[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V10!

jamesl
post Nov 5 2015, 10:08 AM

192 posts

[Budget]
If can around 1.5k , if not then around 2k-2.5k

[Purpose]
Light-Medium Gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use]
Currently Own :
MOBO : GigaByte G31M-ES2L
PROC : Intel Core 2 Duo E7400 @ 2.8GHz
RAM : 4GB
GPU : AMD Radeon 5670

[Monitor resolution]
Currently using Samsung SyncMaster P2350

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
Tried with current rig :-
Metal Gear Solid 5 : Phantom Pain - OK
Dragon Age Inquisition - Not Good (In the end ABANDON)
The Witcher 3 - Not Good (In the end ABANDON)

[Personal preferences]
1) Best would be i3 and above as technology keep improving , cant catch up with the pace.
2) My MOBO i think only can support up to Core 2 Quad / Extreme , which i doubt is good to upgrade (I think this rig around 8-10yrs?)
3) HDD , Casing and other peripheral can buy a new one.
4) I dun mind running in Low-Medium spec for current gaming technology

[Location]
Selangor / KL

Thanks all the sensei that helps ~

This post has been edited by jamesl: Nov 5 2015, 10:12 AM
jamesl
post Nov 5 2015, 10:40 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Nov 5 2015, 10:31 AM)
Rig based on < 2K, this spec can run games at low/med settings, but please take note some games won't run on dual core i3 like Far Cry 4, if there are more games to follow this trend then you might need to consider upgrading the i3 to i5 and Haswell (4th gen) is used due to Skylake (6th gen) i3 not yet reach Malaysia.

Intel Core i3 4160 - RM 497
Asus H81M-K - RM 229
Corsair 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Value RAM - RM 209
Leadtek GTX750 2GB GDDR5 OC - RM 480
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 225
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 189
Thermaltake Versa H25 - RM 139

Total: RM 1968 (Techview price inclusive of GST)

If you want to maximize your budget, you can either upgrade the CPU to Haswell i5 (+ RM 300), completely switch to Skylake i5 platform (+ RM 500) or upgrade the GPU to GTX960 (+ RM 350).
1) Which means to upgrade to i5 Haswell , that will be switch from the i3 to i5 [RM1968 + 300 = RM 2268] to have a better performance for current gaming tech ?
2) I see that you propose other 3 types of option, may i know which option will be optimum ?

jamesl
post Nov 5 2015, 11:10 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Nov 5 2015, 10:57 AM)
Yes i5 with quad core will have better performance in latest big titles, but it won't improve the graphics settings you can run.

Upgrading to GTX960 gets you almost twice the performance of GTX750, if you are not fancy in graphics settings, GTX750 should be enough for you, an upgrade to i5 will be more suitable.

Whether to go Skylake or not, well it depends on your budget, performance difference between Haswell and Skylake isn't huge and if you don't mind getting outdated hardware, Haswell will be more cost efficient for the time being.
To upgrade to i5 Haswell (Outdated Hardware) : 1968 + 300 = 2268
To upgrade to GTX960 (2x Performance) : 2268 + 350 = 2618

Understood and Thanks ..
jamesl
post Nov 5 2015, 01:03 PM

192 posts

Rig based on < 2K, this spec can run games at low/med settings, but please take note some games won't run on dual core i3 like Far Cry 4, if there are more games to follow this trend then you might need to consider upgrading the i3 to i5 and Haswell (4th gen) is used due to Skylake (6th gen) i3 not yet reach Malaysia.

