LCD Thread Ver 3.1, Everything about LCD monitor

refnulf
post Jan 4 2007, 02:30 PM

I love Hulu
7,937 posts

QUOTE(T0|\|`/ @ Jan 4 2007, 11:41 AM)
omg!  drool.gif  Dell E207WFP selling online at RM 1,049!!!

Is this cheap? I thought it was at RM1200 a month back, wasn't it?

p.s. Offer ends 8/1/2007, I think.
This entry level monitor was going for RM999 in the last promotion which ended yesterday.
sniperwolf
post Jan 4 2007, 02:31 PM

Boku Wa Gundam
2,810 posts

QUOTE(winlose2582 @ Jan 4 2007, 02:06 PM)
Hi bro, I still using Dell 2007WFP with Geforce 2 440MX la...
The problem for the old graphic card is cant adjust the higher resolution....
It can be display but will blur/loss in text.
Dont think so as I had even try using a gf2 gts which is even more older and had no problem running 20 and 22inch wide screen lcd with their native resolution. Just dont expect to game with the card but normal pc work should be ok. Definitely you notice the color and image quality difference once you change back to a newer card using dvi cable as compare to the vga.
refnulf
post Jan 4 2007, 02:32 PM

I love Hulu
7,937 posts

I think I'll go with the 24" (2407wfp) but I was wondering if anyone here is still having issues with the lcd? Does the latest firmware get rid of all the banding issues, etc. If not, would the benq 24" be a better buy?

ruffstuff
post Jan 4 2007, 02:52 PM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(sniperwolf @ Jan 4 2007, 02:31 PM)
Dont think so as I had even try using a gf2 gts which is even more older and had no problem running 20 and 22inch wide screen lcd with their native resolution. Just dont expect to game with the card but normal pc work should be ok. Definitely you notice the color and image quality difference once you change back to a newer card using dvi cable as compare to the vga.
That is nice to hear. If I wanna buy a 20 ws lcd, i dont have to worry much on changing new graphic card (my gf3 still have DVI). Now, im just worried how blurry it can be using old graphic with native 20inch resolution.
davidmak
post Jan 4 2007, 03:27 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(| e 3 h y 0 r | @ Jan 4 2007, 12:15 PM)

I'm planning to get the Samsung Syncmaster 940BW (Widescreen). I'm currently using dual screen monitor where my main monitor is a 17' BenQ LCD monitor and my other one is a CRT MONITOR which will be replaced with the widescreen.
Are there any issue with dual monitor with one 17' and 19' widescreen monitor?
My main usage are browsing, and once a while gaming.
I'm using 6600GT GC.  rclxub.gif
Hi there,

I think there shouldn't be much of a problem. The graphic drivers should be able to sort out the difference and compensate. Honestly speaking, I haven't try this setup before.

If you plan to use the widescreen monitor as an extension in windows, this should not be much of a problem. Playing games on such a setup would be a little confusing as the two monitor have different aspect ratios. However mirroring should be fine. Again this is just a guess, you'll have to seek a second opinion on this one.

Your 6600GT should be good enough to power both displays on windows provided it has 128MB of onboard RAM. Text should be blur free on both analog and DVI at the native resolutions. Playing games using both displays would be tricky though.
davidmak
post Jan 4 2007, 03:33 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Jan 4 2007, 02:52 PM)
That is nice to hear. If I wanna buy a 20 ws lcd, i dont have to worry much on changing new graphic card (my gf3 still have DVI).  Now, im just worried how blurry it can be using old graphic with native 20inch resolution.
I guess if the RAMDAC is high enough, things should be fine right? The older MX were running on lower RAMDAC clock right. Plus the termination and filtering were of a lower order setup.

Keep your geforce3, its still a good card for regular desktop, movies and occasional games. I still keep an old geforce 2mx 32MB onboard RAM, and I could still run a 17" LCD with 1280x1024 native resolution on windows which is value for money.
e 3 h y 0 r
post Jan 4 2007, 05:06 PM

L e 3 h y 0 r 1
3,918 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Jan 4 2007, 03:27 PM)
Hi there,

I think there shouldn't be much of a problem. The graphic drivers should be able to sort out the difference and compensate. Honestly speaking, I haven't try this setup before.

If you plan to use the widescreen monitor as an extension in windows, this should not be much of a problem. Playing games on such a setup would be a little confusing as the two monitor have different aspect ratios. However mirroring should be fine. Again this is just a guess, you'll have to seek a second opinion on this one.

