DIY, Anything goes as long as diy ...

TSShadowR1
post Oct 19 2015, 11:13 PM, updated 8y ago

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

Cant really find a topic of the above thus start one.

Any diyer here who like to show/discuss their creation is welcome.

Anything goes ... table, stool, wall fixture, frame art,

I'll start by my latest GI table lamp ...

First pic is direct connection, second pic is hook up to a variable resistor as a conventional dimmer doesnt work on that bulb.
mowlous
post Oct 23 2015, 10:08 PM

542 posts

Interesting topic but I think any new project to show off require some time before the end product gets to post. Which is prob you don't see much diy topic here cause the progress too long.

From time to time you see some diy project pop up here but it's not written as diy ...... it's more like home made wooden box etc.
TSShadowR1
post Oct 30 2015, 01:19 AM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

QUOTE(mowlous @ Oct 23 2015, 10:08 PM)
Interesting topic but I think any new project to show off require some time before the end product gets to post. Which is prob you don't see much diy topic here cause the progress too long.

From time to time you see some diy project pop up here but it's not written as diy ...... it's more like home made wooden box etc.
Hmm, it will be great if all those post is accumulated on a tread ...

Here's my latest ... Cement block lamp. KVReninem

This post has been edited by ShadowR1: Oct 30 2015, 01:00 PM
KVReninem
post Oct 31 2015, 07:23 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Oct 29 2015, 02:49 PM)

simple rclxms.gif wub.gif

keep it up! do you have a facebook like page yet? biggrin.gif

on side note: what happen to drinking thread. cannot post already. sad.gif
TSShadowR1
post Oct 31 2015, 10:41 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Oct 31 2015, 07:23 PM)
simple rclxms.gif  wub.gif 

keep it up! do you have a facebook like page yet? biggrin.gif

on side note: what happen to drinking thread. cannot post already.  sad.gif
I do have a FB but I dont post everything that I made.

That tread close dy sad.gif

Another cement table lamp coming ... soon (Half way done).

This post has been edited by ShadowR1: Oct 31 2015, 11:44 PM
KVReninem
post Oct 31 2015, 10:47 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Oct 31 2015, 12:11 PM)
I do have a FB but I dont post everything that I made.

That tread close dy  sad.gif

Another cement table coming ... soon (Half way done).
okok I PM u
rae0724
post Nov 5 2015, 11:24 AM

684 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Oct 19 2015, 11:13 PM)

First pic is direct connection, second pic is hook up to a variable resistor as a conventional dimmer doesnt work on that bulb.
so nice!
i like this kind of stuff
great tat u know how to make it
TSShadowR1
post Nov 5 2015, 10:25 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

QUOTE(rae0724 @ Nov 5 2015, 11:24 AM)
so nice!
i like this kind of stuff
great tat u know how to make it
Thanks, making is easy ... getting the idea of the concept is the hard part laugh.gif

Am in the process of making another table lamp ... will post here when done.
Gonna take some time as cement do take time to fully cure.
rae0724
post Nov 6 2015, 09:33 AM

684 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Nov 5 2015, 10:25 PM)
Thanks, making is easy ... getting the idea of the concept is the hard part  laugh.gif

Am in the process of making another table lamp ... will post here when done.
Gonna take some time as cement do take time to fully cure.
really cool biggrin.gif
anticipate ur next lamp biggrin.gif
TSShadowR1
post Nov 11 2015, 12:41 AM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

Okay ... its still in touch up process but just fire up to see the effect ...

The gap between the two cement is a tad big at 6cm, I think 4cm will be nicer. What u peeps think ?

TSShadowR1
post Nov 11 2015, 02:00 AM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

Hookes

First vdo, i use a tread n tie on a bottle ... burn the tread till it snap n dip in cold water ... sometime it work sometime not.

Third vdo, I presume you gonna hook up the wire to the car batt terminal, any resistor that is use ?
TSShadowR1
post Nov 12 2015, 01:53 AM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

QUOTE(Hookes @ Nov 12 2015, 01:49 AM)
I connect it with a 9V adapter.

Ic ... was thinking of wiring it to the car batt but that will hinder the mobility of the device.

Neat wiring u have there.

This post has been edited by ShadowR1: Nov 12 2015, 01:54 AM
TSShadowR1
post Nov 13 2015, 02:43 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

Some of the Lamp I make sometime ago ...

