Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V62, From A to E Mount!

FirstAidKit
post Dec 4 2015, 09:37 PM

267 posts

Hi guys. I am planning to have a trip to Bangkok and Seoul in next year. My Xiaomi Mi3 camera is meh... and I decide to buy myself a decent camera for my trips.

So sifu, what's your recommendation? Mainly will be using it to shoot scenery pics. Should I buy a DSLR or mirrorless will do? And what's the significant difference between them? My budget is around RM 2.5K max.

From what I see, a lot people recommend Sony A6000, what is so special for it? Thanks smile.gif
FirstAidKit
post Jan 26 2016, 08:04 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Dec 4 2015, 10:34 PM)
First question, do you WANT a viewfinder (that small screen you peep into)?

Second question, do you plan to EVER use an external flash?

If you said NO to both, save your dough for better lenses and get the A5100. It's probably the best camera in the smallest package I've ever seen (that has a large-ish sensor). It's also got a touchscreen and is very easy to work with.

If you said YES to any of the above, you're probably better off with the A6000. You have enough budget to get the kit, and that is good enough... at least to start with. The learning curve that comes with the A6000 CAN be a bit steep (if you wanna fully utilise it ler... if you don't you can always stick it in AUTO), but it's a very capable small camera.

Also another camera to consider, especially if you want something EVEN SMALLER: The RX100... at least one of the older models - the latest is quite expensive. Its got a smaller sensor than the mirrorless bunch (bigger than your phone though) but is infinitely more pocketable.

As for a normal DSLR... if you travel a lot the size and weight benefits of Mirrorless make DSLRs almost (almost) irrelevant. There are things that DSLRs STILL do better of course, but for normal travel and landscape purposes a full-sized DSLR is often overkill.

Just my 20 sens anyway.
Hello. Seen your reply long time ago and now just have the time to come back here. Is viewfinder important? If I get the A5100, meaning I just capture from the LCD screen there itself?
notworthy.gif
FirstAidKit
post Jan 26 2016, 08:06 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(digitalz @ Dec 5 2015, 03:44 AM)
Need to ask again on whether if FirstAidKit likes to take selfie or not. If yes, then a6000 might not be suitable for you. The screen cannot go 180 degrees.

Problems with DSLR - Heavier than mirrorless, sometimes more equipments to bring along too.

[An update - I ordered a messenger bag style camera bag + Newmowa charger/batteries as a spare. Will update again once I get them and start to use them.]
Hey thanks for the reply. Just got the time to come back here. Hmmm occasionally take selfie. Who doesn't selfie during travelling right? So the A5100 is suitable for me?
Is there any significant difference in terms of photo quality between A5100 and A6000? Thanks notworthy.gif
FirstAidKit
post May 1 2016, 11:26 AM

267 posts

Hi guys, am actually eyeing for an a5100 for my upcoming bangkok trip but then due to tight budget, have to look for slighty lower specs of mirrorless cam. And I have found someone selling nex3n for less than 1000 with kit lens. Is this camera decent enough to take normal picture since it has only 16mp compared to 20mp of 5100. I am a beginner and nvr play with any camera before, so does it suit me? Any constructive comments are appreciated. Thanks
FirstAidKit
post May 1 2016, 11:49 AM

267 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ May 1 2016, 11:44 AM)
whats your budget?
Hi sifu around 1000.

0.0474sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 10:15 PM