Chinese wedding dinner ang pow, U invite me go y still i need to pay
redeyeskev
Oct 14 2015, 11:46 PM

Expecting your guests to give at least a minimum amount of angpow is not only disrespectful to them, but to you and your family. When you throw a wedding banquet, you're inviting your guests to celebrate one of the most important days in your life with you. Their presence alone should be a great honour. Angpow is a token of appreciation and should be left at that. There should be no pressure whatsoever.
I'm getting married soon, and already decide with my wife-to-be to throw a banquet that is intimate and keep it below 200 pax. Any guest we invite will be significant people in our lives.
We've set the money aside and all expenses should be rightly borne by us. If there's angpow money, we consider it bonus and gift. And if nobody gives us any angpow at all, we're absolutely fine with that.
Wedding dinner is not a business
redeyeskev
Oct 15 2015, 04:32 AM

QUOTE(yeo50 @ Oct 15 2015, 01:19 AM) Nobody says its a business. Its just a tradition for chinese especially buddhist or taoist. If christian of course different tradition. And dont expect all the married couple required you to pay a minimum fee. Dont apply to every chinese. If you rich and dont need people to pay that is your business and dont assume that this chinese tradition is shitty. Its just a kind of respect and you help me i help you. Respect is not expexting or wanting your guests to pay/sponsor your dinner. Are you even listening to yourself? And I don't know where you read in my post that I say the tradition is shitty. It started out as a well-meaning form of gratitude. But overtime, people nowadays tend to expect guests to fund their wedding. Does that even make sense to u? If you need help marrying someone why don't you share your bride too? How's that sound?