QUOTE(Discrucio Anima @ Dec 9 2006, 11:51 PM)
Recently playing lappy so just give me 2 cents
Try to address where the heat is from:
1. CPU
Open up, clean up the white goo, put some good thermal paste. Make sure the laptop's internal cooler fan is clean and working. Undervolt if you know what you are doing.
Ditto.. using AS5 instead of the standard hastily applied white goo/silver sticker really helps. Bear in mind that lappies are mostly designed for ease of assembly so that underpaid factory workers can assemble them in the shortest time possible.
Also... check on the heatpipe's contact with the cpu plate. Try filling up the contact with AS5 unless you have the equipment to resolder the heatpipes lor.
2. Hard disk
Can't do much about this. But avoid torrenting on your lappie la. I don't think
notebook hard disks can take that much stress.
This really depends on the lappy's cooling design. I see a lot of lappy's designed with only small intake vents which are great for passing EMI but bad for cooling.
I've been torrenting on my lappy for the past week and the HDD barely touch 40C. Most of the time at 36C. Set a bigger cache to avoid writing on the HDD too much. So it really depends on how the lappy is designed.

ps: Component lifetime is a different story altogether.

Edit: Idling at 41C and HDD temp 36C.. torrenting for the past week.
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Atta...=post&id=212157QUOTE
3. Battery
What the forummer said above is true. Running on AC without the battery attached will make the notebook run cooler. (charging battery generates heat. Plugged in with 100% battery still generate some heat somehow)
I've measured the AC power draw using a Seasonic power angel...
Running idle without battery --> ~22W
Running idle while charging battery --> 55W
Running idle with battery 100% charged --> ~22W
This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Apr 2 2007, 01:44 PM