How to open a stall in pasar malam?, Would need advise

TSGreen_lemontea
post Oct 5 2015, 11:39 AM, updated 9y ago

233 posts

Hi all, I'm keen to open a stall in a nearby pasar malam to sell some food I made.
Does anyone know what are the procedures to get it done or any authority to contact to get more information?
Is license required or rental fee required to open a booth in pasar malam?

Thanks!
SUSGregyong
post Oct 5 2015, 11:45 AM

1,167 posts

your local city council afaik
FireIceCombo
post Oct 5 2015, 12:19 PM

206 posts

u need to talk to ketua kampung or the gangster at your area
zeb kew
post Oct 5 2015, 05:51 PM

2,325 posts

Why don't you just go ask the existing stall. Choose a non-food stall that's not too busy. Go buy something. Then chat and ask.
gugukrez
post Oct 5 2015, 05:53 PM

939 posts

QUOTE(FireIceCombo @ Oct 5 2015, 12:19 PM)
u need to talk to ketua kampung or the gangster at your area
+
SUSslimey
post Oct 5 2015, 07:01 PM

6,914 posts

legally or "grey" ?

"grey" : 1.can just bring around in big plastic bag and ask around who want to buy......good in places with lots of people
2. facebook method
3. sell it to someone that is already doing the food business.

legally : go talk to the town/city council
lonely143
post Oct 5 2015, 10:22 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(Green_lemontea @ Oct 5 2015, 11:39 AM)
Hi all, I'm keen to open a stall in a nearby pasar malam to sell some food I made.
Does anyone know what are the procedures to get it done or any authority to contact to get more information?

Thanks!
There is 2 type of getting place in night market.

1st
License is not required if you are moving around means your place is not permanent.
Sometimes when you come night market and found empty space, just ask the neighbor
that how much the owner willing to rent out the place for that night, normally RM15 to RM30.

2nd
If you are looking permanent place to setup your stall, then you would require to be owner of the stall.
Then you need to apply license and pay the local council yearly for the license.
You might need to get medical check up and injection cause you are selling food.

I would recommend you use 1st method to test it out 1st.
K.I.T.T
post Oct 6 2015, 12:30 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(Green_lemontea @ Oct 5 2015, 11:39 AM)

Thanks!
Setiap pasar malam ada persatuan dan kepala dia sendiri. U need to meet kepala first get permission open stall there. Be nice talk with ALL PEOPLE dont langsi langsi. And price dont under market if u want bussiness long enough..

Rental sehari kira kira rm5.00 but sometimes u can open at aomeone ''cuti'' that day
TSGreen_lemontea
post Oct 7 2015, 05:58 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(gugukrez @ Oct 5 2015, 05:53 PM)
+
Seriously need to ask gangster? I thought go to DBKL will do..
TSGreen_lemontea
post Oct 7 2015, 05:59 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(K.I.T.T @ Oct 6 2015, 12:30 AM)
Setiap pasar malam ada persatuan dan kepala dia sendiri. U need to meet kepala first get permission open stall there. Be nice talk with ALL PEOPLE dont langsi langsi. And price dont under market if u want bussiness long enough..

Rental sehari kira kira rm5.00 but sometimes u can open at aomeone ''cuti'' that day
That RM 5 is to who?
TSGreen_lemontea
post Oct 7 2015, 06:00 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(lonely143 @ Oct 5 2015, 10:22 PM)
There is 2 type of getting place in night market.

1st
License is not required if you are moving around means your place is not permanent.
Sometimes when you come night market and found empty space, just ask the neighbor
that how much the owner willing to rent out the place for that night, normally RM15 to RM30.

2nd
If you are looking permanent place to setup your stall, then you would require to be owner of the stall.
Then you need to apply license and pay the local council yearly for the license.
You might need to get medical check up and injection cause you are selling food.

I would recommend you use 1st method to test it out 1st.
Thanks, I might go and ask around some aunties or uncles there and see how they are able to get a space there.
K.I.T.T
post Oct 7 2015, 06:40 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(Green_lemontea @ Oct 7 2015, 05:59 PM)
That RM 5 is to who?
people jaga tapak.
gugukrez
post Oct 8 2015, 09:05 AM

939 posts

QUOTE(Green_lemontea @ Oct 7 2015, 05:58 PM)
Seriously need to ask gangster? I thought go to DBKL will do..
Most of the area i know.. they got give protection fees.. i seen cases that some didnt give.. within 3 month.. kena rob 6 time..

0.0138sec    0.21    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 09:52 AM