11 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.10, Please Read Post #1 & #2

bbgoat
post Oct 14 2015, 07:33 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 14 2015, 07:08 PM)
that's what i scared..sekali they see my amount kacang putih only blush.gif also i wonder whether possible to get 0.1% increase
For UOB when there is no promo, you can ask for increase. But only low 0.05% or so. But with promo rate, tough luck (unless very high amt >6 figures).

BR wise, with 6 figure, can get 0.1% more. But it looks to me you are not BR kaki. tongue.gif

QUOTE(mohdyusof @ Oct 14 2015, 07:22 PM)
not all banks have nego rate. other than br, which others? other may give if no promotional rate.
Yes, you are right. rclxms.gif Not many banks can nego rates. Esp if they are already having promo rates. biggrin.gif

bbgoat
post Oct 14 2015, 07:59 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 14 2015, 07:49 PM)
Wanted to become PB of SCB but since no more FD promo, no motivation to go to the branch...procrastinating procrastinating almost 1 year has passed  laugh.gif
Yeah, planning to try luck for nego rate with uob..but since it will be on top of the 4.2% promo, chances are less...somemore I tried to nego to reduce the BC rate to RM0.15 also not successful  cry.gif  sweat.gif 

BR has my highest FD amount but never got the chance to nego because it will just roll over and my mom will go there to renew the cert. One fine day need to try nego there too.
After becoming PB of SCB, I missed going to a wine tasting function and dinner for UT introduction. Go go and join them. rclxms.gif

Oh, BR got the highest FD amt for you. notworthy.gif So now I know we have a quiet BR kaki. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Oct 14 2015, 07:50 PM)
I think MBSB 's return is higher lah..

But if for my diversification purpose, AM Bnak is suitable for me..
Recently learning to split my eggs from Ah Goat Sir..  sweat.gif
I put in to MBSB's 18 mth 4.5% recently. But still have not put in to their 5 yr 4.7%. Maybe I should do that before they merge with another bank. biggrin.gif

But 5 yrs is a bit long. I dived in the AmBank's 5 years FD last week. Still kind of trust AmBank more than MBSB. But may still go for MBSB 4.7% later.

Splitting eggs is just for security. But once over 250k in one acct, that may not mean much already. tongue.gif
bbgoat
post Oct 14 2015, 08:20 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Oct 14 2015, 08:16 PM)
Few weeks ago when i went to MBSB to pick-up my FD interest, MBSB staffs tried to convinced me
to put in 18 months 4.5%.

In between MBSB 5 years and Am Bank 5 years, and MBSB 18 months 4.5%, very hard to make decision lah.

Most likely I will go for AM bank lah....I think I still can tahan another 6-7 years wah..?  sweat.gif
Nowadays if suspect have problem, go for check up and treatment. High blood pressure can be controlled. So 6-7 years ? 16-17 years also sub sub suai ! rclxms.gif tongue.gif
bbgoat
post Oct 18 2015, 09:51 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Oct 18 2015, 02:35 AM)
UOB FD system will automatically makes it mature on week day. Wonder is it a Singapore central bank policy since both are from Singapore.

My UOB placement  was on 17/10/2014, the maturity date is 19/10/2015 which is a Monday.

Another FD placement on 29/10/2014, maturity date 29/10/2015
Checked my FD, OCBC and SCB have FD matured on Sat ! shakehead.gif UOB system will auto adjust to next working day (that fact has been known for some time).

Despite all that have been said about BR, their system, same as CB, will adj to next working day. Not even MBB is doing that, but you have to ask them (MBB) to pay you for those FD that matured on non working days. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Oct 18 2015, 10:35 AM
bbgoat
post Oct 18 2015, 02:34 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Oct 18 2015, 02:25 PM)

The Best Return:
(No. 1) MBSB 4.7% with interest paid every 6 months
(No. 2) Am Bank 4.55% with interest paid monthly if 50 years old and above
(No. 3) BSN 4.5% with interest paid monthly if above 50 years old and FD deposit exceed RM 50K

The Most Secured:
(No. 1) BSN 4.5%, no PIDM but FD deposit guaranteed by the Malaysian Government
(No. 2) Am Bank 4.55% with PIDM
(No. 3) MBSB 4.7% without PIDM, EPF holds more than 60% shares of MBSB  sweat.gif
Ah Boom Ah Sir, have you deposit in BSN before ? I have heard of their service .....................