TSShadowR1
post Nov 18 2015, 11:54 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

Wood log stool ...

TSShadowR1
post Nov 19 2015, 10:42 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

QUOTE(Jacxon @ Nov 19 2015, 04:56 PM)

should DIY this some day
rclxub.gif I pass ...
WaCKy-Angel
post Nov 19 2015, 11:00 PM

PeACe~~
21,961 posts

QUOTE(Hookes @ Nov 12 2015, 01:49 AM)
I connect it with a 9V adapter.

I wanted to do that.
Where u get ur charger? Cheap ones can tahan or not?
xaigon
post Nov 27 2015, 10:45 AM

Hi TS, where can find these Gi Pipe, long time to find these pipe.

TSShadowR1
post Nov 29 2015, 09:52 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

QUOTE(xaigon @ Nov 27 2015, 10:45 AM)
Hi TS, where can find these Gi Pipe, long time to find these pipe.
U can find it at any hardware store, not all do treading tho ...

TSShadowR1
post Nov 29 2015, 09:54 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

Wall mount wine rack ...

WongCobain
post Dec 1 2015, 01:23 PM

404 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Nov 29 2015, 09:54 PM)
Wall mount wine rack ...

this 1 diy?
TSShadowR1
post Dec 1 2015, 01:38 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

QUOTE(WongCobain @ Dec 1 2015, 01:23 PM)
this 1 diy?
Yeap ... I use a 6" x 2" x 4' solid wood to make.

The colour look kind of raw initial and I stain it with steel wool soak with tea.
WongCobain
post Dec 1 2015, 01:40 PM

404 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Dec 1 2015, 01:38 PM)
Yeap ... I use a 6" x 2" x 4' solid wood to make.

The colour look kind of raw initial and I stain it with steel wool soak with tea.
i thought u like, ask for some1 to do it. long tme d i wanna do that. not gonna happen anyway if u dont have the tools
TSShadowR1
post Dec 1 2015, 01:46 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

QUOTE(WongCobain @ Dec 1 2015, 01:40 PM)
i thought u like, ask for some1 to do it. long tme d i wanna do that. not gonna happen anyway if u dont have the tools
Erm ... yea, you need a drill, drill bit and a core bit for it.

Tricky part is the spacing so that the wine doesnt knock on each other.

Thats all you need, drill is not in d pic.

This post has been edited by ShadowR1: Dec 1 2015, 01:51 PM
WongCobain
post Dec 1 2015, 06:23 PM

404 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Dec 1 2015, 01:46 PM)
Erm ... yea, you need a drill, drill bit and a core bit for it.

Tricky part is the spacing so that the wine doesnt knock on each other.

Thats all you need, drill is not in d pic.
might aswell pay someone to do it instead buying those stuff. sweat.gif

thanks anyway
TSShadowR1
post Dec 1 2015, 07:47 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

QUOTE(WongCobain @ Dec 1 2015, 06:23 PM)
might aswell pay someone to do it instead buying those stuff.  sweat.gif

thanks anyway
Well, depend on individual. For me, its done and on the wall is 10% satisfaction ... the process of doing it is 90% biggrin.gif
WongCobain
post Dec 1 2015, 09:05 PM

404 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Dec 1 2015, 07:47 PM)
Well, depend on individual. For me, its done and on the wall is 10% satisfaction ... the process of doing it is 90%  biggrin.gif
true. but. not this.. laugh.gif
TSShadowR1
post Dec 6 2015, 02:50 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

Christmas is just around d corner and here is something u can make to deco a bit ...

TSShadowR1
post Dec 18 2015, 02:05 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

Pallet coffee table

Li[Q]uiD
post Dec 18 2015, 02:08 PM

395 posts

TS, are you using copper piping? if yes, where u buy?
TSShadowR1
post Dec 18 2015, 02:50 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

QUOTE(LiQuiD @ Dec 18 2015, 02:08 PM)
TS, are you using copper piping? if yes, where u buy?
Copper piping ... yes. I made this long ago to collect the rain water into the urn.

You can get the copper piping at any hardware store. Just that they might not have all the fittings o the shelve.
Li[Q]uiD
post Dec 18 2015, 08:52 PM

395 posts

Cool.

