Iphone 6s/6s+ SAMSUNG Or TSMC ?, Iphone 6s/6s+ SAMSUNG Or TSMC ?

Please Choose Where You Bought Your Phone and Which Chip You Get?

Maxis - SAMSUNG CHIP [ 33 ] ** [13.25%]
Maxis - TSMC CHIP [ 25 ] ** [10.04%]
Celcom - SAMSUNG CHIP [ 5 ] ** [2.01%]
Celcom - TSMC CHIP [ 5 ] ** [2.01%]
Digi - SAMSUNG CHIP [ 13 ] ** [5.22%]
Digi - TSMC CHIP [ 11 ] ** [4.42%]
U Mobile - SAMSUNG CHIP [ 12 ] ** [4.82%]
U Mobile - TSMC CHIP [ 2 ] ** [0.80%]
Authorised Retailer (Machines,Switch etc) - SAMSUNG CHIP [ 23 ] ** [9.24%]
Authorised Retailer (Machines,Switch etc) - TSMC CHIP [ 10 ] ** [4.02%]
APPLE Online Store - SAMSUNG CHIP [ 16 ] ** [6.43%]
APPLE Online Store - TSMC CHIP [ 9 ] ** [3.61%]
Other - SAMSUNG CHIP [ 6 ] ** [2.41%]
Other - TSMC CHIP [ 12 ] ** [4.82%]
I JUST WANT LOOK ANSWER [ 67 ] ** [26.91%]
Total Votes: 249
Guests cannot vote 

TSJayChouYEE
post Oct 15 2015, 01:25 AM, updated 11y ago

737 posts

Which chip you get for your new iPhone 6s/6s Plus ? rclxms.gif

HOW TO KNOW THE CHIP OF YOUR PHONE ?

Thank you for the reply and here teach you how to check the chip.
IT iS SIMPLE.
1.GO TO APP STORE DOWNLOAD THE APP "Lirum Device Info Lite - System Monitor"
https://itunes.apple.com/my/app/lirum-devic...d591660734?mt=8

2.Inside the app,

3.Click Menu

4.Click CPU

5.You will see the manufacturer for you iphone 6s/6s+ like this

This post has been edited by JayChouYEE: Oct 15 2015, 01:55 PM
oldKyoo
post Oct 15 2015, 01:38 AM

Flashing at a street near you.
961 posts

really?
christcwl9
post Oct 15 2015, 02:21 AM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

Wa, is it really useful to have this type of thread btw?? BTW performance wise for these 2 chips different by a lot? hmm.gif
sonic_sphere
post Oct 15 2015, 02:57 AM

452 posts

Later people will come here and ask "how to check my iPhone's chip, TMSC or Samsung?
Baconateer
post Oct 15 2015, 03:01 AM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

there's no way to know which one u gonna get...u have to first..buy the phone..open it up..download an app..thn only u can know..so..good luck in getting TSMC...
attw
post Oct 15 2015, 07:55 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(sonic_sphere @ Oct 15 2015, 02:57 AM)
Later people will come here and ask "how to check my iPhone's chip, TMSC or Samsung?
This is true. TS should put a tutorial on how to check before being flooded with this question very soon. Ha ha ha...
sj0217
post Oct 15 2015, 07:56 AM

6,483 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Oct 15 2015, 02:21 AM)
Wa, is it really useful to have this type of thread btw?? BTW performance wise for these 2 chips different by a lot? hmm.gif
Based on reported, what I saw the most different between two chips will be battery life

By the way, nice useful thread to be here, will definitely report here if get

QUOTE(attw @ Oct 15 2015, 07:55 AM)
This is true. TS should put a tutorial on how to check before being flooded with this question very soon. Ha ha ha...
Was thinking too... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by sj0217: Oct 15 2015, 07:57 AM
OKLY
post Oct 15 2015, 10:05 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

And after seeing the data on this poll, people will flood that specific telco/reseller. sweat.gif
attw
post Oct 15 2015, 11:42 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Oct 15 2015, 10:05 AM)
And after seeing the data on this poll, people will flood that specific telco/reseller. sweat.gif
I think better to come out with a poll on list of criterias to choose a telco

1. Plan
2. Phone price
3. Phone stock availability
4. Chip inside phone

Doesn't anyone choose telco mainly for network coverage anymore? Ha ha ha...
bakaraz7523027
post Oct 15 2015, 11:58 AM

Ok I got tsmc.sg setAttached Image
GamersFamilia
post Oct 15 2015, 03:15 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,733 posts

may i know what is TSMC ?
attw
post Oct 15 2015, 04:58 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Oct 15 2015, 03:15 PM)
may i know what is TSMC ?
http://www.tsmc.com/english/default.htm
GamersFamilia
post Oct 15 2015, 07:54 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,733 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Oct 15 2015, 04:58 PM)
ok thanks
TSJayChouYEE
post Oct 16 2015, 12:19 AM

737 posts

Iphone 6s/6s+ arrived Malaysia.
BoomBiddy
post Oct 16 2015, 01:47 AM

i got maxis samsung, ip6s+ 64gb.. sad.gif

-but i cant vote cause it says i voted already
SUSweretiger
post Oct 16 2015, 05:06 AM

FuuSuperuSenioruyuh
1,123 posts

Haiyaaaa for ip6s only aaaaas

But i wanna vote tsmc for ip6... 😭
attw
post Oct 16 2015, 08:23 AM

32,468 posts

What's the vote number now for those who collected your sets from telco? More TSMC or more Samsung? I'll vote in once I get mine smile.gif
BoomBiddy
post Oct 16 2015, 09:53 AM

Tomshardware test for both chipset. So no need to worry,and its actually a good thing if u got samsung.😄

http://www.tomshardware.com/news/iphone-6s...tsmc,30306.html

This post has been edited by BoomBiddy: Oct 16 2015, 09:54 AM
EroS
post Oct 16 2015, 10:03 AM

2,902 posts

sigheart
post Oct 16 2015, 10:31 AM

The Ultimate Driving Machine
1,442 posts

128 GB iPhone 6S from Maxis.

TSMC Chip. Just voted.
TSJayChouYEE
post Oct 16 2015, 12:07 PM

737 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Oct 16 2015, 08:23 AM)
What's the vote number now for those who collected your sets from telco? More TSMC or more Samsung? I'll vote in once I get mine smile.gif
maxis tsmc more,other still don't know
buyou12
post Oct 16 2015, 12:26 PM

271 posts

U either gets yours Taiwan made or Korean made. I think its sacrilegious for Apple fanboys to be holding a Samsung made chip.

I guess the truth is out now.
Netto Hikari
post Oct 16 2015, 01:17 PM

Solution Architect?
2,410 posts

No such info in my ip6s 64gb

attw
post Oct 16 2015, 01:18 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(buyou12 @ Oct 16 2015, 12:26 PM)
U either gets yours Taiwan made or Korean made. I think its sacrilegious for Apple fanboys to be holding a Samsung made chip.

