Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

lecturer vs engineer, help me to decide....

views

TSsuga sugie
post Oct 7 2015, 09:26 PM, updated 9y ago

Getting Started
70 posts

Hi all,

I am an engineer in an oil n gas construction company with 4 years experience; on a contractual basis . I had been offered a job as a lecturer in a technical institution owned by the government. Problem is, they only can offer me fresh grad starting basic salary. Plus with the allowance, it still around 1K lesser than what i currently get.

What do u think guys? Its government sector, and i am now only working on contractual basis for now...

Thanks in advance biggrin.gif
Salary
post Oct 7 2015, 10:56 PM

On my way
664 posts

Give it two more years in your current line of work and you'll see your paycheck rise on a near-exponential scale. But if you have absolutely no passion in your present role and have an inclination towards teaching and research, you may want to go ahead with the switch. It's up to yourself to discover where your interest lies.

My opinion may be a little biased based on my own journey in this industry though. I love my job - the rotation, the opportunity to roam, the work-life balance and I'm constantly exposed to new experiences on and off the job. I can't see myself doing something repetitive year-on-year such as teaching. To each their own, I guess.
dexmonata
post Oct 8 2015, 07:50 AM

Getting Started
199 posts

QUOTE(Salary @ Oct 7 2015, 10:56 PM)
Give it two more years in your current line of work and you'll see your paycheck rise on a near-exponential scale. But if you have absolutely no passion in your present role and have an inclination towards teaching and research, you may want to go ahead with the switch. It's up to yourself to discover where your interest lies.