5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V62, From A to E Mount!

philipcs
post Feb 29 2016, 09:30 PM

2,581 posts

QUOTE(HMMaster @ Feb 29 2016, 08:57 PM)
Are the 3rd party chargers any good for charging the original FW50?
I am using Kingma Dual USB Charger, so far so good.
Charging time depending on the wall charger that you are using, using iPad charger is fast enough

http://www.lazada.com.my/kingma-dual-usb-b...-5-2930052.html
philipcs
post Mar 3 2016, 01:10 PM

2,581 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Mar 3 2016, 08:46 AM)
it seems we have another legacy lens player here   brows.gif

I bought the Helios just for the fancy bokeh, wanted to try some portraits with it

the Jupiter 8 is for my M mount film camera. Native M mount lenses are too exp for me, I actually thought of saving up for the CV 40mm f1.4 but came across the Jup 8, so just bought it along with an LTM - M mount adaptor to try familiarise myself with rangefinder shooting before spending more on the lenses.
My Helios 44M dont have the swirly bokeh sad.gif I think only 44M-2 is having that.
But quite sharp
Danbo | Taken by Sony A7II + Zenit Helios 44M 58mm F2 by Philip Pang, on Flickr

This post has been edited by philipcs: Mar 3 2016, 01:12 PM
philipcs
post Mar 3 2016, 03:12 PM

2,581 posts

QUOTE(remix2040 @ Mar 3 2016, 02:28 PM)
Ehh where can I pick one Helios 44 up here in Malaysia? Can't find any here. hmm.gif
You can try: http://famecherry.com/online-store/zenit-malaysia

Or Ebay, international shipping is not too expensive
philipcs
post Mar 4 2016, 10:10 AM

2,581 posts

QUOTE(ahpingko @ Mar 3 2016, 04:41 PM)
i also got some shots with helios 44-4m

More photos here..
Love the bokeh and the color tone.
philipcs
post Mar 7 2016, 09:35 AM

2,581 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Mar 6 2016, 12:42 PM)
a7 + Vario Tessar T* FE 16-35mm F4 ZA OSS

user posted imageRising Edges by Zenyu Loh, on Flickr
This is very nice!
philipcs
post Mar 9 2016, 12:04 PM

2,581 posts

QUOTE(remix2040 @ Mar 9 2016, 11:18 AM)
Your recommendation for a bang for your buck MF lens? Currently already have a 50 1.4. Thinking to try other focal lengths.
MF lens, I will say Canon FD series are cheap enough
philipcs
post Mar 9 2016, 12:24 PM

2,581 posts

QUOTE(remix2040 @ Mar 9 2016, 12:12 PM)
which one do you suggest? haha i dont need another 50 1.4 or a 50 for that matter. haha
Depending on what you want.
I got from wide to tele:

Sigma Super - Wide II 24mm F 2.8 F/2.8 For Canon FD
Canon New FD 50mm f/1.4
Canon New FD 85mm F/1.8
Canon New FD 135mm F2.8
Canon FD 200mm f4
Canon Macro FD 50mm f 3.5
Canon New FD 100mm f4
Canon New FD 35-105mm f/3.5 MACRO

However, 50mm f1.4 & 135mm f2.8 are my favorite.

This post has been edited by philipcs: Mar 9 2016, 12:24 PM
philipcs
post Mar 9 2016, 12:30 PM

2,581 posts

QUOTE(remix2040 @ Mar 9 2016, 12:28 PM)
iam interested in the 85 and 135. since you have experience in both. how are they?
85mm and 50mm, i prefer 50mm, so i seldom use 85mm. But both are sharp if you nail down the focus.
Both wide open are soft, sharp from f2.8 onwards. Manual focus with Peak Focusing is easy.

135mm, my favorite, i like the focal length f2.8, bokeh is good and image is sharp even wide open @ f2.8
I am using on A7II with IBIS, so handheld is easy too.

Some old photos with Canon FD 135mm f2.8
Zoo Negara, Malaysia | Taken with Sony A7II + Canon FD 135mm F2.8 by Philip Pang, on Flickr

Lesser Adjutant Stork @ KL Bird Park | Taken with Sony A7II + Canon FD 135mm f2.8 by Philip Pang, on Flickr

This post has been edited by philipcs: Mar 9 2016, 12:34 PM
philipcs
post Mar 9 2016, 12:45 PM

2,581 posts

QUOTE(remix2040 @ Mar 9 2016, 12:41 PM)
Wow. Those are some pretty nice shots. Curious, do you have any 85mm shots? Judging from your 135 pictures, they look real good and seems to fit in for my workflow. But goddamn that IBIS hahaah.

