[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V10!

kyxxx
post Nov 20 2015, 02:48 PM

284 posts

Hey guys, i'm planning to make a gaming/multimedia rig soon.
Probably would like to see recommendations as of now.

[Budget] 2.5k ~ 3k (if can see the options for both with and without monitor it will be great)

[Purpose]
A heavy torrent downloader & uploader, online user and video user (720p minimum).
Occasionally convert HD movie to lower quality (unsure if it counts as video rendering?)
As for game, not a heavy gamer but i wish to play the below games:
Star Wars Battlefront (new)
NBA 2K16 (steam?)
Droid4x (android emulator)

[Hardwares that will be re-use]
Friend is selling me a corsair casing for RM150 (i forgot the casing name)

[Monitor resolution]
Looking for above 20"

[Personal preferences]
Current budget recommendation from my friend is below:
CPU: RM800
Mobo: RM400~500
GPU: RM800~ 1k
Ram: RM200
HDD: RM300 (i requested that i need minimum 2TB HDD for storage)
SDD: ? (need?)
PSU: RM250
Casing: RM150

Basically already over 3k budget lol without monitor

[Location] KL

Wish to see more options from fellow sifus here =DD
kyxxx
post Nov 20 2015, 06:44 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Nov 20 2015, 04:46 PM)
I need to know the casing model name, else I cannot proceed because the form factor is unknown.
If gaming, don't go for AMD, performance is lower than Intel.

So 3K budget for 3 items only? You don't need that much.

Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 889
Gigabyte H170 Gaming 3 - RM 579
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 246

Total: RM 1714 (Techview price inclusive of GST)

You can downgrade to mATX mobo like MSI B150M Bazooka D4 (RM 409) if you don't need the extra PCI-E slots from ATX mobo.
Hey man, the casing name is Corsair Carbide Spec 01

0.0440sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:10 PM