Asus H81M-K - RM 229
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 225
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 189

If you want to maximize your budget, you can either upgrade the CPU to Haswell i5 (+ RM 300), completely switch to Skylake i5 platform (+ RM 500) or upgrade the GPU to GTX960 (+ RM 350).
A quick question ..
1)I went to check the casing , and i noticed there is no USB Port or possible removable port for it ??
* Just noticed its at the top side , instead of the traditional front side*
2) What about the heat issue ? This is what i gotten from their website
Cooling System
Front (intake) :(optional)
120 x 120 x 25 mm x 2
Rear (exhaust) :
120 x 120 x 25 mm Turbo fan (1000rpm, 16dBA)
Top (exhaust) :(optional)
120 x 120 x 25 mm x 2"

This post has been edited by jamesl: Nov 5 2015, 01:04 PM
jamesl
post Nov 5 2015, 05:31 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(nobody12345 @ Nov 5 2015, 04:35 PM)
[Budget]
RM1500 - RM2000

[Purpose]
gaming, able to play far cry 4 and fallout 4. not necessary have to be high resolution

[Hardwares that will be re-use]
Monitor, keyboard, mouse, speaker

[Monitor resolution]
1920x1080

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
FPS Games

[Personal preferences]
ITX Casing

[Location]
PJ
Thanks in advance
This is what they sensei given to me , i guess our types of game almost the same

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=77205054

And it seems that ITX Casing is smaller casing .. Hmm ..

This post has been edited by jamesl: Nov 5 2015, 05:33 PM
jamesl
post Nov 5 2015, 09:58 PM

192 posts

Asus H81M-K - RM 229
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 225
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 189

I made a tweak using the same concept , hopefully sensei can enlighten my tweaking ..

Processor : Core i5 6550 @ 3.2Ghz Skylake
MOBO : MSI B150M Bazooka DDR4
RAM : Kingston Hyper X Fury 8GB DDR4
GPU : Zotac GTX960 Dual Fan MGS
HDD : WD Blue 1TB HDD
SSD : Kingston Now V300 128GB
PSU : Seasonic S12 II 620W
Casing : Thermaltake Versa H25

Any advice from this spec ?

This post has been edited by jamesl: Nov 5 2015, 09:59 PM
jamesl
post Nov 5 2015, 10:46 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Nov 5 2015, 10:11 PM)
This spec will over budget (you have max budget of 2.5K right?)

SSD - change to Kingston HyperX Fury/Liteon S900 for better NAND quality.

PSU - downgrade to S12II 520W/M12II EVO 520W (for good quality PSU) or FSP Hexa+ 550W (for mid range PSU) to save some money, GTX960 doesn't consume too much power so PSU selection is much easier.
Manage to increase my budget .. Hehe ..
SSD - Hyper x Fury should be ok , as the price only increase by a bit ..
PSU - Noted .. What about the brand Thermaltake LitePower 600W @ RM201 ?? Its almost the same price as FSP Hexa+ 550W
jamesl
post Nov 9 2015, 10:11 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(jamesl @ Nov 5 2015, 09:58 PM)
Processor : Core i5 6550 @ 3.2Ghz Skylake
RAM : Kingston Hyper X Fury 8GB DDR4
GPU : Zotac GTX960 Dual Fan MGS
PSU : Seasonic S12 II 620W

Bought my Rig but majority is quite the same except a few ..

Processor : Core i5 6500 @ 3.2Ghz Skylake
RAM : Kingston 8GB 2133MHz Value RAM
GPU : MSI GTX960 Gaming 2G
PSU : FSP Hexa+ 550W
CD ROM : Samsung DVD Reader
FAN : Cooler Master JetFlo 120+

Approximate : RM3,300

Note : It seems that the whole Lowyat , Zotac wasnt popular and only CyCom selling it as far as i have seen ..

This post has been edited by jamesl: Nov 9 2015, 10:33 AM
jamesl
post Nov 9 2015, 11:34 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(Danial Ariffin @ Nov 9 2015, 11:25 AM)
aaaight, ill come back later.  thumbup.gif
though, can i get a suggestion of what to expect? like price wise? whistling.gif , so i can you know, scrape some money up.
i think his is amd, im looking for a 1080p ish well, anything alright budgetwise, cause i used some regular monitor and colors came out different. it seems.
Probably you can tweak around with my rig that i just bought recently (6/11/2015)
My rig is a 1 post above your post ..

Im using Skylake (Socket 1151) which is the latest for now ..
You can probably tweak around to use Haswell (Socket 1150) , then you have to find Socket 1150 Processor as well ..

This post has been edited by jamesl: Nov 9 2015, 11:36 AM

0.0470sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:05 AM