But saw they advertise in China Press FULL page advert yesterday. Are they trying to get more Chinese customer ? hmm.gif
bbgoat
post Oct 18 2015, 02:58 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Oct 18 2015, 02:53 PM)
Nevel lah.. Ah Sir..
2 days ago when I was in BSN to pay bills, the staffs were very slow
but luckily I saw 2 sexy young girl customers in good shape that made
me awake..

I am not interested in placing FD with BSN, I do not like the staffs slow working
behaviors.

FD depositors are usually Chinese because Bumi do not need FD since they
can get other Government "Kang Tao" that non-bumi are not entitled.
Hahaha, seeing the leng lui made you feel "good" ! drool.gif tongue.gif

When I was in KFH they told me the same thing. Most of their customer also Chinese. BR Penang same as well but their PR is good giving CNY hampers (cheap cheap), high tea etc. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Oct 18 2015, 02:59 PM
bbgoat
post Oct 18 2015, 05:44 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Oct 18 2015, 05:17 PM)

I did not withdraw the interest but I leave the earned half yearly interest to add to
principal to roll interest again..

Ai.., sad.gif  this low 3.87% effective rate is the bigger pain on my chest lah...
Which promo of OCBC ? There is one 360 days one by OCBC that pay interest on the 6 mths and roll it into the principle. Not that one, eh ? hmm.gif
bbgoat
post Oct 18 2015, 08:29 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Oct 18 2015, 07:05 PM)
Yes, I think you are saying it right.

Total tenure is 18 months.
First 6 months paid 3.6% first, then 3.6% interest earned will add
to principal and continue with 4% for the remaining of 12 months.

Effective rate is 3.87%

Interest rate went up 3 months later after I placed this FD during last year...  cry.gif
A pain on my chest that unforgettable...
Oh, it is a different one. I joined OCBC only this March. Met the leng lui RM which @gsc said no leng lui RM in OCBC PB centre. tongue.gif
bbgoat
post Oct 19 2015, 08:09 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Oct 19 2015, 07:44 PM)
The sticker said no picture allowed but leng lui is not BSN property, you are not taking picture on BSN property lah...next time remember to take picture for bbgoat eyetainment

BSN service is very slow and inefficient...I experieced that last time when my money was moved out due to my account is inactive. Need to go at least three times to get it settled

First time submitted info and passbook as proof. I was asked to come back after a few days for the bank to check. Second time went back, was told the status. Then .after 1 month nothing happen...
Third time went to follow up....
Then only receive an email on the status....

The working pace is the workers themselves didahulukan...
Ah Boom's picture can be shared with @gsc. He has very high standards on leng lui. drool.gif brows.gif

So far has no fd with BSN. So will continue to do that. But recently they may tried to change their image. FULL page advert in China Press last week.

Hopefully their service will be much better from now onwards. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Oct 19 2015, 08:13 PM

6,614 posts

Have tried to do online withdrawal for UOB's FD. But though today is due date, the FD is still NOT updated online. So tomorrow will have to take a look if I can do online termination. Then save a trip to UOB. biggrin.gif

@gsc, I did not see any leng lui RM there, do you ? brows.gif

One of my UOB FD's 6 month interest was paid one day later 2 weeks ago. System problem ? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Oct 19 2015, 08:14 PM
bbgoat
post Oct 19 2015, 10:41 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 19 2015, 10:36 PM)
Wah, like this good oh..just get the PB status one time, then reduces the amount...Is FD placement + cert issuance faster at PB room compared to normal area?
In Penang, my experience is not many people in the PB room for FD placement. Pretty fast. Could be time of day, not 100% sure. biggrin.gif

Wasai, so can pull out the 300k and still remain PB ? Captain has said something like that before.

But some banks will start charging monthly fees. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Oct 19 2015, 10:44 PM
bbgoat
post Oct 20 2015, 07:06 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Oct 20 2015, 09:11 AM)
bbgoat, 'bout MBB GIA, when do they credit the monthly interest?

1 month after placement? or follow calendar month @ 1st ?
What lah, you are so eager. Did not ask that question. Put mine on the 5th. My guess is on the 5th or the date you put in the GIA-i. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Oct 20 2015, 02:12 PM)
Last year this mth, fd rate rate best was 3.85 range

This year.. fd going for 4.3%...

Next year will.be 4.8 ?
Last year Oct, the FD promo are 4.0% for 12 mth but SCB has 15 mth 4.25%.

