News i5/i7-7700HQ, MX150/GTX1050Ti/GTX1060Max-Q/1070, Y520 i7-7700HQ GTX1050Ti IPS ~ 4099
edmund_yung
Sep 26 2017, 08:21 PM
For people who do not have a main desktop computer and laptop is the only PC they have, IPS or TN screen make a big deal in terms of what do you want to do with the laptop.
tachlio
Sep 26 2017, 09:00 PM
QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Sep 26 2017, 08:21 PM) For people who do not have a main desktop computer and laptop is the only PC they have, IPS or TN screen make a big deal in terms of what do you want to do with the laptop. Get a secondary monitor
Azureknight94
Sep 26 2017, 11:29 PM
QUOTE(tachlio @ Sep 26 2017, 09:00 PM) Get a secondary monitor  Secondary monitor not mobile ma. Sometimes work on the go. If got money then all problem can settle  razer blade stealth + core + ips gsync monitor for home use. Or that new Asus rm16k
edmund_yung
Sep 27 2017, 01:30 PM
QUOTE(tachlio @ Sep 26 2017, 09:00 PM) Get a secondary monitor  Yep, just use the money you budget for the monitor to get a better laptop, unless your work requires multi monitor setup or the extra screen estate.
graphidz
Sep 28 2017, 09:18 AM
i was browsing for some cheap, thin and light notebook that could do some photo/video editing and some casual gaming. being a student that travels quite a lot has its problems lol.
so i was browsing some sellers and saw a pretty damn good deal on a MSI PL60. however i couldn't find much reviews on it and ones that are from reputable review sites show the PE60 model, which is very different
i just want to know how's the battery life and total weight of the thing including the charger.
*edit : yes, i know it's not a good idea getting a U processor for video editing, but i plan on editing videos lightly on it and i have a real PC to do most of the job. U processors for light editing shouldn't be too bad right?
This post has been edited by graphidz: Sep 28 2017, 09:34 AM
Eluuna
Sep 28 2017, 09:20 AM

QUOTE(shirogawawa @ Sep 25 2017, 08:24 PM) MSI laptop in market now is famously having TN panel with 100 % sRBG, but does it have high color accuracy ?  So far my friend using MSI doing her artwork said that she got no problem with the color, I also wish to know more about this.
tachlio
Sep 28 2017, 05:37 PM
QUOTE(Eluuna @ Sep 28 2017, 09:20 AM) So far my friend using MSI doing her artwork said that she got no problem with the color, I also wish to know more about this. At the end, better SRGB coverage also need good sense to utilize it.... somemore color at the end is depend on personal preference...
pandera999
Sep 29 2017, 05:52 PM
QUOTE(tachlio @ Sep 28 2017, 05:37 PM) At the end, better SRGB coverage also need good sense to utilize it.... somemore color at the end is depend on personal preference...  this is clear...
onthefly
Sep 29 2017, 10:45 PM
QUOTE(tachlio @ Sep 28 2017, 05:37 PM) At the end, better SRGB coverage also need good sense to utilize it.... somemore color at the end is depend on personal preference...  so can get TN, just make sure direct View. anyway using laptop will always infront laptop ma..
shirogawawa
Sep 30 2017, 11:30 AM
QUOTE(onthefly @ Sep 29 2017, 10:45 PM) so can get TN, just make sure direct View. anyway using laptop will always infront laptop ma..  how about if you need to bring your laptop to do presentation or share a pics to your client or friends ? do you mean they need square in a same position with u
tachlio
Oct 1 2017, 11:41 AM
QUOTE(shirogawawa @ Sep 30 2017, 11:30 AM) how about if you need to bring your laptop to do presentation or share a pics to your client or friends ? do you mean they need square in a same position with u  I believe this thread here more apply to gamer who need dGCU, thereby good TN is better than low grade IPS all the time...
shirogawawa
Oct 1 2017, 02:18 PM
QUOTE(tachlio @ Oct 1 2017, 11:41 AM) I believe this thread here more apply to gamer who need dGCU, thereby good TN is better than low grade IPS all the time... never heard such theory before if you are pure gamer, you would buy a better ext monitor with higher hz, gsync.. dont tell me your laptop usage 99 % for gaming only, no need do other things such as watch movie, suft net, etc This post has been edited by shirogawawa: Oct 1 2017, 02:20 PM
edmund_yung
Oct 1 2017, 08:54 PM
I second to getting low grade IPS instead of any 60Hz TN. Usually laptops that comes with TN screen are just try to cut cost, that's all. So they won't put in great TN screen.
Except for those 120Hz TN panels which may be a lil more useful IF that's your only PC and you're playing a lot of CSGO. Even then, try get a 120Hz IPS screen instead if there's an option.
Someone mentioned a friend using TN screen laptop for design work, just wondering if she used a color calibrated IPS screen before and how does it compare? Or because using the laptop due to budget limit.
As for that chart which make AHVA screen seems better than a IPS screen, well, not true.
I wish OLED cost the same as IPS in 2017... too bad.
This post has been edited by edmund_yung: Oct 1 2017, 08:55 PM
Prince J
Oct 2 2017, 03:57 PM
120Hz IPS display will be the trend in 2018.
Gsync is getting less important because of the existence of 120Hz display.
edmund_yung
Oct 2 2017, 09:52 PM
QUOTE(Prince J @ Oct 2 2017, 03:57 PM) 120Hz IPS display will be the trend in 2018. Gsync is getting less important because of the existence of 120Hz display. For laptop, I'll take the 60hz with Gsync instead of 120hz screen. Zero screen tear, 60fps works great not to stress the GPU for a cooler laptop. Problem is Gsync doesn't work with Optimus, and I want to use the iGPU when I'm not gaming for better battery life. It's almost end of 2017 and it isn't solve yet.
hannchua
Oct 3 2017, 11:05 AM

Anyone still interested in the fx502v-mdm145t? The budget 'ROG' with GTX 1060 3GB being talked about on page 71? I'm planning to sell... Mine has @24 GB Ram and 256GB SSD.
myway1985
Oct 3 2017, 11:45 AM
QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Oct 2 2017, 09:52 PM) For laptop, I'll take the 60hz with Gsync instead of 120hz screen. Zero screen tear, 60fps works great not to stress the GPU for a cooler laptop. Problem is Gsync doesn't work with Optimus, and I want to use the iGPU when I'm not gaming for better battery life. It's almost end of 2017 and it isn't solve yet. Agree.. tn gsync 144hz enuf de... ips display good for work.. bad for gaming..
edmund_yung
Oct 3 2017, 02:58 PM
Oh please no more TN screen in a RM4k laptop... gaming or not.
sepulse
Oct 4 2017, 10:33 AM
edmund_yung
Oct 4 2017, 11:40 AM
QUOTE(sepulse @ Oct 4 2017, 10:33 AM) If I haven't bought the Alienware, I will most probably pick that up and save a few hundred ringgit. Putting in a 1060 and adding fingerprint sensor + TB3 USB-C is really a good trade off for smaller battery and sub-woofer.