131 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart.com v12, Najibnomics to lift KLCI?

j.passing.by
post Oct 22 2015, 06:38 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Oct 22 2015, 09:20 AM)
PS: Wanna ask yklooi and other sifus, wonder if my earlier mentioned of Summary IRR 10%
      was falsely elevated due to this new purchase Global Titans?? That would be bad as it does not reflect true returns.
If strictly to the defination and usage of IRR (Internal Rate of Return), answer is no.
IRR is on a series of purchases at various times, and it is the common returns on each purchase.

(When the annualised rate is on a single purchase, CAGR (Compound Annual Growth Rate) is the term; to avoid abuse and confusion btw IRR and CAGR.)

The following figures as an example; with the purchases in negative, and their respective current values:
1/1/2014 1/10/2015 -1000 1150
1/6/2014 1/10/2015 -500 575
1/1/2015 1/10/2015 -500 575
1/6/2015 1/10/2015 -500 575
1/9/2015 1/10/2015 -1000 1150

Note that each of the purchases have the same growth/return/ROI of 15%.
Their respective CAGR will be, using 1/10/2015 as the current date:
8.32%
11.04%
20.55%
51.91%
447.63%

And the IRR is 16.71%.

Q. Does the 16.71% reflect the "true returns"?
A. There is no such thing as "true". IRR is the common representative figure that when applies to each purchases, it will gives the sum of all the returns.

In other words, if the CAGR of each purchase is 16.71%, the current value of the whole portfolio after some calculations will add up to 4025.

Clear? hmm.gif

============

The IRR was calculated using excel function XIRR. The formula is: =XIRR(C1:D5,A1:B5), where A1:B5 are the dates, and C1:D5 are the purchase costs and their respective current values.

wil-i-am
post Oct 22 2015, 07:18 PM

10,001 posts

As usual, RHB ATR NAV is not updated yet
guy3288
post Oct 22 2015, 07:21 PM

5,875 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Oct 22 2015, 02:27 PM)
Yes, next time you can intra switch from equity funds into bond funds for the same fund houses and get free credit points. I think it applies for equity purchases bought at 0% fee as well. This means that if you intra switch a profit of RM10k, you will SAVE RM150 on your next purchase of the equity fund (assuming a sales fee of 1.5%).

This credit points can be utilised for the purchase of any equity fund houses which is NOT limited to the original equity fund which you switched out from earlier.

One note of caution. Please make sure that you switch into a low risk bond fund, i.e. risk rating of 1 to 2.

P/S:  I think you have earned enough profit to cover the sales fee of RM2K for the RHB IPO No. 3, i.e., you can now buy in for free.  brows.gif
thanks, never know i can get credit points like that, but surely there is a 'cost' right? FSM cant be that generous dishing out free credit points for us to abuse.... Off hand i think the 'cost' is our money will be 'on hold' and "nonproductive" for that time few days? while moving from Eq to Bond and back to CMF, compared to switch sell direct to CMF.

I am not buying that RHB IPO, as i diverted them to FD promo 4.5% and now 4.6%. I guess u also not buying right?

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Oct 22 2015, 02:28 PM)
There is no time limit to stay in the bond funds to get the credit points. Once you have switched into the bond fund and it is reflected in your account, you can sell it into CMF immediately.
That's great.

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Oct 22 2015, 06:38 PM)
If strictly to the defination and usage of IRR (Internal Rate of Return), answer is no.
IRR is on a series of purchases at various times, and it is the common returns on each purchase.

(When the annualised rate is on a single purchase, CAGR (Compound Annual Growth Rate) is the term; to avoid abuse and confusion btw IRR and CAGR.)

