125 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.10, Please Read Post #1 & #2

codeiki
post Oct 15 2015, 06:30 PM

169 posts

Got my Hugo Boss pen from OCBC last week in KL too (for their FD promo in July). Melaka OCBC need to wait till November.

http://www.andersonpens.com/Hugo-Boss-Clas...l-p/hsw5965.htm
Vincent9696
post Oct 15 2015, 06:52 PM

983 posts

QUOTE(codeiki @ Oct 15 2015, 06:30 PM)
Got my Hugo Boss pen from OCBC last week in KL too (for their FD promo in July). Melaka OCBC need to wait till November.

http://www.andersonpens.com/Hugo-Boss-Clas...l-p/hsw5965.htm
Yes, correct
wil-i-am
post Oct 15 2015, 07:07 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(ohcipala @ Oct 15 2015, 06:26 PM)
This one really wang besar. I wonder if they're any takers? hmm.gif
Yes, silent readers
TSAh SiAnG
post Oct 15 2015, 07:16 PM

278 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 15 2015, 01:26 PM)
Must drill into people’s mind not to give free lunch to bank ma. If lesser people give free lunch to bank, those banks who get free lunch all this while have to work harder for our money. thumbup.gif

Need to continue writing. If put signature, no one will read. sad.gif Then banks will continue to have free lunch and we get not so good rates. mad.gif

All banks have target. Target not good, need to find more customers.
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 15 2015, 02:31 PM)
Not really. If more people give free lunch, for what the bank want to give you? Better the bank keep for themselves. They will give you just enough.

Now if no one's giving the bank free lunch, banks become hungry. So they give us better rates so we place with them. Remember, no money how to operate? So no money no talk.

Say a bank's target is rm100k. If they already achieved rm100k, for what they want to be generous and give you better rates? Better the bank keep the excess and give to its shareholders.

Now, if bank haven't reach rm100k yet cause no one want to give them money, by giving better rates, more people will give them money.
Ramjade, this is a thread discussing fixed deposit rates. Please stick to the topic.

If you want to promote savings account etc, please go to the dedicated thread and stop spamming here.

Thank you.

This post has been edited by Ah SiAnG: Oct 15 2015, 07:18 PM
Ramjade
post Oct 15 2015, 07:26 PM

24,333 posts

Ah SiAnG never in my mind to spam. Just telling people how to maximise returns given from monthly interest. People ask, I answered. By the way, can you add an additional information on front page?

If other people got info, please share. I know there are others but I can't remember which bank and their rates. Don't have account with them.
Banks which allow you to open real (can uplift online)1 month efd with min RM1K
Ambank Islamic efd - 3.15%

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 15 2015, 07:27 PM
Human Nature
post Oct 15 2015, 07:38 PM

- student of human nature -
26,520 posts

QUOTE(kimmo88 @ Oct 14 2015, 11:45 PM)
Anyone on UOB FD? Once the FD reaching maturity, do I have inform the bank prior to the maturity date? I cannot seem to do anything on their online banking website. Do I have to go to the branch on the 'exact day' of maturity date to uplift the FD? Do I have to bring the FD statement issued (no cert given) to me when I apply/placement for the FD or my IC will do? How much do they charge for the bankers cheque(bc)? UOB is not on the MEPs list for free instant bank transfer so I would need a bc.
let me answer further on a few others.

No need to inform bank in advance, just bring your IC and go. Just bring the statement along if you want.
Once mature, can uplift on the same day or later.
UOB charges RM2.80 for banker's cheque (usual case for my branch)
Ramjade
post Oct 15 2015, 07:42 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 15 2015, 07:38 PM)

No need to inform bank in advance, just bring your IC and go. Just bring the statement along if you want.
Even for normal customer or for vip customer?
Human Nature
post Oct 15 2015, 07:45 PM

- student of human nature -
26,520 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 15 2015, 07:42 PM)
Even for normal customer or for vip customer?
Referring to the BC fee? RM2.08 for normal customers, no idea about VIP biggrin.gif
BoomChaCha
post Oct 15 2015, 07:55 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 14 2015, 08:20 PM)
Nowadays if suspect have problem, go for check up and treatment. High blood pressure can be controlled. So 6-7 years ? 16-17 years also sub sub suai !  rclxms.gif  tongue.gif
Thank you for your good words..Ah Sir notworthy.gif

