[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V10!

y4ng
post Oct 21 2015, 02:31 PM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

Hello! I am back again, this time to build a pc for gf

-4 to 5k budget - excluding monitor
-video editing / graphic software, can plug into 40 50in tv as well if possible
-i7 please
-16gb RAM
-klang valley babe!

erm....pink colour? hahaha

thank you sifus
y4ng
post Oct 21 2015, 09:33 PM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Oct 21 2015, 03:07 PM)
I don't think we any have pink color case here  laugh.gif

Intel Core i7 6700 - RM 1329
MSI B150M Bazooka D4 - RM 409
Kingston HyperX Fury 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2400MHz RAM - RM 569
Leadtek GTX750 2GB GDDR5 OC - RM 485
Liteon S900 256GB SSD - RM 409
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 225
Seasonic M12II EVO 520W - RM 349
Phanteks Enthoo Evolv MATX - RM 459

Total: RM 4234 (Techview price inclusive of GST)

Make sure your TV isn't running at 4K 60Hz because you need a GPU that can support HDMI 2.0 or DisplayPort 1.2 for that. Anything below that resolution is totally fine for the chosen GPU. If you are using it for casual or occasional gaming too, you can think of upgrading to GTX960, if strictly for work, then GTX750 is enough since we only need the CUDA technology.

You can pick other case based on your personal preferences, it is just my suggestion after all.
Hmmm...skylake? How about skipping the tv and use it purely for photoshop cc2015 or cs6? No gaming maybe casing go for beng in win

y4ng
post Oct 21 2015, 10:36 PM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Oct 21 2015, 09:55 PM)
Yes it is Skylake (i7 6700), any problem with Skylake?

If purely no gaming, then low end card is sufficient, some apps don't even utilize GPU power so an i7 is enough for now  nod.gif
No problem with skylake, just a little jelly cos im using haswell and getting skylake i7 for gf =.=

Do i really need a GPU? Possible at to build at 3k? Seems nt easy for i7 with low budget lolz
y4ng
post Oct 21 2015, 11:40 PM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Oct 21 2015, 10:46 PM)
LOL  laugh.gif

Not really needed actually, iGPU in Skylake is quiet strong but still lack of CUDA technology, but since your main task is photoshop, not heavy in rendering (e.g. Premiere Pro), so it is ok not to pick any GPU for now.

Intel Core i7 6700 - RM 1329
MSI B150M Bazooka D4 - RM 409
Kingston HyperX Fury 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2400MHz RAM - RM 569
Liteon S900 256GB SSD - RM 409
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 225
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 189
Thermaltake Versa H25 - RM 139

Total: RM 3269 (Techview price inclusive of GST)

Swap the SSD to 128GB to keep < 3k.
hmm, 128gb later cannot support for OS with other extra program. for mobo why msi? not asus, gigabyte or asrock ya?
y4ng
post Oct 22 2015, 10:21 AM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Oct 22 2015, 08:35 AM)
OS takes around 25GB only, you left 90GB for other programs, should be enough for adobe software and some personal stuffs.

Any problem with MSI? This model has 4 RAM slots while other brands' mATX only come with 2 RAM slots at slightly higher price.
nothing wrong, just wondering nia mobo, and the colours that comes with it lolz

QUOTE(chiahau @ Oct 22 2015, 08:50 AM)
Cheapest Asus will set you back around 600+ for their H170 board.

If you want to go that much, might as well get Z170 from MSI.

Nearly the same price.

And I'm using MSI B150m with Skylake.

Seems fine for now. 4 slots of ram is defo a plus point.

Side note : If you are tight on budget, can get OEM Liteon SSD for 3XX for 240gb somewhere in GS.
i was thinking of buying a 2nd hand haswell i7 with mobo, roughly 1.3k...is it worth it? ddr3 nia though..
y4ng
post Oct 22 2015, 10:28 AM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Oct 22 2015, 10:26 AM)
High setting for 1~2 years possible. 3~5 sounds quite tough.

As for a recommendation, I saw a few at page behind that's suitable for your budget. Just need to tweak it a little to fit your budget laugh.gif
Err, depends?

Performance wise, you won't be missing too much from Skylake.

But if you are gonna expense $$ for a new system, why don't you just get the latest to reduce your headache? laugh.gif

i5 6500 + B150m - Around 1,3k-ish also.

DDR4 and DDR3 price also not much diff. Plus minus 50~70 bucks only per stick laugh.gif
i am looking for i7 haha. like last time i build my rig...frrom 3k end up almost 5k...
y4ng
post Oct 22 2015, 10:38 AM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Oct 22 2015, 10:31 AM)
False economy.

Just get the latest one if your budget permits.

I was thinking between Haswell and Skylake and decided Skylake is much better option at the end of the day laugh.gif
sometimes i pray hard to the green parrot every wed, sat, sun (sometimes tues), i get to upgrade a bit of what i have biggrin.gif
okla, this weekend i go survey for prices, and buy number 6700 and 4970, see which one comes out.

0.0184sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:37 PM