[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V10!

chiahau
post Oct 22 2015, 08:50 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(y4ng @ Oct 21 2015, 11:40 PM)
hmm, 128gb later cannot support for OS with other extra program. for mobo why msi? not asus, gigabyte or asrock ya?
Cheapest Asus will set you back around 600+ for their H170 board.

If you want to go that much, might as well get Z170 from MSI.

Nearly the same price.

And I'm using MSI B150m with Skylake.

Seems fine for now. 4 slots of ram is defo a plus point.

Side note : If you are tight on budget, can get OEM Liteon SSD for 3XX for 240gb somewhere in GS.

This post has been edited by chiahau: Oct 22 2015, 08:53 AM
chiahau
post Oct 22 2015, 09:06 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(bajigur89 @ Oct 22 2015, 08:53 AM)
Hi guys, i need some suggestion here. I plan to build my gaming rig by the end of this year. But i totally no idea what the best cpu, gpu, psu within my budget. So, i hope some suggestion from sifu here.

[Budget] RM 3K (monitor, case, keyboard, mouse and other accessories are not included in this budget )

[Purpose] Mostly gaming (expected to play most of the latest game with high setting), entertainment, and some programming and multimedia

[Hardwares that will be re-use] none

[Monitor resolution]

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Dota2, COD, Eclipse, Photoshop, Illustrator

[Personal preferences] -

[Location] Bangi

Is it possible to add water cooling system for the cpu and gpu within my budget? if its not possible, how many ringgit i need to add to have water cooling system in my rig?
You prefer it to run on Skylake or Haswell for the system?

If you run it at Haswell, you probably could get a higher end GPU which would be more beneficial for your system in terms of gaming.

As for water cooling, pretty sure you can get for your CPU as the cheapest one I saw was around 200 bucks or so.

For gpu, that one, you have to wait for an expert to clarify.

Side note : December still a long way. Prices may change by the time you want to purchase due to current economy conditions.

This post has been edited by chiahau: Oct 22 2015, 09:07 AM
chiahau
post Oct 22 2015, 09:38 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(bajigur89 @ Oct 22 2015, 09:22 AM)
i did read a comparison between Skylake vs Haswell, and as a conclusion Skylake is better than Haswell. But since you said with Haswell i can get better performance in gaming, probably will use Haswell. You guys knows better than me  biggrin.gif

Yeah, december still long way to go, i hope i can complete this rig by next month  biggrin.gif  at least i get the idea what i will have in my rig
QUOTE(bajigur89 @ Oct 22 2015, 09:30 AM)
I see, so i need to add another 1k for the water cooling system.

Let say i go with Skylake, which psu should i buy?
Skylake does not offer much other than power efficiency and DDR4 support compared to Haswell.

Was using an i7-3770 SB and I can't say there's any significant different much on my gaming performance.

If you on for the Skylake build, you'll be spending much more than 1k for the watercooling.

i5 - 6600k will set you back around MYR 1089.

i7 - 6700k I'm not sure.

You'll also need to spend more for a Z170 board in order to fully capitalize on the capabilities of the unlocked processor.

As for PSU, I'm using Silverstone 600w 80+ for my system. But I reckon you don't need that much.
chiahau
post Oct 22 2015, 10:26 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(bajigur89 @ Oct 22 2015, 10:11 AM)
It seems my rig will cost me more than 3k cry.gif i should be more realistic with my budget.
can you guys help me again, what do you guys suggest for the rig that will support most of the latest game in high setting and it will last long about 4-5 years. (is this possible?) within budget about 3k-3.5k inluded psu, hdd, ssd
High setting for 1~2 years possible. 3~5 sounds quite tough.

As for a recommendation, I saw a few at page behind that's suitable for your budget. Just need to tweak it a little to fit your budget laugh.gif

QUOTE(y4ng @ Oct 22 2015, 10:21 AM)
nothing wrong, just wondering nia mobo, and the colours that comes with it lolz
i was thinking of buying a 2nd hand haswell i7 with mobo, roughly 1.3k...is it worth it? ddr3 nia though..
Err, depends?

Performance wise, you won't be missing too much from Skylake.

But if you are gonna expense $$ for a new system, why don't you just get the latest to reduce your headache? laugh.gif

i5 6500 + B150m - Around 1,3k-ish also.

DDR4 and DDR3 price also not much diff. Plus minus 50~70 bucks only per stick laugh.gif
chiahau
post Oct 22 2015, 10:31 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(y4ng @ Oct 22 2015, 10:28 AM)
i am looking for i7 haha. like last time i build my rig...frrom 3k end up almost 5k...
False economy.

Just get the latest one if your budget permits.

I was thinking between Haswell and Skylake and decided Skylake is much better option at the end of the day laugh.gif
chiahau
post Oct 23 2015, 08:03 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(eClIpSe_R3tr0 @ Oct 23 2015, 02:30 AM)
[Budget] RM 2000

[Purpose] Gaming, and some light programming

[Monitor Resolution] Samsung Syncmaster B2030 ( 1600 x 900 )

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Chasis, Monitor, DVD-RW drive, Mouse, Keyboard. Basically I just need the hardwares inside the chasis

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Would like to play DOTA 2 in max settings,  some engineering related softwares, mostly gaming.