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Oct 14 2015, 08:54 PM)
My calculation shows 5.23% Vs 5.10 in favour of MBSB.
I think it's worth to "pay" 0.13% to AMbank as a premium for PIDM protection unless the deposit amount is very large. 
But for such long term deposit, I would suggest 4.5% BSN with gomen guaranty for the entire deposit amount.
Thank you.. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Oct 14 2015, 10:55 PM)
same tenure, i will go for the highest rate, 4.7% anytime better.
Extra RM2000 every year for 1M, multiply that amount and time, can be a lot in due course.
mbsb , br , amb, to me all the same.

4.5% pays monthly cant beat 4.7% pays 6 monthly.
In that RM1M eg, every month  u take RM3750 put in FD also cannot earn the additional RM2000
in a year.
MBSB can bank in the interest into your bank.
Mine is always banked into my CIMB, can see online same day. very convenient.

For now i think MBB GIA-i is the best, 1 yr FD 4.5%pa , monthly interest!
Thank you thumbup.gif

I just received a SMS from Am Bank:
1 month FD at 3.75%
Min RM 100K sweat.gif
Promo ends 31 Oct 2015
BoomChaCha
post Oct 15 2015, 08:05 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Oct 15 2015, 06:01 PM)
Back to the topic,
Bank Muamalat is having 3 month and 6 months Fixed Term Account-I (FTA-i) promo at 3.95% and 4.1% p.a respectively, minimum Fresh Fund: RM 5,000,000 (not kidding)

If you have no RM5,000,000, you can take their 6 month step up promo at effective rate of 3.95%p.a

[attachmentid=5131042]

T/C
http://www.muamalat.com.my/downloads/Wang_...r_2_English.pdf

PIDM register
http://www.muamalat.com.my/downloads/consu...10-july2015.pdf
Now looking at Muamalat pattern, once Muamalat merges with MBSB successfully, the
management of Muamalat side will suggest to ask for more deposit for MBSB's 5 years
4.7% FD.. hmm.gif
kimmo88
post Oct 15 2015, 08:59 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 15 2015, 07:38 PM)

Another alternative option to bc is to do online IBG transfer 0.11cents per transfer? Much cheaper than bc. tongue.gif
Ramjade
post Oct 16 2015, 01:23 AM

24,333 posts

Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls

MBSB 4.7% + TS 2.8% vs AMB 4.55% +TS 2.8% rclxms.gif laugh.gif
Minimum amount here = RM10k

AMB = AMbank
TS 2.8 = Truesavers
EIR = Effective Interest rates

From here we can see that even with monthly interest, Ambank 4.55% still lose out to MBSB 4.7%. MBSB is still the champ here. flex.gif However notice that the EIR of MBSB only increase 0.30943% while AMB increases by 0.32766% which shows that you could get more money if there is say a FD able to give you 4.7% monthly interest. smile.gif.

yygo is right. If we put 1 year FD with the interest, the EIR can go up further. rclxms.gif But that can only be done from 2nd year onwards (Starting amount of RM10k). Unless one starts off with RM100,000. laugh.gif icon_idea.gif

I didn't include in the last month interest of TS of the 5th year as I assume the FD will pay the interest at the end of the month. So if we would like to see the last month interest, we need to go another year. I used 2016 as it is easier to count.

By the way, aeiou228 how come your EIR is 5.23% Vs 5.10 while mine is only 5.00943% vs 4.87766%? hmm.gif Your method is add to principal to get the EIR of 5.23% Vs 5.10%?

This is the first time I am calculating this kind of things. Any mistakes please correct me. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 16 2015, 01:33 AM
michaelho
post Oct 16 2015, 01:30 AM

546 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Oct 15 2015, 07:01 PM)
Back to the topic,
Bank Muamalat is having 3 month and 6 months Fixed Term Account-I (FTA-i) promo at 3.95% and 4.1% p.a respectively, minimum Fresh Fund: RM 5,000,000 (not kidding)

If you have no RM5,000,000, you can take their 6 month step up promo at effective rate of 3.95%p.a

[attachmentid=5131042]