I'm planning to use do exposed piping for wiring and deco lightbulbs. Just need to know where to get the materials first.
TSShadowR1
post Dec 27 2015, 01:56 AM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

Cement bulb hanger anyone ...

TSShadowR1
post Jan 3 2016, 06:31 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

have a lot of wine cork ? can do this ...

TSShadowR1
post Jan 16 2016, 07:56 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

Folks, Im thinking of making a furnace ... anybody have made one before ?

Need some pointers here.
drpsyko
post Jan 17 2016, 03:52 PM

447 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Jan 16 2016, 07:56 PM)
Folks, Im thinking of making a furnace ... anybody have made one before ?

Need some pointers here.
This channel has a lot DIY projects, and easy to understand.
As for ur furnace:
https://www.youtube.com/user/01032010814/se...h?query=furnace
TSShadowR1
post Jan 17 2016, 05:19 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

QUOTE(drpsyko @ Jan 17 2016, 03:52 PM)
This channel has a lot DIY projects, and easy to understand.
As for ur furnace:
https://www.youtube.com/user/01032010814/se...h?query=furnace
Thank you for the link, will surely look it up.

Cheers
Zelda85
post Jan 22 2016, 11:31 AM

695 posts

I like all your design very much great job biggrin.gif
It will be good if u got step by step for this. Because i wan to make one for myself biggrin.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
TSShadowR1
post Jan 28 2016, 10:27 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

QUOTE(Zelda85 @ Jan 22 2016, 11:31 AM)
I like all your design very much great job biggrin.gif
It will be good if u got step by step for this. Because i wan to make one for myself biggrin.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
Having a step by step for each of em is gonna be lengthy ... shot me any question u hav and I will try my best to answer.

Here's one of the experiment I had with plaster "stoping". Its not done yet ... still in the process.

xaigon
post Feb 23 2016, 10:44 AM

If you dont mind, can I know where do you get the Emerson Bulb, correct me if im wrong.

TSShadowR1
post Feb 23 2016, 02:17 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

QUOTE(xaigon @ Feb 23 2016, 10:44 AM)

If you dont mind, can I know where do you get the Emerson Bulb, correct me if im wrong.

Ermm ... which one.

This bulb ?
xaigon
post Mar 3 2016, 10:34 AM

yup this one, edison bulb, sory for mistaken.

Do you mind to share where you buy it or you buy it online.

Usually, what size do you use for the GI pipe.
TSShadowR1
post Mar 14 2016, 04:08 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

QUOTE(xaigon @ Mar 3 2016, 10:34 AM)
yup this one, edison bulb, sory for mistaken.

Do you mind to share where you buy it or you buy it online.

Usually, what size do you use for the GI pipe.
Hey, sorry for the late reply.

I've got the bulb from vivalec.

Vivalec sdn bhd.
142, Jalan Cerdas, Taman Connaught, Cheras.
03-91012966.

Choice of GI size depends on your application, you can go for any size for free standing.

I use a 6/8" GI for a wall mount book rack and it is darn heavy ... too heavy if u ask me.
Will post when its done.
s7ran9er
post Mar 14 2016, 04:26 PM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

Never thought I would meet a "maker" here, really sweet! Do you have more?
TSShadowR1
post Mar 14 2016, 04:56 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Mar 14 2016, 04:26 PM)
Never thought I would meet a "maker" here, really sweet! Do you have more?
Here's a wall clock i make a long time ago ...

yushin
post Nov 22 2016, 10:59 AM

3,327 posts

Wow, nice lamp.
Seem like DIY in this section is more for art stuff.

There are other DIY threads in home reno and serious kopitiam section, those are discussing mostly on house repair and furniture making/repair.
Aurorasaur
post Nov 29 2016, 03:24 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Oct 30 2015, 01:19 AM)

Nice bulb, light looks pinkish, may i know what are these bulbs called and where you got them?

*EDIT: Sorry just read the latest comment where you answered that question tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Aurorasaur: Nov 29 2016, 03:25 PM
TSShadowR1
post Nov 29 2016, 09:14 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

QUOTE(Aurorasaur @ Nov 29 2016, 03:24 PM)
Nice bulb, light looks pinkish, may i know what are these bulbs called and where you got them?
*EDIT: Sorry just read the latest comment where you answered that question tongue.gif
The bulb is call Edison bulb, come in a few size. 90mm and 120mm if i remember correctly.

Thanks to out ringgit depreciation the bulb cost 30% more vmad.gif
TSShadowR1
post Nov 29 2016, 09:20 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Nov 22 2016, 10:59 AM)
Wow, nice lamp.
Seem like DIY in this section is more for art stuff.

There are other DIY threads in home reno and serious kopitiam section, those are discussing mostly on house repair and furniture making/repair.
Ermm ... not really tho. All those that i make have its usage excerpt the cork deco, wanted to make a cork pin board initial but end up framing it with Ikea frame as it fit perfectly and most important Cheap laugh.gif
immint
post Dec 10 2016, 03:41 AM

impressive art !!
thumbup.gif
TSShadowR1
post Oct 2 2017, 07:24 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

Its been sometime I make anything ... will be making a table lamp soon and will post here when it done.
ongmali
post Oct 4 2017, 02:23 PM

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Jan 3 2016, 06:31 PM)
have a lot of wine cork ? can do this ...

i would prefer to change to dollars. hahaha
internaldisputes
post Oct 5 2017, 08:31 AM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Mar 14 2016, 04:56 PM)
Here's a wall clock i make a long time ago ...

nice art but i won't be able to tell time based on that. biggrin.gif
TSShadowR1
post Oct 6 2017, 01:27 AM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

QUOTE(internaldisputes @ Oct 5 2017, 08:31 AM)
nice art but i won't be able to tell time based on that.  biggrin.gif
You will be able to when you get use to it. I do have that comment when peeps come to my house biggrin.gif
Reubs
post Jan 11 2018, 01:25 AM

257 posts

Hey guys, just sharing how I made my sliding barn door.

More pictures here:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4394736/+60#

This post has been edited by Reubs: Jan 11 2018, 01:29 AM
internaldisputes
post Jan 11 2018, 08:52 AM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

QUOTE(Reubs @ Jan 11 2018, 01:25 AM)
Hey guys, just sharing how I made my sliding barn door.

More pictures here:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4394736/+60#
very cool and sophisticated! good job! is there anything on the floor?
Reubs
post Jan 11 2018, 09:25 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(internaldisputes @ Jan 11 2018, 08:52 AM)
very cool and sophisticated! good job! is there anything on the floor?
Thanks!

Currently nothing on the floor. There’s a guide to keep the door from swinging, but I would need to get a proper drill bit since my floor is marble.
TSShadowR1
post Jan 11 2018, 11:49 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

QUOTE(Reubs @ Jan 11 2018, 09:25 AM)
Thanks!

Currently nothing on the floor. There’s a guide to keep the door from swinging, but I would need to get a proper drill bit since my floor is marble.
Nice, how heavy is the door ?
TSShadowR1
post Jan 11 2018, 11:50 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

Without the guide, will the door scrape the wall ?
Reubs
post Jan 12 2018, 01:11 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Jan 11 2018, 11:49 PM)
Nice, how heavy is the door ?
Not too sure how heavy the door is. Should be at least 30kg.

The hardware can hold up to 175kg
Reubs
post Jan 12 2018, 01:22 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Jan 11 2018, 11:50 PM)
Without the guide, will the door scrape the wall ?
Shouldn’t scrape the wall if you have no skirting, the rail protrudes out a little.

Good to have the guide, keeps the door from swinging. But the guide that comes with the set is plastic. I’ll be replacing it with a more sturdy steel L bracket drilled to my marble flooring.

Reubs
post Jan 12 2018, 01:24 AM

257 posts

Here’s a dining table I recently made out of Melunak wood.

Shavon Lim
post Jan 23 2018, 09:48 AM

87 posts

Nice rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
TSShadowR1
post Jan 23 2018, 05:20 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

QUOTE(Reubs @ Jan 12 2018, 01:24 AM)

Gosh, I cant imagine the sanding process look like. Nice wood grain there.
Reubs
post Jan 23 2018, 08:54 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Jan 23 2018, 05:20 PM)
Gosh, I cant imagine the sanding process look like. Nice wood grain there.
I particularly enjoy the sanding part of it lol.

Here’s the bench I made. Similar wood.

Next up, bar table. Hoping to get it done by CNY

Edit: Sorry about the orientation. Not sure why it turned upside down.

This post has been edited by Reubs: Jan 23 2018, 08:55 PM
TSShadowR1
post Jan 24 2018, 01:17 AM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

QUOTE(Reubs @ Jan 23 2018, 08:54 PM)
I particularly enjoy the sanding part of it lol.

Here’s the bench I made. Similar wood.

Next up, bar table. Hoping to get it done by CNY

Edit: Sorry about the orientation. Not sure why it turned upside down.
I wonder do you use any kind of chem to stop water seepage into the wood. Some will stain the wood and ruined the whole thing.
Reubs
post Jan 24 2018, 02:36 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Jan 24 2018, 01:17 AM)
I wonder do you use any kind of chem to stop water seepage into the wood. Some will stain the wood and ruined the whole thing.
I applied 3 costs of polyurethane which protects the surface.
post Jan 25 2018, 12:36 AM

755 posts

very nice table. I like the flooring too. Not many contractors will do this kind of jigsaw puzzle flooring now.
Reubs
post Jan 25 2018, 09:31 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(2387581 @ Jan 25 2018, 12:36 AM)
very nice table. I like the flooring too. Not many contractors will do this kind of jigsaw puzzle flooring now.
Thank you. This house is actually about 25 years old. Yeah I did a front extension. Wasn’t easy finding broken marbles.
TSShadowR1
post Jan 25 2018, 03:41 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

QUOTE(Reubs @ Jan 25 2018, 09:31 AM)
Thank you. This house is actually about 25 years old. Yeah I did a front extension. Wasn’t easy finding broken marbles.
Why not consider terrazzo, It looks nice and yea ... difficult to find peeps to do it too.
Reubs
post Jan 25 2018, 05:23 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Jan 25 2018, 03:41 PM)
Why not consider terrazzo, It looks nice and yea ... difficult to find peeps to do it too.
Cause my whole living room already had marble from the beginning 😅
ximaraka
post Feb 5 2018, 12:28 PM

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Nov 13 2015, 02:43 PM)

wow, you are creative thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
Reubs
post Feb 15 2018, 07:47 PM

257 posts

Made a bar table over the weekend.

This post has been edited by Reubs: Feb 15 2018, 07:48 PM

TSShadowR1
post Feb 16 2018, 01:00 AM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

QUOTE(Reubs @ Feb 15 2018, 07:47 PM)
Made a bar table over the weekend.

I like it, have one that is almost identical but its hang from the ceiling.

Ur woodwork is pretty good.
TSShadowR1
post Feb 16 2018, 01:14 AM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

Is the bracket to the shelve custom made.

I think can consider the invisible bracket because the shelve is thick enuf.
Reubs
post Feb 16 2018, 08:46 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Feb 16 2018, 01:14 AM)
Is the bracket to the shelve custom made.

I think can consider the invisible bracket because the shelve is thick enuf.
No those are L brackets. Had some extra pieces of wood from the table.

Not sure where to get the floating shelf brackets.
Reubs
post Feb 16 2018, 08:49 AM

257 posts

Also made these mini concrete planters:

TSShadowR1
post Feb 16 2018, 01:37 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

QUOTE(Reubs @ Feb 16 2018, 08:46 AM)
No those are L brackets. Had some extra pieces of wood from the table.

Not sure where to get the floating shelf brackets.
Oh ... L bracket ... careful of the load on the shelve.

You can fabricate it if you want.

I use the bottom book as a shelve.
TSShadowR1
post Feb 16 2018, 01:39 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

QUOTE(Reubs @ Feb 16 2018, 08:49 AM)
Also made these mini concrete planters:

This is great, what kind of cement you use. The surface is so fine and smooth.

It will be great if you have a time lapsed image of the process.
Reubs
post Feb 17 2018, 01:38 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Feb 16 2018, 01:37 PM)
Oh ... L bracket ... careful of the load on the shelve.

You can fabricate it if you want.

I use the bottom book as a shelve.
Nice !

Do you have a pic of the floating bracket?
Reubs
post Feb 17 2018, 01:40 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Feb 16 2018, 01:39 PM)
This is great, what kind of cement you use. The surface is so fine and smooth.

It will be great if you have a time lapsed image of the process.
Regular cement.

Not much to see anyway if I do a timelapse.
TSShadowR1
post Mar 3 2018, 02:43 AM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

QUOTE(Reubs @ Feb 17 2018, 01:38 AM)
Nice !

Do you have a pic of the floating bracket?

