GrabCar/Uber?, Part time jobs?

TSknight
post Oct 25 2015, 10:02 PM, updated 11y ago

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

Hi Guys,

Anyone here working with GrabCar/Uber? As heard, the return was quite good. I was thinking to try it out and work part time during the weekend.

Any comments?

Just forget those hooligan Taxi drivers.
ReWeR
post Oct 25 2015, 10:06 PM

Foreveralone
1,715 posts

I think you can join both.

But i heard most drivers prefer uber. I dunno much, u need to ask those uber drivers here.
Bonescythe
post Oct 25 2015, 10:21 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

is there still an issue on uber at grabcar services from spad??

i also wanna try out actually..
toughguy88
post Oct 25 2015, 10:22 PM

584 posts

Me also want to try leh..
IvanWong1989
post Oct 25 2015, 10:57 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

Yes. It is still illegal.

To make it legal. You need to apply license turn your car into a commercial passenger car.

Something like your insurance is now business type insurance. More expensive. Frequent car safety checks at don't know where. Etc etc. Then you are legal to use your car to fetch people.

It's not about uber is illegal. It's about the cars used are not properly following procedure .

Getting caught. You cannot renew road tax for your car ever again. At least that's what my memory serves.
nexona88
post Oct 25 2015, 11:33 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,409 posts

I think when change into commercial passenger car, owner need to do puspakom yearly check-up hmm.gif

Insurance charges also higher nod.gif

This post has been edited by nexona88: Oct 25 2015, 11:34 PM
crystalfenix
post Oct 25 2015, 11:36 PM

426 posts

Uber will bank transfer money to you once a week. Its pretty viable source of income, my fren got rm900 a week. Just those spad nonsense only, the head pain.
TSknight
post Oct 25 2015, 11:43 PM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

QUOTE(crystalfenix @ Oct 25 2015, 11:36 PM)
Uber will bank transfer money to you once a week. Its pretty viable source of income, my fren got rm900 a week. Just those spad nonsense only, the head pain.
Full time? Part time? How many trips he's doing? RM900/week is profit? Oledi deduct the petrol and etc??
crystalfenix
post Oct 25 2015, 11:48 PM

426 posts

QUOTE(knight @ Oct 25 2015, 11:43 PM)
Full time? Part time? How many trips he's doing? RM900/week is profit? Oledi deduct the petrol and etc??
Part time, as he has another full time job.

Trips- is depending on demand of your area, when you on the uber app.

Rm900 is income not profit. If you take 30-40% as cost, its sitll good money. And in his words, rm900 a week is considered a slow week. Lol
TSknight
post Oct 26 2015, 12:04 AM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

QUOTE(crystalfenix @ Oct 25 2015, 11:48 PM)
Part time, as he has another full time job.

Trips- is depending on demand of your area, when you on the uber app.

Rm900 is income not profit. If you take 30-40% as cost, its sitll good money. And in his words, rm900 a week is considered a slow week. Lol
He's doing weekend only?? Is he doing Grabcar as well??
crystalfenix
post Oct 26 2015, 12:40 AM

426 posts

QUOTE(knight @ Oct 26 2015, 12:04 AM)
He's doing weekend only?? Is he doing Grabcar as well??
No not just weekend, nope, not doing grabcar at all.

When you see fresh grads with first class degrees happy to get jobs less than 2k. Uber is actually really good money for fellas who are in between hunting jobs or non-degree students. Lol.
cheahcw2003
post Oct 26 2015, 01:02 AM

5,379 posts

Heard some uber drivers gang beat by taxi drivers.
Taxi driver pretend as customer calling uber driver and hit the driver when they arrive.
LongLastFX
post Oct 26 2015, 10:09 AM

421 posts

Better with Uber. the transaction is using credit card and no cash. SPAD target uber/grabcar that receive cash. as long as u not receive the cash, SPAD cannot do anything. Grabcar a bit risky, because they use cash money.
bcth928
post Oct 26 2015, 10:21 AM

45 posts

using Uber will get any receipt after u reach the place?
just ask if i can have the receipt, i can use Uber as my transport and claim from company.
LongLastFX
post Oct 26 2015, 10:23 AM

421 posts

QUOTE(bcth928 @ Oct 26 2015, 10:21 AM)
using Uber will get any receipt after u reach the place?
just ask if i can have the receipt, i can use Uber as my transport and claim from company.
Yes, u will receive the reciept via email.