[Personal preferences] NVIDIA GTX related graphic cards

Any idea, guys ? If possible would like to reduce the budget as much as possible.
Thanks in advance.
Err, 2k for a new proc, mobo, gpu and psu and ram?

And max setting on 1600 x 900 right?

Seems pretty tight.

And do you want to play Dota 2 or are you preparing for Dota 2 Reborn that will be coming out sometime in the near future? If yes, you might need to spend more for the new game later.
chiahau
post Oct 26 2015, 08:06 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

Not sure whether this is the right place to ask but the monitor thread seems a little dead for my liking.

Am in a little dilemma now.

I have 2 23" Dell monitors, capable of displaying full HD.

I'm thinking whether should I go for another 23" Dell or a 27" curved Dell monitor?

Budget's around MYR 1,000 but it could be upgraded at moment's notice. Just rather keep it to lowest since MYR's not rising fast enough currently.

Thanks!

Sidenote : It's unlikely I'll use 3 of them for gaming. It's more for productivity where I can open multiple excel sheets and watch my youtube and drama on the other screen.

2. My GPU has no issues displaying 3 monitors.

3. Would prefer the Dell as it has built in speakers. I don't have any external speakers.

This post has been edited by chiahau: Oct 26 2015, 08:09 PM
chiahau
post Oct 26 2015, 11:41 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Oct 26 2015, 11:19 PM)
Some Dell monitors don't have internal speaker, like U2414H.

If the 27 inch Dell is 1440p, then I'll go for it but if it is still 1080p, then nope for me.
It's 1080p sadly.

4k curve so far, only LG, Sammy and BenQ has?

But they cost too much esp with the price of ringgit nowadays.
chiahau
post Oct 27 2015, 08:09 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Oct 27 2015, 07:19 AM)
Dell has one curve monitor but it is ultrawide 21:9 3440x1440, quite expensive though, 4.3k+/-.

If want to try curved panel < 1k, there is a Samsung IPS curved monitor, S24E510CSX, 1080p panel.
Saw the Dell. Love the warranty on site service which is the main reason why I want to get a Dell in the 1st place tongue.gif

I saw the Samsung, it's around 1,000 exactly from Viewnet laugh.gif

Decision, decisions.

Love the curve panel but not sure whether it would suit my current 2 monitor setup hmm.gif
chiahau
post Nov 6 2015, 08:21 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Nov 6 2015, 08:17 AM)
How about Samsung 850 EVO 250GB? is it a good SSD?  drool.gif
Would recommend it as I have a unit of Samsung Evo as well.

But honestly, once you're on SSD, you can see the difference compared to HDD.

If budget's not a problem, go ahead with the Samsung.

IINM, it has 5 years warranty as well? hmm.gif
chiahau
post Nov 6 2015, 09:37 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Nov 6 2015, 09:03 AM)
I already got 1 old Kingston V300 60GB SSD..its running very slow..yes, very big different when switch my OS from HDD to SSD..now want to get Samsung 850 EVO 250GB to replace it..yeah..5 years warranty..
thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Kingston V300 is quite slow, yes.

I have one 120 gb one, filled it up to 40 GB only.

The rest throw to my HDD.
chiahau
post Nov 11 2015, 01:51 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(AlvinChoong @ Nov 11 2015, 01:48 PM)
Would it be possible if I were to replace the WD HDD with a 128GB SSD of about the same price? I already have a 2TB external HDD to store files. Can suggest a 128GB SSD of about the same price?
Kingston V300 120gb - Around MYR 209
chiahau
post Jan 19 2016, 09:55 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jan 18 2016, 11:24 PM)
They will work but performance won't be good.

If possible, get a FSP Hexa+ 550W, around RM 200+/-, so next time when you conduct upgrade, you don't have to spend money to change PSU only.
Hi boss,

Just a quick recommendation.

I have an idle Dell Optiplex ( can't remember the exact model but it's a SFF computer in my opinion ) which I want to convert as an entertainment PC for my parents.

It's already equipped with a 3rd Gen i7 3770 and 16 gb DDR3 ram from my previous system.

However, the default GPU ( ATI Radeon HD 7470 OEM I think ) only have DVI / Display port for output ( correct me if I am mistaken ).

I wish to plug it into a TV that outputs 1080p for casual browsing and movies at most only.

My current dilemma :

1. Change the GPU to something cheap that has HDMI output ( it has to be a low profile gpu since it's an uber small desktop ) while it's default DELL OEM PSU only goes up to 230w ( I think )

2. Just get a converter and plug it into the TV?
chiahau
post Jan 19 2016, 10:17 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jan 19 2016, 10:00 AM)
I think you mean only have DVI and VGA, DisplayPort is "premium" port somehow and only can be found on higher end card.

For your case, I will just get a converter, DVI to HDMI will do, no need to buy a new GPU just for the sake of a native HDMI port.
Based on uncle google :

GRAPHICS CONTROLLER
Form Factor plug-in card
Interface Type PCI Express x16
Graphics Processor AMD Radeon HD 7570
Video Memory 1 GB
Video Interfaces DVI, DisplayPort, VGA

0.0209sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled