Should I upgrade my HP Mini 110 Netbook to SSD?

SUSmarine88
post Oct 19 2015, 10:37 PM, updated 11y ago

1,781 posts

I got a 5 years old HP Mini 110 Netbook (last time free gift by TM Streamyx)...
Should I upgrade it to SSD?

CPU: Intel Atom N475 @ 1.83GHz
RAM: 2GB DDR3
Motherboard: HP
Graphic: Intel GMA 3150
Storage: 2.5" Seagate 250GB HDD (<=== wanna upgrade this to Kingston Fury 120GB SSD @ RM210)
DVD: none

Usage: sometime will bring out for meeting, chit chat, yumcha...

This post has been edited by marine88: Oct 19 2015, 10:39 PM
SUSGregyong
post Oct 19 2015, 10:41 PM

1,167 posts

imo, not worth it unless you still want to keep that thing.

but it will definitely fly if you add the SSD
SUSmarine88
post Oct 19 2015, 10:43 PM

1,781 posts

QUOTE(Gregyong @ Oct 19 2015, 11:41 PM)
imo, not worth it unless you still want to keep that thing.

but it will definitely fly if you add the SSD
ya bro, now i am in very limited budget, but i really need a portable machine for meeting with friend (some little business discussion)... icon_question.gif icon_question.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
SUSGregyong
post Oct 19 2015, 10:46 PM

1,167 posts

if that's the only thing you have, definitely will do wonders to that piece of shhhit processor.
I can tell because all the sub 1.5K windows tablets are running on roughly the same thing and still feel usable
SUSmarine88
post Oct 19 2015, 10:51 PM

1,781 posts

QUOTE(Gregyong @ Oct 19 2015, 11:46 PM)
if that's the only thing you have, definitely will do wonders to that piece of shhhit processor.
I can tell because all the sub 1.5K windows tablets are running on roughly the same thing and still feel usable
Intel Atom vs Intel Celeron, which one more sux?
SUSGregyong
post Oct 19 2015, 11:01 PM

1,167 posts

Atom.
Celerons are better in any other way.
they're either built up from Atoms or cut down from Core i7s depending on their architecture which you can tell from the prefix N (atom) or M,U,T (Core i-series)

unless you're taking about Pentium 4/D/M era Celerons that is.

use this for better info
https://www.cpubenchmark.net/
koonghx
post Oct 19 2015, 11:46 PM

888 posts

Woah.. Nostalgia.. Used that for so long... Even used that when I was programming and studying first and second sem of computer science.
HDD died on mine but if you add a SSD it should work wonders for it.
Don't install windows 10 though, I think windows 7 is the limit for it.
I installed linux on it so that it was faster.
If your budget limited, I think getting a Teclast or Onda dual boot tablet would be better. Similar screen size, but ipad screen quality and they are touch screen, so it's good for doing slideshows on the screen itself.
SUSmarine88
post Oct 20 2015, 08:33 AM

1,781 posts

QUOTE(koonghx @ Oct 20 2015, 12:46 AM)
Woah.. Nostalgia.. Used that for so long... Even used that when I was programming and studying first and second sem of computer science.
HDD died on mine but if you add a SSD it should work wonders for it.
Don't install windows 10 though, I think windows 7 is the limit for it.
I installed linux on it so that it was faster.
If your budget limited, I think getting a Teclast or Onda dual boot tablet would be better. Similar screen size, but ipad screen quality and they are touch screen, so it's good for doing slideshows on the screen itself.
I am noob in Linux…
I am good at Windows…
SUSmarine88
post Oct 20 2015, 02:27 PM

1,781 posts

QUOTE(Lawrence Coleman @ Oct 20 2015, 03:21 PM)
Better buy a new Laptop. Lenovo would be great, in case you plan to buy it, buy atleast a 4 GB RAM laptop.
why Lenovo?
not Acer, HP, Dell...?

what about my existing HP Netbook? icon_question.gif
Can i sell to someone to earn some basic money? hmm.gif
Sell to PC scavengers? hmm.gif
olak329
post Oct 20 2015, 02:28 PM

109 posts

nooo.. totally not worth its
koonghx
post Oct 20 2015, 05:51 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(marine88 @ Oct 20 2015, 08:33 AM)
I am noob in Linux…
I am good at Windows…
Get an Onda / Teclast then.
It has both windows and android.
iRonTech
post Oct 27 2015, 11:21 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

get used Intel X25-M G2 or 320 series 80GB better solution.

as this unit chipset max 3GB/s sata 2, you only can get half the Kingston Fury 120GB SSD speed.
abubin
post Oct 27 2015, 11:27 AM

10,429 posts

let me know if you want cheap ssd. I am selling 128gb for RM99 and 256gb as well. PM me if interested.
SUSmarine88
post Oct 27 2015, 04:22 PM

1,781 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Oct 27 2015, 12:27 PM)
let me know if you want cheap ssd. I am selling 128gb for RM99 and 256gb as well. PM me if interested.
how long is ur warranty??
bloodchow2
post Nov 7 2015, 12:51 AM

664 posts

dont forget your ssd can be removed if you planned to upgrade your laptop, its portable, not soldered to your lappy
Kaka23
post Nov 7 2015, 06:24 AM

8,259 posts

Should be good if you plan to use the laptop for another few years..

0.0195sec    0.16    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 04:53 AM