This post has been edited by LongLastFX: Oct 26 2015, 10:25 AM
tjayy09
post Oct 26 2015, 01:29 PM

391 posts

If you're going to choose one, better not the other. It's not like taxi drivers, also choose myteksi. Cause if ambassadors or even worse Uber people find out its not good, for you. Riders win win either way

Team Uber since 2013
tjayy09
post Oct 26 2015, 01:32 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(LongLastFX @ Oct 26 2015, 10:09 AM)
Better with Uber. the transaction is using credit card and no cash. SPAD target uber/grabcar that receive cash. as long as u not receive the cash, SPAD cannot do anything. Grabcar a bit risky, because they use cash money.
Thats not the only reason Uber drivers get caught. In fact it's almost impossible for an Uber deliver to collect cash. Even if he did do one ( off record) as soon as he gets another request he has to get on it.

impeesa
post Oct 26 2015, 04:05 PM

314 posts

not really worth it with the new incentive unless you do full time...
everything is getting worse... =(
leongboyz
post Oct 26 2015, 09:13 PM

42 posts

My friend do grabcar, $2800 per week and tgif bonus $200. Got bonus and non bonus hours.
LongLastFX
post Oct 27 2015, 08:31 AM

421 posts

QUOTE(impeesa @ Oct 26 2015, 04:05 PM)
not really worth it with the new incentive unless you do full time...
everything is getting worse... =(
Ya lor. They have change the incentive. More likely uber driver number will be decrease and go to grabcar.

QUOTE(leongboyz @ Oct 26 2015, 09:13 PM)
My friend do grabcar, $2800 per week and tgif bonus $200. Got bonus and non bonus hours.
Nice one. Taking cash is the risk bro. I afraid to try grabcar.

This post has been edited by LongLastFX: Oct 27 2015, 11:23 AM
aPiT_OxyMoxy
post Oct 27 2015, 09:55 AM

432 posts

Grab at is giving a lot now compare to Uber, minimum fare is RM7 if I'm not mistaken and bonus is quite good. My friend recieve offer complete 20 trip and get RM400
DellMalaysia
post Oct 27 2015, 10:09 AM

Kindly look at my previous successful threads
735 posts

My friend who loves to drive around, former MAS engineer, quit his job to become a fulltime uber driver, aged 38 (if im not mistaken). He changed his E60 year 2012 status to commercial car. Quite expensive roadtax and insurance but he manage to get 3k-4k per week. Very active in kl-selangor-n9-melaka area. Really talked so much so the passenger will feel like spending time with a family member, ermm sometime the passenger will ask his permission to get some rest (I think they get annoyed with him and find a good reason which is sleep / nap). Easy for him baa since he's a single father. 2 kids with parents.

edited:
Just whatsapp him to ask, his driving time from 10AM-2AM weekdays, 11AM-4AM weekends. Mostly foreigner.

This post has been edited by DellMalaysia: Oct 27 2015, 10:15 AM
xhakox
post Oct 27 2015, 01:25 PM

744 posts

Kinda interested to do this but it's risky sad.gif
TSknight
post Oct 29 2015, 04:23 PM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

Just saw the news. Sigh. If kena caught then teruk. But if we convert to commercial vehicle, is it expensive and worth it if we just do part time??
kerrysmile
post Nov 24 2016, 03:36 PM

anyone sign up with their ambassodor program? they really wants to monopoly the ride hailing service? if you sign up and you drive uber, can they really catch you?
AskarPerang
post Nov 24 2016, 04:13 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

QUOTE(kerrysmile @ Nov 24 2016, 03:36 PM)
anyone sign up with their ambassodor program? they really wants to monopoly the ride hailing service? if you sign up and you drive uber, can they really catch you?
Grab unable to log in your Uber account.
You try log in your Uber account via your laptop or tablet (those device never use to log in your Uber account before) and see. cool2.gif
Vincentccw
post Nov 25 2016, 12:06 PM

363 posts

Just checking, since Malaysia has legalized uber and grab and more ppl have move on to this business, do you guys still earn the same amoust as before.

For a fulltime uber/grab driver how much did you earn every month, including patrol and maintenance?
kerrysmile
post Dec 3 2016, 03:58 PM

very grey area, especially grab a local setup. tons and mountains of complaints unanswered.
AskarPerang
post Dec 3 2016, 04:45 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

QUOTE(Vincentccw @ Nov 25 2016, 12:06 PM)
Just checking, since Malaysia has legalized uber and grab and more ppl have move on to this business, do you guys still earn the same amoust as before.

For a fulltime uber/grab driver how much did you earn every month, including patrol and maintenance?
It's not legal nor illegal yet. Grey area at the moment.

2k per week not including of petrol and maintenance because this is vehicle dependant. This is on Grab economy.

lemonadeli
post Dec 8 2016, 10:41 PM

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Nov 24 2016, 03:13 PM)
Grab unable to log in your Uber account.
You try log in your Uber account via your laptop or tablet (those device never use to log in your Uber account before) and see.  cool2.gif
Bro u r saying used a different device to install the uber apps account? and different phone number?
AskarPerang
post Dec 8 2016, 11:06 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

QUOTE(lemonadeli @ Dec 8 2016, 10:41 PM)
Bro u r saying used a different device to install the uber apps account? and different phone number?
yup.

0.0242sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:53 AM