Next year 4.8% ? Lets see. tongue.gif
bbgoat
post Oct 20 2015, 08:22 PM

6,614 posts

Today in OCBC to collect the Hugo Boss pen. One of my relative who did not register (online or SMS)also were called to collect the pen.

Their 13 mth 4.2% FD still ongoing until end of Nov. But no more gift. Only RinggitPlus trolley bag promo still ongoing. But one of the leng lui told me is NOT guaranteed. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Oct 20 2015, 09:02 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 20 2015, 08:08 PM)
Wah 2 years 4.6% is amazing. Hope the quota (if any) does not get fill up so fast. Prime candidate to transfer from OCBC now.
Just on the 9th, have placed for the AmBank 5 years 4.55%. Now 2 yrs 4.6% !

This Thursday may put in for that. rclxms.gif
bbgoat
post Oct 20 2015, 09:05 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 19 2015, 08:13 PM)
Have tried to do online withdrawal for UOB's FD. But though today is due date, the FD is still NOT updated online. So tomorrow will have to take a look if I can do online termination. Then save a trip to UOB.  biggrin.gif

@gsc, I did not see any leng lui RM there, do you ?  brows.gif

One of my UOB  FD's 6 month interest was paid one day later 2 weeks ago. System problem ?  hmm.gif
Today did online termination of the FD. So matured FD and interest will only show up 1 day after maturity. So terminate it and can only use ibg to transfer it out. UOB has no IBFT service. biggrin.gif

Anyway thanks to one forumer who mentioned on UOB can terminate FD online. notworthy.gif

By the way the FD was NOT placed online, it was OTC. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Oct 20 2015, 09:54 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Oct 20 2015, 09:50 PM)
omg, i think i going to do the same, what a hassle.. but 2 years 4.6% promo is it only certain branch or all branch?

why the run promo like this one.. haiz..
Should be all AmBank branch. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Oct 20 2015, 10:10 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Oct 20 2015, 10:01 PM)
I can't find the info, anyone can confirm this is available to all branches?

Its website doesn't have it either.
AmBank RM SMS info. So Penang also have the promo. Should be for all their branches. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Oct 21 2015, 08:11 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Oct 20 2015, 11:13 PM)

Bbgoat, UOB on average has more young leng lui compared to that of Ocbc.

Late one day payment on interest ? Thought you monitor your FD and renew on mature day? You better find out why  and may be other members also affected but didnt reliase.

By the way, Ocbc has called to collect the hugo boss pen.
Haha, are you comparing UOB PB centre with OCBC PB centre ? Then I would say OCBC PB centre wins hands down ! drool.gif UOB PB centre ignoring that their PB centre is old, the staff there are probably old timers there. You know what I mean. biggrin.gif tongue.gif

As the amount is small, also I want to combine that FD to another amt tomorrow, so I did not go to UOB to withdraw that FD. If I go on DAY of maturity, then it is no issue. But I tried the online uplift, so the principle with the interest only appear online one day later. CB's eFD will appear on the day of maturity. UOB's one is NG as one would lose one day interest. Except it is placed OTC and not online (UOB's one).

I have collected the Hugo Boss pen yesterday and see the leng lui there again. So my vote is still OCBC PB centre leng lui, best among the PB centres in Penang. drool.gif drool.gif tongue.gif

QUOTE(gsc @ Oct 21 2015, 03:02 AM)
Deleted
Finished your business at 3.02am but decided to delete the unsightly post ? tongue.gif
bbgoat
post Oct 21 2015, 09:38 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(cj7lee @ Oct 21 2015, 09:16 AM)
I went to UOB two days ago to place FD and was served by a young lady. Throughout the account opening process, I just need to sit in front of her desk and passed her the cheque only. She helped me to open a Savings Account, and a FD account at her desk, not even needed to go to other counter except made the initial deposit at ATM.

My experience: UOB lenglui is more friendly and professional that OCBC lenglui.
It does depends on branch to branch as well. @gsc and myself are in Penang. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Oct 22 2015, 06:42 PM

6,614 posts

Today went to AmBank to place for the 2 years 4.6%. Kept the previous 5 years 4.55% as found not worth to terminate it.

Surprisingly AmBank issuing of FD is faster nowadays. Kaotim in about 15 minutes. Used to be like 25 minutes to 40 minutes or so. But they changed so that FD cert no need signature from them. Last time need 2 signatures on the cert. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Oct 22 2015, 06:43 PM

11 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.1007sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:56 PM