Sony Xperia Z5 Premium, short review - actual usage

TSFireIceCombo
post Oct 12 2015, 03:19 PM, updated 11y ago

206 posts

Earlier today:

Hi all, buntutman here.

Sorry for the long hiatus, been really busy and bored of the intehnets for a long while. Well, i'm back, not for long but i'm back and here to bring you some fresh exciting excitement.

So anyway, i dug up some old stuff and found this guy. Anyone wanna guess what phone and model this is ? Winner gets >9000 free intehnets and yea, i'll put your nickname at the top of my thread or something. So first person who guessed correctly, gets his name displayed on this thread, or another. Just for the fun of it la.

Pic:

Well, i'm the midst of compiling and condensing a super condensed review, just for you guys. I'll have it up shortly tonight or something. No i've not ditched samsung as some of u know me by, i've even got the new *cough galaxy**cough* with me due launch early next year.
No i don't apple anything. Otherwise i'd be typing in that other subforum instead.
Yes i've got the new *cough**cough* but i've sworn to secrecy and its too effing early to say anything.
Yes i''ve got some other *cough*hpc*cough* and a *cough ahwei* but it's not much to shout about so i'll leave those aside for now.

For now, happy guessing. First to guess correctly the brand and model gets an acknowledgment by me as the geekster of the mobile world.

Till later, cheerios !

News came in, i'm off to johor for a couple of days. Might not have free time so i'll hand some now before i leave for home to pack and off i go.

Yes indeed, it is a Sony Z5 but not just any Z5. Its THE Z5 Premium E6883.

Here the long story that's condensed:

I've had this for more than a month now. I've been using this and only this for more than 20 days straight. Sony is pretty strict when it comes to benchmarking and they basically don't allow any benchmarking to be run on their phones.

I will not run through these specs with you because u've seen it all over the internet by now, however i'll give it this piece of information which might come in handy. This stuff is heavy. Weight wise. Physically really really heavy. If u're gonna use this as your daily phone, u will be getting some form of exercise. While i'm still used to using my old nokia n79 from the yesteryears, (yes its still fking working and i got a new battery from taobao), this is not an easy phone to lug around, use for gaming time, use for quiet time etc etc u get the drift.

Speed & Power :- Jeremy Clarkson @ speed and power, solves many things. In the case of the Z5 premium, it doesnt. I do suspect my 4k videos are not really 4k. And while there are rumors going around saying it isnt really spewing out 4k all the time, but most of the times and clocks downwards to FHD instead, i have no way of verifying this statement. I tend to lean on the rumor side this time. While my old weary eyes are unable to distinguish FHD QHD, i did sense there was some point it was spewing out 1080p or 720p.

Does it lag ? Yes it did. I play plunder pirates. Graphically its quite intense. It shuddered a moment or two.

Could it have been a software glitch ? Probably yes. I didnt get the consumer version . Its not launched yet so i wouldn't effing know. Yes it did shudder, yes it did lag.

Readable under sunlight ? Yes.

Camera good ? Having played with Note 5, i'd say comparable. Note 5 still comes out tops for me for various reasoning.

Dual sim ? Yes.

MEM slot ? Yes.

LTE ? Buggy as hell. i work opposite a cell tower in a very good area. So it's perfect line of sight plus my office is a 3 story shoplot. I'm not in some 50 story building relying on repeaters or so.

-86dBm @ 14 asu. Translation: Good stuffs.

Price ? Now although i signed up for secrecy, the starting figure (after rounding up) is 3. Please dont ask me further on this. They'd have my head on a platter.

Back and front fingerprint magnet ? Surprisingly, back only. And yes, it is definitely a fingerprint magnet.

Volume ? Good and reasonable. Speakerfon is good for driving @ 80km/h. Mic is sensitive enough. No issues here.

Chargetime ? Very quick. Comparable with Note 5. Quickcharge is good stuff.

Battery lasting ? Hell no. I'd be lying if i say the battery lasts. Its not even removable. U need to lug around a cable or a yoobao. My Nokia N79 lasts. My Nokia 6310i lasts. These days, if u expect speed and power, don't expect it to last. My best performance for Z5 premium daily usage, is about 4.5 hours tops.

Heat ? Yes. Plunder pirates is not a chapalang game. U might not play it, but i do. So it doesnt really matter now does it ?

How bout heat and brightness and volume and combo playing a 4k movie ? Now lets face it, its a fking mobile phone. I cant sit 1.5 hours watching an entire movie with it now can i ? If i had 1.5 hours of movie time, its GSC or MBO for me. But i did it once. And i mentioned earlier, i did suspect it was down to 1080p or 720p for a couple of moments.

Independant camera button at the side good ? Hell yes it is. All the god damn buttons are on the same side, power, volume rocker and camera. This makes your one hand shots crap to do and terrible to hold due to the weight. Did i mention this phone is heavy ?

