7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Fundsupermart.com v12, Najibnomics to lift KLCI?

Vanguard 2015
post Nov 27 2015, 04:21 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Nov 27 2015, 03:30 PM)
I am holding both hightlighted fund wor.. so far still green green grass
Both these China linked funds may rise and fall together because of the positive correlation. But hey, I just bought these 2 funds today after selling out previously because of the China rout. Cannot be so suey the second time round rite? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Vanguard 2015: Nov 27 2015, 04:21 PM
Vanguard 2015
post Nov 27 2015, 04:25 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Nov 27 2015, 03:35 PM)
unless u have crystal ball can predict monday's market, or else just top up today and next monday lor ...
No bullets already.....I used a shotgun approach and discharged all the pellets at once.

Now I have to wait for reinforcement next month.
Vanguard 2015
post Nov 30 2015, 06:27 PM

3,541 posts

Dear Sifus,

I have a serious question to ask.

Assume we have 3 separate FSM accounts. One main account for ourselves, a second beneficiary account for our wife and a third beneficiary account for our infant child. Let's assume an investment horizon of 20 years.

Would it be foolhardy to buy the same funds for all 3 accounts? This means if the funds perform badly for a particular period, all the 3 separate accounts would be equally affected. Wouldn't this be a classic case of putting all your eggs in one basket?

May I know what is your view?

Vanguard 2015
post Dec 1 2015, 10:34 AM

3,541 posts

Thank you to all the sifus for answering my query. I appreciate it.
Vanguard 2015
post Dec 1 2015, 11:37 AM

3,541 posts

FSM is really super efficient.

At 5.28 p.m. yesterday, I e-mailed to them my application form and supporting documents to open a beneficiary account. Within 30 minutes, FSM called me to confirm whether I applied to open the account.

At 11.05 a.m. today FSM sent me an SMS to state that my beneficiary account has been activated. Everything done in less than 24 hours.

If only our government can operate in the same way.
Vanguard 2015
post Dec 2 2015, 11:38 AM

3,541 posts

I have invested back into China on a small scale. No more crazy stuff.

I bought CIMB Greater China Equity Fund and RHB China India Dynamic Growth Fund. With that inclusion, I will be holding about 8 equity funds and 2 bond funds. I still have a few mosquite funds to sell eventually.

Vanguard 2015
post Dec 3 2015, 04:34 PM

3,541 posts

Final Countdown December 2015

How will your portfolio perform? What would be your ROI? What is your benchmark or projected minimum return? 6%, 8%, 10% or 12%? Are you comparing it to the FD, EPF or ASM return?

Do you think you will beat the benchmark? Or worst still, is your ROI in the red now? What went wrong and how should we improve our portfolio for the year 2016?
Vanguard 2015
post Dec 4 2015, 09:48 AM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Dec 4 2015, 08:43 AM)

BTW,....(as for me) I would not want to touch EPF for investment. I find that my risk appetite, risk reward seeking does not warrant me to try to seek the possible few % better ROI from the 5.5%....(but others would)
I agree with you. For investors in their 40's and older with family commitments, I think it is totally unsuitable to use EPF money to invest in unit trusts.

Vanguard 2015
post Dec 4 2015, 05:27 PM

3,541 posts

The correlation between RHB Asian Total Return and RHB Emerging Markets Bond is 0.90.

The correlation between RHB Asian Total Return and RHB Asian Income Fund is 0.80.

So I think this correlation should be considered if we want to buy more than one of the above funds in the name of "diversification".

This post has been edited by Vanguard 2015: Dec 4 2015, 05:28 PM
Vanguard 2015
post Dec 7 2015, 10:23 AM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Dec 5 2015, 04:39 PM)
You sounds like a person who knows a little bit about MPT.

Here's an imaginary portfolio:

Three funds:

I) All three funds have Risk to Reward Ratio is > 2

II) All three funds corr-coeff is around 0.50 to 0.60

Good boh?

Xuzen
I know just enough of MPT to cari makan. Risk to Reward Ratio > 2?

Sounds good to me.
Vanguard 2015
post Dec 7 2015, 05:58 PM

3,541 posts

Anyone planning to go into AmPrecious Metals soon? I need some Dutch courage.
Vanguard 2015
post Dec 8 2015, 04:59 PM

3,541 posts

For the professional investors here with finance background, I suspect some of you are either consciously or unconsciously engaging in trend trading.

The king of trend trading is Michael W Covel. There are 5 books in the market written by him. Please see the link at
http://www.trendfollowing.com/about/

Apart from Michael Covel, there are tons of other books on trend trading by other authors. I also believe there are also software programs on trend trading.

Unfortunately I don't have the expertise, knowledge and time to understand the concept fully. Some of you would be better at this. Hopefully you can share your insights in this forum like Xuzen after learning more about trend trading.

Please don't forget the rest of us when you become rich. biggrin.gif

Vanguard 2015
post Dec 8 2015, 05:08 PM

3,541 posts

For serious investors here, I strongly encourage you to sign up for a free account at Morningstar Asia - Malaysia. You can create different portfolios and x-ray it. This will hopefully help you to become a better investor in your asset allocation.

I attach here a sample portfolio. You will see now what you have been missing.

Attached File(s)
Attached File  FSM_Model_Portfolio.pdf ( 129.67k ) Number of downloads: 116
Vanguard 2015
post Dec 8 2015, 05:18 PM

3,541 posts

I have been listening to the market noise and reading the analysis by industry experts for the past one year. I still remain convinced that there is only one single main factor that will determine the success of our long term investment plan in unit trusts. That factor is our asset allocation.

We cannot control or predict how a particular fund or how the market will behave tomorrow. The only factor that we can control is our asset allocation (to quote William Bernstein).
Vanguard 2015
post Dec 8 2015, 05:19 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Dec 8 2015, 05:15 PM)
fuiyo!

All those are self-generated? How much user input required?
These info are all self generated by Morningstar. You only need to spend 3 minutes to set up the portfolio.
Vanguard 2015
post Dec 8 2015, 05:48 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Dec 8 2015, 05:27 PM)
rclxms.gif Thank you for highlighting this... really good stuff
Sharing is caring bro/sis.
Vanguard 2015
post Dec 8 2015, 09:42 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Dec 8 2015, 09:29 PM)
Already in on Monday.
Sorry, I didn't include you. That's because everyone know you are Goldfinger from James Bond. biggrin.gif

I may and that is a big MAY, go in AmPrecious Metals after 16th Dec.

This post has been edited by Vanguard 2015: Dec 8 2015, 09:45 PM
Vanguard 2015
post Dec 10 2015, 11:35 AM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(wonglokat @ Dec 10 2015, 11:33 AM)
Thanks Vanguard  notworthy.gif  Just did mine. Good to know money invested is properly spread out after rebalancing and paring down on overlapping funds (thanks xuzen!)
You are welcome bro. Happy Investing.
Vanguard 2015
post Dec 10 2015, 05:20 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Dec 10 2015, 11:51 AM)
Me too. Thanks bro Vanguard
No worries bro. Good luck!
Vanguard 2015
post Dec 10 2015, 05:23 PM

3,541 posts

My portfolio dropped so much these few weeks and it has nothing to do with the distribution effect.

Should I still continue to invest in unit trusts via FSM? Who can I sue for misleading me to invest in FSM? Nobody told me that it is not capital guaranteed!!!! Can I lodge a complaint with the Securities Commission or Bank Negara?

Can anyone help me? Hello? Hello? cry.gif

P/S: If you don't understand sarcasm, never mind.

This post has been edited by Vanguard 2015: Dec 10 2015, 05:27 PM

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0418sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:55 PM