I guess the truth is out now.
If Apple chose Samsung as a supplier, then I'm sure Samsung are playing their chips right one way or another (pun intended)
OKLY
post Oct 16 2015, 01:59 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

My 64Gb 6s Gold from U Mobile has a Samsung chip.
benny888
post Oct 16 2015, 02:09 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Shouldn't worry too much over the chipset.. only one website has overblown this issue only. Apple had came out saying the difference is minimal and other tech inclined websites support Apple statement too
Seriously does 2-3% difference really affect you as a user ??
I am sure Apple with all its tech and engineers will not put in an inferior chip in their phones
I don't even want to check what chipset is on mine. Will test out the phone next few days and if find it it in anyway inferior vs my previous ip6+, than probably I will check it up
In fact most users at hardwarezone.sg ( spore) has little complains about the Samsung chip and complains are just isolated few and that is expected !! Some even said a 1% difference is even unacceptable !!! - Go tell this back to Apple than !
attw
post Oct 16 2015, 02:09 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ Oct 16 2015, 01:17 PM)
No such info in my ip6s 64gb

Check main menu

- If model is N66AP or N71AP, you’ve got a Samsung chip. If model is N66MAP or N71MAP you’ve got TSMC.

My 64GB i6S+ from maxis is a Samsung chip as well
clawhammer
post Oct 16 2015, 02:55 PM

///M
8,788 posts

Question: What should you do if you have a Samsung chip?
Answer: Quickly sell it off and buy another one, keep buying until you get a TSMC?

LOL laugh.gif
invisiblelim
post Oct 16 2015, 02:58 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Oct 16 2015, 02:55 PM)
Question: What should you do if you have a Samsung chip?
Answer: Quickly sell it off and buy another one, keep buying until you get a TSMC?

LOL laugh.gif
LOL.. how much do we need to lost for this transactions..
clawhammer
post Oct 16 2015, 03:05 PM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(invisiblelim @ Oct 16 2015, 02:58 PM)
LOL.. how much do we need to lost for this transactions..
Maybe for those that die die must have TSMC, they are willing to lose more money for it biggrin.gif Actually if we can build a website to sell guaranteed TSMC chip iPhone 6S/6S+ with an additional premium, business should be good. Same business model like siliconlottery.com
invisiblelim
post Oct 16 2015, 03:11 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Oct 16 2015, 03:05 PM)
Maybe for those that die die must have TSMC, they are willing to lose more money for it biggrin.gif Actually if we can build a website to sell guaranteed TSMC chip iPhone 6S/6S+ with an additional premium, business should be good. Same business model like siliconlottery.com
haha... T&C is non sealed but Brand New Sets.. LOL
taga
post Oct 16 2015, 03:17 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Oct 16 2015, 02:09 PM)
Shouldn't worry too much over the chipset.. only one website has overblown this issue only. Apple had came out saying the difference is minimal and other tech inclined websites support Apple statement too
Seriously does 2-3% difference really affect you as a user ??
I am sure Apple with all its tech and engineers will not put in an inferior chip in their phones
I don't even want to check what chipset is on mine. Will test out the phone next few days and if find it it in anyway inferior vs my previous ip6+, than probably I will check it up
In fact most users at hardwarezone.sg ( spore) has little complains about the Samsung chip and complains are just isolated few and that is expected !! Some even said a 1% difference is even unacceptable !!! - Go tell this back to Apple than !
How much is 3% of rm3799?

Jestarz
post Oct 16 2015, 03:33 PM

116 posts

16 GB iPhone 6S Plus from Machines.

Samsung chip. Oh well.
benny888
post Oct 16 2015, 03:38 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(taga @ Oct 16 2015, 03:17 PM)
How much is 3% of rm3799?
What has that to do with the pricing ??
Netto Hikari
post Oct 16 2015, 03:54 PM

Solution Architect?
2,410 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Oct 16 2015, 02:09 PM)
Check main menu

- If model is N66AP or N71AP,  you’ve got a Samsung chip. If model is N66MAP or N71MAP you’ve got TSMC.

My 64GB i6S+ from maxis is a Samsung chip as well
mine is samseng chipset as well. N71AP
attentive
post Oct 16 2015, 04:03 PM

6s Plus, 64gb, Space Grey, N66AP. From Machines
sicklad77
post Oct 16 2015, 04:08 PM

532 posts

Voted already ts, digi samsucks chip reporting in
dreamthief
post Oct 16 2015, 04:10 PM

Banned
2,644 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Oct 16 2015, 03:38 PM)
What has that to do with the pricing ??
Being sarcastic, only 2-3% difference is nothing quoted by Apple responding to Chipgate. Put into same perspective of pricing, does 2-3% make a different to you?

Of course it does!!!. I like Apple products, but saying it is no difference is disappointing at the least.

I'm sure, let's be honest who really don't care if you know about this?

Those got TSMC, surely will say, not much difference la. But the ones with Samsung, will have a small dissatisfaction until longer usage, does it really impact/affect them or not.

This post has been edited by dreamthief: Oct 16 2015, 04:11 PM
Townshend
post Oct 16 2015, 04:19 PM

1,677 posts

I Just bought mine online. I hope my 6S will come with TSMC chip sweat.gif .
dreamthief
post Oct 16 2015, 04:24 PM

Banned
2,644 posts

TS, please post this link

Credits to BoomBiddy.

looks like this benchmark test done by Toms hardware tell a different story. But I'm no expert. Supposingly smaller size die will result in better battery efficiency, heat which is in line with Tomshardware article.

That's usually the trend for Intel/AMD chips.
TSJayChouYEE
post Oct 16 2015, 05:30 PM

737 posts

QUOTE(dreamthief @ Oct 16 2015, 04:24 PM)

Credits to BoomBiddy.

looks like this benchmark test done by Toms hardware tell a different story. But I'm no expert. Supposingly smaller size die will result in better battery efficiency, heat which is in line with Tomshardware article.

I know this but some of the Taiwan apple fans point out that the Samsung chip temperature test a bit fake.
Samsung chip iphone logo show blue colour.
attw
post Oct 16 2015, 06:17 PM

32,468 posts

Imagine next time when wanna sell the phone online in Garage Sale... Additional question for potential buyers to ask... "Yours TMSC or Samsung chip?"...

Adui... doh.gif
hown
post Oct 16 2015, 06:56 PM

iPhone 12 mini
1,514 posts

maxis 6s 64gb gold
samsung chip
i actually like samsung chip
OKLY
post Oct 16 2015, 06:58 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

Let's just forget about this issue and move on with our lives (and our devices). biggrin.gif
SUSkc6012
post Oct 16 2015, 08:03 PM

Apple Super Fans
2,501 posts

From Mac City (6S plus 128GB Rose Gold)
Samsung

This post has been edited by kc6012: Oct 16 2015, 08:04 PM
OKLY
post Oct 16 2015, 08:33 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

Judging from this poll's data, I think majority of this batch of stocks in Malaysia have the Samsung chip. So don't worry too much, just get it and enjoy.
sonic_sphere
post Oct 16 2015, 08:39 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Oct 16 2015, 08:33 PM)
Judging from this poll's data, I think majority of this batch of stocks in Malaysia have the Samsung chip. So don't worry too much, just get it and enjoy.
And looks like 128 gb model has a higher potential to get TMSC, as for 64 gb mostly comes with Samsung... After this, for those who vote in this thread, pls dont forget to put a comment about your model and capacity... Thank u!
sj0217
post Oct 17 2015, 01:00 AM

6,483 posts

iPhone 6S plus 64GB from SenQ - N66AP Samsung chip
winkiedilwy
post Oct 17 2015, 02:27 AM

Imma farting carrots.
2,343 posts

Lol people even bothered to.
noisetrigger
post Oct 17 2015, 08:06 AM

687 posts

QUOTE(dreamthief @ Oct 16 2015, 04:24 PM)

Credits to BoomBiddy.

