CD/DVD Burning How to burn avi format movie to DVD ?
TSsafetylance
Nov 27 2006, 11:36 AM, updated 20y ago
Hai guy/gal,
Maybe my question asked here b4..but cant find it...
Anyway, i would like to burn my avi format drama series into dvd which playable in my Philips Divx player..
Any expert out there can help me ??
Currently i do it as burning data...but it seem that some not playable in my player ??
Thx in advance..
tan_pang
Nov 27 2006, 11:41 AM
try Avi2dvdconvert avi to dvd and also can make selectable sub as well as menu!!
TSsafetylance
Nov 27 2006, 11:48 AM
QUOTE(tan_pang @ Nov 27 2006, 11:41 AM) try Avi2dvdconvert avi to dvd and also can make selectable sub as well as menu!! thx for de recommendation.. but my bought my Divx player for this purpose.. If i convert avi 2 dvd...means i wasted money buying DIvx player... For ur info..currently i sung Nero 7. which capable doing this too... again thx for ur recommendation
cloudwan
Nov 27 2006, 12:03 PM
Hmmm a divx player? Can't u just burn it like a normal cd, i mean just burn the avi files into the dvd disc just like that without converting the files ker???...
TSsafetylance
Nov 27 2006, 12:07 PM
QUOTE(cloudwan @ Nov 27 2006, 12:03 PM) Hmmm a divx player? Can't u just burn it like a normal cd, i mean just burn the avi files into the dvd disc just like that without converting the files ker???... i alredy converted it to avi format which is playable in Divx player.... However, some playable some not..dun know y..
tan_pang
Nov 27 2006, 01:40 PM
if im not mistaken DVD player cant play any avi format of coz, it include DivX format that you mention juz now
if use Nero convert the quality is worse than any other converter thats why i use another software to convert avi2dvd create iso then burn it in dvd
This post has been edited by tan_pang: Nov 27 2006, 02:01 PM
keyz
Nov 27 2006, 02:22 PM
For AVI to DVD you can read this guide : If you want to play AVI in your DivX player, you need to check your manual for few thing : QUOTE
- The FourCC code (the code which tells the player what kind of file is being played) can sometimes be changed to a more common one to ensure better compatibility. For example, many players prefer "dx50" as the FourCC code, rather than "div3" or "xvid".
- Your MPEG-4/DivX/XviD encoded AVI file includes the use of QPEL (quarter pixels) or GMC (global motion compensation). These are frequently used to improve quality of encodings. Generally, if you can ensure your MPEG-4 encoded file fits the ISO MPEG-4 Simple or Advanced Simple profile (without QPEL or GMC).
- The resolution of your AVI file is above that supported by the DVD player. DVD players will normally only support up to 720x576 (PAL) and 720x480 (NTSC) resolutions. Even the DVD players that can upscale to high definition may only accept these resolutions, due to the nature of their MPEG-4 decoding chips.
- If your AVI file uses VBR (variable bitrate) MP3s for audio, these are sometimes not supported by your DVD player.
- When the AVI file is burned to CD/DVD, the burned disc may have to be in a certain format (eg. ISO 9660 for CDs). There may also be bitrate limitations because of the speed the DVD player can read from CD/DVDs.
Source : http://www.digital-digest.com/articles/vir...lone_page1.htmlThis post has been edited by keyz: Nov 27 2006, 05:48 PM
TSsafetylance
Nov 27 2006, 05:17 PM
Thx a lot keyz... The page ur provided is awesome.. Will need 2 spend some time to read it..
ksgam
Nov 29 2006, 11:54 AM

I watch my AVI file with my Divx playable DVD player too, sometime if u encode with the wrong codec, the dvd player wont recognize them. So far I use Divx or Xvid codec all ok, I use WinAVI to convert.
cgha
Dec 1 2006, 07:44 PM

Try vsoConvertXtoDVD.Very simple n fast.It takes about 40 mt co convert 700MB avi file to DVD. I also use Philips DVD Player DVP 3040K to play my Divx/Xvid movie. No need to convert to DVD.Just drag n burn into ur DVD by using nero. 1 DVD (4.7MB) can store 5 movie..... very economy.
ksgam
Dec 2 2006, 09:48 AM

Well, economy but low quality...
cgha
Dec 2 2006, 03:29 PM

QUOTE(ksgam @ Dec 2 2006, 09:48 AM) Well, economy but low quality... Did u try it?. If ur source is low quality,then the movie should be low quality. I said U must BURN with nero not CONVERT with nero. Of course if u convert with nero,then the movie should be LOW quality
JeffYong85
Dec 3 2006, 10:43 AM

QUOTE(ksgam @ Nov 29 2006, 12:54 PM) I watch my AVI file with my Divx playable DVD player too, sometime if u encode with the wrong codec, the dvd player wont recognize them. So far I use Divx or Xvid codec all ok, I use WinAVI to convert. Ya.. me too.. using WinAVI to convert... NIce software.
Shanks
Dec 3 2006, 10:46 AM

I used to use DVD Santa, which was pretty good as it was free. But now I use VSO ConvertXtoDVD. It's easy to use and customisable. Check it out.