Your 6600GT should be good enough to power both displays on windows provided it has 128MB of onboard RAM. Text should be blur free on both analog and DVI at the native resolutions. Playing games using both displays would be tricky though.
I just want to be sure it works perfectly with 1 widescreen and 1 not. I'm currently gaming with 1 LCD only, i don't need 2 for gaming nor am i using mirroring.
winlose2582
post Jan 4 2007, 06:45 PM

516 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Jan 4 2007, 02:14 PM)
So it can do ws resolution? What is your current and max resolution the card will go?
The max resolution the card can go is 2048 x 1536...
and my current resolution is 1360 x 768...
If i go higher resolution, the display for icon...text...etc will poor...
i dunno is it the gf card cant support o wat...
but 1360 x 768 is just nice to me...dun like too small...
davidmak
post Jan 4 2007, 07:35 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(| e 3 h y 0 r | @ Jan 4 2007, 05:06 PM)
I just want to be sure it works perfectly with 1 widescreen and 1 not. I'm currently gaming with 1 LCD only, i don't need 2 for gaming nor am i using mirroring.
Then you're good to go. It would be good to have your widescreen as the new primary monitor and retire your 17" LCD to be the secondary monitor. Quite a lot of new games support the 16:10 aspect ratio so you should be fine. For older games, you could have the game run on your secondary monitor.

Anyway its a matter of preferences. :-)
irix
post Jan 5 2007, 12:07 AM

270 posts

guys, what about 20" samsung syncmaster 205BW? found quite a number of good reviews and the price is just around rm1.1k.. how's the colour reproduction n everything?
darenohh
post Jan 5 2007, 12:22 AM

307 posts

wanna to check with all master...

which one is better to use as monitor and also for movie/surf net/games..

Acer AL2216W (22" Widescreen)
Response time: 5MS
Contrast Ratio: 700:1
Resolution: 1680x1050
Brightness: 300
Input Signal: DVI + Analog.

or

LCD tv 26" wide screen
1) 26" LCD TV
2) HD ready (720p/1080i)
3) WXGA Resolution at 1366 x 768
4) 16:9 Aspect Ratio
5) High Definition Multimedia Interface
6) Dynamic Contrast 1600:1
7) 8ms response time
8) HDMI Digital interface (1 input)

ignore the price ..(around rm850 different..)

which one should i go for.. the lcd is mainly just for pc.. optional for ps2(or 3)

e 3 h y 0 r
post Jan 5 2007, 12:27 AM

L e 3 h y 0 r 1
3,918 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Jan 4 2007, 07:35 PM)
Then you're good to go. It would be good to have your widescreen as the new primary monitor and retire your 17" LCD to be the secondary monitor. Quite a lot of new games support the 16:10 aspect ratio so you should be fine. For older games, you could have the game run on your secondary monitor.

Anyway its a matter of preferences. :-)
oh great, thanks !
winlose2582
post Jan 5 2007, 01:06 AM

516 posts

QUOTE(darenohh @ Jan 5 2007, 12:22 AM)
wanna to check with all master...

which one is better to use as monitor and also for movie/surf net/games..

Acer AL2216W (22" Widescreen)
Response time: 5MS
Contrast Ratio: 700:1
Resolution: 1680x1050
Brightness: 300
Input Signal: DVI + Analog.

or

LCD tv 26" wide screen
1) 26" LCD TV
2) HD ready (720p/1080i)
3) WXGA Resolution at 1366 x 768
4) 16:9 Aspect Ratio
5) High Definition Multimedia Interface
6) Dynamic Contrast 1600:1
7) 8ms response time
8) HDMI Digital interface (1 input)

ignore the price ..(around rm850 different..)

which one should i go for.. the lcd is mainly just for pc.. optional for ps2(or 3)
I had considered to buy lcd tv b4, but finally give up due with reso onli 1366 x 768 for a big screen like 26" or 32"... then the icon will become bigger and even game screen.
If u can stand with this resolution and sit infront of 26" or 32" screen to online. then shouldnt be a problem for u.
Somemore, LCD TV had a better contrast ratio....like samsung LCD TV with 3000:1 and 5000:1....Nice!~

crazybear
post Jan 5 2007, 03:27 AM

151 posts

I plan to get a 19" LCD monitor, but don't know want to get which one, my budget is below 1k.
Samsung 940BF
Spec

or

Viewsonic VX922
Spec

The bad for 940BF is design simple and the bad for VX922 is non adjustable height.
Hope u guys can help me make the choice or u guy got other good recommend lcd monitor. The pc i use to gaming and watch movie, so i need the fast respond monitor.