But right now I'm sold on the 135. However, say I want to use the 135 in lowlight situations, the 2.8 is simply not fast enough right? Unless compensated by the nice ISO range on the A7 biggrin.gif other than that I'm sold on the 135. And how much is the 135 exactly? hopefully it isn't that expensive ohmy.gif
I dont really have any nice photo from 85mm because everytime i brought it out, i only use 50mm and 135mm biggrin.gif

Just some test shot at home, both shot wide open @ F1.8
I'm Danbo! | Taken by Sony A7II + Canon FD 85mm f1.8 by Philip Pang, on Flickr
Canon FD 85mm f1.8 Sharpness Test @ F1.8 | Taken by Sony A7II by Philip Pang, on Flickr

For 135mm, i bought from eBay @ US$70 + US$20 shipping. During that time, forex still 1 USD 3.7 MYR

This post has been edited by philipcs: Mar 9 2016, 12:46 PM
philipcs
post Mar 9 2016, 01:30 PM

2,581 posts

QUOTE(remix2040 @ Mar 9 2016, 01:15 PM)
That 1.8 is simply irresistible for me. I love the bokeh. I'll to source a 135 out haha. BTW which adapter you using? Metabones? Hahah
85mm f1.8 i bought US$189.00 with free shipping from eBay.

I am using China brand FD-E Mount adapter, no brand and cheap one.
Not so good, having problem to focus infinity with tele lenses.
philipcs
post Mar 9 2016, 01:45 PM

2,581 posts

QUOTE(remix2040 @ Mar 9 2016, 01:41 PM)
hmm. What about the Helios 44M? Is it good? The famous bokehlicious lens.
Helios 44M is 58mm, i thought you said you dont want 50mm lenses.

Or you should also consider Helios 40, 85mm f1.5, the bokeh is........ rclxms.gif
philipcs
post Mar 9 2016, 03:29 PM

2,581 posts

QUOTE(IazHes @ Mar 9 2016, 03:02 PM)
Helios 44-2 58mm F2 is the only one can get swirly bokeh  thumbup.gif  rclxms.gif
I'm not sure about 85mm for Helios.
Helios 40 (85mm) lagi kuat, see more sample here: https://www.flickr.com/groups/helios_40-2/pool/

Sample from Flickr.

test by Hý Photo, on Flickr

This post has been edited by philipcs: Mar 9 2016, 03:30 PM
philipcs
post Mar 9 2016, 07:54 PM

2,581 posts

QUOTE(mujinkun @ Mar 9 2016, 04:19 PM)
Sifus....
With the A6000 no IBIS, so is it wise to choose and wait for Sigma 30F1.4 to come out?
This Sigma dont have any OIS right? Will it effect blurry image?

I really really need less than 50MM prime lens at the moment.

Side notes: I'm a beginner
50mm and below should be able to handheld with some right camera holding position and technique.
Also boost the ISO if needed smile.gif
philipcs
post Mar 11 2016, 09:26 AM

2,581 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Mar 11 2016, 08:49 AM)
A6300 = Rm4999? gila already man....hahaha
liddat better i buy A7ii
Exactly! A7II got FF + IBIS.
Unless the 4K video feature and the world fastest AF (once again) worth to pay the extra. mad.gif
philipcs
post Mar 11 2016, 09:44 AM

2,581 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Mar 11 2016, 09:32 AM)
i cannot imagine the next generation of A7x FF bodies, what the price must be like in the future  shakehead.gif
Maybe RM4999 is SRP from Sony, street price will be much cheaper?
Just like A7II SRP is around RM5700 but street price is just RM4800

Lets calm down and wait for the real street price cool2.gif
philipcs
post Mar 11 2016, 10:01 AM

2,581 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Mar 11 2016, 09:47 AM)
how much was A6000 when it launched?

Rm2654 with lens - http://technave.com/tag/Sony-Alpha-A6000-M...ia-release-date
what street price also useless.....
4k to 5k is not a price range for this kind of camera
Thats right, even in US, A6000 $550 vs $1000 bangwall.gif
philipcs
post Mar 14 2016, 12:20 AM

2,581 posts

Some shots from hot air balloon event this evening.

Putrajaya International Hot Air Balloon Fiesta 2016 | Taken with Sony A7II + Voigtlander Super Wide-Heliar 15mm f4.5 Aspherical III by -philipcs-

Putrajaya International Hot Air Balloon Fiesta 2016 | Taken with Sony A7II + Canon FD 85mm F1.8 by -philipcs-

philipcs
post Mar 15 2016, 06:55 PM

2,581 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Mar 15 2016, 06:34 PM)
Thanks Bro!

Planning to burst 3 RAW+JPEG shots with 3 different exposures without a tripod. Gonna do this when I don't have much time to setup the shot with a tripod. Sometimes I hate the loading times on my slower 45mb card (not sure whats the write speed).

SanDisk extreme cards should have how many years warranty? Also thinking of getting them from amazon or bh photo is the shipping is reasonable to avoid getting fake cards.
What camera you are using?
Your camera buffer also play major role to have fast burst without black out.

For example, my Lexar 64GB sd card in RX100m3 burst will blackout for 3 to 5 seconds but the same card burst in Fuji X70 blackout is minimum.
philipcs
post Mar 15 2016, 10:17 PM

2,581 posts

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Mar 15 2016, 08:34 PM)
Anyone did the v3.10 firmware update?
I have updated but no different as i dont have chance to use those new updated features, especially no money to buy GM lens biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by philipcs: Mar 15 2016, 10:18 PM
philipcs
post Mar 17 2016, 05:30 PM

2,581 posts

QUOTE(Rainings @ Mar 17 2016, 05:26 PM)
Sigma 30mm f1.4 DN DC
Unboxing video, looks sexy  blush.gif

I cannot play, it said Error

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top