Yes its heavy but its because its made out of X-steel and Y-acrylic and Z-tungsten ? This can go on forever with the fact this phone is heavy. Nobody these days want a heavy phone. Its slim, lightweight, powerful and lasting. Not heavy bulky, looks good and weighs a ton.

That's all from me for now. Feel free to add anything u like.
Here are some pics, courtesy from me.

FYI - Why are all my pics taken with cigarette boxes ? I like smoking. I'm not trying to promote it, but here's a fact i can give you. All cigarette boxes are from offset packaging. They are basically very accurate right down to the mm in dimensions. Plus they are easily available everywhere, and its one of the best objects when refering to size. U don't have a cigarette box ? Almost every coffee shop, mamak shop, supermarket, hypermarket or even your circle of friends have it.

Enjoy and cheerios. And to the xperiaDROID, sorry. Xperia Z5 got 3 diff models. I needed to know which exact model it is.

This post has been edited by FireIceCombo: Oct 13 2015, 09:36 AM
xperiaDROID
post Oct 12 2015, 03:21 PM

K
3,966 posts

Sony Xperia Z5.

Now where's my prize?
Zot
post Oct 12 2015, 03:35 PM

7,940 posts

This is Sony
TSFireIceCombo
post Oct 13 2015, 09:37 AM

206 posts

inserted my sim card in again, toy-ed with it a little further and yea, the whole phone is basically not to my liking.
jabz
post Oct 13 2015, 11:33 AM

282 posts

currently will stick to z2
TSFireIceCombo
post Oct 13 2015, 01:30 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(jabz @ Oct 13 2015, 11:33 AM)
currently will stick to z2
so got waterproof ka ? the one i tested oredi mampus being submerged in my sup tom yam leh
jabz
post Oct 13 2015, 02:42 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(FireIceCombo @ Oct 13 2015, 01:30 PM)
so got waterproof ka ? the one i tested oredi mampus being submerged in my sup tom yam leh
yup... waterproof... z5 not waterproof meh?
TSFireIceCombo
post Oct 13 2015, 02:47 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(jabz @ Oct 13 2015, 02:42 PM)
yup... waterproof... z5 not waterproof meh?
i cant swim
PsychoHDxMachine
post Oct 13 2015, 02:50 PM

249 posts

Seems it's very bad impression. Since z5 premium already bad comments, can't say more with other z5 models.
TSFireIceCombo
post Oct 13 2015, 02:54 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(PsychoHDxMachine @ Oct 13 2015, 02:50 PM)
Seems it's very bad impression. Since z5 premium already bad comments, can't say more with other z5 models.
i am ok with the z5. not the premium or the compact but the standard z5.
raymondtong94
post Oct 13 2015, 05:56 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

So to conclude, the LTE is good or bad? I'm confused that when you mentioned -86dbm @ 14asu, it's a good line while you mentioned buggy as hell.
kakikubesi
post Oct 13 2015, 06:21 PM

1,274 posts

Wrong post

This post has been edited by kakikubesi: Oct 13 2015, 06:22 PM
mun88
post Oct 13 2015, 07:25 PM

850 posts

friend can you try youtube ? can watch 4k video ?? or 2k video ?? or only can watch 1080p video only ?? i mean all this in youtube

This post has been edited by mun88: Oct 13 2015, 07:26 PM
remix2040
post Oct 13 2015, 10:01 PM

Ma! Get the camera!
4,423 posts

Well, if you actually interpret what Sony said, i think they said something along the lines of to maintain a healthy 2 day battery life as advertised, the phone may have to result to 1080p OR 720p. For me, I can well differentiate from 640p to 1440p. I am beginning to wonder if I can actually really differentiate between 2k to 4k. There is a slight sharpness jump from 1080p to 2k. Icons looks better and not smudged out, text looks sharper, etc etc. Thus said, I actually dont mind if the phone sometimes drop to 720p to preserve some of that precious battery juice.

However, it begs the question. What is the screen on time for the Z5 Premium? As for my Xperia Z3+, I am getting consistently 6 hours to 6 and a half hours of screen on time with LTE, bluetooth on. and it follows on til the following morning. Given that as Sony claimed it to be a 2 day-er, I can vouch for that. In the case of the Z5 Premium, it could be just beta software that they are still testing out. LTE bands not being properly unlocked is one. Given that this is true when I got my review unit for the Samsung Galaxy S6 edge, the screen on time on beta software is atrocious, I get 2 hours of screen on time everyday. Sometimes 3 if I'm lucky.

For performance, all I assume is that it is as said above, beta software. And i am aware of Sony's somewhat retarded guidelines that come stuck on the box of the review units. Synthetic benchmarks are not to be done on any of their phones. Heck, some of the phones come with the black sticker stuck across the branding, and you're not allowed to take them off sad.gif personally, I am not a fan of synthetic benchmarks. To me they're just numbers on a spreadsheet where you compare with devices to see who has the highest score. That's complete bullsh*t. However, I am looking forward to see the finished product of this phone.

For camera, I've long since given up hope for Sony to improve their algorithm on live image view and post-processing. They had 3 chances to change it since the Z1, all of them seem largely the same. I'll still be interested in checking this one out when i get the chance to. Hope they get it right this time, given the DxoMark has rated the Z5 series a 87 on their scale.
Andrewtst
post Oct 14 2015, 02:20 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,784 posts

I already 50% off from my consideration when I know it is down to 1080p.

Just simply wasted the 4K display, if wanna downgrade also up to QHD only not FHD.

After checking all the review of Z5 camera, it is good but not great, they is great wide viewing angle which I always prefer but they is some softening issue on edge. Also night mode is not good.

Now after seeing your comment, I am completely taken off Z5 Premium from my wanted phone list.

Sorry Sony you still can't make me consider back.
TSFireIceCombo
post Oct 14 2015, 10:20 AM

206 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Oct 13 2015, 05:56 PM)
So to conclude, the LTE is good or bad?  I'm confused that when you mentioned -86dbm @ 14asu, it's a good line while you mentioned buggy as hell.
LTE definitely good. i love LTE. its quick. LTE on this particular z5 premium that i got, isnt good. its buggy. i dont even know where to start on this. i've already handed my report in on this model quite some time ago. the coverage of my report on LTE alone is close to 2 pages. The most i've ever written. Prior to this, LTE was a 1-2 sentence thing for me.
teckyang97
post Oct 14 2015, 10:31 AM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Oct 14 2015, 02:20 AM)
I already 50% off  from my consideration when I know it is down to 1080p.

Just simply wasted the 4K display, if wanna downgrade also up to QHD only not FHD.

After checking all the review of Z5 camera, it is good but not great, they is great wide viewing angle which I always prefer but they is some softening issue on edge. Also night mode is not good.

Now after seeing your comment, I am completely taken off Z5 Premium from my wanted phone list.

Sorry Sony you still can't make me consider back.
But bro,sometimes its not about the review or comments people had for the phone,to me,80% of the time from my experience,its always different from what review said.I suggest holding the physical phone itself to know the real thing,instead of just judging based on review
Andrewtst
post Oct 14 2015, 01:37 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,784 posts

QUOTE(teckyang97 @ Oct 14 2015, 10:31 AM)
But bro,sometimes its not about the review or comments people had for the phone,to me,80% of the time from my experience,its always different from what review said.I suggest holding the physical phone itself to know the real thing,instead of just judging based on review
Off course I will still go try. Frank speak Sony didn't give me high impression in Z series.

Z crap display.
Z Ultra buggy OS (sudden dead, remember)
Z1 ugly bezel
Z2 crap photo output
Z3 still not so good photo output
Z3+ no much different than Z3
Z5 haven't try yet, but from all review and sample photo, don't see it good till where. (Not intend to try or buy)
Z5 Premium already disappointing when know it down to 1080P from 4K. After half years using QHD display, I can clearly seen the different between FHD vs QHD.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Oct 14 2015, 01:38 PM
TSFireIceCombo
post Oct 14 2015, 02:06 PM

206 posts

the downscale from 4k to 1080p is a speculation. i mentioned that many times. i do not have the actual consumer unit. What i have always been holding are prototypes, and sometimes even pre-released. The only consumer unit i had, was when i purchased my first nokia n79.

the downscale may not even happen on a consumer production unit. And additionally, i have no way of verifying the downscale as my eyes aren't in tune from 1080p onwards. Its a small screen, not a big visible 70" screen. I will however admit, i do feel it downscaling every now and then. It could be tricks on my eyes, or emotions or something. This downscaling isn't concrete though. With no methods of verification and Sony not giving me information, i can only therefore speculate and tell users my honest thoughts. I know i'll get shot, but its just the way it is.

And no, the Z5 premium prototype i had, doesn't have fingerprint scanner working, software its there, hardware its not. And it definitely came with a huge warning:-
DO NOT GET IT WET.

means i cant soak this thing, or swim with it or even splash anything on it. So for those who are aasking about the waterproof/water resistant capabilities, i can only answer you, u buy it u try it.
raymondtong94
post Oct 14 2015, 02:23 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Oct 14 2015, 01:37 PM)
Z Ultra buggy OS (sudden dead, remember)
Sorry but this is history. My Z Ultra still going strong after 19 months. With current 5.1.1 firmware, it's the most stable one I have ever used other than 4.4.4 firmware.

0.0231sec    0.74    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 12:56 AM