Thank!!!
rhys86
post Jan 5 2007, 07:36 AM

331 posts

crazybear.. IMHO.. i will go for samsung coz the quality is really good...
i am currently using the 19" samsung 960BF... its really good.. clear.... and the color is just rich... using it with my 256MB Geforce 6600 turbo to play games and the display is just superb for gaming...
compare to other brands.. i think i will go for samsung as a first choice =)
davidmak
post Jan 5 2007, 09:09 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(rhys86 @ Jan 5 2007, 07:36 AM)
crazybear.. IMHO.. i will go for samsung coz the quality is really good...
i am currently using the 19" samsung 960BF... its really good.. clear.... and the color is just rich... using it with my 256MB Geforce 6600 turbo to play games and the display is just superb for gaming...
compare to other brands.. i think i will go for samsung as a first choice =)
I second your recommendation. I'm currently using a 22" Viewsonic and thats also because Samsung hasn't released a 22" model yet. I would have purchased a Samsung anytime over Viewsonic. Then again, my old 17" Viewsonic is still running strong and bright as ever, so Viewsonic has its own strong points. Too bad it isn't that well received in the local community.

This post has been edited by davidmak: Jan 5 2007, 09:12 AM
sniperwolf
post Jan 5 2007, 10:06 AM

Boku Wa Gundam
2,810 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Jan 4 2007, 02:52 PM)
That is nice to hear. If I wanna buy a 20 ws lcd, i dont have to worry much on changing new graphic card (my gf3 still have DVI).  Now, im just worried how blurry it can be using old graphic with native 20inch resolution.
Since you can run it on dvi, then it shouldn't faced much problem honestly. I had run those 20 incher with radeon 7000 on dvi and its honest good enough for desktop job. Just set window font type to clear type if you find text is hard to read. Even on old gf2 gts 32mb with vga, font is still readable, just that you can notice image edges wont be as sharp and nice as compare to the one which hook up on card with dvi.
davidmak
post Jan 5 2007, 10:52 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(winlose2582 @ Jan 5 2007, 01:06 AM)
I had considered to buy lcd tv b4, but finally give up due with reso onli 1366 x 768 for a big screen like 26" or 32"... then the icon will become bigger and even game screen.
If u can stand with this resolution and sit infront of 26" or 32" screen to online. then shouldnt be a problem for u.
Somemore, LCD TV had a better contrast ratio....like samsung LCD TV with 3000:1 and 5000:1....Nice!~
I also agree on your recommendation. If you plan to use your panel mainly on computer games and on PC desktop environments, its better to get a proper LCD panel rather than a LCD TV panel due to a higher native resolution. Then again it all depends on preferences and what you do with the panel. If you plan to use it mainly as a media display, watching movies, console gaming and a little bit of surfing while sitting on a couch far away, then LCD TV seems not that bad an idea after all. If you decide to surf internet/reading text at a very short distance from the panel, usual a monitor does the job. A LCD TV would not be an optimize device unless you're viewing from a far. The brightness would kill your eyes.

Do take note that an LCD TV has more connectivity options, including a simple internal scaler and also tuner functions. A monitor LCD usually only have VGA and DVI video connections unless you go for a higher end LCD monitor like Dell that has connectivity for component, S-video as well as an internal scaler.

Also, there are two type of contrast ratio measurement, dynamic and static. Most LCD monitor uses the static contrast ratio so the numbers usually lower than dynamic. If I'm not mistaken LG rate its contrast ratio differently so you see higher than usual numbers which could be a little misleading to consumers. I'm not sure if LCD TV uses dynamic contrast ratio either so you got to check.

Then again, it all depends what you're doing and what are your expectations.
crazybear
post Jan 5 2007, 12:46 PM

151 posts

Thank for rhys86 and davidmak, my fren also ask me go for samsung. Like that i will go for samsung.
afosz
post Jan 5 2007, 05:12 PM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

i was thinking of buying new 19" LCD..any recommendation between
-19" ACER AL1916WAS; RSP 8MS; C.R 600:1
-19" SAMSUNG 940BW; RSP 4MS; C.R 500:1
-19" LG 1952S; RSP 8MS; C.R 1600:1
-19" VIEWSONIC VX922; RSP 2MS; 650:1

what is contrast ratio?the highest the better?

126 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0191sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:53 AM