Hardware Can I install Internal Bluetooth?, For My IBook G4...

TSDoper's Dream
post Nov 27 2006, 08:22 AM, updated 20y ago

108 posts

i'm a newbie here...
can i install internal bluetooth inside my ibook???
coz external is quite leceh and semak...
if yes,whats the cost and where to do it...
thanks in advance...
wei
post Nov 27 2006, 08:57 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

Which model you have?
To open up it's not an easy job. Further on that, you have to obtain the Apple Bluetooth module for iBook.
TSDoper's Dream
post Nov 27 2006, 09:02 AM

108 posts

i'm using early 2004 ibook g4...
any possibility to add bluetooth???
wei
post Nov 27 2006, 09:44 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

yes, this model support internal bluetooth.
carpathia
post Nov 27 2006, 12:28 PM

2,619 posts

My advise is- buy and use the external bluetooth. trust me, the ibook is VERY VERY hard to open up!!
i tot of upgrading my hdd for the ibook once but after looking thru the step by step pictorial, i changed my mind. more than 30 over steps of unlocking and prying open the ibook case. not easy

This post has been edited by carpathia: Nov 27 2006, 12:29 PM
xaw5126
post Nov 27 2006, 06:24 PM

3,488 posts

the main problems are
1. where to find the module? end-users cannot buy from Apple directly, it must be purchased through Apple Authorized Service Centers.
2. How to install it? is it worth ~RM400 for a small little chip? smile.gif
TSDoper's Dream
post Nov 27 2006, 10:51 PM

108 posts

owh okay...
if like that,stick to external bluetooth lar...
nvrmind lar...save money for mbp...more worthy...
TSDoper's Dream
post Nov 27 2006, 10:56 PM

108 posts

hard to mod dis thing...
gonna get myself a new 250gb hdd...
currently using 1x128mb and 1x512mb ram...
can i change the 128 to 512???
so the result i can get 1024mb of memry...does ibook supports 1gb ram???
if yes where and how much???
xaw5126
post Nov 28 2006, 10:57 AM

3,488 posts

Off-topic,
doper's dream... if you're using an iBook or 12" powerbook, the 128MB is soldered onto your logic-board, and your only option is to buy a 1GB stick.

do let us know which Mac you have for a more specific answer smile.gif
Doltan
post Nov 28 2006, 11:41 PM

84 posts

I think the ibook only only support up to 640MB. At least for mine it is. The 128MB is fixed, so can only add a 512MB. So better check how much yours can support.
TSDoper's Dream
post Nov 29 2006, 05:48 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Nov 28 2006, 10:57 AM)
Off-topic,
doper's dream... if you're using an iBook or 12" powerbook, the 128MB is soldered onto your logic-board, and your only option is to buy a 1GB stick.

do let us know which Mac you have for a more specific answer smile.gif
fyi,i've already mention which model on the 3rd post...
neway,i'm using ibook g4(early 04)...
i'm using 640mb already...

0.0165sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:32 PM