[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V10!

b0rhui
post Nov 7 2015, 05:07 PM

689 posts

Guys, this is my current setup built in lowyat 3 years back:

i3 3220
MSI b75MA-P45
Kingston 4gb 1333mhz budget ram
1TB WD caviar blue HDD
Sapphire HD7850 2GB
FSP 500W hexa series

Currently I am considering to upgrade the proc, RAM and GPU. Probably upgrade the RAM too. GPU I'm eyeing on the GTX970 for gaming purposes. Any idea for the cpu? probably i5 4690k but i don't oc. RAM probably upgrade to 8GB performance RAM. Ideas? Is my current PSU able to support it?

This post has been edited by b0rhui: Nov 7 2015, 05:09 PM
b0rhui
post Nov 7 2015, 05:24 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Nov 7 2015, 05:12 PM)
Budget for the upgrade?

If you don't oc why spend the extra bucks for the "K" CPU?  rclxub.gif
just saying rclxms.gif tongue.gif budget about 2k+. current display resolution full HD only, Dell U2312hm, in case you need the info
b0rhui
post Nov 7 2015, 08:43 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Nov 7 2015, 06:49 PM)
Not sure how far your 2K+ can go  tongue.gif

With newest Skylake platform + GTX 970,

Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 875
MSI B150M Bazooka D4 - RM 409
Kingston HyperX Fury 8GB DDR4 2400MHz RAM - RM 289
Zotac GTX970 4GB GDDR5 Reference - RM 1350

Total: RM 2923 (Techview price inclusive of GST)

If don't care what CPU gen you can get (just want the cheapest),

Intel Core i5 4460 - RM 810
Asus H81M-K - RM 229
Kingston HyperX Fury 8GB DDR3 1600MHz RAM - RM 220

Total: RM 2609 (Techview price inclusive of GST)

Sell your old parts to make some funds for this upgrade if you can  nod.gif

PSU can reuse, can consider upgrade also if need more headroom for future hardware extension/upgrade etc.
Can i not upgrade the mobo? tongue.gif or my mobo wont be able to support GTX970?
b0rhui
post Nov 7 2015, 10:38 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Nov 7 2015, 09:38 PM)
If you don't want change mobo, then you need to stick with your current processor because new processor won't fit in old mobo due to different socket.
But I still can upgrade to i5/i7 haswell proc with 1150 socket right? drool.gif like the i5 4460 that you suggested.

This post has been edited by b0rhui: Nov 7 2015, 10:39 PM
b0rhui
post Nov 7 2015, 11:55 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Nov 7 2015, 10:47 PM)
Your current mobo is this one right? MSI B75MA-P45

If yes, then you cannot upgrade to Haswell without changing mobo, your mobo is using LGA1155 socket, Haswell is LGA1150, Skylake is LGA1151.
Yes I'm sorry i mislooked the 1150 and 1155, i thought mine's haswell compatible tongue.gif oh well. then mobo upgrade is necessary.

QUOTE(st4Lk3rz @ Nov 7 2015, 10:40 PM)
This is Haswell (4th Gen )
Asus H81M-K - RM 229

This is Skylake (6th Gen)

time to flex my budget abit sweat.gif does skylake mobo supports DDR3 RAM? how much does the performance of skylake build vs haswell build differ in real life?

b0rhui
post Nov 8 2015, 02:12 AM

689 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Nov 8 2015, 01:05 AM)
Yes, Skylake CPUs and some of its MoBos support DDR3 but it's a risk. Because you might burn the RAM thingy majiggy..can't remember the name of it. doh.gif Because DDR3 RAMs have higher voltage compared to DDR4.

And performance difference is tiny, but some people want the latest one. Personally, i'd still go with Haswell.
I see. Ivybridge is too old already. So either way I have to upgrade my mobo la haha doh.gif Given the upgrades to be as below:

Would my PSU FSP 500w be able to support it?
b0rhui
post Nov 8 2015, 03:16 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Nov 8 2015, 02:47 AM)
Yup, but it'll be very close. I'd suggest getting Seasonic S12II 620W 80+ Bronze RM299 or M12II Evo Fully Modular RM379 if you can.

How old is the PSU anyway?
Its almost 3 year old, got it in december 2012. Does it matter?
b0rhui
post Nov 22 2015, 08:36 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(st4Lk3rz @ Nov 7 2015, 10:40 PM)
This is Haswell (4th Gen )
Asus H81M-K - RM 229

Hey stalkerz, thanks for the previous upgrade recommendation. Parts I got now: MSI GTX970 gaming. May i know whats the cheapest possible CPU+MOBO+RAM combination so that it wont throttle my GPU?
b0rhui
post Dec 4 2015, 02:12 PM

689 posts

So yea I'm gonna shop for parts this weekend. May I know if this combination is cheapest skylake build already?

Intel Core i5 6400 - RM 809
MSI B150M Bazooka D4 - RM 399
Corsair 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 200

In terms of performance, does 6400 and 6500 differ by alot?

Current spec:
i3 3220
MSI b75MA-P45
Kingston 4gb 1333mhz budget ram
1TB WD caviar blue HDD
Sapphire HD7850 2GB MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G
FSP 500W hexa series

This post has been edited by b0rhui: Dec 4 2015, 02:17 PM
b0rhui
post Dec 5 2015, 09:57 AM

689 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Dec 4 2015, 02:28 PM)
Base clock increase of 0.5GHz is quite worth compared to previous gen with just 0.2GHz increase over a significant amount of money.
Thanks! So if I were to bring my gpu + purchase MOBO+RAM+CPU in lowyat, the shop would be able to fix them all for me? Or have you encountered certain shops don't accept "outside food" laugh.gif

This post has been edited by b0rhui: Dec 5 2015, 09:58 AM
b0rhui
post Dec 19 2015, 06:39 PM

689 posts

Hi sifu, I'm not entirely sure where to post this to ask, so ill just post it here:

Can I use these 2 ram sticks together? Both are 4GB 1333mhz kingston ram. just got the one in package while the other has been used for 2 years

Thanks!
b0rhui
post Dec 20 2015, 06:10 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(st4Lk3rz @ Dec 19 2015, 06:53 PM)
Yeah shouldn't be a problem.
Thanks heaps it worked! icon_rolleyes.gif

0.0207sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled