126 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Bottom

[Definitive] Xbox 360 Talk V6, Ace Combat 6 & Devil May Cry 4...on 360.

stringfellow
post Dec 15 2006, 12:47 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Dec 15 2006, 12:06 AM)
U haven't been to the AV tunnel located upstairs yet.... imagine, all the speakers are embedded in the walls and shakers on the floors. Creating a perfect surround experience.  drool.gif But there's still no display panel in the 'tunnel', still a work in progress. So it's more of a 'A tunnel' instead of 'A/V Tunnel'.  laugh.gif  I can't imagine playing GOW in that room... sure surround abis.  rclxms.gif
Fcuk man, audiophile's wet dream! drool.gif

Initial impression on the HD-DVD? Virtually no difference viewing at 1080i compared to the 1080p on Bluray! Jawdroppingly awesome! Colors are vivid, pops out as much as the HDMI connection, i dont see any edge artifacting, and the scenes i have raved about in MI3 in the PS3 thread, is as bloody eyepopping as it is in HD-DVD! The pores, the wrinkles, the bridge scene, the interrogation scene, the Agent Farris rescue, the helicopter chase, the Shanghai color test scene, the emergence from captive scene atop the rooftops of Shanghai, it is ALL there folks! ZERO lag when pulling out the Guide! A perfect gift for those who wants to savor HD Movies at a fraction of the price.

There are some very very minute digital noise at the bridge scene, and microsecond glimpses of scanlines during fast camera pans, and very slight less-than-razor-sharp detailing on things like Julia's hair and such, but this never detracts from what's an already awesome movie transfer for this title. The very same slick movie menu is also present, exactly like the Bluray version. I would heartily recommend this to anyone who wants a more than capable HD-DVD player for that first virgin taste of HD movie experience. At this price point, it is a fcuking STEAL! GET THIS HD-DVD drive before Microsoft realizes that they are selling this addon underpriced!

Alkt bro, you can cekik me all you want, aku rela dicekik, but seriously bro, you will be hard pressed to find any difference , if there are any whatsoever, with the Bluray version of the movie. It really fits its tagline "The Look and Sound of PERFECT!" Microsoft HD-DVD Addon receives a well-deserved 5 out of 5 star from me! thumbup.gif

TSPrivateJohn
post Dec 15 2006, 12:48 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

w00t...first time see hd-dvd player status.
stringfellow
post Dec 15 2006, 12:52 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(PrivateJohn @ Dec 15 2006, 12:48 AM)
w00t...first time see hd-dvd player status.
Ahahahah, thanks PJ! That's really something new! biggrin.gif
alkt
post Dec 15 2006, 12:55 AM

^_^
10,231 posts

damn u string. i shall look forward to the world of HD/BD biggrin.gif
dantwt
post Dec 15 2006, 12:55 AM

OverD
1,308 posts

if i were to buy games from Play Asia, i only can buy it online?
i'm trying to search for NTSC-U/C games in Msia and its quite hard to find...anyone knows which shop can i get it?
redbull_y2k
post Dec 15 2006, 01:01 AM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Dec 15 2006, 12:47 AM)
Fcuk man, audiophile's wet dream! drool.gif

Initial impression on the HD-DVD? Virtually no difference viewing at 1080i compared to the 1080p on Bluray! Jawdroppingly awesome! Colors are vivid, pops out as much as the HDMI connection, i dont see any edge artifacting, and the scenes i have raved about in MI3 in the PS3 thread, is as bloody eyepopping as it is in HD-DVD! The pores, the wrinkles, the bridge scene, the interrogation scene, the Agent Farris rescue, the helicopter chase, the Shanghai color test scene, the emergence from captive scene atop the rooftops of Shanghai, it is ALL there folks! ZERO lag when pulling out the Guide! A perfect gift for those who wants to savor HD Movies at a fraction of the price.

There are some very very minute digital noise at the bridge scene, and microsecond glimpses of scanlines during fast camera pans, and very slight less-than-razor-sharp detailing on things like Julia's hair and such, but this never detracts from what's an already awesome movie transfer for this title. The very same slick movie menu is also present, exactly like the Bluray version. I would heartily recommend this to anyone who wants a more than capable HD-DVD player for that first virgin taste of HD movie experience. At this price point, it is a fcuking STEAL! GET THIS HD-DVD drive before Microsoft realizes that they are selling this addon underpriced!

Alkt bro, you can cekik me all you want, aku rela dicekik, but seriously bro, you will be hard pressed to find any difference , if there are any whatsoever, with the Bluray version of the movie. It really fits its tagline "The Look and Sound of PERFECT!" Microsoft HD-DVD Addon receives a well-deserved 5 out of 5 star from me! thumbup.gif
wait a minute... how bout some comment on the audio? tongue.gif

stringfellow
post Dec 15 2006, 01:03 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Audio tabley bukak kuat2, nanti aku kena belasah dek neighbour. I know there are reports that audio downmix via optical has the flaws of very soft volume. We will have to wait for the audio report once the sun comes out tomorrow.

The only title with Dolby TrueHD is Superman Returns, im gonna use that as the reference material for sound inspection esok. Tapi setup aku sangat la banyak kekurangannya, 5.1 jer. sad.gif

Im am bloody impressed with the visuals, top notch!

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Dec 15 2006, 01:09 AM
stringfellow
post Dec 15 2006, 01:10 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I love it when Alkt talks "bloody bloody" to me. laugh.gif TO me now, Sony and Microsoft are equal now, but there is one secret weapon. Microsoft's HD-DVD has this really interactive feature called U-Control, where you control certain aspects of the movie while it's playing. GPS positioning during the car chase in Tokyo Drift movie, for example. Bluray discs have yet such interactive feature.

Goddamn, i simply cannot wait for my Tokyo Drift to arrive! rclxm9.gif
alkt
post Dec 15 2006, 01:35 AM

^_^
10,231 posts

oh blardy hell dry.gif

ur MI3 is mine forever!!! tongue.gif tongue.gif
stringfellow
post Dec 15 2006, 01:53 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ Dec 15 2006, 01:35 AM)
oh blardy hell dry.gif

ur MI3 is mine forever!!! tongue.gif tongue.gif
Oiiiii! vmad.gif

Superman Return at Airplane rescue scene + Dolby TrueHD = Orgasm!
ps360
post Dec 15 2006, 07:37 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Dec 15 2006, 02:53 AM)
Superman Return at Airplane rescue scene + Dolby TrueHD = Orgasm!
stringfellow. Please stop poisoning everyone here. I already bought
3 Bluray discs from amazon.com eventhough my PS3 will only be
happening on the first week of Jan! But if my timing is correct, it
should be right on time for amazon's delivery!

MI:3 / Corpse Bride / Ice Age 2 rclxms.gif

Now HD-DVD on the Xbox360 pulak! What lah ......

This post has been edited by ps360: Dec 15 2006, 10:52 AM
MacDaNife
post Dec 15 2006, 08:33 AM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Dec 14 2006, 10:05 PM)

Upon arriving at Kelvin's place, only saw one HD DVD,and its opened. Kelvin is this very shy, soft spoken , nice chap whom i have known since my pirated DVD-buying days in Lowyat Plaza, apparently he had moved his base of operation to Cineleisure, and freed himself from selling filthy pirated DVDs to selling originals mostly. Good for you Kelvin!
Kelvin gone legit?

Don't get me wrong, I buy originals off Amazon but if there's a pirate with quality control: that would be KelvinDVD at LYP. There goes the try-before-you-buy option... blush.gif
MK84
post Dec 15 2006, 11:41 AM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

String..... oooi enough with the ramblings.... peeektures.... peeeektures! tongue.gif

BTW have you tried popping a Region 1 DVD into the HD-DVD drive?

This post has been edited by MK84: Dec 15 2006, 11:42 AM
stringfellow
post Dec 15 2006, 12:25 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(MK84 @ Dec 15 2006, 11:41 AM)
String..... oooi enough with the ramblings.... peeektures.... peeeektures! tongue.gif

BTW have you tried popping a Region 1 DVD into the HD-DVD drive?
Camera aku cikai ler bro sad.gif Wont do the images justice, especially justice that is Superman Return.

Okay, i've done sampling the audio. One really poignant example on how explosively almighty is the Dolby TrueHD is, is at the start of the Superman Return movie. Set it to Dolby TrueHD, and listen when the red sun explodes around Krypton. Subwoofer begging for mercy, man! But no rest for the weary, as soon as the sun goes supernova, watch AND LISTEN as the shockwave hits Krypton and shatters it to a million pieces, as again LISTEN as these pieces comes flying towards you. Audio bliss!

I've watched and listened to the older movies especially the first Mission Impossible, and the visuals surprisingly held up to the quality. I was ready to be disappointed since this is an older film transfer, but the clarity, and yes, the pores and the wrinkles are there as well. Paramount must have digged out the old actual film and cleaned it, it looks phenomenal! There are scenes and passing moments of actual grain on the film, but you'll be hard pressed to find these when you're marveling at the clarity and of course the gripping story.

And one more thing, they have done a remix of the opening intro of the first Mission Impossible movie, now even the intro is mixed in surround, the instruments now takes turn ringing and sounding around your satellites. Great job Paramount!
madmoz
post Dec 15 2006, 12:26 PM

4,250 posts

DjiNn, you selling this add-on?

The rest,

Is this add on region locked - ie we can only watch US DVDs?
Pardon my ignorance? blink.gif
DjiNn
post Dec 15 2006, 12:29 PM

~||Noob Game Console Advisor||~
Store Representative
7,931 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Dec 15 2006, 12:26 PM)

The rest,

trying to get and see how it goes. Cause the dvd hd player are for japanese only~. if get.. warranty will be an issue.. so I see how it goes then.
stringfellow
post Dec 15 2006, 12:41 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Dec 15 2006, 12:26 PM)

The rest,

HD-DVD is currently region free, although there are talks now of implementing region coding via firmware upgrades.

MK bro, im using component, so upscaling doesnt work on this. Malas nak plug in VGA cables, because of the color washout. I've seen how upscaling works on the 360, it does improve PQ somewhat, but no near HD-DVD quality.

when i was playing the Superman Return HDDVD combo disc , i made the mistake of putting it on the DVD side, and first thing that came out of my mouth was, WTF, apa gambar blur nih!? Clicked the "Display" button on the TV, saw it at 480p, immediately realized it's the DVD side of the disc. Quickly ejected the tray and flipped it to the HDDVD side. Ahhhhhhhhhh......visual heaven! laugh.gif
Maniac
post Dec 15 2006, 12:59 PM

That Tech Guy Who Use Nikon For Video
5,938 posts

hahahah u must had tot u thrown ur money to the sea for the HDDVD heheheh
MK84
post Dec 15 2006, 01:09 PM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Dec 15 2006, 12:41 PM)
MK bro, im using component, so upscaling doesnt work on this. Malas nak plug in VGA cables, because of the color washout. I've seen how upscaling works on the 360, it does improve PQ somewhat, but no near HD-DVD quality.
Oo I forgot yours is US set. I was wondering if you can play Region 1 DVDs with the HD-DVD drive.

samurai20
post Dec 15 2006, 02:14 PM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

erkk Q...

How to delete gamer tag in 360... try to delete some.. gamer tag but.. cant la... arhh noob nyer... biggrin.gif..

This post has been edited by samurai20: Dec 15 2006, 02:15 PM

126 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.2762sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:47 AM