I was about to say the same thing. In chip manufacturing, smaller chip actually consume less power and run more efficiently. Therefore, theoretically, Samsung chip has a slight advantage.
attw
post Oct 17 2015, 08:17 AM

32,468 posts

Well, most articles suggest the difference is rather small. Heck, sometimes you also get a 2-3% variance from two similar chips. Don't quite see what the big fuss is all about...
harmeet15
post Oct 17 2015, 08:42 AM

Winners don't make excuses
2,729 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Oct 17 2015, 08:17 AM)
Well, most articles suggest the difference is rather small. Heck, sometimes you also get a 2-3% variance from two similar chips. Don't quite see what the big fuss is all about...
apparently is not that small.
big enough to have a dedicated thread with polling.
again my question to everyone here.
what will you do if you get the undesired chip? doh.gif
giggs_509
post Oct 17 2015, 08:47 AM

1,475 posts

QUOTE(harmeet15 @ Oct 17 2015, 08:42 AM)
what will you do if you get the undesired chip?  doh.gif
Lock yourself in room and cry lol
attw
post Oct 17 2015, 08:47 AM

32,468 posts

Well, for me there is no "undesired" chip. As long as my phone works fine, I have no issues. Will only know about battery life after two weeks or so. But from what I can see so far after having the phone for a day, the battery life is pretty similar to my 6 Plus previously, so that's great.
TOMEI-R
post Oct 17 2015, 09:05 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

Well I would put those people who question the chipset type are those procrastinators in general. The type that will go on and on about how the 6S doesnt have much improvements and a million excuses for not getting the phone. They will then go on and on saying why they would go for the Iphone 7 next year. To me, my reply would be, "Come back next year and hear them rant about getting the 7s then". People who are really fans would have gotten the phones by now.

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Oct 17 2015, 09:06 AM
noisetrigger
post Oct 17 2015, 09:06 AM

687 posts

It is an overblown issue by people who are not seeing the bigger pic.

I do electronics stuff part time and even the same battery batch can have slightly different capacity.

A lot of these tests only test the processor. They also forgot that not all batteries have same capacity even if the same model.
attw
post Oct 17 2015, 09:11 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(noisetrigger @ Oct 17 2015, 09:06 AM)

I do electronics stuff part time and even the same battery batch can have slightly different capacity.

A lot of these tests only test the processor. They also forgot that not all batteries have same capacity even if the same model.
This is true. +1
kevin218
post Oct 17 2015, 10:05 AM

176 posts

QUOTE(noisetrigger @ Oct 17 2015, 09:06 AM)

True +2 ... Im engineering in semiconductor ~~ rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by kevin218: Oct 17 2015, 10:05 AM
euphoriaa
post Oct 17 2015, 10:21 AM

225 posts

Anyone notice their iPhone 6s comes with all the FCC logo at the back of the phone?

I thought it isn't suppose to be there anymore in this S model.
enohpi
post Oct 18 2015, 12:39 AM

15 posts

digi 6s+ 64gb rose gold
tsmc chip

attw
post Oct 18 2015, 12:53 AM

32,468 posts

This is my battery usage from my iPhone 6s Plus, Samsung chip. It is more or less consistent with my previous experience on the 6 Plus, based on my usage pattern.

Bear in mind, this was from my first ever full charge cycle since I got the phone on Friday morning.

Boykidz93
post Oct 18 2015, 11:05 AM

iKnow uJealous, Look at my starS
2,334 posts

I get a Samsung chips from digi, my friend buy just right after me, me no.1, he no.2, same color same model same capaty, but he gets TSMC chips.... We tried benchmark test mine always win him rclxms.gif
gill1314
post Oct 18 2015, 01:48 PM

205 posts

tsmc like kena toto biggrin.gif , digi 64 s+ rose gold
sonic_sphere
post Oct 18 2015, 02:08 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(gill1314 @ Oct 18 2015, 01:48 PM)

tsmc like kena toto biggrin.gif , digi 64 s+ rose gold
Haha! Congrats bro... Then u should celebrate this!
jzack
post Oct 19 2015, 12:07 PM

203 posts

mine tsmc on ip6s 54gb grey bought at gardens
TOMEI-R
post Oct 19 2015, 12:20 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Boykidz93 @ Oct 18 2015, 11:05 AM)
I get a Samsung chips from digi, my friend buy just right after me, me no.1, he no.2, same color same model same capaty, but he gets TSMC chips.... We tried benchmark test mine always win him  rclxms.gif
Like mentioned again and again but some still find it an issue. whistling.gif

QUOTE(jzack @ Oct 19 2015, 12:07 PM)
mine tsmc on ip6s 54gb grey bought at gardens
54GB with TSMC. No wonder you are exited. drool.gif

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Oct 19 2015, 11:07 PM
jzack
post Oct 19 2015, 12:31 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Oct 19 2015, 12:20 PM)
Like mentioned again and again but some still find it an issue.  whistling.gif
54GB with TSMC. No wonder your exited.  drool.gif
lol.. its 64gb tongue.gif
Netto Hikari
post Oct 19 2015, 08:57 PM

Solution Architect?
2,410 posts

This is a normal usage after a full charge.

attw
post Oct 19 2015, 09:19 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ Oct 19 2015, 08:57 PM)

Sorry bro, remind us again, are you on 6S Plus or 6S?
Baconateer
post Oct 19 2015, 09:25 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(euphoriaa @ Oct 17 2015, 10:21 AM)
Anyone notice their iPhone 6s comes with all the FCC logo at the back of the phone?

I thought it isn't suppose to be there anymore in this S model.
arent FCC logo only appears in US iphones??
kcirdenk
post Oct 19 2015, 09:30 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ Oct 19 2015, 08:57 PM)

nice. urs can last 12hrs since last charge.
attw
post Oct 19 2015, 09:46 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(kcirdenk @ Oct 19 2015, 09:30 PM)
nice. urs can last 12hrs since last charge.
I'm pretty sure he can squeeze more juice out of it on low power mode smile.gif
Netto Hikari
post Oct 19 2015, 11:04 PM

Solution Architect?
2,410 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Oct 19 2015, 09:19 PM)
Sorry bro, remind us again, are you on 6S Plus or 6S?
6s. in normal mode. 23% on Dot Arena 25% on Spotify for the whole day. lol.
Ch3n_low
post Oct 19 2015, 11:13 PM

vires in numeris
2,230 posts

Doesn't really matter for me if I go Samsung or TSMC chip
attw
post Oct 20 2015, 12:01 AM

32,468 posts

From my 2nd full charge. Thats like close to 2 full days of standby. I hope this helps put to rest the debate that the battery life of the Samsung chip is inferior. It certainly does for me.

noisetrigger
post Oct 20 2015, 03:04 AM

687 posts

After three days of usage I can say that my 6s 64gb space grey last about as long as my i4 when I first got it.

My usage pattern is about the same (maybe even more cause new phone) i.e FB, whatsapp, messenger, youtube, picture taking, video, and Siri and a full charge lasted me from 1pm to 10pm with 33% left to spare.