The following figures as an example; with the purchases in negative, and their respective current values:
1/1/2014 1/10/2015 -1000 1150
1/6/2014 1/10/2015 -500 575
1/1/2015 1/10/2015 -500 575
1/6/2015 1/10/2015 -500 575
1/9/2015 1/10/2015 -1000 1150

Note that each of the purchases have the same growth/return/ROI of 15%.
Their respective CAGR will be, using 1/10/2015 as the current date:
8.32%
11.04%
20.55%
51.91%
447.63%

And the IRR is 16.71%.

Q. Does the 16.71% reflect the "true returns"?
A. There is no such thing as "true". IRR is the common representative figure that when applies to each purchases, it will gives the sum of all the returns.

In other words, if the CAGR of each purchase is 16.71%, the current value of the whole portfolio after some calculations will add up to 4025.

Clear?  hmm.gif

============

The IRR was calculated using excel function XIRR. The formula is: =XIRR(C1:D5,A1:B5), where A1:B5 are the dates, and C1:D5 are the purchase costs and their respective current values.
Thanks for your effort. I am abit blur after reading that.

I think Polarzbearz excelfile is quite clever, somehow that 142.33% IRR from new purchase did not really distort overall IRR on my previous old purchases that much.

I did an experiment on it, I deleted that new purchase, removed that exaggerated 142.33% IRR,
and overall IRR just reduced a little bit only, from 10.11% to 10.10%.

Is this in line with your calculations above?

j.passing.by
post Oct 22 2015, 07:44 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 22 2015, 07:18 PM)
Does it has holdings in Hong Kong?
Hong Kong on holiday yesterday, so some funds not pricing on 21-Oct.

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Oct 22 2015, 07:21 PM)
I think Polarzbearz excelfile is quite clever, somehow that 142.33% IRR from new purchase did not really distort overall  IRR on my previous old purchases that much.

I did an experiment on it, I deleted that new purchase, removed that  exaggerated 142.33% IRR,
and overall IRR just reduced a little bit only, from 10.11% to 10.10%.

Is this in line with your calculations above?
smile.gif You got it right. Was thinking maths logic on "True" or "False" when writing the above 'answers' of whetther it was "True" or not.

IRR is the calculated % on the returns in a cash flow - money going in & out, and gives a good picture of how the returns is doing. Not easy for a single transaction to distort the overall picture.

ohcipala
post Oct 22 2015, 08:44 PM

1,338 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 22 2015, 07:18 PM)
Bloomberg has the NAV for 21/10. Suggested you to use Bloomberg ady yawn.gif

Btw, hnws join this thread ady. Suddenly 70+ new post biggrin.gif
wil-i-am
post Oct 22 2015, 09:20 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Oct 22 2015, 07:44 PM)
Does it has holdings in Hong Kong?
Hong Kong on holiday yesterday, so some funds not pricing on 21-Oct.
smile.gif  You got it right. Was thinking maths logic on "True" or "False" when writing the above 'answers' of whetther it was "True" or not.

IRR is the calculated % on the returns in a cash flow - money going in & out, and gives a good picture of how the returns is doing. Not easy for a single transaction to distort the overall picture.
Yes, around 7% @ Jul 2015
j.passing.by
post Oct 22 2015, 09:43 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 22 2015, 09:20 PM)
Yes, around 7% @ Jul 2015
RHB Asian Total Return:
Price of 0.6208 from the RHB site http://www.rhbgroup.com/products-and-servi...nt/fund-prices/

FSM still showing 20/10 price of 0.6191

- The RHB site has the worse webpage on prices ever!

- It is an income fund feeding into United Asian Bond Fund, based in Singapore. So guess maybe not really affected by holiday in Hong Kong.

- YTD Return 23.52%. Making extraordinary gains from the weak ringgit which dropped about 25%. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by j.passing.by: Oct 22 2015, 09:47 PM
SUSyklooi
post Oct 22 2015, 09:57 PM

8,188 posts

nothing fancy,....just increase HJpn from 3.5% to 8.5% and reduced HSO.
nexona88
post Oct 22 2015, 10:18 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(ohcipala @ Oct 22 2015, 08:44 PM)

Tun Ramjade? hmm.gif
prince_mk
post Oct 22 2015, 10:23 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Oct 22 2015, 05:13 PM)
All my funds are turning super green now. I believe this is caused partially by the weakening of the ringgit?

IMHO, this may be the most dangerous time for investors in FSM to make a lump sum investment. Because we will be buying high with the expectation that the price will rise higher. If we are lucky, then things will work out as planned.

But if there is a market correction later and the price dives continuously... then we may end up panic selling. This will then be the classic case of BUYING HIGH AND SELLING LOW.

I was caught in the euphoria during the 2Q and 3Q of this year. To see your my paper gain increasing by a few thousand ringgit every few days would really boost your ego and greed. That was how I ended up over loading more than 40% of my total portfolio in the Greater China market. Alas, the China market corrected and collapsed.......For a supposedly "seasoned" investor like me, this type of novice mistake should not have happened.

So now I have to learn to temper my greed. Lady Luck has been kind to me. I got a second chance. I re-balanced my portfolio. I escaped with my ego bruised but with my principal invested sum intact with a positive ROI. So please learn from my mistake.  blush.gif
Noted. Invest rationally.

IvanWong1989
post Oct 22 2015, 10:24 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 22 2015, 10:18 PM)
Tun Ramjade?  hmm.gif
XD. Maybe ? XD

Btw. 2 out of 4 if my funds gone green lieu. Happy or sad. Lmao! !!!
nexona88
post Oct 22 2015, 10:27 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Oct 22 2015, 10:24 PM)
XD.  Maybe ? XD

Btw.  2 out of 4 if my funds gone green lieu.  Happy or sad. Lmao! !!!
happy lor rclxms.gif
wil-i-am
post Oct 22 2015, 10:39 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(ohcipala @ Oct 22 2015, 08:44 PM)

U track each n every of his new posting or stalker?
SUSDavid83
post Oct 22 2015, 10:42 PM

52,874 posts

I still got two funds under the water:

CIMB-Principal PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity - Class C | -0.2%
Affin Hwang Select Asia (Ex Japan) Opportunity Fund | -0.8%
wil-i-am
post Oct 22 2015, 10:46 PM

10,001 posts

US n Europe up after Draghi hint new stimulus on d way
SUSPink Spider
post Oct 22 2015, 10:52 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Oct 22 2015, 10:42 PM)
I still got two funds under the water:

CIMB-Principal PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity - Class C | -0.2%
Affin Hwang Select Asia (Ex Japan) Opportunity Fund | -0.8%
I'm surprised u still keeping this tongue.gif
SUSDavid83
post Oct 22 2015, 10:55 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 22 2015, 10:52 PM)
I'm surprised u still keeping this tongue.gif
I bought it in April this year since I don't have exposure in Bolehland.
T231H
post Oct 22 2015, 11:08 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Oct 22 2015, 10:55 PM)
hmm.gif Apr till now...almost same same as Ponzi 2.0 wor unsure.gif

nexona88
post Oct 22 2015, 11:19 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

Aberdeen is optimistic on Malaysia's equities market
"Today's weak markets actually suit us, as we like to accumulate high quality assets as cheaply as possible. Poor sentiment is currently throwing up opportunities we haven't seen for a while. Malaysia is home to plenty of well-run companies and the economy is in good hands," said Aberdeen Islamic Asset Management Sdn Bhd (AIAMSB) chief executive officer, Gerald Ambrose.

http://www.theedgemarkets.com/my/article/a...?type=Corporate
SUSPink Spider
post Oct 22 2015, 11:39 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Oct 22 2015, 10:55 PM)
It's Bolehland exposure very small only nia doh.gif

Kenanga Growth, Eastspring Equity Income, AMB Dividend Trust or Affin Hwang Select Opportunity better fits the bill

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Oct 22 2015, 11:40 PM

131 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0285sec    0.17    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:40 PM