reached End of Life (EOL), same goes to the warranty
"Lifetime Warranty" is a gimmick to make it sounds good

*i believe someone already posted some links to psu definitions
YiQi
post May 5 2007, 09:29 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ May 4 2007, 02:42 AM)
Efficiency of a PSU means how efficient a PSU runs when it is at peak load. Basically, the higher wattage a PSU has... the lower efficiency it has compared with lower powered PSUs. By right, 70% is actually pretty decent on a 600w PSU.
Partially correct.
Efficiency not really have to be at peak load. If you read some PSU reviews, you will notice the different efficiency at different load.
e.g
Take this:- FSP FSP400-60PFB as example
Light (20% Load) Effiency is 82.09%
Typical (50% Load) Efficiency is 83.96%
Full (100% Load) Efficiency is 81.41%
Average Efficiency is 82.49%

So, back to the point, efficiency means, how many percent of power comsume (input) in order to produce the output power.
e.g
if your system need 400W to run, a 80% efficiency PSU will consume 500W of power. 500W x 80% = 400W
if you have a 50% effiency PSU, then you will consume 800W in order to supply 400W for your system.
the higher efficiency PSU you have, the less electricity bill you will pay. smile.gif

Got it?

This post has been edited by YiQi: May 6 2007, 10:01 PM
neojack
post May 6 2007, 04:59 PM

262 posts

go for acbel.it is worth!
Polaris
post May 7 2007, 12:39 PM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

QUOTE(Are_keem @ May 5 2007, 10:39 AM)
silverstone olympia 650watt - only around <RM600 in bulk orders..
or if you like modular style, strider 600watt maybe suit ur needs..

-adios-
What does modular style mean?

Also, I checked a review it says 54 Amps on a 12 v rail, will the one rail be good for future-proofing?

Athlon 64 3000+ (looking to go for dual core later this year)
3 HDD (2 sata one ide)
2 x 1G ram
3 120mm fans
x1950 pro 512 mb (uses 2 power input slots, next year may change to some other crossfire or dx10 setup)
x-fi extrememusic (soon)
AceCombat
post May 7 2007, 12:43 PM

5,434 posts

QUOTE(Polaris @ May 7 2007, 12:39 PM)
What does modular style mean?

Also, I checked a review it says 54 Amps on a 12 v rail, will the one rail be good for future-proofing?

Athlon 64 3000+ (looking to go for dual core later this year)
3 HDD (2 sata one ide)
2 x 1G ram
3 120mm fans
x1950 pro 512 mb (uses 2 power input slots, next year may change to some other crossfire or dx10 setup)
x-fi extrememusic (soon)
wow....the silverstone psu is more than enough for ur rig there man!

207 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0293sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:08 AM