It is a Samsung chip.
Jason
post Oct 20 2015, 04:03 AM

6,354 posts

Logically won't the Samsucks chip be better? I'm not an engineer just an ex VCD seller
harmeet15
post Oct 20 2015, 09:22 AM

Winners don't make excuses
2,729 posts

Consumer Reports Test Dismisses iPhone 6s “Chipgate” Issue

The publication took two T-Mobile iPhone 6s units with different A9 chips running iOS 9.0.2, matched each and every setting on both phones, placed them within a Radio Frequency Isolation chamber to block out stray signals and subjected them to cellular and WiFi usage tests.

The cellular test, which involved constant transmission at “+10 decibels per milliwatt (dBm) on the  same channel in the commonly used Frequency Band 5,” showed a difference of less than 2% between the duration the two iPhones stayed powered on, with Samsung one having 2% less battery than TSMC.

The WiFi usage test followed suit, with results showing less than 1% difference in battery life after 11 hours of downloading the same webpages using a custom app and playing a collection of the same 10 songs on a loop. Surface temperature readings for both phones were taken throughout the duration of the second test as well, again, showing a difference of less than 1%

Needless to say, owing to the countless variables in play here, results might not be the same for all possible usage scenarios, but as the verdict from Consumer Reports goes, these findings are enough to dismiss any notions of the A9 chip’s make being responsible for reduced battery life.

In a nutshell, if you’ve been cursing your luck for getting an iPhone 6s with the Samsung A9 chip, you can stop now.
Source
Netto Hikari
post Oct 20 2015, 01:53 PM

Solution Architect?
2,410 posts

no idea y they create such a bug huha on it. they even created a big huha on the camera scoring of lower by 2 points. doh.gif
SUSweretiger
post Oct 20 2015, 08:58 PM

FuuSuperuSenioruyuh
1,123 posts

i post here as well as in official ip6s thread... smile.gif

Battery Tests Find No 'Chipgate' Problems in the iPhone 6s

http://www.consumerreports.org/smartphones...n-the-iPhone-6s

This post has been edited by weretiger: Oct 20 2015, 08:58 PM
alister87
post Oct 21 2015, 01:01 PM

262 posts

Funny also, seriously they should stop this so called "chipgate".
elmolee
post Oct 21 2015, 01:35 PM

142 posts

I dun care which chip is inside. I'm getting very good battery life compared to my note 3
I'm very impressed
sj0217
post Oct 21 2015, 01:42 PM

6,483 posts

QUOTE(elmolee @ Oct 21 2015, 01:35 PM)
I dun care which chip is inside. I'm getting very good battery life compared to my note 3
I'm very impressed
Yup, support this as my old phone was Note 3 also

Battery life for iPhone 6S Plus is awersome I would say thumbup.gif
phoneadvisor
post Oct 21 2015, 05:01 PM

48 posts

Hi Guys & Gals,

Looks like U Mobile is the only one without a TSMC chip.
attw
post Oct 21 2015, 05:03 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(phoneadvisor @ Oct 21 2015, 05:01 PM)
Hi Guys & Gals,

Looks like U Mobile is the only one without a TSMC chip.
Considering it's a very small sample size, I don't think that's a really accurate conclusion, heh heh...
phoneadvisor
post Oct 21 2015, 05:04 PM

48 posts

Is there a count of which models 6S & 6S Plus & capacity that are TSMC or Samsung A9 ?
phoneadvisor
post Oct 21 2015, 05:06 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Oct 21 2015, 05:03 PM)
Considering it's a very small sample size, I don't think that's a really accurate conclusion, heh heh...
You are probably right biggrin.gif
phoneadvisor
post Oct 21 2015, 05:08 PM

48 posts

Went around this afternoon to ask around 1 Utama, they all cannot tell the batch differences
vez
post Oct 21 2015, 05:27 PM

4,622 posts

some test show Samsung bettery life better

weird...
INGfusion
post Oct 21 2015, 06:05 PM

iPong Oren Leh
7,500 posts

64GB s plus from maxis samsung chip
attw
post Oct 21 2015, 07:01 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Oct 21 2015, 05:27 PM)
some test show Samsung bettery life better

weird...
Which is why this issue is overrated.
Netto Hikari
post Oct 21 2015, 09:04 PM

Solution Architect?
2,410 posts

6s for today usage pattern. Started low power mode at 10% battery life.

Dot arena and spotify use the most battery.
sj0217
post Oct 21 2015, 09:20 PM

6,483 posts

QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ Oct 21 2015, 09:04 PM)
6s for today usage pattern. Started low power mode at 10% battery life.

Dot arena and spotify use the most battery.
Is it advisable to use battery until red color or as low as possible then only charge ??
nas
post Oct 21 2015, 09:46 PM

Apple Convert
1,662 posts

QUOTE(sj0217 @ Oct 21 2015, 09:20 PM)
Is it advisable to use battery until red color or as low as possible then only charge ??
Try not to let the battery run down below 20% so often.

And once a month do a full charge.
Netto Hikari
post Oct 21 2015, 09:48 PM

Solution Architect?
2,410 posts

QUOTE(sj0217 @ Oct 21 2015, 09:20 PM)
nope. im just testing it.
donhealyou
post Oct 22 2015, 04:13 PM

94 posts

What is the difference anyway? I don't get it.
Show-Time
post Oct 22 2015, 04:24 PM

333 posts

6s plus, 32-35 hours standby, 8 hours usage, I think I had too high expectation, expected to have 12 hours usage.

f5calvin
post Oct 22 2015, 04:25 PM

starsssss
1,557 posts

Digi - TSMC CHIP here
SUSweretiger
post Oct 22 2015, 05:47 PM

FuuSuperuSenioruyuh
1,123 posts

My wife 96% watch 1hr youtube down 80% no overheat batt ok laaaaa

Sammy 6s+ btw

This post has been edited by weretiger: Oct 22 2015, 05:47 PM
nas
post Oct 23 2015, 03:41 PM

Apple Convert
1,662 posts

Mine also Sammy chip. Unit from Apple online store, 64GB 6S Silver.
attw
post Oct 23 2015, 06:44 PM

32,468 posts

Poll here seems to indicate more Samsung chips than TSMC ones..
dixon102
post Oct 24 2015, 11:10 PM

29 posts

Samseng chip 64gb here from Apple.. Battery last much longer than my other iphone 6 plus👍

attw
post Oct 25 2015, 09:20 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(dixon102 @ Oct 24 2015, 11:10 PM)
Samseng chip 64gb here from Apple.. Battery last much longer than my other iphone 6 plus👍
Great stats. Hope that puts this debate to rest smile.gif
TOMEI-R
post Oct 25 2015, 10:06 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Oct 25 2015, 09:20 AM)
Great stats. Hope that puts this debate to rest smile.gif
I dont beleive it. After so many unconclusive tests and reports, people are still believing this chipgate shit. doh.gif
cHaRsIeWpAu^^
post Oct 26 2015, 02:31 PM

937 posts

iphone 6s plus 128gb from apple online store.

battery life is awesome, can last 2~3days if i dont message much.
sonic_sphere
post Oct 26 2015, 02:49 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(cHaRsIeWpAu^^ @ Oct 26 2015, 02:31 PM)
iphone 6s plus 128gb from apple online store.

battery life is awesome, can last 2~3days if i dont message much.
What chip u got? TSMC or Samsung?

Or Potato Chip... Hehe... Sorry just kidding... tongue.gif
kcirdenk
post Oct 26 2015, 02:59 PM

179 posts

Samseng chip here 64gb
cHaRsIeWpAu^^
post Oct 26 2015, 03:08 PM

937 posts

QUOTE(sonic_sphere @ Oct 26 2015, 02:49 PM)
What chip u got? TSMC or Samsung?

Or Potato Chip... Hehe... Sorry just kidding...  tongue.gif
opss forgot to type just now. it's samsung chip hahahaha.
nas
post Oct 26 2015, 07:12 PM

Apple Convert
1,662 posts

To me as long as the phone can last at least two days with moderate usage I'm happy.

Don't really care about those stats. If you get too caught up in the comparison you will feel miserable if you get one chip over the other. And worse case might regret even getting the phone.
DeepMemory
post Oct 26 2015, 11:56 PM

1,805 posts

Maxis TSMC chip here 64GB.
Jason
post Oct 27 2015, 03:22 AM

6,354 posts

DIGI Samsung on gold 6s plus 64gb. I'm happy, wanted the Samsung chip anyway.
attw
post Oct 27 2015, 07:03 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(DeepMemory @ Oct 26 2015, 11:56 PM)
Maxis TSMC chip here 64GB.
Did you get the 6S or 6S Plus?
DeepMemory
post Oct 27 2015, 08:50 AM

1,805 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Oct 27 2015, 07:03 AM)
Did you get the 6S or 6S Plus?
Its the iPhone 6s sweat.gif
dunnoduh
post Oct 28 2015, 11:48 AM

19 posts

iPhone 6s+ 64gb Rose Gold from Digi with Samsung chip
gill1314
post Oct 28 2015, 07:21 PM

205 posts

user posted imageuser posted image

digi set iphone 6s plus , already no charge for 2 days lol , but i am not a heavy user
prabjit93
post Oct 30 2015, 08:40 AM

740 posts

QUOTE(gill1314 @ Oct 28 2015, 07:21 PM)

digi set iphone 6s plus , already no charge for 2 days lol , but i am not a heavy user

hmm.gif blink.gif never charge at all? that's very impressive rclxms.gif
prabjit93
post Oct 30 2015, 08:44 AM

740 posts

iPhone 6s+ MY set 64gb with samsung chip, still @ 20% i don't see any difference at all smile.gif
3G always on in the background with Wi-Fi connected and bluetooth always(24/7)connected to my apple watch.

This post has been edited by prabjit93: Oct 30 2015, 08:46 AM

gill1314
post Oct 30 2015, 01:42 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(prabjit93 @ Oct 30 2015, 08:40 AM)
hmm.gif  blink.gif  never charge at all? that's very impressive  rclxms.gif
ya , if charge the stat will reset , i charge last night noww 10hours rclxms.gif

prabjit93
post Oct 30 2015, 01:54 PM

740 posts

QUOTE(gill1314 @ Oct 30 2015, 01:42 PM)
ya , if charge the stat will reset , i charge last night noww 10hours  rclxms.gif

yeah while sleeping no usage right. but i don't feel any difference between samsung and tsmc. the phone is powerful biggrin.gif
hensky
post Oct 30 2015, 01:58 PM

644 posts

QUOTE(prabjit93 @ Oct 30 2015, 08:40 AM)

hmm.gif  blink.gif  never charge at all? that's very impressive  rclxms.gif
below usage time
"iPhone has been plugged in since the last full charge" tongue.gif

nevertheless, my iphone 6 plus battery can last more than a day on moderate usage. I think iphone 6s plus can do it better.

This post has been edited by hensky: Oct 30 2015, 02:01 PM
prabjit93
post Oct 30 2015, 02:10 PM

740 posts

QUOTE(hensky @ Oct 30 2015, 01:58 PM)
below usage time
"iPhone has been plugged in since the last full charge" tongue.gif

nevertheless, my iphone 6 plus battery can last more than a day on moderate usage. I think iphone 6s plus can do it better.
yes if less usage, can stay more than 24 hrs. and it did for me for 27hrs
benny888
post Oct 31 2015, 08:56 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

I think this Samsung chipset vs TSMC is indeed a overblown issue
Guys just use your phone without considering the difference
Even the same phone using the same chipset could show differences in battery life and overall performance
Most important Apple has waive off those comments based on that tester and various tech sites had followup to show is a non issue at all
Only those who "hate" Samsung will continue to pursue the differences

prabjit93
post Oct 31 2015, 09:00 AM

740 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Oct 31 2015, 08:56 AM)
I think this Samsung chipset vs TSMC is indeed a overblown issue
Guys just use your phone without considering the difference
Even the same phone using the same chipset could show differences in battery life and overall performance
Most important Apple has waive off those comments based on that tester and various tech sites had followup to show is a non issue at all
Only those who "hate" Samsung will continue to pursue the differences
totally agree with u, i don't see any difference between them. performance still at its best rclxm9.gif
kaspersky-fan
post Oct 31 2015, 06:52 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Oct 23 2015, 06:44 PM)
Poll here seems to indicate more Samsung chips than TSMC ones..
Yep. I got a Sammy as well from Maxis 128gb 6s+
1likegadg3t
post Oct 31 2015, 08:48 PM

Take it or Leave it
1,300 posts

QUOTE(prabjit93 @ Oct 31 2015, 09:00 AM)
totally agree with u, i don't see any difference between them. performance still at its best  rclxm9.gif
Yeah for me still the same performance..no difference
physz.86
post Oct 31 2015, 10:29 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Oct 16 2015, 08:33 PM)
That is because majority samsung chip owner more interested in this topic while tsmc chip owner is enjoying their iphone tongue.gif
physz.86
post Oct 31 2015, 10:31 PM

165 posts

Anybody here experience with lagging on "mobile data" page under setting?

I have exp few times already when try to switch on my mobile data.
kaspersky-fan
post Nov 1 2015, 07:05 AM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(physz.86 @ Oct 31 2015, 10:31 PM)
Anybody here experience with lagging on "mobile data" page under setting?

I have exp few times already when try to switch on my mobile data.
On my ip5 yes... Lagged a lot. On my 6s plus however, it is alright.
Gold_Moderator
post Nov 3 2015, 12:31 AM

3,096 posts

attw
post Nov 3 2015, 08:05 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Nov 3 2015, 12:31 AM)
6S or 6S Plus?
phoneadvisor
post Nov 3 2015, 12:44 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Nov 3 2015, 12:31 AM)

Greetings!

How is your Screen On Time / Usage & Standby Time readings ?

Care to share ? smile.gif

Cheers!
kltan1999
post Nov 4 2015, 12:35 AM

29 posts

A9 Samsung chip for 6S 64GB Grey
Bought from umobile
SUSNicklly
post Nov 4 2015, 12:41 AM

523 posts

Samsung Better or tsmc?
attw
post Nov 4 2015, 09:14 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Nicklly @ Nov 4 2015, 12:41 AM)
Samsung Better or tsmc?
Most reviews will tell you there is negligible differences between the two.
TOMEI-R
post Nov 4 2015, 09:37 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Nicklly @ Nov 4 2015, 12:41 AM)
Samsung Better or tsmc?
QUOTE(attw @ Nov 4 2015, 09:14 AM)
Most reviews will tell you there is negligible differences between the two.
Surprisingly this topic has still not died down. laugh.gif
attw
post Nov 4 2015, 09:47 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 4 2015, 09:37 AM)
Surprisingly this topic has still not died down. laugh.gif
As long as this thread exists, ha ha... Maybe when iPhone 7 launches
TOMEI-R
post Nov 4 2015, 11:40 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Nov 4 2015, 09:47 AM)
As long as this thread exists, ha ha... Maybe when iPhone 7 launches
There will be another "gate" issue then. shakehead.gif
sonic_sphere
post Nov 4 2015, 01:18 PM

452 posts

I just sell my phone yesterday... And now i'm 'iPhoneless'... Thinking to get 6S Plus soon... But i'm like a phobia... Im afraid i cannot accept the facts when i got Samsung chip... And it will keep haunting me when i use it... tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

wwoosy
post Nov 4 2015, 03:46 PM

508 posts

A9 TSMC unit
iPhone 6s RG 128gb
reporting in rclxms.gif
Gold_Moderator
post Nov 4 2015, 05:36 PM

3,096 posts

QUOTE(sonic_sphere @ Nov 4 2015, 01:18 PM)
I just sell my phone yesterday... And now i'm 'iPhoneless'... Thinking to get 6S Plus soon... But i'm like a phobia... Im afraid i cannot accept the facts when i got Samsung chip... And it will keep haunting me when i use it...  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
wait for next ip7 then biggrin.gif
SUSNicklly
post Nov 4 2015, 07:31 PM

523 posts

Buy from aos get tsmc
wwoosy
post Nov 4 2015, 07:41 PM

508 posts

QUOTE(Nicklly @ Nov 4 2015, 07:31 PM)
Buy from aos get tsmc
thumbup.gif
aloy88
post Nov 10 2015, 10:52 PM

253 posts

Iphone6s plus from gardens maxis.
Samsung chip:/
sonic_sphere
post Nov 13 2015, 03:49 PM

452 posts

iPhone 6S Plus... 64 GB Rose Gold... Maxis Sunway Pyramid... Samsung chip... Kind of sad, but overall i'm satisfied because my set is free from yellowish screen, dead pixel, dent/scratch, or any other cosmetic defect...
anderslai
post Nov 15 2015, 10:46 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(prabjit93 @ Oct 30 2015, 08:44 AM)
iPhone 6s+ MY set 64gb with samsung chip, still @ 20% i don't see any difference at all  smile.gif
3G always on in the background with Wi-Fi connected and bluetooth always(24/7)connected to my apple watch.
How is your battery usage lately? Mind share your usage screen?
dikae
post Nov 15 2015, 10:58 PM

an apple a day
9,184 posts

lol doesn't matter TSMC or Samsung, so long the unit has no defect can already.. biggrin.gif
attw
post Nov 16 2015, 10:09 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Nov 15 2015, 10:58 PM)
lol doesn't matter TSMC or Samsung, so long the unit has no defect can already..  biggrin.gif
For some people it's that big a deal - hence this thread and various other similar threads in forums all over the world, heh heh...
dikae
post Nov 16 2015, 11:18 AM

an apple a day
9,184 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Nov 16 2015, 11:09 AM)
For some people it's that big a deal - hence this thread and various other similar threads in forums all over the world, heh heh...
true true tongue.gif
prabjit93
post Nov 16 2015, 11:48 AM

740 posts

QUOTE(anderslai @ Nov 15 2015, 10:46 PM)
How is your battery usage lately? Mind share your usage screen?

anderslai
post Nov 16 2015, 02:17 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(prabjit93 @ Nov 16 2015, 11:48 AM)

Have you try use until 1%?

I am just curious how much usage contributed by background activity for connecting to apple watch..your battery is impressive
prabjit93
post Nov 16 2015, 02:28 PM

740 posts

QUOTE(anderslai @ Nov 16 2015, 02:17 PM)
Have you try use until 1%?

I am just curious how much usage contributed by background activity for connecting to apple watch..your battery is impressive
this might help. my apple watch is connected 24/7, all day all night

anderslai
post Nov 17 2015, 06:21 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(prabjit93 @ Nov 16 2015, 02:28 PM)
this might help. my apple watch is connected 24/7, all day all night
Which app actually uses most of your battery? It is hidden smile.gif
prabjit93
post Nov 17 2015, 07:30 PM

740 posts

QUOTE(anderslai @ Nov 17 2015, 06:21 PM)
Which app actually uses most of your battery? It is hidden smile.gif
yeah sorry i did not take that part, let me try in 2 days
anderslai
post Nov 19 2015, 11:35 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(prabjit93 @ Nov 17 2015, 07:30 PM)
yeah sorry i did not take that part, let me try in 2 days
How was it ?
prabjit93
post Nov 20 2015, 01:41 PM

740 posts

QUOTE(anderslai @ Nov 19 2015, 11:35 AM)
How was it ?
Here's the results. But yesterday I was in Singapore, didn't use this phone very much. And before going to bed my WhatsApp usage was 40%

anderslai
post Nov 21 2015, 05:15 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(prabjit93 @ Nov 20 2015, 01:41 PM)
Here's the results. But yesterday I was in Singapore, didn't use this phone very much. And before going to bed my WhatsApp usage was 40%
With 2% left can last you to bed? smile.gif

prabjit93
post Nov 21 2015, 11:18 PM

740 posts

QUOTE(anderslai @ Nov 21 2015, 05:15 PM)
With 2% left can last you to bed? smile.gif
Not at all. 2% last me 5 mins playing game
anderslai
post Nov 23 2015, 11:46 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(prabjit93 @ Nov 21 2015, 11:18 PM)
Not at all. 2% last me 5 mins playing game
Do you turn on location services > System service? and background app refresh
prabjit93
post Nov 23 2015, 04:47 PM

740 posts

QUOTE(anderslai @ Nov 23 2015, 11:46 AM)
Do you turn on location services > System service? and background app refresh
yes my location services i set on while using. i off my background app refresh. and for system i on find my iPhone, home kit, mobile network search, and share my location
sfotsy
post Nov 23 2015, 08:11 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(BoomBiddy @ Oct 16 2015, 09:53 AM)
Tomshardware test for both chipset. So no need to worry,and its actually a good thing if u got samsung.😄

thanks for your this link, indeed i am worry about is as i got samsung chipset

benny888
post Nov 27 2015, 08:45 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(sfotsy @ Nov 23 2015, 08:11 PM)
thanks for your this link, indeed i am worry about is as i got samsung chipset
Only Samsung haters will blow up this issue. Worse is McDaily news a 101% apple supporter site simply calling the samsung as crap chip.
Samsung infact makes very good chipset n just look at its later exynos range
Infact some tech sites had said even the TSMC chip itself show variances up to 2% on different phones
Apple themselves had assured buyers is not an issue with different chip manufacturer

This post has been edited by benny888: Nov 27 2015, 08:46 AM
BudakCivic
post Nov 29 2015, 11:09 PM

382 posts

Nothing to care. Just to reported here. Bought both ip6s and ips+

1) iPhone 6s 64 gold - Apple Online Store : TSMC
2) iPhone 6s+ 64 gold - Digi Set : Samsung
sfotsy
post Dec 5 2015, 05:30 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Nov 27 2015, 08:45 AM)
Only Samsung haters will blow up this issue. Worse is McDaily news a 101% apple supporter site simply calling the samsung as crap chip.
Samsung infact makes very good chipset n just look at its later exynos range
Infact some tech sites had said even the TSMC chip itself show variances up to 2% on different phones
Apple themselves had assured buyers is not an issue with different chip manufacturer
Hi thanks for your info smile.gif
soonwai
post Dec 6 2015, 04:16 AM