T/C
http://www.muamalat.com.my/downloads/Wang_...r_2_English.pdf

PIDM register
http://www.muamalat.com.my/downloads/consu...10-july2015.pdf
put Ambank 4.5%, assuming one is >50 years old , rm18750 per month whistling.gif
cklimm
post Oct 16 2015, 07:04 AM

2,337 posts

QUOTE(michaelho @ Oct 16 2015, 01:30 AM)
put Ambank 4.5%, assuming one is >50 years old , rm18750 per month  whistling.gif
Cant compare like this, itu tenure lain
you need to wait for 60 months to have the 4.5%, while muamalat's is only 6 month, then u can do whatever u fancy.
cklimm
post Oct 16 2015, 07:24 AM

2,337 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 16 2015, 01:23 AM)

MBSB 4.7% + TS 2.8% vs AMB 4.55% +TS 2.8%  rclxms.gif  laugh.gif

AMB = AMbank
TS 2.8 = Truesavers

From here we can see that even with monthly interest, Ambank 4.55% still lose out to MBSB 4.7%.  MBSB is still the champ here.  flex.gif However notice that the EIR of MBSB only increase 0.30943% while AMB increases by 0.32766% which shows that you could get more money if there is say a FD able to give you 4.7% monthly interest.  smile.gif.

impressive

So thats the best way to squeeze out the bank eh?
Ramjade
post Oct 16 2015, 08:03 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Oct 16 2015, 07:24 AM)
impressive

So thats the best way to squeeze out the bank eh?
Actually one can squeeze some more. As yygo said, instead of putting in TS, one can put affin bank 3.7% FD once one have rm1000. thumbup.gif again we are talking about principal of rm10000. If one starts off with rm100k, different story. brows.gif
yygo
post Oct 16 2015, 08:46 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 16 2015, 01:23 AM)

MBSB 4.7% + TS 2.8% vs AMB 4.55% +TS 2.8% 

AMB = AMbank
TS 2.8 = Truesavers

From here we can see that even with monthly interest, Ambank 4.55% still lose out to MBSB 4.7%.  MBSB is still the champ here.  flex.gif However notice that the EIR of MBSB only increase 0.30943% while AMB increases by 0.32766% which shows that you could get more money if there is say a FD able to give you 4.7% monthly interest.  smile.gif.

yygo is right. If we put 1 year FD with the interest, the EIR can go up further.  rclxms.gif But that can only be done from 2nd year onwards (Starting amount of RM10k). Unless one starts off with RM100,000. 
I didn't include in the last month interest of TS of the 5th year as I assume the FD will pay the interest at the end of the month. So if we would like to see the last month interest, we need to go another year. I used 2016 as it is easier to count.

By the way, aeiou228 how come your EIR is 5.23% Vs 5.10 while mine is only 5.00943% vs 4.87766%?  hmm.gif Your method is add to principal to get the EIR of 5.23% Vs 5.10%?

This is the first time I am calculating this kind of things. Any mistakes please correct me. notworthy.gif
notworthy.gif contribution from hnws! notworthy.gif

can use that for phd like clemen chiang of singapore (dr in options) brows.gif

dr ram now. brows.gif
yygo
post Oct 16 2015, 08:51 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 16 2015, 08:03 AM)
Actually one can squeeze some more. As yygo said, instead of putting in TS, one can put affin bank 3.7% FD once one have rm1000. thumbup.gif again we are talking about principal of rm10000.  If one starts off with rm100k, different story. brows.gif
squeeze, squeeze harder! laugh.gif tongue.gif

banks fd is just for some basic portfolio stabilization. should use more brain power for other things that can get more return. like dr ram's asnb. brows.gif

squeeze from other places to gain more $$$$! brows.gif
BboyDora
post Oct 16 2015, 08:54 AM

2,361 posts

Hong Leong bank 6 month fd with 4%.
Whats other t&c beside Min RM 10k fresh funds.?
Need to have saving acc in the bank?
Ramjade
post Oct 16 2015, 09:15 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Oct 16 2015, 08:46 AM)
notworthy.gif  contribution from hnws! notworthy.gif

can use that for phd like clemen chiang of singapore (dr in options)  brows.gif

dr ram now. brows.gif
It's not my money la. Me poor fag. I just used example of rm10k cause that's the minimum one can put to enjoy the fun. tongue.gif drool.gif

125 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0221sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:39 AM