I dont have pic of the bracket.
Doraku
post Mar 3 2018, 05:13 AM

Old threads digger
1,155 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Nov 13 2015, 02:43 PM)

Cool rclxm9.gif
Reubs
post Mar 17 2018, 06:14 PM

257 posts

Made a display frame for my planters. Lights are LED strip.

TSShadowR1
post Mar 17 2018, 10:06 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

QUOTE(Reubs @ Mar 17 2018, 06:14 PM)
Made a display frame for my planters. Lights are LED strip.
It look great, I cant help but to wonder what is your profession ... ur work speak for it self.
Reubs
post Mar 26 2018, 10:31 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Mar 17 2018, 10:06 PM)
It look great, I cant help but to wonder what is your profession ... ur work speak for it self.
Totally unrelated haha. Would like to make wood speakers for my next project.

What about you? Any new stuff?
TSShadowR1
post Mar 27 2018, 10:06 AM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

QUOTE(Reubs @ Mar 26 2018, 10:31 PM)
Totally unrelated haha. Would like to make wood speakers for my next project.

What about you? Any new stuff?
rclxms.gif on the bold. Ive been posted away for some time now so only a laptop and some books is with me.

Will be back soon and hopefully I can continue with my GI lamp ... if I wasnt kick out of the country again.
TSShadowR1
post Apr 17 2018, 12:31 AM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

For my 2 year old son ... home minister does help out as you can see I cant draw bangwall.gif

It did cross my mind IF I have the wood working skill like you Reubs.

This post has been edited by ShadowR1: Apr 17 2018, 07:59 PM
AlexKorv
post Apr 17 2018, 07:00 PM

Whoaaa, those invisible shells are awesome!
cwm3022
post Apr 18 2018, 02:51 PM

18 posts

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif so impress
cwm3022
post Apr 18 2018, 02:52 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Apr 17 2018, 12:31 AM)

For my 2 year old son ... home minister does help out as you can see I cant draw  bangwall.gif

It did cross my mind IF I have the wood working skill like you Reubs.
HAHAH i like this. This is cute~
Vervain
post May 22 2018, 02:56 AM

Scathach
5,464 posts

nice thread I'm looking forward to more LED DIY mods.
luvox
post Jun 3 2018, 09:09 AM

626 posts

They look great. U have fine skill. Mind to share where u buy this wood tabls top & its price? Whats the dimension?
Reubs
post Jun 8 2018, 07:38 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ Jun 3 2018, 09:09 AM)
They look great. U have fine skill. Mind to share where u buy this wood tabls top & its price? Whats the dimension?
Hey,

Thanks!

I purchased the Melunak wood warehouse in Ampang. Here's the waze directions: https://waze.com/ul/hw283gstv7

Each plank is 10ft x 0.5ft and 2 inches in thickness. RM8 per foot.

Dimensions is 3ft x 7ft
ar188
post Jul 1 2018, 12:49 AM

9,206 posts

made this rustic table out of Australian eucylaptus 2 months ago

have not finalize the finish, so just leave it be for now.

also trying my weathered wood technique on a new speaker stand project few days ago
TSShadowR1
post Jul 1 2018, 02:18 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jul 1 2018, 12:49 AM)
Looks clean.

How do you make the joint ? machined ?

ar188
post Jul 1 2018, 02:33 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Jul 1 2018, 02:18 PM)
Looks clean.

How do you make the joint ? machined ?
for the miter joint. left abit of gap at the miters, didnt want the perfect tight joint look since going for that rustic effect (old beat up wood has shrunk abit over time) biggrin.gif
but yeah its cut cleanly on the sliding table saw with a 45deg sled

TSShadowR1
post Jul 1 2018, 05:04 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jul 1 2018, 02:33 PM)
for the miter joint. left abit of gap at the miters, didnt want the perfect tight joint look since going for that rustic effect (old beat up wood has shrunk abit over time)  biggrin.gif
but yeah its cut cleanly on the sliding table saw with a 45deg sled
I see, is the wood aged naturally or you did something to it, it carry a hue of blue and gray.
ar188
post Jul 2 2018, 12:50 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Jul 1 2018, 05:04 PM)
I see, is the wood aged naturally or you did something to it, it carry a hue of blue and gray.
i did that with stains and brush finishing technique. its just new pine wood underneath biggrin.gif

0.0693sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:15 PM