11,455 posts

Purchased about a month ago from Maxis. iPhone 6S 64GB Rose Gold. TSMC.
vampire
post Dec 15 2015, 05:18 PM

60 posts

IPhone 6S 64GB Rose Gold from Celcom. TSMC!
sonic_sphere
post Dec 21 2015, 11:51 PM

452 posts

Just want to share... I bought 2 iPhone 6S Plus - 64 GB from Apple Online Store. Both are TSMC... I think if we buy from Apple Online Store, the chances are 99% to get TSMC...
benny888
post Dec 22 2015, 09:28 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(sonic_sphere @ Dec 21 2015, 11:51 PM)
Just want to share... I bought 2 iPhone 6S Plus - 64 GB from Apple Online Store. Both are TSMC... I think if we buy from Apple Online Store, the chances are 99% to get TSMC...
Just based on 2 sets you came up with such prediction ???
sonic_sphere
post Dec 22 2015, 01:08 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Dec 22 2015, 09:28 AM)
Just based on 2 sets you came up with such prediction ???
Yup, and based on my friends purchased as well, plus some of the forummer here... Thats why i i'm so confident... Well, just my 2 cents... icon_rolleyes.gif
ruggers
post Dec 22 2015, 01:31 PM

161 posts

Machines midvalley...iphone 6s 64GB space gray TSMC chip
Kenneth twy
post Jan 5 2016, 07:43 AM

57 posts

Will tsmc chip for Apple phone can sell used for higher price or same with Samsung chip price?currently I'm using ip6+ 16gb gold tsmc from Apple Store aus....
attw
post Jan 5 2016, 08:35 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Kenneth twy @ Jan 5 2016, 07:43 AM)
Will tsmc chip for Apple phone can sell used for higher price or same with Samsung chip price?currently I'm using ip6+ 16gb gold tsmc from Apple Store aus....
I really doubt so - the difference in performance is not noticeable in real life usage
anderslai
post Feb 7 2016, 05:59 PM

34 posts

How is everyone's 6s/6s+ battery life after update to 9.2.1?

Mind to share usage screen?

This post has been edited by anderslai: Feb 7 2016, 05:59 PM
OKLY
post Feb 7 2016, 08:27 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

Got a Samsung chip when I bought during launch night, sent in for warranty and the replacement came with a TSMC chip.
anderslai
post Feb 7 2016, 10:45 PM

34 posts

Mind share your usage screen?
QUOTE(OKLY @ Feb 7 2016, 08:27 PM)
Got a Samsung chip when I bought during launch night, sent in for warranty and the replacement came with a TSMC chip.
cawan
post Feb 8 2016, 07:51 PM

404 posts

3 days ip6s 16gb from Maxis, Samsung chip.
attw
post Feb 10 2016, 11:02 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(anderslai @ Feb 7 2016, 05:59 PM)
How is everyone's 6s/6s+ battery life after update to 9.2.1?

Mind to share usage screen?
So far it's not different from 9.2. Am waiting for 9.3 smile.gif
anderslai
post Feb 11 2016, 02:38 PM

34 posts

How many hours of battery usage you get?
QUOTE(attw @ Feb 10 2016, 11:02 AM)
So far it's not different from 9.2. Am waiting for 9.3 smile.gif
attw
post Feb 11 2016, 07:42 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(anderslai @ Feb 11 2016, 02:38 PM)
How many hours of battery usage you get?
I've stopped vigorously tracking my battery usage for some time now like I did when I first got the 6S Plus. I've maxed it out to about 7-8 hours of usage with more than 40 hours of standby so it's not an issue for me. All I know now is that the phone gets me through the day without having to charge or use a powerbank, and I have more than 50% battery life when I usually plug it in to charge at night.

Also, I hardly use low power mode, so I'm sure the battery can go longer if I want it to smile.gif
sj0217
post Feb 11 2016, 08:00 PM

6,483 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Feb 11 2016, 07:42 PM)
I've stopped vigorously tracking my battery usage for some time now like I did when I first got the 6S Plus. I've maxed it out to about 7-8 hours of usage with more than 40 hours of standby so it's not an issue for me. All I know now is that the phone gets me through the day without having to charge or use a powerbank, and I have more than 50% battery life  when I usually plug it in to charge at night.

Also, I hardly use low power mode, so I'm sure the battery can go longer if I want it to smile.gif
Same here, I'm now no need carry power bank when outside, quite satisfy with this battery, no worry if heavy use on daily too and charge at night time when sleep

Last time always need to carry power bank...
BudakCivic
post Feb 13 2016, 02:37 AM

382 posts

Today just bought ip6s 64gb grey from UMobile got TSMC chip
SUSraynman
post Feb 13 2016, 06:37 AM

4,333 posts

iPhone 7 A10 chip to be made exclusively by TSMC, Samsung semiconductor in trouble

With global semiconductor sales peaking in 2015 and a weak forecast for 2016, the holy grail of chip contracts in 2016 was always going to be the A10 for the iPhone 7.

Samsung was, understandably, going after it in earnest, but a new report out of South Korea claims Samsung rival TSMC has been awarded the exclusive rights to produce
the A10 for the iPhone 7, sending Samsung into a “state of emergency”.

While Samsung and TSMC have previously shared the load of chip production for the iPhone, TSMC reportedly won the exclusive contract due to its more advanced 10 nm process
compared to Samsung’s 14 nm process.

Full-scale production is scheduled to begin in June. Samsung was left reeling back in 2014 when TSMC got the exclusive rights to the A8 chip-production for the iPhone 6,
but successfully managed to split the chip supply contract with TSMC for the 6s and 6s Plus.

Losing half of the contract to TSMC is going to mean very bad things for Samsung’s System LSI division.

While this news is only being reported in South Korea today, Samsung’s semiconductor division apparently knew about the contract being awarded solely to TSMC
back in the latter half of last year and is perhaps why Samsung was forecasting a tough year ahead for semiconductor sales.

This is perhaps also why Samsung has been aggressively courting Qualcomm over the contract to produce the Snapdragon 820.

Considering the performance differences uncovered between the different iPhone 6s models last year, Apple’s choice seems a wise one for the iPhone 7.

Not only is the TSMC process more advanced, iPhone 6s models that used the TSMC A9 were found to run cooler and offer better battery savings – however marginal –
than their Samsung twins.

It may have been the first time iPhone users actually cared about the specs of the latest iPhone.
attw
post Feb 14 2016, 09:30 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(raynman @ Feb 13 2016, 06:37 AM)
iPhone 7 A10 chip to be made exclusively by TSMC, Samsung semiconductor in trouble

With global semiconductor sales peaking in 2015 and a weak forecast for 2016, the holy grail of chip contracts in 2016 was always going to be the A10 for the iPhone 7.

Samsung was, understandably, going after it in earnest, but a new report out of South Korea claims Samsung rival TSMC has been awarded the exclusive rights to produce
the A10 for the iPhone 7, sending Samsung into a “state of emergency”.

While Samsung and TSMC have previously shared the load of chip production for the iPhone, TSMC reportedly won the exclusive contract due to its more advanced 10 nm process
compared to Samsung’s 14 nm process.

Full-scale production is scheduled to begin in June. Samsung was left reeling back in 2014 when TSMC got the exclusive rights to the A8 chip-production for the iPhone 6,
but successfully managed to split the chip supply contract with TSMC for the 6s and 6s Plus.

Losing half of the contract to TSMC is going to mean very bad things for Samsung’s System LSI division.

While this news is only being reported in South Korea today, Samsung’s semiconductor division apparently knew about the contract being awarded solely to TSMC
back in the latter half of last year and is perhaps why Samsung was forecasting a tough year ahead for semiconductor sales.

This is perhaps also why Samsung has been aggressively courting Qualcomm over the contract to produce the Snapdragon 820.

Considering the performance differences uncovered between the different iPhone 6s models last year, Apple’s choice seems a wise one for the iPhone 7.

Not only is the TSMC process more advanced, iPhone 6s models that used the TSMC A9 were found to run cooler and offer better battery savings – however marginal –
than their Samsung twins.

It may have been the first time iPhone users actually cared about the specs of the latest iPhone.
Given that Apple themselves claimed that performance difference was marginal between the two chips, I'm sure they have other reasons not to go with Samsung for the iPhone 7. This strikes me as more sensationalism rather than anything else.
monocle
post Feb 17 2016, 12:24 AM

2,645 posts

Mine is a TSMC chip, bought from oyes mid valley
monocle
post Feb 17 2016, 12:24 AM

2,645 posts

anderslai
post Feb 25 2016, 07:46 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(monocle @ Feb 17 2016, 12:24 AM)
Can show your battery stat on usage?
vampire
post Mar 25 2016, 06:19 PM

60 posts

Seems the latest are all TSMC. Maybe in iPhone SE too.
jesseblue
post Mar 25 2016, 06:20 PM

1,113 posts

Got both Maxis sets - 6s and 6s plus
Both sets are TSMC
SSR
post Apr 2 2016, 07:08 AM

57 posts

iPhone 6s plus 64gb Maxis TSMC smile.gif
vampire
post Apr 4 2016, 07:39 AM

60 posts

Any iPhone SE user check the chip?
shaniandras2787
post Apr 4 2016, 10:50 AM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

guys, planning on dropping the bomb on a 6s

1) http://www.lazada.com.my/apple-iphone-6s-1...ld-4275846.html
- this is cheaper by RM100 but it states "no warranty"?

2) http://www.lazada.com.my/apple-iphone-6s-1...et-4670305.html
- this however has the 1 year local manufacturer warranty clause.

what gives rclxub.gif
benny888
post Apr 10 2016, 01:53 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Seriously I don't see any significant difference between my ex 64gb ip6s+ ( Samsung chip) n current 128gb ( TSMC chip)
So guys do not even need to bother over it

anderslai
post Apr 15 2016, 06:14 PM

34 posts

Anyone mind to share their battery usage screen on IOS 9.3.1?
GamersFamilia
post Apr 17 2016, 08:29 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,733 posts

is there any difference between those chips ?
SSR
post Apr 19 2016, 08:11 AM

57 posts

Mine..6s+ 64gb iOS 9.3.1

This post has been edited by SSR: Apr 19 2016, 08:13 AM

jesseblue
post Apr 19 2016, 03:38 PM

1,113 posts

QUOTE(SSR @ Apr 19 2016, 08:11 AM)
Mine..6s+ 64gb iOS 9.3.1
I think the discussion here is which chip your iphone is having.
XiuKeong
post Apr 19 2016, 05:46 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,436 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Apr 10 2016, 01:53 PM)
Seriously I don't see any significant difference between my ex 64gb ip6s+ ( Samsung chip) n current 128gb ( TSMC chip)
So guys do not even need to bother over it
For some users, that mere % consider a big deal already whistling.gif
benny888
post Apr 19 2016, 05:57 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Apr 19 2016, 05:46 PM)
For some users, that mere % consider a big deal already whistling.gif
Apple had infact said a very small % difference exist too among phones with same chip too. They had officially said the differences between Samsung n TSMC is negligible and should not be a concern
Again is user perception thinking one is better than the other
anderslai
post Apr 21 2016, 12:42 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(SSR @ Apr 19 2016, 08:11 AM)
Mine..6s+ 64gb iOS 9.3.1
Incredible..what is ur top 3 apps that uses the most battery? Did you music streaming alot?
anderslai
post Apr 23 2016, 12:41 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(anderslai @ Apr 21 2016, 12:42 AM)
Incredible..what is ur top 3 apps that uses the most battery? Did you music streaming alot?
How about others? Also achieve such incredible battery usage?

SSR
post Apr 23 2016, 08:01 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(jesseblue @ Apr 19 2016, 03:38 PM)
I think the discussion here is which chip your iphone is having.
anderslai
post May 4 2016, 10:47 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(SSR @ Apr 23 2016, 08:01 AM)
Wow..cool..mind to share your battery usage screen?
GamersFamilia
post May 5 2016, 06:01 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,733 posts

QUOTE(anderslai @ May 4 2016, 10:47 AM)
would like to know too
Mr.7
post May 5 2016, 06:25 PM

1,242 posts

QUOTE(anderslai @ May 4 2016, 10:47 AM)
QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ May 5 2016, 06:01 PM)
would like to know too

post #194 ada.
GamersFamilia
post May 5 2016, 08:50 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,733 posts

QUOTE(Mr.7 @ May 5 2016, 06:25 PM)
post #194 ada.
Oops ok
anderslai
post May 18 2016, 11:03 AM

34 posts

Any improvement on battery life after installing 9.3.2?
Mr.7
post May 18 2016, 11:05 AM

1,242 posts

QUOTE(anderslai @ May 18 2016, 11:03 AM)
Any improvement on battery life after installing 9.3.2?
i do noticed a slight improvement compared to 9.3.1.
anderslai
post May 18 2016, 11:23 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(Mr.7 @ May 18 2016, 11:05 AM)
i do noticed a slight improvement compared to 9.3.1.
Oh..good...what phone are you using? Mind to share battery usage?
ZzZzz...
post May 18 2016, 11:55 AM

Art of Sleeping
1,782 posts

ip6s 128gb digi set tsmc??? good or bad?? LOL
anderslai
post May 18 2016, 12:18 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(ZzZzz... @ May 18 2016, 11:55 AM)
Very good..can show your usage?
GamersFamilia
post May 18 2016, 01:07 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,733 posts

QUOTE(ZzZzz... @ May 18 2016, 11:55 AM)
the best thumbup.gif
ZzZzz...
post May 18 2016, 09:23 PM

Art of Sleeping
1,782 posts

QUOTE(anderslai @ May 18 2016, 12:18 PM)
Very good..can show your usage?
here you go..i think diff not that much right??? hmmm

g3n0c1d3
post May 27 2016, 10:07 AM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

iphone 6s plus 64gb with TSMC chip....

so far the battery is ok i guess... compare to my last iphone 6 plus also with TSMC chip... the battery life on the iphone 6 plus was way better than my current iphone 6s plus
anderslai
post May 31 2016, 12:41 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ May 27 2016, 10:07 AM)

so far the battery is ok i guess... compare to my last iphone 6 plus also with TSMC chip... the battery life on the iphone 6 plus was way better than my current iphone 6s plus
Can share your battery usage screen?
attw
post May 31 2016, 04:15 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ May 27 2016, 10:07 AM)

I concur. The 6 Plus has a 2915mAH battery and one RAM less than the 2750mAH battery of the 6s Plus. Can't fathom the logic..

Anyways, fingers crossed that iOS 10 has even better optimization smile.gif

0.1283sec    0.70    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:19 AM